DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 7/2/2024.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/2/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guan, “Method and Apparatus for Tracking Reference Signal, 2021-08-19, WO, WO 2021159447 (citations are from English translation).
As to claim 13:
Guan discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories including instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
(see FIG. 5 for “processors”, “memories”, etc.)
receive, from a network node, configuration information indicating one or more formats for indicating selected reference signals; and
(“In the embodiment of the present application, the network device may configure two types of path loss estimation reference signals for the terminal equipment, one type is the base path loss estimation reference signal, and the other type is the additional path loss estimation reference signal, where the additional path The loss estimation reference signal does not need to be tracked by the terminal device. In this way, the terminal device can only track the basic path loss estimation reference signal and align with the network device which reference signals the terminal device tracks. If the network device needs the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmission power immediately, it can instruct one of the reference signals tracked by the terminal device. Since the terminal device always maintains the path loss estimate corresponding to the reference signal, it can adjust the uplink transmission power in time. Transmit power without unnecessary adjustment delay; if the network device does not need the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmit power immediately, the network device can indicate the reference signal that the terminal device has not tracked, and the terminal device can use an extra period of time to track The reference signal indicated by the network device obtains the estimated path loss, and then adjusts the uplink transmission power. Since the network device knows that the terminal device has not tracked the reference signal and needs an extra period of time to adjust, the network device will not repeatedly send power adjustment instructions, and signaling redundancy will not occur.”; Guan; p.8, bottom of page and p.9, top of page)
(where
“the network device may configure two types of path loss estimation reference signals for the terminal equipment, one type is the base path loss estimation reference signal, and the other type is the additional path loss estimation reference signal… terminal device to adjust uplink transmission power immediately” maps to “receive, from a network node, configuration information indicating one or more formats”, where “network device may configure…for the terminal equipment…terminal device to adjust uplink transmission power immediately” maps to “receive, from a network node”, “configure” maps to “configuration”, “two types”/”one type”/”the other type” maps to “information indicating one or more formats”, “base path loss estimation reference signal”/”additional path loss estimation reference signal” maps to “reference signal”
“If the network device needs the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmission power immediately, it can instruct one of the reference signals tracked by the terminal device. Since the terminal device always maintains the path loss estimate corresponding to the reference signal, it can adjust the uplink transmission power in time. Transmit power without unnecessary adjustment delay; if the network device does not need the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmit power immediately, the network device can indicate the reference signal that the terminal device has not tracked, and the terminal device can use an extra period of time to track The reference signal indicated by the network device” maps to “for indicating selected reference signals”, where “if…adjust…immediately…instruct…tracked…if…does not need…immediately…has not tracked…use an extra period of time” maps to “indicating”, “reference signals tracked”/”reference signal that the terminal device has not tracked” maps to “reference signals”
communicate with the network node based at least in part on the one or more formats for indicating selected reference signals.
(“In cellular network communication, the parameters used to determine the uplink transmission power of the terminal equipment are configured by the network equipment. The purpose of uplink power control is to make the power of the signal sent by the terminal device reach the network device to meet the receiving condition of the network device….”; Guan; p.14, middle of page)
(where
“If the network device needs the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmission power immediately, it can instruct one of the reference signals tracked by the terminal device. Since the terminal device always maintains the path loss estimate corresponding to the reference signal, it can adjust the uplink transmission power in time. Transmit power without unnecessary adjustment delay; if the network device does not need the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmit power immediately, the network device can indicate the reference signal that the terminal device has not tracked, and the terminal device can use an extra period of time to track”/”The purpose of uplink power control is to make the power of the signal sent by the terminal device reach the network device to meet the receiving condition of the network device” maps to “communicate with the network node based at least in part on the one or more formats for indicating selected reference signals”, “uplink transmission power”/”power of the signal sent by the terminal device reach the network device” maps to “communicate with the network node”, “reference signals tracked”/”reference signal…has not tracked”/” two types of path loss estimation reference signals for the terminal equipment, one type is the base path loss estimation reference signal, and the other type is the additional path loss estimation reference signal” maps to “based at least in part on the one or more formats” “immediately…tracked”/”not need…immediately…not tracked” maps to “indicating selected reference signals”
Guan teaches a network device configuring terminal device with two reference signal configurations, one reference signal configuration for tracked reference signals and a second reference signal configuration for not tracked reference signals, where the terminal determines whether to adjust uplink signal transmit power immediately or delayed based on the type of indicated reference signal.
As to claim 14:
Guan discloses:
A UE, wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
transmit, to the network node, capability information indicating one or more supported formats for indicating selected reference signals, wherein the one or more formats for indicating selected reference signals are based at least in part on the capability information.
(“The foregoing M may be a predefined positive integer, or a positive integer reported by the terminal device to the network device. Optionally, M may be reported to the network device by the terminal device through capability information (referred to herein as the second capability information), that is, the terminal device reports the second capability information to the network device, and the second capability information is used to indicate each CC The number M of the maximum trackable path loss estimation reference signal supported. The network equipment can determine the reference signal tracked by the terminal equipment according to M and the above-mentioned rules.”; Guan et al.; p.21, middle of page)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola et al. US 20240137099 in view of George et al. US 20250374107.
