DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1, 4-11, and 14-24 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 07/16/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 11, and 20 recite ‘motion of the first UI element’; however, they should recite - - a motion of the first UI element - -.
Claim 17 recites ‘the second animation effect’; however, it should recite - - a second animation effect - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, and 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walkin et al. (US 20210240332 A1, published 08/05/2021), hereinafter Walkin.
Regarding claim 1, Walkin teaches the claim comprising:
A user interface display method, comprising (Walkin Figs. 1-14; abs. an electronic device displays user interface elements in response to requests to move a cursor beyond an edge of the display; [0174], FIG. 5B depicts exemplary personal electronic device 500. In some embodiments, device 500 can include some or all of the components described with respect to FIGS. 1A, 1B, and 3. Device 500 has bus 512 that operatively couples I/O section 514 with one or more computer processors 516 and memory 518; [0176], Memory 518 of personal electronic device 500 can include one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, for storing computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more computer processors 516, for example, can cause the computer processors to perform the techniques described below):
displaying a first user interface (UI) element and a second UI element on a screen of an electronic device; in response to detecting an operation performed on the first UI element, enabling motion of the first UI element (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0206], In some embodiments, in response to detecting contact 603 on touch-sensitive surface 451, electronic device 500 begins display of cursor 630, as shown in FIG. 6C. As shown in FIG. 6C, the device optionally displays the cursor fading into view. For example, in FIG. 6D, cursor 630 is fading in and more visible (e.g., less translucent) than cursor 630 in FIG. 6D; [0207], In FIG. 6F, an upward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the upward swipe of contact 603, cursor 630 is moved up in the user interface in accordance with the length/direction of movement of contact 603, as shown in FIG. 6F (e.g., from initial position 629); [0208], In FIG. 6G, an upward-leftward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 and cursor 630 moves in an upward-leftward direction, as shown. In FIG. 6H, a rightward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves rightwards towards button 620-1);
and enabling, in response to determining that the first UI element enters or leaves a target area associated with the second UI element, at least one of the first UI element and the second UI element to produce an animation effect causing a change in the display, wherein a degree of the change is determined based at least on a first size of the first UI element or a second size of the second UI element (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0207-0208], In FIG. 6G, an upward-leftward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 and cursor 630 moves in an upward-leftward direction, as shown. In FIG. 6H, a rightward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves rightwards towards button 620-1. In some embodiments, if cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input. For example, the size of the cursor becomes slightly larger than the user interface object that is being selected for input such that the cursor appears to be highlighting the user interface object that is being selected for input (e.g., a halo around the user interface object). In FIG. 6H, because button 630 is a button having a rectangular or square shape, the shape of cursor 630 becomes rectangular or a square. In some embodiments, the color of cursor 630 changes or stays the same. In some embodiments, cursor 630 maintains its transparency. In some embodiments, cursor 630 becomes opaque; [0209], As shown in FIG. 6H, cursor 630 need not reach the center of button 620-1 for button 620-1 to be selected for input. In some embodiments, when button 620-1 is selected for input, cursor 630 optionally centers itself on button 620-1; in FIG. 6H, cursor 630 appears to “lean” or become drawn towards button 620-1. Thus, in some embodiments, the cursor 630 extends and/or shifts toward the user interface object that is being selected for input; [0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0306], changing the appearance includes displaying an animation of the cursor morphing from its default size and shape to the size and shape based on the respective user interface object; [0310], the device changes (734) an appearance of the respective user interface object in accordance with the movement of the fourth input while maintaining the respective user interface object as being selected for input, such as cursor 630 and button 620-1 shifting rightwards in FIG. 6M; [0313], while the respective user interface object is selected for input and after changing the appearance of the respective user interface object in accordance with the movement of the fourth input (e.g., shifting the respective user interface object (the content of the respective user interface object) in the direction of the cursor movement)
wherein the degree of the change is further determined based on speed information associated with the motion of the first UI element, and the speed information indicates at least one of the following: a speed at which the first UI element enters or leaves the target area; or an average speed of the first UI element in a target time period, wherein the target time period is determined based on a moment at which the first UI element enters or leaves the target area (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0200], FIGS. 6A-6DW illustrate exemplary ways in which a cursor interacts with user interface objects in a user interface on an electronic device. The embodiments in these figures are used to illustrate the processes described below, including the processes described with reference to FIGS. 7A-7M and/or FIGS. 8A-8O; [0207-0208], cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input; [0209-0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0391], if the cursor moves across selectable user interface elements at a speed below the threshold, the cursor will change its size, shape, and/or color to conform to the respective selectable user interface elements as it moves. Thus, in some embodiments, the user is able to see user interface elements being selected for input as the cursor moves around in the user interface. In some embodiments, the color of the cursor changes based on the content as described herein with respect to method 800; [0392], if the cursor's speed is above the threshold, then the appearance of the cursor is not changed based on any selectable user interface elements that it moves across (e.g., until the speed falls below the threshold or the cursor stops moving). In some embodiments, if the cursor's speed is above the threshold, then only some of the cursor's changes are permitted and others are not. For example, the color of the cursor changes while the size and shape is not able to change. In some embodiments, when the cursor speed is below the threshold, the