9DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are examined and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dave et al. (U.S. 2015/0341230 A1, hereinafter “Dave”) in view of Parekh et al. (U.S. 2022/0210194 A1, hereinafter “Parekh”)
As to claim 1, Dave discloses a computerized method for explicit and implicit cloud-resource data extraction with a multi-cloud governance platform comprising:
providing a plurality of cloud resources (para. [0010]; discloses cloud services brokerage platform that manages all aspects of transactions associated with their cloud services);
automatically obtaining a cloud resource data for each cloud resource in the plurality of cloud resources (para. [0053]; discloses aggregating cloud services into a service catalog that includes service information of the multiple cloud services);
defining a set of Cloud Operations, Security, Cost, Access, and Resource (OSCAR) cloud resources information for a plurality of explicit relationships and a plurality of implicit relationships of each cloud resource of the plurality of cloud resource (para. [0066], [0068], [0069], [0070]; discloses the cloud services brokerage defines cloud services and assets that pertains to governance, security, pricing , provisioning and business needs );
defining a plurality of implicit relationships (asset relationships) that are derived from a plurality of connections of each cloud resource (para. [0066]; discloses the CSB platform discloses relationships with assets);
obtaining a billing information of each cloud resource (para. [0050]; discloses providing billing information about the cloud resource);
obtaining a third-party data for the cloud resource (para.[0119]; discloses obtaining third-party application data for the cloud applications);
obtaining and associating a plurality of relevant standards, policies and regulations for each cloud resource (para. [0083]; discloses platform discloses a set of cloud decision and governance engines of the CSB platform is configured to simulate and optimize trade-offs between cloud service criteria such as, for example, business demand, resource capacity, utilization/performance, and IT sourcing policies. The set of cloud decision and governance engines enable the analysis of impacts to cloud service parameters such as, for example, cost, risk, QoS, SLAB, and application architecture for business services and applications);
with the plurality of implicit relationships that are derived from a plurality of connections of each cloud resource, the billing information of each cloud resource, the third-party data for the cloud resource plurality of relevant standards, the policies and regulations for each cloud resource, and the one or more relevant regions and other geographical data relevant to each cloud resource, generating a wholistic view of each cloud resource (Figure 7 and para. [0050]; discloses an cloud services brokerage platform that discloses all the services and their associated cloud services data in one interface for the user).
However Dave does not explicitly disclose the method of obtaining one or more relevant regions and other geographical data relevant to each cloud resource.
In an analogous art, Parekh discloses the method of obtaining one or more relevant regions and other geographical data relevant to each cloud resource (para. [0113]; discloses trust platform GUI receiving back a location attribute associated with the SSO service provider) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify platform in Dave by incorporating a location attribute that is linked to the location of the service provider as taught by Parekh in order to a user to quickly identify service providers that are closest to the user thereby decreasing response time and any potential delay.
As to claim 2, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the step of automatically obtaining the CR data further comprises: obtaining a cost profile list (Parekh, para.[0139]; discloses list of pricing rules), a dependency list (Parekh, para. [0125]; discloses a list of resource groups), and an operational profile (Parekh, para. [0141]; discloses list of changes in cloud resources between the current and immediately discovery instances).
As to claim 3, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the CR comprises a particular workload of a client's account (Parekh, para. [0119]; discloses providing a view of the workload of any given entity).
As to claim 4, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 3, wherein a dependency is defined for a virtual machine (VM) that is using a specific data store (Dave, para. [0057]; discloses the VM would run in a physical server).
As to claim 5, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the OSCAR governance model augments a plurality of cloud-native governance operations (Dave, para. [0011]; discloses the CSB platform provides governance of cloud servers and the platform is cloud based).
As to claim 6, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the plurality of cloud-native governance operations comprises a unified visibility and insights rule-based automation to govern the entire cloud landscape (Dave, para. [0069], [0080]; discloses CSB platform providing deployment automation based on requirements and visual user friendly console).
As to claim 7, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the plurality of cloud-native governance operations comprises an automated remediation to resolve at least one governance gaps (Parekh, para. [0095]; discloses remediation policies that can change dynamically policies).
As to claim 8, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the plurality of cloud-native governance operations comprises a quantify cloud-governance with one or more indexing and benchmarking operations for a cloud platform (Dave, para. [0065]; discloses the CSB platform enables (e.g., via the CSB platform access portal) command and control services that are critical to successful adoption and acceptance of the cloud services model (i.e., dashboard functionality for chargeback, SLAs and resources). A cloud service consumer can gain visibility into current performance, cost and utilization of cloud services and compare against planning benchmarks/milestones to automatically initiate corrective action to continuously optimize cost, resources and SLAs to meet business demand and changes.)
As to claim 9, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the plurality of relevant standards, policies and regulations for each cloud resource further are defined by a customer (Parekh, para. [0080]; discloses The trust platform provides functionality for enabling custom-defined (e.g., customer or end-user defined) identity and access management policies, ).
As to claim 10, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 9, wherein each cloud resources utilizes a specified network or connects to a specified device through a certain port (Dave, para. [0048]; discloses providing services via one or more outside networks with respect to the CSB platform).
As to claim 11, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 10 further comprising: building a FinOps governance model based on the plurality of explicit relationships, the plurality of implicit relationships and the billing information (Dave, para. [0089]; discloses CSB platform employs advanced simulation and optimization mathematical models for IT planning, sourcing and governance).
As to claim 12, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 11 further comprising: implementing a discovery for a cloud-resource account (Dave, para. [0130]).
As to claim 13, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 12 further comprising: utilizing one or more APIs provided by a cloud provider to obtain a cloud-resource data (Dave, para. [0075]; discloses CSB platform enables implementation of IT systems integration functionalities (via APIs) related to internal IT governance to view order access and complete workflow tasks).
As to claim 14, Dave-Parekh discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the step of utilizing one or more APIs provided by a cloud provider to obtain a cloud-resource data comprises a user profile obtained via the one or more APIs and the billing data (Dave, para. [0074]; discloses enterprise billing that provide APIs to retrieve and update data for bills).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhagat (U.S. 2012/0011077 A1) discloses cloud computing governance, Cyber Security, Risk, and Compliance Business Rules System and Method that enable real-time, on-demand, transparent and complete perspective across the risks, threats and opportunities through an enterprise across many operational domains. Cloud platform ensures "On Demand" risk-based private and public strategic alignment with regulatory and compliance priorities towards organizational governance objectives. A user can put in place tasks and controls for risks, and use the platform's cloud collaboration and workflow engine to track continuous remediation and governance improvements.
/JOE CHACKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457