As to claim 1:
Hakola et al. discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more memories including instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
(see FIG. 2 for “processors”, “memories”, etc.)
receive, from a network node, configuration information indicating that the UE is to measure … reference signals and report K reference signals, wherein … and K are integers; and
(“According to at least some example embodiments, when the timer at the gNB 102 is reset (i.e., due to expiration or, alternatively, a timer reset trigger event), the gNB 102 may transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to report its current M best DL RSs of each capability index to the gNB 102 or, alternatively, transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102. For example, the gNB may transmit a request that cases the UE 106 to perform one or more of steps S370, S380, S310, S320 and S330 discussed above.”; Hakola et al.; 0139)
(“The UE 106 may measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources according to configured criteria and associate DL RSs per capability index of the certain functionality, where M is a positive integer. (S310)”; Hakola et al.; 0114)
(where
“gNB 102…transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102”/”measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources… where M is a positive integer” maps to “receive, from a network node, configuration information indicating that the UE is to measure … reference signals and report K reference signals, wherein … and K are integers”, where “transmit” maps to “receive”, “gNB” maps to “from a network node”, “request” maps to “configuration information indicating”, “UE” maps to “UE”, “measure DL RSs”/”best” maps to “is to measure…reference signals”, “report the newly determined M best DL RS(s)” maps to “report K reference signals”, where “M” maps to “K”, “M is a positive integer” maps to “K are integers”
transmit, to the network node, a measurement report indicating a combination index associated with K selected reference signals of the … reference signals and measurement values for the K selected reference signals.
(where
(“Report could be like: [0148] index #0: DL RS #b, DL RS #t [0149] index #1: DL RS #d, DL RS #g [0150] index #2: DL RS #e DL RS #h”; Hakola et al.; 0147-0150)
(where
“Report”/”gNB” maps to “transmit, to the network node”, “measure DL RSs”/”Report” maps to “measurement report”, “index #0”, “index #1”, “index#2” maps to “index”, “DL RS #b, DL RS #t”/”DL RS #d, DL RS #g”/”DL RS #e DL RS #h”/”M best” maps to “combination…associated with K selected reference signals of the…reference signals”, where “M best” maps to “K selected”, “DL RS…” maps to “selected reference signals”, “M best”/DL RS…” maps to “of the…reference signals”
Hakola et al. teaches measuring a plurality of reference signals and reporting a determined best plurality of the reference signals, where a plurality of the reported reference signals are associated with an index.
Hakola et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
N [reference signals]
N …[ are integers]
However, George et al. further teaches a W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability which includes:
N [reference signals]
N …[ are integers]
(“An embodiment provides a method for operating a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the method comprising: [0113] receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device, [0114] performing measurements on at least one of said resources, and [0115] reporting the index (indices)/indicator(s)/identifier(s) of L RS(s) via the PHY-layer and/or a higher layer along with an L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR value (or differential L1-RSRP and/or differential L1-SINR) associated with each resource, wherein 1≤L≤W, and the value L is configured by the network.”; George et al.; 0112)
(“For data transmission, a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various physical channels and physical signals are mapped. For example, the physical channels may include the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink (SL) shared channels (PDSCH, PUSCH, PSSCH) carrying user specific data, also referred to as downlink, uplink or sidelink payload data, the physical broadcast channel (PBCH) carrying for example a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB), the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink control channels (PDCCH, PUCCH, PSCCH) carrying for example the downlink control information (DCI), the uplink control information (UCI) or the sidelink control information (SCI). For the uplink, the physical channels may further include the physical random-access channel (PRACH or RACH) used by UEs for accessing the network once a wireless device is synchronized and obtains the MIB and SIB. The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS), synchronization signals (SSs) and the like.”; George et al.; 0007)
(where
“receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device”/” a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “N [reference signals] and N …[ are integers]”, where “W” maps to “N”, “physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “[are integers]”
George et al. teaches a CSI report configuration which configures a plurality of CSI-RS/SSB resources for measurement and the configuration configures for reporting a plurality of CSI-RS/SSB resources, where the quantity reported is less than the quantity measured.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability of George et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of George et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved beam refinement (George et al.; 0508) are achieved.
As to claim 4:
Hakola et al. discloses:
wherein the measurement values for the K selected reference signals include reference signal received power (RSRP) values or signal-to interference-plus-noise (SINR) values for the K selected reference signals.
(“According to at least some example embodiments, criteria for determining the best M DL RSs can be at least one the following: L1-reference signal received power (RSRP), L1-signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), power head room, or indication of MPE event and its severity (e.g. reported power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) in power headroom report (PHR) on serving beam or estimated P-MPR in virtual PHR on candidate beams) and/or time span; or a combination thereof.”; Hakola et al.; 0115)
As to claim 7:
Hakola et al. discloses:
A network node for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more
memories including instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the
network node to: (see FIG. 2 for “processors”, “memories”, etc.)
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating
a combination index that corresponds to N selected reference signals, from a set
of … reference signals, to be measured by the UE, wherein N and … are integers;
and
(“According to at least some example embodiments, when the timer at the gNB 102 is reset (i.e., due to expiration or, alternatively, a timer reset trigger event), the gNB 102 may transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to report its current M best DL RSs of each capability index to the gNB 102 or, alternatively, transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102. For example, the gNB may transmit a request that cases the UE 106 to perform one or more of steps S370, S380, S310, S320 and S330 discussed above.”; Hakola et al.; 0139)
(“The UE 106 may measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources according to configured criteria and associate DL RSs per capability index of the certain functionality, where M is a positive integer. (S310)”; Hakola et al.; 0114)
(where
“gNB 102…transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102”/”measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources… where M is a positive integer” maps to “receive, from a network node, configuration information indicating that the UE is to measure … reference signals and report K reference signals, wherein … and K are integers”, where “transmit” maps to “receive”, “gNB” maps to “from a network node”, “request” maps to “configuration information indicating”, “UE” maps to “UE”, “measure DL RSs”/”best” maps to “is to measure…reference signals”, “report the newly determined M best DL RS(s)” maps to “report K reference signals”, where “M” maps to “K”, “M is a positive integer” maps to “K are integers”
receive, from the UE, a measurement report associated with
measurements of the N selected reference signals.