cursor is in full animation mode and when the cursor speed is above the threshold, the cursor is in reduced or no animation mode.); [0362], FIGS. 8A-8O are flow diagrams illustrating a method 800 of selectively displaying a cursor in a user interface; [0396], while displaying the cursor in the user interface (862), such as in FIG. 6J: in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied (e.g., the one or more criteria optionally includes a criterion that is satisfied when the cursor speed is below a threshold and/or a criterion that is satisfied when the respective user interface element is selectable for input or otherwise interactable), the device displays (864) the cursor with a shape based on one or more characteristics of a respective user interface element at which the cursor is located, such as in FIG. 6J (e.g., the size, shape, and/or appearance of the cursor is based on the characteristics of the respective user interface element including its size, shape, color, type, and/or how the user interacts with it); [0398], in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied (e.g., the cursor is above a speed threshold, the cursor is not at a location of a user interface object that is selectable for input, etc.), the device displays (866) the cursor with a respective shape that is not based on the one or more characteristics of the respective user interface element at which the cursor is located; see also [0306], [0310], [0313])
wherein the degree of the change is directly proportional to the first size or the second size and inversely proportional to the speed indicated by the speed information associated with the motion of the first UI element (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0207-0208], cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input; the size of the cursor becomes slightly larger than the user interface object that is being selected for input such that the cursor appears to be highlighting the user interface object that is being selected for input (e.g., a halo around the user interface object). In FIG. 6H, because button 630 is a button having a rectangular or square shape, the shape of cursor 630 becomes rectangular or a square; [0209-0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0390-0391], if the cursor moves across selectable user interface elements at a speed below the threshold, the cursor will change its size, shape, and/or color to conform to the respective selectable user interface elements as it moves. Thus, in some embodiments, the user is able to see user interface elements being selected for input as the cursor moves around in the user interface. In some embodiments, the color of the cursor changes based on the content as described herein with respect to method 800; [0392], if the cursor's speed is above the threshold, then the appearance of the cursor is not changed based on any selectable user interface elements that it moves across (e.g., until the speed falls below the threshold or the cursor stops moving). In some embodiments, if the cursor's speed is above the threshold, then only some of the cursor's changes are permitted and others are not. For example, the color of the cursor changes while the size and shape is not able to change. In some embodiments, when the cursor speed is below the threshold, the cursor is in full animation mode and when the cursor speed is above the threshold, the cursor is in reduced or no animation mode.); [0362], FIGS. 8A-8O are flow diagrams illustrating a method 800 of selectively displaying a cursor in a user interface; [0396], while displaying the cursor in the user interface (862), such as in FIG. 6J: in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied (e.g., the one or more criteria optionally includes a criterion that is satisfied when the cursor speed is below a threshold and/or a criterion that is satisfied when the respective user interface element is selectable for input or otherwise interactable), the device displays (864) the cursor with a shape based on one or more characteristics of a respective user interface element at which the cursor is located, such as in FIG. 6J (e.g., the size, shape, and/or appearance of the cursor is based on the characteristics of the respective user interface element including its size, shape, color, type, and/or how the user interacts with it); [0398], in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied (e.g., the cursor is above a speed threshold, the cursor is not at a location of a user interface object that is selectable for input, etc.), the device displays (866) the cursor with a respective shape that is not based on the one or more characteristics of the respective user interface element at which the cursor is located; [0471], the cursor is resized by a same amount as the first user interface element is resized. In some embodiments, the amount of resizing of the cursor is proportional to the amount of resizing of the first user interface element. For example, if the first element is enlarged (e.g., zoomed in), then the cursor is enlarged proportionally (e.g., if the first element is enlarged by 2x, the cursor is enlarged by 2x, etc.); see also [0200], [0306], [0310], [0313])
Regarding claims 11 and 20, claims 11 and 20 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 11 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Walkin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the degree of the change indicates a length of a target distance of the enabled motion, and wherein the enabling at least one of the first UI element and the second UI element to produce an animation effect comprises: changing a visual feature of the at least one of the first UI element and the second UI element, wherein the visual feature comprises at least one of the following: a size, a color, a shape, a transparency, or a brightness; and the degree of the change indicates a magnitude of change of the visual feature (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0207-0208], In FIG. 6G, an upward-leftward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 and cursor 630 moves in an upward-leftward direction, as shown. In FIG. 6H, a rightward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves rightwards towards button 620-1. In some embodiments, if cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input. For example, the size of the cursor becomes slightly larger than the user interface object that is being selected for input such that the cursor appears to be highlighting the user interface object that is being selected for input (e.g., a halo around the user interface object). In FIG. 6H, because button 630 is a button having a rectangular or square shape, the shape of cursor 630 becomes rectangular or a square. In some embodiments, the color of cursor 630 changes or stays the same. In some embodiments, cursor 630 maintains its transparency. In some embodiments, cursor 630 becomes opaque; [0209-0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0216], because button 620-2 is within a threshold distance (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.) of button 620-1, cursor 630 moves directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input (e.g., without returning to the default size/shape of cursor 630 in between buttons 620-1 and 620-2); [0222], cursor 630 moves further downward to the position of button 620-6, as shown. In