DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on July 2, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2025 and 07/02/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in claims 11 and 13. Therefore, the “current source and a resistor” and “generate a first logic operation signal and a second logic operation signal according to the current regulation trigger signal, the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 14 “at inactive state” and “at active state” should be change to “at an inactive state” and “at an active state”. Claims 5-6, 10-11, 13 and 17-18 “at active state” should be “at the active state”. Claims 6 and 17 “in discontinuous conduction” this should be “in a discontinuous conduction”. Claims 10-11 “a pull up driving current” this should be “the pull-up driving current”. Claim 13 “a pull up driving current of the first switch” should be “the pull up driving current of the first switch”. Claim 14 line 12 “at active state” should be “at the active state”. Claim 20 recites “A flyback converter, comprising a transformer, a first switch transistor, a second switch transistor, a first capacitor, a first inductor, and a switch control circuit according to claim 1, wherein a resonant circuit” due to the dependency to claim 1 this claim should read “The flyback converter, comprising the transformer, the first switch transistor, the second switch transistor, the first capacitor, the first inductor, and the switch control circuit according to claim 1, wherein the resonant circuit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In re to claims 14 and 17-19, method claims 14 and 17-19 are rejected based on the following case law, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “generate a first logic operation signal and a second logic operation signal according to the current regulation trigger signal, the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal”. However, par. 62 of the PG PUB mentions “ In this embodiment, the current regulation trigger signal is transmitted to the driving unit, and the driving unit is configured to obtain a logic operation signal Vc1′ according to a logic operation performed on the current regulation trigger signal EN and the switch control signal Vc1 transmitted from the switch control signal generation circuit, and control the number of at least one upper driving switch that is controlled to be turned on according to the logic operation signal, so as to regulate the pull-up driving current, where the logic operation can be implemented by an operator for performing addition operation and/or subtraction operation.” It is not clear if the applicant meant only one of the switch control signals or both signals, since the specification only mentions one signal Vc1. For purposes of examination the limitations are going to be interpreted as one or both signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9, 10-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama US 2022/0038009 in view of Jiang US 20240204674.
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) a switch control circuit of a flyback converter (Fig. 1) comprising a transformer (24), and the switch control circuit (22) comprises: a driving current regulation circuit (54 and 57), configured to generate a current regulation trigger signal (EN) according to an operating state of the flyback converter (determined by the enable signal), the current regulation trigger signal being transmitted to the switch control driving unit (60), wherein when the current regulation trigger signal is at inactive state (L, see fig. 7), the switch control driving unit drives the first switch transistor (23) to be turned on at a first switching rate (state 4, Fig. 7); when the current regulation trigger signal is at active state (H, see fig. 7), the switch control driving unit drives the first switch transistor (23) to be turned on at a second switching rate (state 3), wherein the second switching rate is lower than the first switching rate (small and large states, see fig. 7). (For Example: Par. 47-59 and 90-116)
Maruyama does not teach a first switch transistor, a second switch transistor, a first capacitor and a first inductor, wherein a resonant circuit is formed by the first capacitor and the first inductor when the second switch transistor is in turn-on state; a switch control driving unit (60), configured to generate a first switch driving signal and a second switch driving signal according to an output feedback signal of the flyback converter, to drive the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor, respectively.
Jiang teaches (Figures 3) a first switch transistor (Q), a second switch transistor (Q2), a first capacitor (Cr) and a first inductor (Lk or Lm), wherein a resonant circuit is formed by the first capacitor and the first inductor when the second switch transistor is in turn-on state (Q2 on state); a switch control driving unit (120-150), configured to generate a first switch driving signal and a second switch driving signal (vgs1-vgs2) according to an output feedback signal of the flyback converter (Vs), to drive the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor, respectively (q1-q2). (For example: Par. 61-64)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Maruyama to include a first switch transistor, a second switch transistor, a first capacitor and a first inductor, wherein a resonant circuit is formed by the first capacitor and the first inductor when the second switch transistor is in turn-on state; a switch control driving unit (60), configured to generate a first switch driving signal and a second switch driving signal according to an output feedback signal of the flyback converter, to drive the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor, respectively, as taught by Jiang to realize zero-voltage turn-on and recover energy on leakage inductor.
