DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/4/26, with respect to objections to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the claim numbering have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For claim 1, Applicant states R1 does not disclose a first timer applied to only a specific serving cell; however, R1 discloses a timer can be for a specific serving cell (paragraph 345). Therefore, R1 would appear to disclose the claimed limitation.
Additionally, Applicant states R1 does not disclose “the Hierarchical Two-Timer CSI Transmission Control Logic” of claims 1-3. However, this limitation is not in the claims. Therefore, R1 discloses the claimed limitations and the rejections under the prior art are maintained.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Table 1 of the specification, ‘Hierarchical Two-Timer CSI Transmission Control Logic’) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Additionally, claims 1-3 are method claims, and therefore, the limitations after “in case that” are optional and not required by the claimed language.
Finally, in the previous action, Examiner took Official Notice for certain claimed limitations. Since Applicant has not traversed the previous Official Notice, Official Notice is considered FINAL, and such limitations are considered admitted prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 2023/0363043)[R1]
For claim 1, R1 discloses receiving, by the terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 233, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449 RRC), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises: configuration parameters for channel status information (CSI) report (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449 configures CSI reporting); configuration parameters for a first discontinuous reception (DRX) for a specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449 configures DRX for specific serving cells); and configuration parameters for a second DRX for a specific DRX group (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 361, 427-429, 437, 448-449 configures second DRX); activating, by the terminal, the first DRX for the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); and performing, by the terminal, transmission of CSI report on the specific serving cell, wherein a first timer starts and stops based on the configuration parameters for the first DRX for the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449), wherein, in case that the first timer for the specific serving cell is not running, the terminal: performs transmission of a first type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449 CSI is reported outside the on-duration period); does not perform transmission of a second type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449 must be in the time period); and does not perform transmission of a third type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 361, 427-429, 437, 448-449 must be while timer is running).
For claim 2, R1 discloses in case that the first timer for the serving cell is running and a second timer for the specific DRX group is not running (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449), the terminal: performs transmission of the first type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); performs transmission of the second type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); and does not perform transmission of the third type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
For claim 3, R1 discloses in case that the first timer for the serving cell is running and the second timer for the specific DRX group is running, the terminal (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449 smaller second timer): performs transmission of the first type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); performs transmission of the second type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); and performs transmission of the third type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 361, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
For claim 4, R1 discloses the specific DRX group comprises the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449 applied to specific serving cells).
For claim 5, R1 discloses the specific DRX group further comprises one or more secondary cells (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
For claim 6, R1 discloses the specific serving cell is Primary Cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449 Pcell).
For claim 13, R1 discloses the first DRX for the specific serving cell is applied only to the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); and the second DRX for the specific DRX group is applied to one or more serving cells (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
For claim 14, R1 discloses duration of the first timer of the specific serving cell is configured based on the configuration parameters for the first DRX for the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
For claim 15, R1 discloses a transceiver (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554), a memory (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554), and a controller coupled to the transceiver and the memory (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554), wherein the controller is configured to cause the terminal to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises: configuration parameters for channel status information (CSI) report (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554); configuration parameters for a first discontinuous reception (DRX) for a specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554); and configuration parameters for a second DRX for a specific DRX group (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554); activate the first DRX for the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554); and perform transmission of CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554), wherein a first timer starts and stops based on the configuration parameters for the first DRX for the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554), wherein, in case that the first timer for the specific serving cell is not running, the terminal: performs transmission of a first type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554); does not perform transmission of a second type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554); and does not perform transmission of a third type CSI report on the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 358, 427-429, 437, 448-449, 554).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by R1 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over R1.
For claim 7, R1 discloses the first type CSI report is transmitted: aperiodically on physical uplink shared channel of the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 361, 427-429, 437, 448-449); and based on a CSI request field in specific downlink control information addressed by a first identifier (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 361, 427-429, 437, 448-449). Or, in the alternative, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of transmitting aperiodically on physical uplink shared channel of the specific serving cell was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use transmitting aperiodically on physical uplink shared channel of the specific serving cell. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly use time interval for transmission, to increase flexibility, and design choice.
For claim 8, R1 discloses the second type CSI report is transmitted: semi-persistently on physical uplink shared channel of the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); and based on a CSI request field in second specific downlink control information addressed by a second identifier (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 361, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
For claim 9, R1 discloses the third type CSI report is transmitted: semi-persistently on physical uplink control channel of the specific serving cell (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); and based on an activation command in a specific medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 359, 368, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
For claim 10, R1 discloses the RRC reconfiguration message further comprises: configuration parameters for the first DRX for one or more second specific serving cells (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); and a parameter for the first identifier; and a parameter for the second identifier (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
For claim 11, R1 discloses the one or more second specific serving cells is one or more secondary cells (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
For claim 12, R1 discloses each of the one or more first DRX configurations is applied to each of one or more serving cells configured for the terminal (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449); and the second DRX configuration is applied to a primary DRX group (paragraphs 5-6, 27, 99, 219-223, 229-230 [including table], 338, 345-346, 427-429, 437, 448-449).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463