some embodiments, button 620-6 is selected for input. In some embodiments, because button 620-6 is circular in shape (e.g., has a circular border), the shape of cursor 630 is circular. In some embodiments, cursor 630 is rectangular even though button 620-6 is circular in shape, similar to the cursor in FIG. 6S, because cursor 630 is displayed with a rectangular/square shape whenever it selects a button for input, irrespective of the shape of that button. Thus, in some embodiments, if a first user interface object and a second user interface object are farther than the threshold distance away from each other, then when cursor 630 moves away from the location of the first user interface object such that the first user interface object is no longer selected for input, but the second user interface object is not yet selected for input, cursor 630 optionally returns to its default shape and size before changing to a size and shape based on the second user interface object (e.g., when the cursor reaches the threshold distance away from the second user interface object); [0306], changing the appearance includes displaying an animation of the cursor morphing from its default size and shape to the size and shape based on the respective user interface object; [0391-0392], if the cursor's speed is above the threshold, then the appearance of the cursor is not changed based on any selectable user interface elements that it moves across (e.g., until the speed falls below the threshold or the cursor stops moving). In some embodiments, if the cursor's speed is above the threshold, then only some of the cursor's changes are permitted and others are not. For example, the color of the cursor changes while the size and shape is not able to change. In some embodiments, when the cursor speed is below the threshold, the cursor is in full animation mode and when the cursor speed is above the threshold, the cursor is in reduced or no animation mode.); [0396], while displaying the cursor in the user interface (862), such as in FIG. 6J: in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied (e.g., the one or more criteria optionally includes a criterion that is satisfied when the cursor speed is below a threshold and/or a criterion that is satisfied when the respective user interface element is selectable for input or otherwise interactable), the device displays (864) the cursor with a shape based on one or more characteristics of a respective user interface element at which the cursor is located, such as in FIG. 6J (e.g., the size, shape, and/or appearance of the cursor is based on the characteristics of the respective user interface element including its size, shape, color, type, and/or how the user interacts with it); see also [0310], [0313])
Regarding claims 14 and 21, claims 14 and 21 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claims 14 and 21 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Walkin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the animation effect comprises a first animation effect produced by the second UI element at a first moment, the screen of the electronic device further displays a third UI element, and the method further comprises: enabling the third UI element to produce a second animation effect at a second moment, wherein the second moment is later than the first moment (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0207-0208], In FIG. 6G, an upward-leftward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 and cursor 630 moves in an upward-leftward direction, as shown. In FIG. 6H, a rightward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves rightwards towards button 620-1. In some embodiments, if cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input. For example, the size of the cursor becomes slightly larger than the user interface object that is being selected for input such that the cursor appears to be highlighting the user interface object that is being selected for input (e.g., a halo around the user interface object). In FIG. 6H, because button 630 is a button having a rectangular or square shape, the shape of cursor 630 becomes rectangular or a square. In some embodiments, the color of cursor 630 changes or stays the same. In some embodiments, cursor 630 maintains its transparency. In some embodiments, cursor 630 becomes opaque; [0209-0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0216], In FIG. 6N, contact 603 continues its rightward swipe (e.g., from FIG. 6M, without termination of contact 603 from the touch-sensitive surface) on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the continued rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves further rightward away from button 620-1 and toward button 620-2, as shown. In some embodiments, because button 620-2 is within a threshold distance (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.) of button 620-1, cursor 630 moves directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input (e.g., without returning to the default size/shape of cursor 630 in between buttons 620-1 and 620-2). In some embodiments, the size and shape of cursor 630 is updated to be based on button 620-2. As shown in FIG. 6N, the size and shape of cursor 630 is not changed because button 620-2 has a similar (e.g., same) size and is a similar (e.g., same) type of user interface object as button 620-1. In some embodiments, the distance between button 620-1 and button 620-2 that allows cursor 630 to move directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input is the same as the threshold distance described above with respect to FIG. 6H that caused button 620-1 to be selected for input. In FIG. 6N, after cursor 630 moves to button 620-2, button 620-1 returns to its original position (e.g., moves back leftwards), and is no longer selected for input; [0218], in response to selection 603, cursor 630 becomes smaller and/or darker and/or the content of button 620-2 (e.g., the icon) also becomes smaller and/or darker proportionally, similar to as in FIG. 6K with respect to button 620-1; [0219], In FIG. 6Q, a selection 603 of the “tab” key is received on external keyboard 593 while button 620-2 is selected for input. In some embodiments, a “tab” key input corresponds to a request to select the next object in the user interface for input; [0221], In FIG. 6T, a downward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 (while maintaining contact from FIG. 6S). In response to the downward swipe, cursor 630 moves downwards away from the center of button 620-3, as shown in FIG. 6T. In some embodiments, the downward swipe of contact 603 moves cursor beyond the threshold distance within which button 620-3 is selected for input (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.). Thus, as shown in FIG. 6T, cursor 630 returns to its default size and shape and is no longer based on button 620-3 (e.g., cursor 630 “snaps” out of button 620-3) and button 620-3 is no longer selected for input; [0222], when cursor 630 moves away from the location of the first user interface object such that the first user interface object is no longer selected for input, but the second user interface object is not yet selected for input, cursor 630 optionally returns to its default shape and size before changing to a size and shape based on the second user interface object (e.g., when the cursor reaches the threshold distance away from the second user interface object); [0306], changing the appearance includes displaying an animation of the cursor morphing from its default size and shape to the size and shape based on the respective user interface object; see also [0310], [0313], [0391-0392], [0396])