Regarding Claim 2, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein when the first switch transistor (23) is turned on at the second switching rate (small, state3), a variation rate of a drain-source voltage across the first switch transistor is slowed down to a preset range (see figs. 9-10). (For Example: Par. 194-199 and 214-216)
Regarding Claim 4, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein when the current regulation trigger signal (EN) is at active state (en=H), the switch control driving unit controls a pull-up driving current of the first switch transistor to decrease (Fig. 7, move from state2 to state 3), so as to drive the first switch transistor to be turned on at the second switching rate (state 3). (For Example: Par. 47-59 and 90-116)
Regarding Claim 9, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) the circuitry.
Maruyama does not teach wherein the switch control driving unit comprises a switch control signal generation circuit and a driving unit, the switch control signal generation circuit is configured to generate a first switch control signal and a second switch control signal according to the output feedback signal and an output reference signal, the driving unit is configured to generate the first switch driving signal and the second switch driving signal according to the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal, respectively.
Jiang teaches (Figures 3) wherein the switch control driving unit (120-150) comprises a switch control signal generation circuit (120-130) and a driving unit (140-150), the switch control signal generation circuit is configured to generate a first switch control signal and a second switch control signal (output from 120-130) according to the output feedback signal (Vs) and an output reference signal (at 110), the driving unit is configured to generate the first switch driving signal and the second switch driving signal (Vfs1 and Vgs2) according to the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal, respectively. (For example: Par. 61-64, 67 and 78)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Maruyama to include wherein the switch control driving unit comprises a switch control signal generation circuit and a driving unit, the switch control signal generation circuit is configured to generate a first switch control signal and a second switch control signal according to the output feedback signal and an output reference signal, the driving unit is configured to generate the first switch driving signal and the second switch driving signal according to the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal, respectively, as taught by Jiang to realize zero-voltage turn-on and recover energy on leakage inductor.
Regarding Claim 10, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein the driving unit (60) comprises a plurality of driving switches that are connected in parallel (at 100-102 see fig. 6), the switch control driving unit (54 and 57) is configured to adjust a number of one or more of the plurality of driving switches which is controlled to be turned on (with En signal and IN signal, which produce D0-D3 signal), according to the current regulation trigger signal at active state (en=H, fig. 7), so as to regulate a pull-up driving current of the first switch transistor (Fig. 6, with 130). (For Example: Par. 47-59 and 90-116)
Regarding Claim 11, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein the driving unit (60) comprises a plurality of parallel driving branches (at 100, fig. 6), each of which is formed by a current source and a resistor (current mirror and Rs), the switch control driving unit (54 and 57) is configured to regulate a current through one or more of the plurality of parallel driving branches (with En signal and IN signal, which produce D0-D3 signal) according to the current regulation trigger signal (EN) at active state (en=H, Fig. 7), so as to control a pull-up driving current of the first switch transistor (with 130). (For Example: Par. 47-59 and 90-116)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama US 2022/0038009 in view of Jiang US 20240204674 and further in view of Richter US2020/0152611.
Regarding Claim 3, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) the first switch transistor (23).
Maruyama does not teach wherein, depending on a type of the first switch transistor, the preset range is set as follows: when the first switch transistor is a silicon-based transistor, the preset range is set to 2V/ns to 20V/ns; when the first switch transistor is a GaN-based transistor, the preset range is set to 5V/ns to 200V/ns.