(where
(“Report could be like: [0148] index #0: DL RS #b, DL RS #t [0149] index #1: DL RS #d, DL RS #g [0150] index #2: DL RS #e DL RS #h”; Hakola et al.; 0147-0150)
(where
“Report”/”gNB” maps to “transmit, to the network node”, “measure DL RSs”/”Report” maps to “measurement report”, “index #0”, “index #1”, “index#2” maps to “index”, “DL RS #b, DL RS #t”/”DL RS #d, DL RS #g”/”DL RS #e DL RS #h”/”M best” maps to “combination…associated with K selected reference signals of the…reference signals”, where “M best” maps to “K selected”, “DL RS…” maps to “selected reference signals”, “M best”/DL RS…” maps to “of the…reference signals”
Hakola et al. teaches measuring a plurality of reference signals and reporting a determined best plurality of the reference signals, where a plurality of the reported reference signals are associated with an index.
Hakola et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
M [reference signals]
M …[ are integers]
However, George et al. further teaches a W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability which includes:
M [reference signals]
M …[ are integers]
(“An embodiment provides a method for operating a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the method comprising: [0113] receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device, [0114] performing measurements on at least one of said resources, and [0115] reporting the index (indices)/indicator(s)/identifier(s) of L RS(s) via the PHY-layer and/or a higher layer along with an L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR value (or differential L1-RSRP and/or differential L1-SINR) associated with each resource, wherein 1≤L≤W, and the value L is configured by the network.”; George et al.; 0112)
(“For data transmission, a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various physical channels and physical signals are mapped. For example, the physical channels may include the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink (SL) shared channels (PDSCH, PUSCH, PSSCH) carrying user specific data, also referred to as downlink, uplink or sidelink payload data, the physical broadcast channel (PBCH) carrying for example a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB), the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink control channels (PDCCH, PUCCH, PSCCH) carrying for example the downlink control information (DCI), the uplink control information (UCI) or the sidelink control information (SCI). For the uplink, the physical channels may further include the physical random-access channel (PRACH or RACH) used by UEs for accessing the network once a wireless device is synchronized and obtains the MIB and SIB. The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS), synchronization signals (SSs) and the like.”; George et al.; 0007)
(where
“receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device”/” a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “N [reference signals] and N …[ are integers]”, where “W” maps to “N”, “physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “[are integers]”
George et al. teaches a CSI report configuration which configures a plurality of CSI-RS/SSB resources for measurement and the configuration configures for reporting a plurality of CSI-RS/SSB resources, where the quantity reported is less than the quantity measured.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability of George et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of George et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved beam refinement (George et al.; 0508) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Hakola et al. discloses:
wherein the measurement report indicates
reference signal received power (RSRP) or signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio
(SINR) values associated with the measurements of the N selected reference signals.
(“According to at least some example embodiments, criteria for determining the best M DL RSs can be at least one the following: L1-reference signal received power (RSRP), L1-signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), power head room, or indication of MPE event and its severity (e.g. reported power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) in power headroom report (PHR) on serving beam or estimated P-MPR in virtual PHR on candidate beams) and/or time span; or a combination thereof.”; Hakola et al.; 0115)
As to claim 11:
Hakola et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the N selected reference signals are associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission pattern.
However, George et al. further teaches a SSB sweeping capability which includes:
wherein the N selected reference signals are associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission pattern.
(“The determination of the DL Tx beam to perform one or more physical DL channel transmissions is performed via a beam sweeping procedure by the network node, e.g., the gNB. In a beam sweeping procedure, the gNB configures a set of DL RSs, like CSI-RS or SSB, via RRC for the UE to measure the set of DL RSs. Each of the configured DL RSs may be transmitted with a different spatial filter/beam, i.e., different direction, by the gNB. The UE measures each of the configured DL RS by receiving them using one or more spatial filters—the RSs may all be received with the same spatial filter or a different spatial filter may be used to receive each RS. Following the measurements, the UE sends a beam report to the gNB. The beam report comprises the indices of L configured DL RSs, essentially, L DL Tx beam directions, with each beam direction resulting from the use of a specific spatial filter at the gNB, along with one or more of the following parameters associated with each of the RSs: [0233] Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP): Each reported RS is associated with an RSRP value or a differential RSRP value, wherein a differential RSRP value is calculated or reported with respect to the RSRP of one of the other reported RSs. The RSRP associated with an RS is computed/estimated/measured by a wireless device from the resource elements occupied by the RS. [0234] Signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR): Each reported RS is associated with an SINR value or a differential SINR value, wherein a differential SINR value is calculated or reported with respect to the SINR of one of the other reported RSs. The SINR associated with an RS is computed/estimated/measured at least from the REs associated with said RS, and the measurement(s) obtained from one or more interference measurement resources such as CSI-Interference management (CSI-IM) resource(s) and/or Non-Zero-Power CSI-RS resource(s) for interference.”; George et al.; 0232-0234)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SSB sweeping capability of George et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the SSB sweeping capability as taught by the processing/communications of George et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved beam refinement (George et al.; 0508) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
Hakola et al. discloses:
wherein the measurement report indicates
measurement values for K reference signals of the N selected reference signals, wherein K is an integer.