Regarding claims 15 and 22, claims 15 and 22 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claims 15 and 22 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Walkin teaches all the limitations of claim 5, further comprising:
wherein the second moment is determined based on a distance from the third UI element to the first UI element at the first moment (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0207-0208], In FIG. 6G, an upward-leftward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 and cursor 630 moves in an upward-leftward direction, as shown. In FIG. 6H, a rightward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves rightwards towards button 620-1. In some embodiments, if cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input. For example, the size of the cursor becomes slightly larger than the user interface object that is being selected for input such that the cursor appears to be highlighting the user interface object that is being selected for input (e.g., a halo around the user interface object). In FIG. 6H, because button 630 is a button having a rectangular or square shape, the shape of cursor 630 becomes rectangular or a square. In some embodiments, the color of cursor 630 changes or stays the same. In some embodiments, cursor 630 maintains its transparency. In some embodiments, cursor 630 becomes opaque; [0209-0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0216], In FIG. 6N, contact 603 continues its rightward swipe (e.g., from FIG. 6M, without termination of contact 603 from the touch-sensitive surface) on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the continued rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves further rightward away from button 620-1 and toward button 620-2, as shown. In some embodiments, because button 620-2 is within a threshold distance (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.) of button 620-1, cursor 630 moves directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input (e.g., without returning to the default size/shape of cursor 630 in between buttons 620-1 and 620-2). In some embodiments, the size and shape of cursor 630 is updated to be based on button 620-2. As shown in FIG. 6N, the size and shape of cursor 630 is not changed because button 620-2 has a similar (e.g., same) size and is a similar (e.g., same) type of user interface object as button 620-1. In some embodiments, the distance between button 620-1 and button 620-2 that allows cursor 630 to move directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input is the same as the threshold distance described above with respect to FIG. 6H that caused button 620-1 to be selected for input. In FIG. 6N, after cursor 630 moves to button 620-2, button 620-1 returns to its original position (e.g., moves back leftwards), and is no longer selected for input; [0218], in response to selection 603, cursor 630 becomes smaller and/or darker and/or the content of button 620-2 (e.g., the icon) also becomes smaller and/or darker proportionally, similar to as in FIG. 6K with respect to button 620-1; [0219], In FIG. 6Q, a selection 603 of the “tab” key is received on external keyboard 593 while button 620-2 is selected for input. In some embodiments, a “tab” key input corresponds to a request to select the next object in the user interface for input; [0221], In FIG. 6T, a downward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 (while maintaining contact from FIG. 6S). In response to the downward swipe, cursor 630 moves downwards away from the center of button 620-3, as shown in FIG. 6T. In some embodiments, the downward swipe of contact 603 moves cursor beyond the threshold distance within which button 620-3 is selected for input (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.). Thus, as shown in FIG. 6T, cursor 630 returns to its default size and shape and is no longer based on button 620-3 (e.g., cursor 630 “snaps” out of button 620-3) and button 620-3 is no longer selected for input; [0222], when cursor 630 moves away from the location of the first user interface object such that the first user interface object is no longer selected for input, but the second user interface object is not yet selected for input, cursor 630 optionally returns to its default shape and size before changing to a size and shape based on the second user interface object (e.g., when the cursor reaches the threshold distance away from the second user interface object); [0306], changing the appearance includes displaying an animation of the cursor morphing from its default size and shape to the size and shape based on the respective user interface object; see also [0310], [0313], [0391-0392], [0396])
Regarding claims 16 and 23, claims 16 and 23 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claims 16 and 23 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Walkin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the enabling, in response to determining that the first UI element enters or leaves a target area associated with the second UI element, at least one of the first UI element and the second UI element to produce an animation effect comprises: in response to detecting that the motion enables the first UI element to enter the target area at a third moment, enabling the at least one of the first UI element and the second UI element to produce the first animation effect; and in response to detecting that the motion enables the second UI element to leave the target area at a fourth moment and that a difference between the fourth moment and the third moment is less than an animation effect duration of the first animation effect: enabling the at least one of the first UI element and the second UI element to stop presenting the first animation effect; and enabling the at least one of the first UI element and the second UI element to start presenting a second animation effect (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0207-0208], In FIG. 6G, an upward-leftward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 and cursor 630 moves in an upward-leftward direction, as shown. In FIG. 6H, a rightward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves rightwards towards button 620-1. In some embodiments, if cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input. For example, the size of the cursor becomes slightly larger than the user interface object that is being selected for input such that the cursor appears to be highlighting the user interface object that is being selected for input (e.g., a halo around the user interface object). In FIG. 6H, because button 630 is a button having a rectangular or square shape, the shape of cursor 630 becomes rectangular or a square. In some embodiments, the color of cursor 630 changes or stays the same. In some embodiments, cursor 630 maintains its transparency. In some embodiments, cursor 630 becomes opaque; [0209-0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0216], In FIG. 6N, contact 603 continues its rightward swipe (e.g., from FIG. 6M, without termination of contact 603 from the touch-sensitive