DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1of U.S. Patent No. 12056512. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see table below.
Instant Application
12056512 Patent
1. A system comprising:
a memory storing an executable; and
a processor executing the executable to perform:
providing, to a trusted entity of the processor, a command for a launch of a virtual machine;
assigning, to the virtual machine, at least a portion of the memory for a guest operating system;
submitting, to the trusted entity, a request to measure an address space of the virtual machine to provide a measurement digest of the address space of the guest operating system;
including, in a configuration object, a policy provided by a user, wherein the policy defines a rule indicating which container may run in the guest operating system;
hashing the policy to provide a hash digest of the policy;
submitting, to the trusted entity, the hash digest of the policy; and
completing the launch of the virtual machine.
1. A system comprising:
a memory; and a processor configured to run service logic in a guest operating . . .
providing, to a trusted entity on a central processing unit of the processor, a command for a launch of the virtual machine;
assigning, to the virtual machine, at least a portion of the memory for the guest operating system;
submitting, to the trusted entity, a request to measure an address space of the virtual machine to provide a measurement digest of the address space of the guest operating system;
including, in a configuration object, a policy provided by a user for the service logic, wherein the policy for the service logic defines a rule for the service logic, wherein the rule indicates which container may run in the guest operating system;
hashing the policy for the service logic to provide a hash digest of the policy;
submitting, to the trusted entity, the hash digest of the policy for the service logic; and
completing the launch of the virtual machine.
As per claim 13, see rejection on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (Li, Chunxiao, Anand Raghunathan, and Niraj K. Jha. "A trusted virtual machine in an untrusted management environment." IEEE Transactions on services computing 5.4 (2011): 472-483) (hereinafter Li).
As per claim 10, Li teaches:
A system comprising:
a processor comprising a trusted entity (Li, 4.4.2 Domain Runtime);
a virtual machine (VM) running a guest operating system (OS) (Fig. 2. The split device driver model—TCP/IP Stack, Front-end Driver can be seen as parts of guest OS);
a hypervisor (3.1 The Xen Architecture—Xen); and
a host OS (3.2 Protection of Xen Hypervisor from Untrusted
Dom0—Dom0);
wherein the trusted entity communicates with the host OS and the guest OS via the hypervisor (3.1 The Xen Architecture),
wherein the host OS and the guest OS communicate with the trusted entity via the hypervisor (3.1 The Xen Architecture),
wherein the hypervisor and the host OS are not part of a trusted computing base (TCB) of the system (3.2 Protection of Xen Hypervisor from Untrusted
Dom0—under BRI, part of non TCB can be Dom 0 + Xen), wherein the trusted entity and the guest OS are a part of the TCB of the system (3.2 Protection of Xen Hypervisor from Untrusted Dom0).
As per claim 11, Li teaches:
The system of claim 10 (see rejection on claim 10), wherein confidential data in the virtual machine is shielded from the hypervisor and the host OS (Li, Fig. 2. The split device driver model).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Su et al (US 2022/0291940) (hereinafter Su).
As per claim 12, Li teaches:
The system of claim 10 (see rejection on claim 10), wherein one or more of the hypervisor and the host OS are run in an environment (Li, Fig. 2. The split device driver model), wherein one or more of the trusted entity and the guest OS are run on a local computing system (Li, Fig. 2. The split device driver model).
Li does not expressly teach:
wherein the environment is a cloud-based environment;
However, Su discloses:
wherein the environment is a cloud-based environment (Su, [0024]);
Both Su and Li pertain to the art of secured computing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Su’s method to run OS and hypervisor on cloud because it is well-known in the art that running a host operating system and a hypervisor in cloud environments lets providers and users slice one physical server into multiple isolated virtual machines to maximize hardware efficiency and flexibility.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10785029 teaches a method of using public cloud to implement virtual computing.
/CHARLIE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198