(“According to at least some example embodiments, when the timer at the gNB 102 is reset (i.e., due to expiration or, alternatively, a timer reset trigger event), the gNB 102 may transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to report its current M best DL RSs of each capability index to the gNB 102 or, alternatively, transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102. For example, the gNB may transmit a request that cases the UE 106 to perform one or more of steps S370, S380, S310, S320 and S330 discussed above.”; Hakola et al.; 0139)
(“The UE 106 may measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources according to configured criteria and associate DL RSs per capability index of the certain functionality, where M is a positive integer. (S310)”; Hakola et al.; 0114)
(“Report could be like: [0148] index #0: DL RS #b, DL RS #t [0149] index #1: DL RS #d, DL RS #g [0150] index #2: DL RS #e DL RS #h”; Hakola et al.; 0147-0150)
(where the claim does not preclude “K” being equal to “N”)
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola et al. US 20240137099 in view of George et al. US 20250374107 and in further view of Zhao et al. US 20240187873.
As to claim 2:
Hakola et al. discloses:
…, and wherein the combination index indicates a combination of the K selected reference signals of the N reference signals.
(“According to at least some example embodiments, when the timer at the gNB 102 is reset (i.e., due to expiration or, alternatively, a timer reset trigger event), the gNB 102 may transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to report its current M best DL RSs of each capability index to the gNB 102 or, alternatively, transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102. For example, the gNB may transmit a request that cases the UE 106 to perform one or more of steps S370, S380, S310, S320 and S330 discussed above.”; Hakola et al.; 0139)
(“The UE 106 may measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources according to configured criteria and associate DL RSs per capability index of the certain functionality, where M is a positive integer. (S310)”; Hakola et al.; 0114)
(“Report could be like: [0148] index #0: DL RS #b, DL RS #t [0149] index #1: DL RS #d, DL RS #g [0150] index #2: DL RS #e DL RS #h”; Hakola et al.; 0147-0150)
Hakola et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the measurement report includes an indication of an index of a reference signal with a strongest measurement value among the K selected reference signals
N [reference signals]
However, George et al. further teaches a W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability which includes:
N [reference signals]
(“An embodiment provides a method for operating a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the method comprising: [0113] receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device, [0114] performing measurements on at least one of said resources, and [0115] reporting the index (indices)/indicator(s)/identifier(s) of L RS(s) via the PHY-layer and/or a higher layer along with an L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR value (or differential L1-RSRP and/or differential L1-SINR) associated with each resource, wherein 1≤L≤W, and the value L is configured by the network.”; George et al.; 0112)
(“For data transmission, a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various physical channels and physical signals are mapped. For example, the physical channels may include the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink (SL) shared channels (PDSCH, PUSCH, PSSCH) carrying user specific data, also referred to as downlink, uplink or sidelink payload data, the physical broadcast channel (PBCH) carrying for example a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB), the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink control channels (PDCCH, PUCCH, PSCCH) carrying for example the downlink control information (DCI), the uplink control information (UCI) or the sidelink control information (SCI). For the uplink, the physical channels may further include the physical random-access channel (PRACH or RACH) used by UEs for accessing the network once a wireless device is synchronized and obtains the MIB and SIB. The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS), synchronization signals (SSs) and the like.”; George et al.; 0007)
(where
“receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device”/” a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “N [reference signals] and N …[ are integers]”, where “W” maps to “N”, “physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “[are integers]”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability of George et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of George et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved beam refinement (George et al.; 0508) are achieved.
However, Zhao et al. further teaches a highest measurement result capability which includes:
wherein the measurement report includes an indication of an index of a reference signal with a strongest measurement value among the K selected reference signals
(“For example, when differential RSRP is adopted for feedback, the highest RSRP measurement is represented by 7 bits (as in Table 1), and other RSRP measurements are represented by 4-bit differential RSRP (as in Table 4). The N3 CSI-RS resource indexes and their corresponding RSRP measurements are included in the MAC CE. As shown in FIG. 23, N=3, i.e., at most 3 CSI-RS resources and their corresponding measurement results are fed back, and 4 CSI-RS resources are included in the CSI-RS resource set; therefore, 2 bits are used to represent the CSI-RS indexes; and the value of N3 is less than or equal to N, i.e., N3<=3; therefore, N3 also needs a 2-bit representation; in FIG. 23, k1/k2/k3 indicate the respectively the index information corresponding to the 3 CSI-RS resources, where CSI-RS k1 denotes the CSI-RS resource corresponding to the highest RSRP measurement result, CSI-RS k2 denotes the CSI-RS resource corresponding to the second highest RSRP measurement result, and CSI-RS k3 denotes the CSI-RS resource corresponding to the third highest RSRP measurement result. In this method, the order of the CSI-RS resources in the MAC CE is in an order of the RSRP measurement results from high to low (or low to high). Oct1 denotes byte 1, and so on. In FIG. 23, (a), (b), and (c) can be seen as the cases N3=3, N3=2, and N3=1, respectively.”; Zhao et al.; 0321)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the highest measurement result capability of Zhao et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the highest measurement result capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhao et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved failure recovery (Zhao et al.; 0249) are achieved.
As to claim 3:
Hakola et al. discloses:
…, and wherein the combination index indicates a combination of K-1 remaining selected reference signals,….