surface) on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the continued rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves further rightward away from button 620-1 and toward button 620-2, as shown. In some embodiments, because button 620-2 is within a threshold distance (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.) of button 620-1, cursor 630 moves directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input (e.g., without returning to the default size/shape of cursor 630 in between buttons 620-1 and 620-2). In some embodiments, the size and shape of cursor 630 is updated to be based on button 620-2. As shown in FIG. 6N, the size and shape of cursor 630 is not changed because button 620-2 has a similar (e.g., same) size and is a similar (e.g., same) type of user interface object as button 620-1. In some embodiments, the distance between button 620-1 and button 620-2 that allows cursor 630 to move directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input is the same as the threshold distance described above with respect to FIG. 6H that caused button 620-1 to be selected for input. In FIG. 6N, after cursor 630 moves to button 620-2, button 620-1 returns to its original position (e.g., moves back leftwards), and is no longer selected for input; [0218], in response to selection 603, cursor 630 becomes smaller and/or darker and/or the content of button 620-2 (e.g., the icon) also becomes smaller and/or darker proportionally, similar to as in FIG. 6K with respect to button 620-1; [0310], while the respective user interface object is selected for input, the device receives (732) a fourth input, via the one or more input devices, corresponding to a request to move the cursor, such as in FIG. 6M (e.g., an input for moving the cursor from the location of the respective user interface object while the respective user interface object is selected for input) and in response to receiving the fourth input and while receiving the fourth input, in accordance with a determination that a movement of the fourth input is below a threshold movement (e.g., for moving the cursor by less than 0.25 mm, 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 4 mm, 6 mm, 10 mm, etc.), the device changes (734) an appearance of the respective user interface object in accordance with the movement of the fourth input while maintaining the respective user interface object as being selected for input, such as cursor 630 and button 620-1 shifting rightwards in FIG. 6M (e.g., shifting the respective user interface object (the content of the respective user interface object) in the direction of the cursor movement); [0311], the respective user interface object moves concurrently with the movement of the cursor (e.g., follow the cursor). In some embodiments, the respective user interface object continues to have a current focus while it is moved while maintaining being selected for input. Thus, the user is able to perform slight movement inputs without the respective user interface object losing its focus, but while providing visual feedback to the user of the user's movement inputs. In some embodiments, when the movement of the fourth input increases beyond the threshold movement, the respective user interface object moves back to its original position (e.g., snaps back or displays an animation gradually moving the object back to its original position). In some embodiments, when the respective user interface object moves back to its original position, the size and/or shape of the cursor returns to the size and/or shape that it had at its original position (e.g., default size and/or default shape) and is optionally visually separated from the respective user interface object. In some embodiments, when the respective user interface object moves back to its original position and/or the size and/or shape of the cursor returns to the size and/or shape that it had at its original position and is optionally visually separated from the respective user interface object, the respective user interface object is no longer selected for input and does not have a current focus (optionally another user interface element becomes selected for input and/or receives a current focus, or no element is selected for input and/or receives a current focus); the threshold distance beyond which the cursor snaps out of the respective user interface object is more than the threshold distance within which the respective user interface becomes selected for input (e.g., the thresholds have a hysteresis to prevent the cursor from rapidly flickering between default size and shape and the size and shape based on the respective user interface object when the cursor is at or near the threshold distance).; see also [0306], [0313], [0391-0392], [0396])
Regarding claims 17 and 24, claims 17 and 24 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 7. Consequently, claims 17 and 24 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, Walkin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the target area is determined based on the second size of the second UI element (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0207-0208], In FIG. 6G, an upward-leftward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 and cursor 630 moves in an upward-leftward direction, as shown. In FIG. 6H, a rightward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves rightwards towards button 620-1. In some embodiments, if cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input. For example, the size of the cursor becomes slightly larger than the user interface object that is being selected for input such that the cursor appears to be highlighting the user interface object that is being selected for input (e.g., a halo around the user interface object). In FIG. 6H, because button 630 is a button having a rectangular or square shape, the shape of cursor 630 becomes rectangular or a square. In some embodiments, the color of cursor 630 changes or stays the same. In some embodiments, cursor 630 maintains its transparency. In some embodiments, cursor 630 becomes opaque; [0209-0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0216], In FIG. 6N, contact 603 continues its rightward swipe (e.g., from FIG. 6M, without termination of contact 603 from the touch-sensitive surface) on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the continued rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves further rightward away from button 620-1 and toward button 620-2, as shown. In some embodiments, because button 620-2 is within a threshold distance (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.) of button 620-1, cursor 630 moves directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input (e.g., without returning to the default size/shape of cursor 630 in between buttons 620-1 and 620-2). In some embodiments, the size and shape of cursor 630 is updated to be based on button 620-2. As shown in FIG. 6N, the size and shape of cursor 630 is not changed because button 620-2 has a similar (e.g., same) size and is a similar (e.g., same) type of user interface object as button 620-1. In some embodiments, the distance between button 620-1 and button 620-2 that allows cursor 630 to move directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input is the same as the threshold distance described above with respect to FIG. 6H that caused button 620-1 to be selected for input. In FIG. 6N, after cursor 630 moves to button 620-2, button 620-1 returns to its original position (e.g., moves back leftwards), and is no longer selected for input; [0218], in response to selection 603, cursor 630 becomes smaller and/or darker and/or the content of button 620-2 (e.g., the icon) also becomes smaller and/or darker proportionally, similar to as in FIG. 6K with respect to button 620-1; see also [0306], [0310-0311], [0313], [0391-0392], [0396])
