Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the square steel profile to support the primary motors; and two square steel profiles configured as stops when the bed reaches a vertical position must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The Applicant’s recitation “the two square steel profiles are configured as stops when the bed (reaches) a vertical position” since it is unclear and confusing how the square steel profiles are constructed as stops once the bed reaches a vertical position thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable.
Claims 23-25 are rejected due to dependance on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0297432 to Poulos et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0172789 to Elliot et al., and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 6,058,533 to Nelson.
Claim 13 and 24-25, Poulos, as best understood, discloses a bed 10 comprising a tilt and a tubular frame supporting a primary pivot point configured to rotate a bed base, and a mattress divided into three sections to move a patient between a horizontal position and a vertical position with positions therebetween [0006][0017]; a plurality of primary motors coupled to the bed frame and configured to control rotation of the bed base [0011][0072][0083][0085]-[0089]; wherein the tubular frame further comprises tubular profiles on which the bed base and the mattress divided into three sections are supported; an interface (306,308) capable of operation of the primary motors and secondary motors to execute predefined movements and positions, sequences, and continuous exercises for the patient and the patient interface 306 providing operation without additional assistance; wherein secondary pivot points and the mattress divided into three sections are capable of facilitating flexion of a seat section and leg section actuated by a secondary motor; starting from a horizontal position lifting the patient's legs and subsequently the primary motors lift the patient to a seated position [0017][0018][0087][0098][0099] (3A,3B), in a sequential manner via mechanical linkages controlled through the interface (306,308)[0073][0076]; activation of the primary motors via the interface causes rotation about the primary pivot point to move the patient between horizontal, vertical, and inclined positions;
a secondary motor capable of cyclically extending and retracts a leg section to produce continuous flexion and extension movement of the patient's lower limbs through the
touchscreen interface; actuation of the secondary motors and primary motors capable of producing cyclic transitions between a lying position and a semi-seated position to generate a rocking motion controlled via the touchscreen interface; wherein the bed is moved to a vertical position (90°)(fig. 4C)[0087], a portion of the mattress defined by foam inserts are capable of being removed [0109], and the bed is capable of subsequent reversible movement to a horizontal position to transfer the patient,
a structural profile that defines the primary pivot point and including a bearing support defined and bearing by the bracket and pivotal portions that connect the actuators that defined a main rotation axis of the bed (4A,4B) a profile to support the primary motors; and profiles capable of stopping the frame when the bed reaches a vertical position. Poulos is silent to a touch screen. Elliot discloses a bed-based controller 25 including a processor, programmable logic, memory devices, and algorithms to control and functions and conditions and capable of providing bidirectional communications at the bed, a user interface 36 that includes a touch screen with a GUI configured to generate a variety of touchscreen images such as icons to control bed functions such as light or changing languages that are displayed [0081];[0087]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine touch screen of Elliot with the bed of Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a user interface with means representing a prompt, condition, feature or function to control the bed of Poulos. Poulos is silent to a wheelchair coupling. Nelson discloses a bed having a wheelchair coupling (66,116). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the wheel chair coupling of Nelson with the bed of Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed positioning and receiving a wheel chair for the patient. Poulos is silent to the bed having a galvanized steel material. Selecting from a plethora of known materials is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select the modifications as stated above with the bed of Poulos with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided an alternative and equivalent material for the frame of Poulos.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0297432 to Poulos et al. as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 6,862,762 to Johnson et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0172789 to Elliot et al., and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,001,790 to Kuhn.
Claim 23, Poulos, as best understood, discloses the bed, but is silent to a bedpan. Kuhn discloses a bed having a removable cushion 74 for allowing insertion of a bedpan assembly 51 (fig. 9). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the cushion and bedpan in Kuhn with the bed of Poulos with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a passage of excrement from the patient in the bed of Poulos.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 7,774,873 to Martin et al. discloses an examination table for lifting a patient into a wheel chair.
U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0300845 to Paz et al. discloses a patient support having multiple positions including tilting the support into a vertical position.
U.S. Pat. 3,997,926 to England discloses a patient support having multiple positions including tilting the support into a vertical position with a square tubular frame profile.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679