DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0074016) in view of D2 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0044441).
-Regarding claim 1, D1 discloses a method, comprising: generating a first two-dimensional joint position estimate relative to a first camera in a first camera position (the first view of the hand replicates a left eye view of the hand, [0049]); generating a second two-dimensional joint position estimate relative to a second camera in a second camera position (the second view of the hand replicates a right eye view of the hand, [0049]); generating an estimated three-dimensional joint position based at least on: the first two-dimensional joint position estimate, and the second two-dimensional joint position estimate (post-processing system 206 converts the joint location coordinates computed by the machine learning system 204 to estimate joint location coordinates in the three-dimensional world space, [0032]); and transmitting the generated three-dimensional joint position estimate (identifies a 3D hand pose based on the plurality of sets of joint location coordinates, [0051]).
D1 is silent to teaching that a rotation transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position, a generated three-dimensional translational transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches a rotation transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position (each of the support cameras 30, e.g., first support camera 30a, second support camera 30b, and third support camera 30c, captures a different view of the objects 22 from a different view point (e.g., a first viewpoint, a second viewpoint, and a third viewpoint, respectively, [0069]), a generated three-dimensional translational transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position (the pose estimator 100 estimates a pose of the current object, represented by rotation transformation Ro and translation transformation To with respect to a global coordinate system (e.g., a coordinate system defined with respect to the main camera 10), [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to improve the performance (e.g., accuracy of the segmentation maps).
-Regarding claim 10, D1 discloses a system, comprising: one or more processors (processors 702, [0060]); and a memory storing instructions which (memory 704, [0060]), when executed by the one or more processors, cause performance of: generating a first two-dimensional joint position estimate relative to a first camera in a first camera position (the first view of the hand replicates a left eye view of the hand, [0049]); generating a second two-dimensional joint position estimate relative to a second camera in a second camera position (the second view of the hand replicates a right eye view of the hand, [0049]); generating an estimated three-dimensional joint position based at least on: the first two-dimensional joint position estimate, and the second two-dimensional joint position estimate (post-processing system 206 converts the joint location coordinates computed by the machine learning system 204 to estimate joint location coordinates in the three-dimensional world space, [0032]); and transmitting the generated three-dimensional joint position estimate (identifies a 3D hand pose based on the plurality of sets of joint location coordinates, [0051]).
D1 is silent to teaching that a rotation transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position, a generated three-dimensional translational transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches a rotation transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position (each of the support cameras 30, e.g., first support camera 30a, second support camera 30b, and third support camera 30c, captures a different view of the objects 22 from a different view point (e.g., a first viewpoint, a second viewpoint, and a third viewpoint, respectively, [0069]), a generated three-dimensional translational transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position (the pose estimator 100 estimates a pose of the current object, represented by rotation transformation Ro and translation transformation To with respect to a global coordinate system (e.g., a coordinate system defined with respect to the main camera 10), [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to improve the performance (e.g., accuracy of the segmentation maps).
-Regarding claim 19, D1 discloses a system, comprising: means for processing (processors 702, [0060]); and a memory storing instructions which (memory 704, [0060]), when executed by the means for processing, cause performance of: generating a first two-dimensional joint position estimate relative to a first camera in a first camera position (the first view of the hand replicates a left eye view of the hand, [0049]); generating a second two-dimensional joint position estimate relative to a second camera in a second camera position (the second view of the hand replicates a right eye view of the hand, [0049]); generating an estimated three-dimensional joint position based at least on: the first two-dimensional joint position estimate, and the second two-dimensional joint position estimate (post-processing system 206 converts the joint location coordinates computed by the machine learning system 204 to estimate joint location coordinates in the three-dimensional world space, [0032]); and transmitting the generated three-dimensional joint position estimate (identifies a 3D hand pose based on the plurality of sets of joint location coordinates, [0051]).
D1 is silent to teaching that a rotation transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position, a generated three-dimensional translational transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches a rotation transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position (each of the support cameras 30, e.g., first support camera 30a, second support camera 30b, and third support camera 30c, captures a different view of the objects 22 from a different view point (e.g., a first viewpoint, a second viewpoint, and a third viewpoint, respectively, [0069]), a generated three-dimensional translational transformation between the first camera position and the second camera position (the pose estimator 100 estimates a pose of the current object, represented by rotation transformation Ro and translation transformation To with respect to a global coordinate system (e.g., a coordinate system defined with respect to the main camera 10), [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to improve the performance (e.g., accuracy of the segmentation maps).
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2021/0074016) in view of D2 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0044441) and further in view of D3 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2023/0162391).
-Regarding claim 6, the combination is silent to teaching that the generating of the first two-dimensional joint position estimate relative to the first camera position comprises utilizing a machine learning model, the model comprising: an object detection backbone; and a joint position estimation and camera parameter estimation block. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D3.
In the same field of endeavor, D3 teaches the generating of the first two-dimensional joint position estimate relative to the first camera position comprises utilizing a machine learning model (machine learning, [0040]), the model comprising: an object detection backbone (bounding box detection, [0040]); and a joint position estimation (landmark regression, [0040]) and camera parameter estimation block (camera focal length, [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of D3 in order to provide accurate interaction.
-Regarding claim 15, the combination further discloses the generating of the first two-dimensional joint position estimate relative to the first camera position comprises utilizing a machine learning model (D3, machine learning, [0040]), the model comprising: an object detection backbone (D3, bounding box detection, [0040]); and a joint position estimation (D3, landmark regression, [0040]) and camera parameter estimation block (D3, camera focal length, [0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-14, 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, 10, 15 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664