Regarding claim 9, Walkin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the first UI element is a cursor element, the second UI element is a control element, and the enabling at least one of the first UI element and the second UI element to produce an animation effect comprises: in response to determining that the first UI element enters the target area, enabling the second UI element to be switched from a first state to a floating state, wherein a size or a background board style of the second UI element in the floating state is different from that of the second UI element in the first state; or in response to determining that the first UI element leaves the target area, enabling the second UI element to exit the floating state (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0207-0208], In FIG. 6G, an upward-leftward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 and cursor 630 moves in an upward-leftward direction, as shown. In FIG. 6H, a rightward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves rightwards towards button 620-1. In some embodiments, if cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input. For example, the size of the cursor becomes slightly larger than the user interface object that is being selected for input such that the cursor appears to be highlighting the user interface object that is being selected for input (e.g., a halo around the user interface object). In FIG. 6H, because button 630 is a button having a rectangular or square shape, the shape of cursor 630 becomes rectangular or a square. In some embodiments, the color of cursor 630 changes or stays the same. In some embodiments, cursor 630 maintains its transparency. In some embodiments, cursor 630 becomes opaque; [0209-0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0216], In FIG. 6N, contact 603 continues its rightward swipe (e.g., from FIG. 6M, without termination of contact 603 from the touch-sensitive surface) on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the continued rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves further rightward away from button 620-1 and toward button 620-2, as shown. In some embodiments, because button 620-2 is within a threshold distance (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.) of button 620-1, cursor 630 moves directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input (e.g., without returning to the default size/shape of cursor 630 in between buttons 620-1 and 620-2). In some embodiments, the size and shape of cursor 630 is updated to be based on button 620-2. As shown in FIG. 6N, the size and shape of cursor 630 is not changed because button 620-2 has a similar (e.g., same) size and is a similar (e.g., same) type of user interface object as button 620-1. In some embodiments, the distance between button 620-1 and button 620-2 that allows cursor 630 to move directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input is the same as the threshold distance described above with respect to FIG. 6H that caused button 620-1 to be selected for input. In FIG. 6N, after cursor 630 moves to button 620-2, button 620-1 returns to its original position (e.g., moves back leftwards), and is no longer selected for input; [0218], in response to selection 603, cursor 630 becomes smaller and/or darker and/or the content of button 620-2 (e.g., the icon) also becomes smaller and/or darker proportionally, similar to as in FIG. 6K with respect to button 620-1; [0310], while the respective user interface object is selected for input, the device receives (732) a fourth input, via the one or more input devices, corresponding to a request to move the cursor, such as in FIG. 6M (e.g., an input for moving the cursor from the location of the respective user interface object while the respective user interface object is selected for input) and in response to receiving the fourth input and while receiving the fourth input, in accordance with a determination that a movement of the fourth input is below a threshold movement (e.g., for moving the cursor by less than 0.25 mm, 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 4 mm, 6 mm, 10 mm, etc.), the device changes (734) an appearance of the respective user interface object in accordance with the movement of the fourth input while maintaining the respective user interface object as being selected for input, such as cursor 630 and button 620-1 shifting rightwards in FIG. 6M (e.g., shifting the respective user interface object (the content of the respective user interface object) in the direction of the cursor movement); [0311], the respective user interface object moves concurrently with the movement of the cursor (e.g., follow the cursor). In some embodiments, the respective user interface object continues to have a current focus while it is moved while maintaining being selected for input. Thus, the user is able to perform slight movement inputs without the respective user interface object losing its focus, but while providing visual feedback to the user of the user's movement inputs. In some embodiments, when the movement of the fourth input increases beyond the threshold movement, the respective user interface object moves back to its original position (e.g., snaps back or displays an animation gradually moving the object back to its original position). In some embodiments, when the respective user interface object moves back to its original position, the size and/or shape of the cursor returns to the size and/or shape that it had at its original position (e.g., default size and/or default shape) and is optionally visually separated from the respective user interface object. In some embodiments, when the respective user interface object moves back to its original position and/or the size and/or shape of the cursor returns to the size and/or shape that it had at its original position and is optionally visually separated from the respective user interface object, the respective user interface object is no longer selected for input and does not have a current focus (optionally another user interface element becomes selected for input and/or receives a current focus, or no element is selected for input and/or receives a current focus); the threshold distance beyond which the cursor snaps out of the respective user interface object is more than the threshold distance within which the respective user interface becomes selected for input (e.g., the thresholds have a hysteresis to prevent the cursor from rapidly flickering between default size and shape and the size and shape based on the respective user interface object when the cursor is at or near the threshold distance); see also [0306], [0313], [0391-0392], [0396])