Richter teaches wherein, depending on a type of the first switch transistor, the preset range is set as follows: when the first switch transistor is a silicon-based transistor, the preset range is set to 2V/ns to 20V/ns (10v/ns and above); when the first switch transistor is a GaN-based transistor, the preset range is set to 5V/ns to 200V/ns (10V/ns and above). (For example: Par. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Maruyama to include wherein, depending on a type of the first switch transistor, the preset range is set as follows: when the first switch transistor is a silicon-based transistor, the preset range is set to 2V/ns to 20V/ns; when the first switch transistor is a GaN-based transistor, the preset range is set to 5V/ns to 200V/ns, as taught by Jiang to realize zero-voltage turn-on and recover energy on leakage inductor.
Claim(s) 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama US 2022/0038009 in view of Jiang US 20240204674 and further in view of Hayakawa US 20160380527.
Regarding Claims 5 and 18, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) the circuitry.
Maruyama does not teach wherein the driving current regulation circuit comprises a voltage detection circuit and a comparison circuit, before the first switch transistor is turned on, the voltage detection circuit is configured to obtain a voltage detection signal by detecting a drain-source voltage across the first switch transistor, the comparison circuit is configured to compare the voltage detection signal and a first threshold voltage, and generate the current regulation trigger signal at active state if the voltage detection signal is greater than the first threshold voltage.
Hayakawa teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the driving current regulation circuit (15-16 and R1) comprises a voltage detection circuit (15 and R1 and 16b) and a comparison circuit (16a and 55), before the first switch transistor is turned on (with the sample and hold operation, par. 47), the voltage detection circuit is configured to obtain a voltage detection signal by detecting a drain-source voltage across the first switch transistor (with the ID current, par. 46-47), the comparison circuit (16a and 55) is configured to compare the voltage detection signal and a first threshold voltage (Vth2), and generate the current regulation trigger signal (from 55) at active state (high state) if the voltage detection signal is greater than the first threshold voltage (par .52). (For Example: Par. 46-55)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Maruyama to include wherein the driving current regulation circuit comprises a voltage detection circuit and a comparison circuit, before the first switch transistor is turned on, the voltage detection circuit is configured to obtain a voltage detection signal by detecting a drain-source voltage across the first switch transistor, the comparison circuit is configured to compare the voltage detection signal and a first threshold voltage, and generate the current regulation trigger signal at active state if the voltage detection signal is greater than the first threshold voltage, as taught by Hayakawa to reduce switching losses or a switching noise increases.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama US 2022/0038009 in view of Jiang US 20240204674 and further in view of Liu 2011/0057637.
Regarding Claims 6-7 and 17, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) the flyback circuitry.
Maruyama does not teach wherein the driving current regulation circuit comprises a mode detection circuit, configured to generate the current regulation trigger signal at active state when the mode detection circuit detects that the flyback converter is operating in discontinuous conduction mode; wherein the driving current regulation circuit is configured to detect an operating mode of the flyback converter according to switching times of the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor, the mode detection circuit detects that the flyback converter is operating in discontinuous conduction mode when a time interval, which starts from a time for turning off the second switch transistor to a time for turning on the first switch transistor, reaches a first time threshold.
Liu teaches (Figures 6-15) wherein the driving current regulation circuit (14-16) comprises a mode detection circuit (14), configured to generate the current regulation trigger signal at active state (dcm) when the mode detection circuit detects that the flyback converter is operating in discontinuous conduction mode (Fig. 9, DCM); wherein the driving current regulation circuit is configured to detect an operating mode of the converter (see fig. 9) according to switching times of the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor (at power stage 12), the mode detection circuit detects that the converter is operating in discontinuous conduction mode when a time interval, which starts from a time for turning off the second switch transistor to a time for turning on the first switch transistor (Det-Out with fig. 14 and the comparison in the gate 1442), reaches a first time threshold (Vgate). (For Example: Par. 49-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Maruyama to include wherein the driving current regulation circuit comprises a mode detection circuit, configured to generate the current regulation trigger signal at active state when the mode detection circuit detects that the flyback converter is operating in discontinuous conduction mode; wherein the driving current regulation circuit is configured to detect an operating mode of the flyback converter according to switching times of the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor, the mode detection circuit detects that the flyback converter is operating in discontinuous conduction mode when a time interval, which starts from a time for turning off the second switch transistor to a time for turning on the first switch transistor, reaches a first time threshold, as taught by Liu to avoid larger switching loss and higher EMI.
