DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NAGAI et al (US 2020/0312550).
Regarding claim 1, NAGAI discloses a multi-layer ceramic capacitor (Fig. 1-11), comprising: a multi-layer brick (Fig. 4, 3), comprising: a ceramic body (Fig. 1, 3) having a first surface and a second surface (Fig. 1, 3a/3b) that are opposite to each other (Fig. 1), and a first end surface and a second end surface (Fig. 1, 3e) that are opposite to each other (Fig. 1), wherein the first end surface and the second end surface are connected between the first surface and the second surface (Fig. 1); and a plurality of first internal electrodes (Fig. 4, 7) and a plurality of second internal electrodes (Fig. 4, 9) alternately embedded in the ceramic body in sequence and physically separated from each other (Fig. 4), wherein the first internal electrodes extend from the first end surface toward the second end surface and are spaced apart from the second end surface (Fig. 4), and the second internal electrodes extend from the second end surface toward the first end surface and are spaced apart from the first end surface (Fig. 4); a first terminal electrode (Fig. 4, 5 on left) extending from a first portion of the first surface (Fig. 3, where 5 is on bottom) through the first end surface to a first portion of the second surface (Fig. 3, where 5 is on top), wherein the first terminal electrode comprises a first stress buffer layer (Fig. 3, E2 on left) located in an inner of the first terminal electrode under the first portion of the second surface (Fig. 3); and a second terminal electrode (Fig. 4, 5 on right) extending from a second portion of the first surface (Fig. 3, where 5 is on bottom) through the second end surface to a second portion of the second surface (Fig. 3, where 5 is on top), wherein the first terminal electrode and the second terminal electrode are physically separated from each other (Fig. 4), and the second terminal electrode comprises a second stress buffer layer (Fig. 3, E2 on right) located in an inner of the second terminal electrode under the second portion of the second surface (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, NAGAI further discloses that the first internal electrodes and the second internal electrodes are perpendicular to the first surface and the second surface (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, NAGAI further discloses that the first terminal electrode comprises: a first terminal electrode inner layer (Fig. 11, E1) covering the first portion of the first surface, the first end surface, and the first portion of the second surface (Fig. 3 and 11), wherein the first stress buffer layer is located under the first terminal electrode inner layer (Fig. 11, E2 is below E1); and a first terminal electrode outer layer (Fig. 3, E3) covering the first terminal electrode inner layer and the first stress buffer layer (Fig. 3); and the second terminal electrode comprises: a second terminal electrode inner layer (Fig. 3, E1) covering the second portion of the first surface, the second end surface, and the second portion of the second surface (Fig. 3 and 11), wherein the second stress buffer layer is located under the second terminal electrode inner layer (Fig. 11, E2 is below E1); and a second terminal electrode outer layer (Fig. 11, E3) covering the second terminal electrode inner layer and the second stress buffer layer (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, NAGAI further discloses that a thickness of the first stress buffer layer and a thickness of the second stress buffer layer are both equal to or greater than 100 µm (Fig. 10, multiple examples T3 greater than 100 µm).
Regarding claim 7, NAGAI further discloses that materials of the first stress buffer layer and the second stress buffer layer are silver paste or copper paste ([0074-0075]).
Regarding claim 8, NAGAI further discloses that the first terminal electrode outer layer comprises: a first conductive layer (Fig. 3, E3) covering the first terminal electrode inner layer and the first stress buffer layer (Fig. 3); and a second conductive layer (Fig. 3, E4) covering the first conductive layer (Fig. 3); and the second terminal electrode outer layer comprises: a third conductive layer (Fig. 3, E3) covering the second terminal electrode inner layer and the second stress buffer layer (Fig. 3); and a fourth conductive layer (Fig. 3, E4) covering the third conductive layer (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, NAGAI further discloses that materials of the first terminal electrode inner layer and the second terminal electrode inner layer are copper ([0073]), silver, or silver-palladium alloy, materials of the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer are nickel ([0077]), and materials of the second conductive layer and the fourth conductive layer are tin ([0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGAI et al (US 2020/0312550) in view of MURAMATSU (US 2020/0234887).
Regarding claim 5, NAGAI fails to teach the claim limitations.
MURAMATSU teaches that the first internal electrodes and the second internal electrodes (Fig. 5, 20a/20b) are separated from the first surface (Fig. 4, top surface) by a first distance (Fig. 4, 26a), the first internal electrodes and the second internal electrodes are separated from the second surface (Fig. 4, bottom surface) by a second distance (Fig. 4, bottom 26a), the first distance is equal to the second distance (Fig. 4), and the first distance and the second distance are equal to or greater than 25 µm (10-70 µm [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of MURAMATSU to the invention of NAGAI, in order to provide a gap so that there is lower chances of shorts in the capacitor (MURAMATSU [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, NAGAI fails to teach the claim limitations.