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 9. Consequently, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, Walkin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, based on a comparison between the target area and location information that is associated with the first UI element, that the first UI element enters or leaves the target area associated with the second UI element, wherein the location information indicates a central location or a boundary location of the first UI element (Walkin Figs. 1-14; [0207-0208], In FIG. 6G, an upward-leftward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451 and cursor 630 moves in an upward-leftward direction, as shown. In FIG. 6H, a rightward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves rightwards towards button 620-1. In some embodiments, if cursor 630 comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor 630 changes based on the user interface object. In some embodiments, the shape of the cursor 630 depends on the type of user interface object that is being selected for input, the shape of the user interface object that is being selected for input, or any other characteristic of the user interface object that is being selected for input. In some embodiments, the size of the cursor is based on the size of the user interface object that is being selected for input. For example, the size of the cursor becomes slightly larger than the user interface object that is being selected for input such that the cursor appears to be highlighting the user interface object that is being selected for input (e.g., a halo around the user interface object). In FIG. 6H, because button 630 is a button having a rectangular or square shape, the shape of cursor 630 becomes rectangular or a square. In some embodiments, the color of cursor 630 changes or stays the same. In some embodiments, cursor 630 maintains its transparency. In some embodiments, cursor 630 becomes opaque; [0209-0210], when the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus; [0216], In FIG. 6N, contact 603 continues its rightward swipe (e.g., from FIG. 6M, without termination of contact 603 from the touch-sensitive surface) on touch-sensitive surface 451. In response to the continued rightward swipe, cursor 630 moves further rightward away from button 620-1 and toward button 620-2, as shown. In some embodiments, because button 620-2 is within a threshold distance (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.) of button 620-1, cursor 630 moves directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input (e.g., without returning to the default size/shape of cursor 630 in between buttons 620-1 and 620-2). In some embodiments, the size and shape of cursor 630 is updated to be based on button 620-2. As shown in FIG. 6N, the size and shape of cursor 630 is not changed because button 620-2 has a similar (e.g., same) size and is a similar (e.g., same) type of user interface object as button 620-1. In some embodiments, the distance between button 620-1 and button 620-2 that allows cursor 630 to move directly from selecting button 620-1 for input to selecting button 620-2 for input is the same as the threshold distance described above with respect to FIG. 6H that caused button 620-1 to be selected for input. In FIG. 6N, after cursor 630 moves to button 620-2, button 620-1 returns to its original position (e.g., moves back leftwards), and is no longer selected for input; [0218], in response to selection 603, cursor 630 becomes smaller and/or darker and/or the content of button 620-2 (e.g., the icon) also becomes smaller and/or darker proportionally, similar to as in FIG. 6K with respect to button 620-1; [0310], while the respective user interface object is selected for input, the device receives (732) a fourth input, via the one or more input devices, corresponding to a request to move the cursor, such as in FIG. 6M (e.g., an input for moving the cursor from the location of the respective user interface object while the respective user interface object is selected for input) and in response to receiving the fourth input and while receiving the fourth input, in accordance with a determination that a movement of the fourth input is below a threshold movement (e.g., for moving the cursor by less than 0.25 mm, 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 4 mm, 6 mm, 10 mm, etc.), the device changes (734) an appearance of the respective user interface object in accordance with the movement of the fourth input while maintaining the respective user interface object as being selected for input, such as cursor 630 and button 620-1 shifting rightwards in FIG. 6M (e.g., shifting the respective user interface object (the content of the respective user interface object) in the direction of the cursor movement); [0311], the respective user interface object moves concurrently with the movement of the cursor (e.g., follow the cursor). In some embodiments, the respective user interface object continues to have a current focus while it is moved while maintaining being selected for input. Thus, the user is able to perform slight movement inputs without the respective user interface object losing its focus, but while providing visual feedback to the user of the user's movement inputs. In some embodiments, when the movement of the fourth input increases beyond the threshold movement, the respective user interface object moves back to its original position (e.g., snaps back or displays an animation gradually moving the object back to its original position). In some embodiments, when the respective user interface object moves back to its original position, the size and/or shape of the cursor returns to the size and/or shape that it had at its original position (e.g., default size and/or default shape) and is optionally visually separated from the respective user interface object. In some embodiments, when the respective user interface object moves back to its original position and/or the size and/or shape of the cursor returns to the size and/or shape that it had at its original position and is optionally visually separated from the respective user interface object, the respective user interface object is no longer selected for input and does not have a current focus (optionally another user interface element becomes selected for input and/or receives a current focus, or no element is selected for input and/or receives a current focus); the threshold distance beyond which the cursor snaps out of the respective user interface object is more than the threshold distance within which the respective user interface becomes selected for input (e.g., the thresholds have a hysteresis to prevent the cursor from rapidly flickering between default size and shape and the size and shape based on the respective user interface object when the cursor is at or near the threshold distance).; see also [0306], [0313], [0391-0392], [0396])
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 10. Consequently, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 4-11, 14, and 20, the cancellation of 2-3 and 12-13, and the addition of claims 21-24. The amendments to the title are approved and the objection to the title is respectfully withdrawn. The corrections to the claims are approved and the previous objections to claims 1-10, 12-14, and 17 are respectfully withdrawn. The corrections to claims 4 and 14 are approved and the rejections of claims 4 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are respectfully withdrawn. The corrections to claim 20 are approved and the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is respectfully withdrawn.
