DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to the application filed on 07/01/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites the limitation “teaches wherein the optical data sensing device is set at substrate, wherein a projection image of the first light emitting device to the substrate is not overlapped with a projection image of the optical sensor to the substrate”. However it is unclear as to what how the light emitting device projects an image or how the optical sensor projects an image. As such the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of this examination the claim is interpreted to read as the emitter is angled.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites the limitation “wherein the optical data sensing device is set at a substrate, wherein a projection image of the first light emitting device to the substrate is not overlapped with a projection image of the optical sensor to the substrate, and a projection image of the second light emitting device to the substrate is not overlapped with the projection image of the optical sensor to the substrate”. However, it is unclear as to how the light emitting devices project an image or how the optical sensor projects an image. As such the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of this examination the claim is interpreted to read as the emitters are angled while the sensor is not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20140127996 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park, an optical biometric sensor device, teaches an optical data sensing device of a biological information measuring device (abstract; Figures 8-10), comprising:
an optical sensor (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; Figures 8-10);
a first light emitting device, configured to emit first light away from the optical sensor (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; Figures 8-10); wherein an emitting direction of the first light is not perpendicular with a sensing surface of the optical sensor (LED emitter is slanted and thus not perpendicular; as shown in Figure 10); and
a first opaque isolation component, located between the optical sensor and the first light emitting device, configured to reduce the first light received by the optical sensor (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; Figures 8-10).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches a cover, configured to cover the first light emitting device, wherein the cover comprises at least one transparent portion such that the first light can be emitted away from the optical sensor via the transparent portion (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; as shown in Figures 8-10).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches wherein the cover protrudes from a surface of the biological information measuring device or is in the surface (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; as shown in Figures 8-10).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches further comprising:
an extra light emitting device, configured to emit extra light away from the optical sensor, wherein the extra light emitting device is not overlapped with the optical sensor and the first light emitting device (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; as shown in Figures 8-10); and
an extra opaque isolation component, located between the optical sensor and the extra light emitting device, configured to reduce the extra light received by the optical sensor (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; as shown in Figures 8-10).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches wherein the first opaque isolation component comprises at least one protruding part, configured to block the first light received by the optical sensor and to block the first light emitted from the first light emitting device (paragraphs [0060]-[0062]; Figure 10).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches wherein a width of the protruding part is wider than a narrowest width of the first opaque isolation component (as shown in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches wherein the optical data sensing device is set at substrate, wherein a projection image of the first light emitting device to the substrate is not overlapped with a projection image of the optical sensor to the substrate (as shown in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches wherein a plane from which the first light is emitted outward and a plane by which the optical sensor receives light are different planes ( the LED is slanted compared to the optical sensor and thus is not on the same plane; as shown in Figure 10).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches wherein a color filter is provided on a surface of the transparent portion from which the first light is emitted outward, or provided on a sensing surface of the optical sensor, wherein the sensing surface of the optical sensor is configured to receive light (teaches having a filter that selectively transmits light at certain wavelengths (colors); paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Park, an optical biometric sensor, teaches an optical data sensing device of a biological information measuring device (abstract), comprising:
an optical sensor (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; Figure 10);
a first light emitting device, configured to emit first light in a first direction (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; Figure 10);
a second light emitting device, configured to emit second light in a second direction different from the first direction (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; Figure 10) wherein an emitting direction of the first light is not perpendicular with a sensing surface of the optical sensor (LED emitter is slanted and thus not perpendicular; as shown in Figure 10);; and
a first opaque isolation component, located between the optical sensor and the first light emitting device, and between the optical sensor and the second light emitting device, configured to reduce the first light and the second light received by the optical sensor (paragraphs [0057]-[0066]; Figure 10).
Regarding claim 20, Park teaches wherein the optical data sensing device is set at a substrate, wherein a projection image of the first light emitting device to the substrate is not overlapped with a projection image of the optical sensor to the substrate, and a projection image of the second light emitting device to the substrate is not overlapped with the projection image of the optical sensor to the substrate (as shown in Figure 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 20020007114 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Elghazzawi”).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches an on/off control for a light source (Figures 17 and 20), but does not explicitly teach wherein the first light and the second light are not simultaneously emitted.
However, Elghazzawi, a physiological sensor, teaches wherein the first light and the second light are not simultaneously emitted (paragraph [0016]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park, to have the lights emit alternately, as taught by Elghazzawi, because doing so avoids the lights interfering with one another.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Elghazzawi, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 20170000350 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 12, Park, in view of Elghazzawi does not explicitly teach wherein the optical data sensing device is set at a substrate, wherein a smallest angle among angles between the first direction and the substrate is smaller than a smallest angle among angles between the second direction and the substrate.
However, Kwon, a biological detection device, teaches wherein the optical data sensing device is set at a substrate, wherein a smallest angle among angles between the first direction and the substrate is smaller than a smallest angle among angles between the second direction and the substrate (paragraphs [0010]-[0018], [0125]-[0127]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park, in view of Elghazzawi, to have the emitters at different angles, as taught by Kwon, as doing so allows the light to reach different areas of a user’s skin.
Regarding claim 13, Park, in view of Elghazzawi and Kwon, teaches wherein the second light emitting device emits the second light for computing a heart rate but the first light emitting device does not emit the first light, when the biological information measuring device computes the heart rate (uses a single green light to determine heart rate; paragraph [0058]; as taught by Park).
Regarding claim 14, Park, in view of Elghazzawi and Kwon, teaches wherein the first light emitting device emits the first light for computing oxygen saturation but the second light emitting device does not emit the second light, when the biological information measuring device computes the oxygen saturation (can use a IR or red light to determine oxygen saturation; paragraph [0058]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 20140243633 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Addison”).
Regarding claim 19, Park does not explicitly teach wherein the biological information measuring device determines a wearing state thereof according to a difference between light amount of the first light received by the optical sensor and light amount of the second light received by the optical sensor.
However, Addison, a pulse oximetry data confidence indicator, teaches wherein the biological information measuring device determines a wearing state thereof according to a difference between light amount of the first light received by the optical sensor and light amount of the second light received by the optical sensor (paragraph [0003]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park, to determine if the device is properly worn, as taught by Addison, because doing so allows a user to know that the sensor data is reliable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12048536 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the claims of the Instant Application are taught by the limitations of claims 1-19 of US 12048536 B2.
Conclusion
Claims 15 and 17, and claims dependent thereof (claims 16 and 18) are rejected under a Double Patenting Rejection, but contain subject matter not found in the prior art search.
Regarding claim 15, US 8311601 B2 teaches switching between a transmission and reflectance mode depending on signal quality (abstract).
US 6845256 B2 teaches activating transmission and reflectance sensors depending on motion (Figures 17-18 and associated description).
the prior art fails to teach or suggest “wherein the second light emitting device emits the second light but the first light emitting device does not emit the first light, when the biological information measuring device operates in a low noise mode” in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17, US 8311601 B2 teaches switching between a transmission and reflectance mode depending on signal quality (abstract).
US 6845256 B2 teaches activating transmission and reflectance sensors depending on motion (Figures 17-18 and associated description).
the prior art fails to teach or suggest “wherein the first light emitting device emits the first light but the second light emitting device does not emit the second light, when the biological information measuring device operates in a high noise mode” in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791