CTNF 18/761,236 CTNF 86652 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim (s) 4-11, 14, 15, 17, 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: With respect to the claim(s), the prior art of record fails to disclose singly or in combination or render obvious all the limitations of the claim(s). The closest prior art relating to Applicant' s claimed invention is: US 20240215088 A1 Wang; Chenglu et al. US 11838884 B1 Dergosits; Maxwell et al. US 20210329727 A1 Yu; Chengfu US 20230063048 A1 Fu; Zhang et al. Wang discloses a device networking method. The method includes: A first electronic device establishes a first communication connection with a second electronic device, where the first communication connection includes that the first electronic device and the second electronic device are connected in a first communication manner and in a second communication manner; the first electronic device receives a packet sent by the second electronic device, in the first communication manner in a first time period; the first electronic device determines, based on the packet, that the first communication connection with the second electronic device is valid in a second time period; and the first electronic device performs service communication with the second electronic device in the second communication manner in the second time period. Dergosits discloses that a system receives vehicle metric data from a gateway device connected to a vehicle via a network connection. In a first power mode, the vehicle gateway device gathers vehicle metric data related to operation of the vehicle and/or location data and sends requested vehicle metric data to the system. Based on a lack of input, the vehicle gateway device enters a standby power mode to reduce the power consumption of the vehicle gateway device. The vehicle gateway device reduces the power consumption by reducing activity of the vehicle gateway device. Instead of reinitiating a network connection periodically to receive requests for vehicle metric data from the system, the vehicle gateway device maintains the network connection by sending keep alive messages between the vehicle gateway device and the system. The system uses the maintained network connection to request vehicle metric data. Yu discloses a device comprising a network module communicably coupling the device to one or more network access points, a server communicably coupled to the device through the one or more network access points, one or more processors performing operations comprising: receiving one or more keep-alive requests from the one or more network access points, the keep-alive request comprising at least one of: a timeout parameter, a header, a connection parameter, a transmission attribute, a message, and a keep-alive interval; extracting an information from the keep-alive request, the information comprising connection policies for establishing a keep-alive connection between: device and network access point, device and server, or device and a wireless user device communicably coupled to the network access point; determining the keep-alive connection parameters based on the extracted information; and assigning the keep-alive connection as the active connection between the device and the network access point, server, or wireless user device. Fu discloses a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) configured for device-to-device (D2D) wireless communication. The method includes starting a keep-alive timer associated with a unicast sidelink (SL) connection with a second UE configured for D2D wireless communication. In response to expiration of the keep-alive timer, without receiving a transmission from the second UE while the keep-alive timer was running, a keep-alive message is transmitted to the second UE. In response to not receiving an acknowledgement of the keep-alive message, from the second UE within a predetermined duration, release of the unicast SL connection with the second UE is initiated without transmitting a further keep-alive message to the second UE . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240215088 A1 to Wang; Chenglu et al . Re: Claim(s) 1, 19, 20 Wang discloses a method for maintaining a communication connection, applicable into an electronic device, the electronic device supporting running of a first system and a second system (Figs. 12 and 14 – the Examiner notes that at the very least, Master device is supporting itself and multiple other devices (i.e. systems), and the method comprising: sending, by the first system, a heartbeat packet to an external device based on a heartbeat packet sending request, wherein the heartbeat packet is configured to maintain a communication connection between the electronic device and the external device (Figs. 12 and 14– handshake request message. 0190 – handshake connection is for the purpose of maintaining the communication connection); and receiving, by the first system, a heartbeat feedback packet sent by the external device (Figs. 12 and 14 – handshake response message) Wang further discloses: An electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory (Fig. 9 – 100 comprises 110 and 121), as required by claim 19; and A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 9 – 121), as required by claim 20. Re: Claim(s) 2 Wang discloses waking up, by the first system, the second system in a case where a wake-up condition is met and the second system is in a sleep state (Fig. 15 and 0206 - the plurality of electronic devices may agree on a same wake-up period through negotiation. For example, the plurality of electronic devices first determine one master device through negotiation, and other devices other than the master device are used as slave devices. Then, the master device first determines a wake-up period of the master device, and then the master device sends the wake-up period of the master device to each slave device, so that wake-up periods of the plurality of electronic devices are the same. In some embodiments, the master device may determine the wake-up period of the master device based on a periodic connection established between an app installed on the master device and the remote cloud server). Re: Claim(s) 12 Wang discloses disconnecting, by the first system, the communication connection in a case where the heartbeat feedback packet sent by the external device is not received in a second duration, wherein the second duration is provided by the second system (0050 and 0177 - when the first time period and the second time period at least partially overlap and the first electronic device does not receive a response packet in a first time period within the second time period, the first electronic device determines to be disconnected from the second electronic device … When the network adapter of the device 2 is in a disconnected state, the device 2 does not reply with a handshake response message, that is, the device 2 is “offline”). Re: Claim(s) 16 Wang discloses switching the second system from a wake-up state to the sleep state again after a duration for which the second system remains the wake-up state reaches a preset duration (Fig. 15 – second electronic device returns to sleep state after wake-up window) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 11838884 B1 to Dergosits; Maxwell et al . Re: Claim(s) 3 Wang discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above. Wang does/do not appear to explicitly disclose before sending, by the first system, the heartbeat packet to an external device based on the heartbeat packet sending request, the method further comprises: sending, by the second system, the heartbeat packet sending request to the first system. However, attention is directed to Dergosits which discloses said limitation (Fig. 6A and col. 31 line 40 to col. 32 line 67 – step 3, which is a keepalive message precedes steps 4 and 5 which are the subsequent keepalive/handshake/heartbeat messages). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wang invention by employing the teaching as taught by Dergosits to provide the ability for an second system (i.e. second device as interpreted by Examiner in the rejection of claim 1) to illicit a handshake exchange in order to maintain a connection. The motivation for the combination is given by Dergosits (Abstract). Re: Claim(s) 13 Wang discloses that the first electronic device comprises a low-power core (0044). Dergosits also discloses a low power mode (i.e., second power mode depicted in Fig. 6A). However, neither Wang nor Dergosits , either alone or in combination, explicitly disclose that the operating power consumption of the first system is lower than that of the second system (i.e., that the second device consumes more power than the first device). However, selecting power consumption for various systems and/or devices, would merely amount to a design choice not warranting any undue experimentation or inventive step. Thus, it would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have tried different power consumption configurations to yield the desired result of reducing power usage. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KASHIF SIDDIQUI whose telephone number is (571)270-3188. The examiner can normally be reached on M-R 6:00 EST to 16:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Rutkowski can be reached on 571-270-1215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KASHIF SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/761,236 Page 2 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/761,236 Page 3 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/761,236 Page 4 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/761,236 Page 5 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/761,236 Page 6 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/761,236 Page 8 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/761,236 Page 9 Art Unit: 2415