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant alleges that the claims now recite the limitations of Claim 3 which included that the degree of change is "inversely proportional to the speed". The cited prior art describes comparison of the speed to a threshold. This suggests a binary effect based on the speed, instead of an inversely proportional relationship as claimed. Thus, the Office Action failed to make a prima facie showing of anticipation for Claim 3, and the rejections should be withdrawn. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Walkin teaches a method comprising displaying a first user interface (UI) element and a second UI element on a screen of an electronic device; in response to detecting an operation performed on the first UI element, enabling motion of the first UI element (Figs. 1-14; [0206-0208]); and enabling, in response to determining that the first UI element enters or leaves a target area associated with the second UI element, at least one of the first UI element and the second UI element to produce an animation effect causing a change in the display, wherein a degree of the change is determined based at least on a first size of the first UI element or a second size of the second UI element (Figs. 1-14; [0207-0210], [0306], [0310], [0313]), wherein the degree of the change is further determined based on speed information associated with the motion of the first UI element, and the speed information indicates at least one of the following: a speed at which the first UI element enters or leaves the target area; or an average speed of the first UI element in a target time period, wherein the target time period is determined based on a moment at which the first UI element enters or leaves the target area (Figs. 1-14; [0200], [0207-0210], [0391-0392], [0362], [0396], [0398], [0306], [0310], [0313]), and wherein the degree of the change is directly proportional to the first size or the second size and inversely proportional to the speed indicated by the speed information associated with the motion of the first UI element (Figs. 1-14; [0207-0210], [0391-0392], [0362], [0396], [0398], [0471], [0200], [0306], [0310], [0313]). Thus, Walkin is considered to teach the claim.
Specifically Walkin teaches displaying a cursor on a touchscreen that moves in response to user gestures ([0206-0208]). Walkin discloses that when the comes within a certain distance of a selectable user interface object (e.g., such as button 620-1), then the size and shape of cursor changes based on the user interface object ([0207-0208]). When the cursor reaches the threshold distance from the selectable user interface object (e.g., 0.5 mm, 1 mm, 2 mm, 5 mm, etc.), the selectable user interface object is considered to be selected for input and/or considered to have received a focus ([0209-0210]). Walkin discloses that the degree of the change of the cursor is based on speed information including a speed at which the first UI element enters or leaves the target area and the degree of the change is inversely proportional to the speed. Walkin discloses in accordance with a determination that the velocity of the cursor (optionally, a speed of the cursor) is above the threshold velocity (optionally, a threshold speed) as the cursor moves across the respective user interface object, the device forgoes (856) changing the appearance of the cursor by the first magnitude, such as in FIG. 6AN (e.g., if the cursor is moving more than 0.5 inches per second, 1 inch per second, 2 inches per second, 5 inches per second, etc., then change the appearance of the cursor by an amount different than the second amount or do not change the appearance of the cursor at all ([0390]). If the cursor moves across selectable user interface elements at a speed below the threshold, the cursor will change its size, shape, and/or color to conform to the respective selectable user interface elements as it moves ([0391]). If the cursor's speed is above the threshold, then the appearance of the cursor is not changed or only some of the cursor's changes are permitted and others are not. For example, the color of the cursor changes while the size and shape is not able to change ([0392]). Walkin further discloses when the cursor speed is below the threshold, the cursor is in full animation mode and when the cursor speed is above the threshold, the cursor is in reduced or no animation mode ([0392]). As described, when the speed of the cursor is larger, the degree of change is smaller, and when the speed of the cursor is smaller, the degree of change is larger. See attached NPL definition of inversely proportional (an increase of one thing is accompanied by a corresponding decrease of another, and vice versa).
Examiner notes the claims place no limitations on what the animation effect must comprise, what the change in the display must comprise, or how the degree of the change is indicated on screen. Thus, Walkin’s disclosure of the degree of the change is directly proportional to the first size or the second size and inversely proportional to the speed indicated by the speed information associated with the motion of the first UI element (Figs. 1-14; [0207-0210], [0391-0392], [0362], [0396], [0398], [0471], [0200], [0306], [0310], [0313]) is considered within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations.
Similar arguments have been presented for claims 11 and 20 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Walkin is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JEONG (US 20140240233 A1) see Figs. 1-19 and [0053-0055], [0172-0173], [0250-0253].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143