Hakola et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the measurement report includes an indication of an index of a reference signal with a strongest measurement value among the N reference signals
other than the reference signal with the strongest measurement value, of N-1 remaining reference signals other than the reference signal with the strongest measurement value
However, George et al. further teaches a W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability which includes:
N [reference signals]
(“An embodiment provides a method for operating a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the method comprising: [0113] receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device, [0114] performing measurements on at least one of said resources, and [0115] reporting the index (indices)/indicator(s)/identifier(s) of L RS(s) via the PHY-layer and/or a higher layer along with an L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR value (or differential L1-RSRP and/or differential L1-SINR) associated with each resource, wherein 1≤L≤W, and the value L is configured by the network.”; George et al.; 0112)
(“For data transmission, a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various physical channels and physical signals are mapped. For example, the physical channels may include the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink (SL) shared channels (PDSCH, PUSCH, PSSCH) carrying user specific data, also referred to as downlink, uplink or sidelink payload data, the physical broadcast channel (PBCH) carrying for example a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB), the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink control channels (PDCCH, PUCCH, PSCCH) carrying for example the downlink control information (DCI), the uplink control information (UCI) or the sidelink control information (SCI). For the uplink, the physical channels may further include the physical random-access channel (PRACH or RACH) used by UEs for accessing the network once a wireless device is synchronized and obtains the MIB and SIB. The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS), synchronization signals (SSs) and the like.”; George et al.; 0007)
(where
“receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device”/” a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “N [reference signals] and N …[ are integers]”, where “W” maps to “N”, “physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “[are integers]”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability of George et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of George et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved beam refinement (George et al.; 0508) are achieved.
However, Zhao et al. further teaches a highest measurement result capability which includes:
wherein the measurement report includes an indication of an index of a reference signal with a strongest measurement value among the N reference signals
other than the reference signal with the strongest measurement value, of N-1 remaining reference signals other than the reference signal with the strongest measurement value
(“For example, when differential RSRP is adopted for feedback, the highest RSRP measurement is represented by 7 bits (as in Table 1), and other RSRP measurements are represented by 4-bit differential RSRP (as in Table 4). The N3 CSI-RS resource indexes and their corresponding RSRP measurements are included in the MAC CE. As shown in FIG. 23, N=3, i.e., at most 3 CSI-RS resources and their corresponding measurement results are fed back, and 4 CSI-RS resources are included in the CSI-RS resource set; therefore, 2 bits are used to represent the CSI-RS indexes; and the value of N3 is less than or equal to N, i.e., N3<=3; therefore, N3 also needs a 2-bit representation; in FIG. 23, k1/k2/k3 indicate the respectively the index information corresponding to the 3 CSI-RS resources, where CSI-RS k1 denotes the CSI-RS resource corresponding to the highest RSRP measurement result, CSI-RS k2 denotes the CSI-RS resource corresponding to the second highest RSRP measurement result, and CSI-RS k3 denotes the CSI-RS resource corresponding to the third highest RSRP measurement result. In this method, the order of the CSI-RS resources in the MAC CE is in an order of the RSRP measurement results from high to low (or low to high). Oct1 denotes byte 1, and so on. In FIG. 23, (a), (b), and (c) can be seen as the cases N3=3, N3=2, and N3=1, respectively.”; Zhao et al.; 0321)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the highest measurement result capability of Zhao et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the highest measurement result capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhao et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved failure recovery (Zhao et al.; 0249) are achieved.
As to claim 5:
Hakola et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the measurement report indicates the measurement values for the K selected reference signals in ascending or descending order of respective reference signal indices associated with the K selected reference signals.
However, Zhao et al. further teaches an order reporting capability which includes:
wherein the measurement report indicates the measurement values for the K selected reference signals in ascending or descending order of respective reference signal indices associated with the K selected reference signals.
(“As an example, N=1, i.e., the second terminal device is only required to feed back a CSI-RS resource index, in which case only a CSI-RS with the optimal measurement result is required to be fed back, and the first terminal device may determine a transmission beam corresponding to the CSI-RS as the target transmission beam according to the CSI-RS resource index. In some embodiments, when N=1, the second terminal device is not required to feed back the measurement result. In some embodiments, when N is greater than 1, the second terminal device may feed back only the CSI-RS resource information, in which case the CSI-RS resource information fed back is arranged in an order of the measurement results from high to low. For example, when N=3, i.e., three CSI-RS resource information are required to be fed back, namely, CSI-RS resource 1, CSI-RS resource 2, and CSI-RS resource 3, of which corresponding RSRP measurement results are −30 dBm, −10 dBm, and −20 dBm, respectively, the CSI-RS resource information fed back is as shown in FIG. 16. That is, the CSI-RS resource with the optimal measurement result is at the top, followed by the CSI-RS resource with the suboptimal measurement result, and so on. Alternatively, it may be that the CSI-RS resource with the optimal measurement result is at the very back, followed by the CSI-RS resource with the suboptimal measurement result, and so on, as shown in FIG. 17.”; Zhao et al.; 0245)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the order reporting capability of Zhao et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the order reporting capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhao et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved failure recovery (Zhao et al.; 0249) are achieved.
As to claim 6:
Hakola et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the measurement report indicates a strongest measurement value, among the measurement values for the K selected reference signals, first, followed by remaining measurement values, among the measurement values for
the K selected reference signals in ascending or descending order of respective reference signal indices associated with the K selected reference signals.
However, Zhao et al. further teaches an order reporting capability which includes:
wherein the measurement report indicates a strongest measurement value, among the measurement values for the K selected reference signals, first, followed by remaining measurement values, among the measurement values for
the K selected reference signals in ascending or descending order of respective reference signal indices associated with the K selected reference signals.