MURAMATSU teaches that the first stress buffer layer and the second stress buffer layer (Fig. 2, 34 on bottom) respectively contact with the first portion and the second portion of the second surface (Fig. 2, 34 contacts bottom of capacitor at near ends); the first terminal electrode (Fig. 2, 14b) comprises: a first terminal electrode inner layer (Fig. 2, 34 on sides and top and bottom) covering the first portion of the first surface, the first end surface, and the first stress buffer layer (Fig. 2); and a first terminal electrode outer layer (Fig. 2, 30) covering the first terminal electrode inner layer and the first stress buffer layer (Fig. 2); and the second terminal electrode (Fig. 2, 15a) comprises: a second terminal electrode inner layer (Fig. 2, 34 on right side and top and bottom) covering the second portion of the first surface, the second end surface, and the second stress buffer layer (Fig. 2); and a second terminal electrode outer layer (Fig. 2, 30) covering the second terminal electrode inner layer and the second stress buffer layer (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of MURAMATSU to the invention of NAGAI, in order to improve the reliability of the external electrodes (MURAMATSU [0006]).
Regarding claim 11, NAGAI, as modified by MURAMATSU, further teaches that a thickness of the first stress buffer layer and a thickness of the second stress buffer layer are both equal to or greater than 100 µm (Fig. 10, multiple examples T3 greater than 100 µm).
Regarding claim 12, NAGAI fails to teach the claim limitations.
MURAMATSU teaches that the first internal electrodes and the second internal electrodes (Fig. 5, 20a/20b) are separated from the first surface (Fig. 4, top surface) by a first distance (Fig. 4, 26a), the first internal electrodes and the second internal electrodes are separated from the second surface (Fig. 4, bottom surface) by a second distance (Fig. 4, bottom 26a), the first distance is equal to the second distance (Fig. 4), and the first distance and the second distance are equal to or greater than 25 µm (10-70 µm [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of MURAMATSU to the invention of NAGAI, in order to provide a gap so that there is lower chances of shorts in the capacitor (MURAMATSU [0041]).
Regarding claim 14, NAGAI, as modified by MURAMATSU, further teaches that materials of the first stress buffer layer and the second stress buffer layer are silver paste or copper paste ([0074-0075]).
Regarding claim 15, NAGAI, as modified by MURAMATSU, further teaches that materials of the first stress buffer layer and the second stress buffer layer are non-conductive materials (at least some of the materials are non-conductive such as the thermosetting resin [0074-0075]).
Regarding claim 16, NAGAI, as modified by MURAMATSU, further teaches that the first terminal electrode outer layer comprises: a first conductive layer (Fig. 3, E3) covering the first terminal electrode inner layer and the first stress buffer layer (Fig. 3); and a second conductive layer (Fig. 3, E4) covering the first conductive layer (Fig. 3); and the second terminal electrode outer layer comprises: a third conductive layer (Fig. 3, E3) covering the second terminal electrode inner layer and the second stress buffer layer (Fig. 3); and a fourth conductive layer (Fig. 3, E4) covering the third conductive layer (Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGAI et al (US 2020/0312550) in view of AHN et al (US 2014/0138136).
Regarding claim 6, NAGAI fails to teach the claim limitations.
AHN teaches that the first internal electrodes (Fig. 2, 121) and the second internal electrodes (Fig. 2, 122) are separated from the first surface by a first distance (Fig. 3, D), the first internal electrodes and the second internal electrodes are separated from the second surface by a second distance (Fig. 3, B), and the second distance is greater than the first distance (Fig. 3), wherein the first distance is equal to or greater than 25 µm (Table 1, sample 1-18; 40 µm), and the second distance is equal to or greater than 100 µm (Table 1, sample 1-18; 120.0 µm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of AHN to the invention of NAGAI, in order to reduce noise created by vibrations (AHN [0014]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGAI et al (US 2020/0312550) in view of MURAMATSU (US 2020/0234887) in further view of AHN et al (US 2014/0138136).
Regarding claim 13, NAGAI fails to teach the claim limitations.
AHN teaches that the first internal electrodes (Fig. 2, 121) and the second internal electrodes (Fig. 2, 122) are separated from the first surface by a first distance (Fig. 3, D), the first internal electrodes and the second internal electrodes are separated from the second surface by a second distance (Fig. 3, B), and the second distance is greater than the first distance (Fig. 3), wherein the first distance is equal to or greater than 25 µm (Table 1, sample 1-18; 40 µm), and the second distance is equal to or greater than 100 µm (Table 1, sample 1-18; 120.0 µm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of AHN to the invention of NAGAI, in order to reduce noise created by vibrations (AHN [0014]).
Additional Relevant Prior Art:
ONODERA et al (US 2020/0211774) teaches relevant art in Fig. 2-5.
YI et al (US 2020/0273621) teaches the buffer layer can be non-conductive Fig. 2, [0069].
TAKEUCHI et al (US 2021/0343475) teaches relevant art in Fig. 2.
Lee et al (US 2022/0392707) teaches relevant art in Fig. 4.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848