Regarding Claim 8, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein the driving current regulation circuit (60) detects an operating mode (mode of operation) of the flyback converter according to an output reference signal (Vfbdiv) and the output feedback signal (FB) of the flyback converter. (For Example: Par. 47-59 and 90-116)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama US 2022/0038009 in view of Jiang US 20240204674 and further in view of Radic US2023/0246558.
Regarding Claim 20, Maruyama teaches (Figures 1-12) a flyback converter, comprising a transformer (fig. 1, 24).
Maruyama does not teach a first switch transistor, a second switch transistor, a first capacitor, a first inductor, and a switch control circuit according to claim 1, wherein a resonant circuit is formed by the first capacitor and the first inductor when the second switch transistor is in turn-on state, wherein the switch control circuit is configured to control the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor to be turned on and off; the flyback converter further comprises a rectifier switch transistor, which is located on a secondary side of the transformer, and the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor are located on a primary side of the transformer.
Jiang teaches (Figures 3) a first switch transistor (Q), a second switch transistor (Q2), a first capacitor (Cr) and a first inductor (Lk or Lm), wherein a resonant circuit is formed by the first capacitor and the first inductor when the second switch transistor is in turn-on state (Q2 on state); wherein the switch control circuit (controller), configured to control the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor (q1-q2) to be turn on and off (on and off states); and the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor (q1-q2) are located on a primary side of the transformer (see fig. 1). (For example: Par. 61-64)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Maruyama to include a first switch transistor, a second switch transistor, a first capacitor and a first inductor, wherein a resonant circuit is formed by the first capacitor and the first inductor when the second switch transistor is in turn-on state; wherein the switch control circuit, configured to control the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor to be turn on and off; and the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor are located on a primary side of the transformer, as taught by Jiang to realize zero-voltage turn-on and recover energy on leakage inductor.
Murayama as modified does not teach the flyback converter further comprises a rectifier switch transistor, which is located on a secondary side of the transformer, and the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor are located on a primary side of the transformer.
Radic teaches (Figures ) the flyback converter further comprises a rectifier switch transistor (m2), which is located on a secondary side of the transformer(106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Maruyama to include the flyback converter further comprises a rectifier switch transistor, which is located on a secondary side of the transformer, and the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor are located on a primary side of the transformer, as taught by Radic for high power processing efficiency, tight-output voltage regulation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13, 15-16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating Allowable Subject Matter:
Claim 13; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…wherein the driving unit comprises a logic operation circuit and a driving circuit, the logic operation circuit is configured to generate a first logic operation signal and a second logic operation signal according to the current regulation trigger signal, the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal, the driving circuit is configured to control a pull-up driving current of the first switch transistor and a pull-up driving current of the second switch transistor according to the first logic operation signal and the second logic operation signal.”
Claim 12; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…wherein the switch control signal generation circuit comprises a signal generation circuit and a signal regulation circuit, the signal generation circuit is configured to generate the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal according to the output feedback signal and the output reference signal; the signal regulation circuit is configured to perform regulation on the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal according to the current regulation trigger signal, to transmit the first switch control signal and the second switch control signal, which are obtained after the regulation, to the driving unit as output signals.”
Claim 19; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…wherein when the drain-source voltage across the first switch transistor of the flyback converter decreases to be lower than a second threshold voltage, the first switch transistor is controlled to be turned on at the first switching rate; and when the drain-source voltage across the first switch transistor of the flyback converter rises to be greater than the first threshold voltage, the first switch transistor is controlled to be turned on at the second switching rate, wherein the first threshold voltage is greater than the second threshold voltage.”
These features taken alone or in combination are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838