(“As an example, N=1, i.e., the second terminal device is only required to feed back a CSI-RS resource index, in which case only a CSI-RS with the optimal measurement result is required to be fed back, and the first terminal device may determine a transmission beam corresponding to the CSI-RS as the target transmission beam according to the CSI-RS resource index. In some embodiments, when N=1, the second terminal device is not required to feed back the measurement result. In some embodiments, when N is greater than 1, the second terminal device may feed back only the CSI-RS resource information, in which case the CSI-RS resource information fed back is arranged in an order of the measurement results from high to low. For example, when N=3, i.e., three CSI-RS resource information are required to be fed back, namely, CSI-RS resource 1, CSI-RS resource 2, and CSI-RS resource 3, of which corresponding RSRP measurement results are −30 dBm, −10 dBm, and −20 dBm, respectively, the CSI-RS resource information fed back is as shown in FIG. 16. That is, the CSI-RS resource with the optimal measurement result is at the top, followed by the CSI-RS resource with the suboptimal measurement result, and so on. Alternatively, it may be that the CSI-RS resource with the optimal measurement result is at the very back, followed by the CSI-RS resource with the suboptimal measurement result, and so on, as shown in FIG. 17.”; Zhao et al.; 0245)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the order reporting capability of Zhao et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the order reporting capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhao et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved failure recovery (Zhao et al.; 0249) are achieved.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola et al. US 20240137099 in view of George et al. US 20250374107 and in further view of Li et al. US 20260025180.
As to claim 8:
Hakola et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the configuration information includes an indication of a value of N.
However, Li et al. further teaches a reference signal/number of measurements configuration capability which includes:
wherein the configuration information includes an indication of a value of N.
(“Some embodiments may include one or more of the following:
1. A method in a User Equipment (UE), also called a wireless device, for predicting future network node beams (set A of beams) based on measurement of a set B of beams, the method comprising one or more of the following actions: [0348] a. Perform measurements on DL reference signals associated with a Set B of beams, where the measurements are performed on at least two different Measurements time occasions (K), within a certain time window T1; [0349] b. Compute predicted CSI for the beams belonging to the Set A of beams for one or more Future time instances (F), wherein the Future time instances are located within a certain time window T2;
2. 1 and where how the WD should perform the measurements are conveyed in a CSI measurement configuration (1c), and where the CSI measurement configuration indicates the number of measurement time occasions (K) the WD may use when computing the predicted beams at one or more future time instances. The number K indicates to the WD the number of time domain occasions the network is transmitting the set of beams B.”; Li et al.; 0347-0349)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reference signal/number of measurements configuration capability of Li et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include the reference signal/number of measurements configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved data rate (Li et al.; 0150) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
Hakola et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the measurement report indicates
predicted measurement values for a set of beams based at least in part on the
measurements of the N selected reference signals.
However, Li et al. further teaches a prediction capability which includes:
wherein the measurement report indicates
predicted measurement values for a set of beams based at least in part on the
measurements of the N selected reference signals.
(“FIG. 18 is a flowchart of an example process, showing the interactions of the WD 22 and the network node 16. In Step S162, the WD 22 reports, for example during WD 22 capability signaling, support for performing beam predictions from a Set A of network node beams for F future time instances based on K measurements on a Set B of network node beams. The WD 22 capability signaling (“DL TX beam prediction capability”) can, for example, include one or more of the following information: [0176] Support of the feature to report beams in future time instances; [0177] Maximum number of future time instances (F) to report predicted beams for; [0178] Maximum length of time window T2; [0179] Minimum length of time window T2; [0180] Minimum time delay between last received DL-RS to perform measurement on for beam prediction, and the time for reporting the predicted beams to the network node 16; [0181] Maximum number of Measurement time occasions (K) of DL reference signals from Set B of beams during a time window T1; [0182] Minimum number of Measurement time occasions (K) of DL reference signals from Set B of beams during a time window T1; [0183] Maximum length of time window T1; and/or [0184] Minimum length of time window T1.”; Li et al.; 0175-0184)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the prediction capability of Li et al. into Hakola et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hakola et al. to include prediction capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) with improved data rate (Li et al.; 0150) are achieved.
Claim(s) 15, 16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan, “Method and Apparatus for Tracking Reference Signal, 2021-08-19, WO, WO 2021159447 (citations are from English translation) in view of Hakola et al. US 20240137099 and in further view of George et al. US 20250374107.
As to claim 15:
Guan discloses:
wherein the configuration information indicates a configured format for indicating selected reference signals, and wherein the one or more memories include instructions executable by the one or more processors, to cause the UE to, when communicating with the network node, at least one of:.
(“In the embodiment of the present application, the network device may configure two types of path loss estimation reference signals for the terminal equipment, one type is the base path loss estimation reference signal, and the other type is the additional path loss estimation reference signal, where the additional path The loss estimation reference signal does not need to be tracked by the terminal device. In this way, the terminal device can only track the basic path loss estimation reference signal and align with the network device which reference signals the terminal device tracks. If the network device needs the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmission power immediately, it can instruct one of the reference signals tracked by the terminal device. Since the terminal device always maintains the path loss estimate corresponding to the reference signal, it can adjust the uplink transmission power in time. Transmit power without unnecessary adjustment delay; if the network device does not need the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmit power immediately, the network device can indicate the reference signal that the terminal device has not tracked, and the terminal device can use an extra period of time to track The reference signal indicated by the network device obtains the estimated path loss, and then adjusts the uplink transmission power. Since the network device knows that the terminal device has not tracked the reference signal and needs an extra period of time to adjust, the network device will not repeatedly send power adjustment instructions, and signaling redundancy will not occur.”; Guan; p.8, bottom of page and p.9, top of page)
(“In cellular network communication, the parameters used to determine the uplink transmission power of the terminal equipment are configured by the network equipment. The purpose of uplink power control is to make the power of the signal sent by the terminal device reach the network device to meet the receiving condition of the network device….”; Guan; p.14, middle of page)
Guan as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmit, to the network node, a measurement report indicating K selected reference signals of N measured reference signals using the configured format for indicating selected reference signals, wherein K and N are integers; or
receive, from the network node, an indication of N selected reference signals, of a set of M reference signals, to be measured by the UE, the indication of the N selected reference signals using the configured format for indicating selected reference signals, wherein M is an integer.
However, Hokola et al. further teaches a reference signal configuration capability which includes:
transmit, to the network node, a measurement report indicating K selected reference signals of … measured reference signals using the configured format for indicating selected reference signals, wherein K and … are integers; or
receive, from the network node, an indication of N selected reference signals, of a set of … reference signals, to be measured by the UE, the indication of the … selected reference signals using the configured format for indicating selected reference signals, wherein … is an integer.
(“According to at least some example embodiments, when the timer at the gNB 102 is reset (i.e., due to expiration or, alternatively, a timer reset trigger event), the gNB 102 may transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to report its current M best DL RSs of each capability index to the gNB 102 or, alternatively, transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102. For example, the gNB may transmit a request that cases the UE 106 to perform one or more of steps S370, S380, S310, S320 and S330 discussed above.”; Hakola et al.; 0139)
(“The UE 106 may measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources according to configured criteria and associate DL RSs per capability index of the certain functionality, where M is a positive integer. (S310)”; Hakola et al.; 0114)
(“Report could be like: [0148] index #0: DL RS #b, DL RS #t [0149] index #1: DL RS #d, DL RS #g [0150] index #2: DL RS #e DL RS #h”; Hakola et al.; 0147-0150)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability of Hakola et al. into Guan By modifying the processing/communications of Guan to include the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hakola et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Guan; Abstract) with improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
However, George et al. further teaches a W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability which includes:
N [reference signals]
N …[ are integers]
M [reference signsls]
M [is an integer]
(“An embodiment provides a method for operating a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the method comprising: [0113] receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device, [0114] performing measurements on at least one of said resources, and [0115] reporting the index (indices)/indicator(s)/identifier(s) of L RS(s) via the PHY-layer and/or a higher layer along with an L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR value (or differential L1-RSRP and/or differential L1-SINR) associated with each resource, wherein 1≤L≤W, and the value L is configured by the network.”; George et al.; 0112)
(“For data transmission, a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various physical channels and physical signals are mapped. For example, the physical channels may include the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink (SL) shared channels (PDSCH, PUSCH, PSSCH) carrying user specific data, also referred to as downlink, uplink or sidelink payload data, the physical broadcast channel (PBCH) carrying for example a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB), the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink control channels (PDCCH, PUCCH, PSCCH) carrying for example the downlink control information (DCI), the uplink control information (UCI) or the sidelink control information (SCI). For the uplink, the physical channels may further include the physical random-access channel (PRACH or RACH) used by UEs for accessing the network once a wireless device is synchronized and obtains the MIB and SIB. The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS), synchronization signals (SSs) and the like.”; George et al.; 0007)
(where
“receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device”/” a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “N [reference signals] and N …[ are integers]”, where “W” maps to “N”, “physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “[are integers]”
Where “W” also maps to “M”, as there is no requirement where “M” does not equal “N”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reference signal configuration capability of George et al. into Guan. By modifying the processing/communications of Guan. to include the reference signal configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of George et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Guan; Abstract) with improved beam refinement (George et al.; 0508) are achieved.
As to claim 16:
Guan discloses:
wherein the configuration information indicates a plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals, and wherein the one or more memories include instructions executable by the one or more processors, to cause the UE to, when communicating with the network node:
(“In the embodiment of the present application, the network device may configure two types of path loss estimation reference signals for the terminal equipment, one type is the base path loss estimation reference signal, and the other type is the additional path loss estimation reference signal, where the additional path The loss estimation reference signal does not need to be tracked by the terminal device. In this way, the terminal device can only track the basic path loss estimation reference signal and align with the network device which reference signals the terminal device tracks. If the network device needs the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmission power immediately, it can instruct one of the reference signals tracked by the terminal device. Since the terminal device always maintains the path loss estimate corresponding to the reference signal, it can adjust the uplink transmission power in time. Transmit power without unnecessary adjustment delay; if the network device does not need the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmit power immediately, the network device can indicate the reference signal that the terminal device has not tracked, and the terminal device can use an extra period of time to track The reference signal indicated by the network device obtains the estimated path loss, and then adjusts the uplink transmission power. Since the network device knows that the terminal device has not tracked the reference signal and needs an extra period of time to adjust, the network device will not repeatedly send power adjustment instructions, and signaling redundancy will not occur.”; Guan; p.8, bottom of page and p.9, top of page)
(“In cellular network communication, the parameters used to determine the uplink transmission power of the terminal equipment are configured by the network equipment. The purpose of uplink power control is to make the power of the signal sent by the terminal device reach the network device to meet the receiving condition of the network device….”; Guan; p.14, middle of page)
Guan as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmit, to the network node, a measurement report indicating K selected reference signals of N measured reference signals using a selected format of the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals, wherein K and N are integers.
However, Hokola et al. further teaches a reference signal configuration capability which includes:
transmit, to the network node, a measurement report indicating K selected reference signals of … measured reference signals using a selected format of the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals, wherein K and … are integers.
(“According to at least some example embodiments, when the timer at the gNB 102 is reset (i.e., due to expiration or, alternatively, a timer reset trigger event), the gNB 102 may transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to report its current M best DL RSs of each capability index to the gNB 102 or, alternatively, transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102. For example, the gNB may transmit a request that cases the UE 106 to perform one or more of steps S370, S380, S310, S320 and S330 discussed above.”; Hakola et al.; 0139)
(“The UE 106 may measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources according to configured criteria and associate DL RSs per capability index of the certain functionality, where M is a positive integer. (S310)”; Hakola et al.; 0114)
(“Report could be like: [0148] index #0: DL RS #b, DL RS #t [0149] index #1: DL RS #d, DL RS #g [0150] index #2: DL RS #e DL RS #h”; Hakola et al.; 0147-0150)
(“1. UE provides capability set in terms of the number of ports it would support per SRS resource:
nrOfPorts0(index #0):=1
nrOfPorts1(index #1):=2 [0158] 2. When configured, UE performs L1-RSRP measurements and reporting of best DL RSs conditional to the configuration of the SRS resource set with usage set to “codebook” based: [0159] Upon measurements UE starts timer for the validity of the association between DL RSs and capability indices [0160] UE reports best M DL RSs that would be feasible spatial source for the certain SRS resource in the SRS resource set. [0161] M could be {1, 2, 3, 4} [0162] Conditional condition means that the UE would report separately DL RSs that would be feasible spatial sources for the SRS resource #0/associated to the capability index 0, separately for the SRS resource #1/associated to the capability index 1, and so on, of the configured SRS resource set with usage set to “codebook.””; Hakola et al.; 0157-0162)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability of Hakola et al. into Guan By modifying the processing/communications of Guan to include the W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hakola et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Guan; Abstract) with improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
However, George et al. further teaches a W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability which includes:
N [reference signals]
N …[ are integers]
M [reference signsls]
M [is an integer]
(“An embodiment provides a method for operating a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the method comprising: [0113] receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device, [0114] performing measurements on at least one of said resources, and [0115] reporting the index (indices)/indicator(s)/identifier(s) of L RS(s) via the PHY-layer and/or a higher layer along with an L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR value (or differential L1-RSRP and/or differential L1-SINR) associated with each resource, wherein 1≤L≤W, and the value L is configured by the network.”; George et al.; 0112)
(“For data transmission, a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various physical channels and physical signals are mapped. For example, the physical channels may include the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink (SL) shared channels (PDSCH, PUSCH, PSSCH) carrying user specific data, also referred to as downlink, uplink or sidelink payload data, the physical broadcast channel (PBCH) carrying for example a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB), the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink control channels (PDCCH, PUCCH, PSCCH) carrying for example the downlink control information (DCI), the uplink control information (UCI) or the sidelink control information (SCI). For the uplink, the physical channels may further include the physical random-access channel (PRACH or RACH) used by UEs for accessing the network once a wireless device is synchronized and obtains the MIB and SIB. The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS), synchronization signals (SSs) and the like.”; George et al.; 0007)
(where
“receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device”/” a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “N [reference signals] and N …[ are integers]”, where “W” maps to “N”, “physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various …physical signals are mapped. …The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS)” maps to “[are integers]”
Where “W” also maps to “M”, as there is no requirement where “M” does not equal “N”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reference signal configuration capability of George et al. into Guan. By modifying the processing/communications of Guan. to include the reference signal configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of George et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Guan; Abstract) with improved beam refinement (George et al.; 0508) are achieved.
As to claim 19:
Guan discloses:
wherein the configuration information indicates a plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals, and wherein the one or more memories include instructions executable by the one or more processors, to cause the UE to, when communicating with the network node:
receive, from the network node, an indication of N selected reference signals, of a set of M reference signals, to be measured by the UE, the indication of the N selected reference signals using a selected format of the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals, wherein N and M are integers.
(“In the embodiment of the present application, the network device may configure two types of path loss estimation reference signals for the terminal equipment, one type is the base path loss estimation reference signal, and the other type is the additional path loss estimation reference signal, where the additional path The loss estimation reference signal does not need to be tracked by the terminal device. In this way, the terminal device can only track the basic path loss estimation reference signal and align with the network device which reference signals the terminal device tracks. If the network device needs the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmission power immediately, it can instruct one of the reference signals tracked by the terminal device. Since the terminal device always maintains the path loss estimate corresponding to the reference signal, it can adjust the uplink transmission power in time. Transmit power without unnecessary adjustment delay; if the network device does not need the terminal device to adjust the uplink transmit power immediately, the network device can indicate the reference signal that the terminal device has not tracked, and the terminal device can use an extra period of time to track The reference signal indicated by the network device obtains the estimated path loss, and then adjusts the uplink transmission power. Since the network device knows that the terminal device has not tracked the reference signal and needs an extra period of time to adjust, the network device will not repeatedly send power adjustment instructions, and signaling redundancy will not occur.”; Guan; p.8, bottom of page and p.9, top of page)
(“In cellular network communication, the parameters used to determine the uplink transmission power of the terminal equipment are configured by the network equipment. The purpose of uplink power control is to make the power of the signal sent by the terminal device reach the network device to meet the receiving condition of the network device….”; Guan; p.14, middle of page)
Guan as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmit, to the network node, a measurement report indicating K selected reference signals of N measured reference signals using the configured format for indicating selected reference signals, wherein K and N are integers; or
receive, from the network node, an indication of N selected reference signals, of a set of M reference signals, to be measured by the UE, the indication of the N selected reference signals using the configured format for indicating selected reference signals, wherein M is an integer.
However, Hokola et al. further teaches a reference signal configuration/codebook capability which includes:
receive, from the network node, an indication of N selected reference signals, of a set of … reference signals, to be measured by the UE, the indication of the N selected reference signals using a selected format of the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals, wherein N and … are integers.
(“According to at least some example embodiments, when the timer at the gNB 102 is reset (i.e., due to expiration or, alternatively, a timer reset trigger event), the gNB 102 may transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to report its current M best DL RSs of each capability index to the gNB 102 or, alternatively, transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102. For example, the gNB may transmit a request that cases the UE 106 to perform one or more of steps S370, S380, S310, S320 and S330 discussed above.”; Hakola et al.; 0139)
(“The UE 106 may measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources according to configured criteria and associate DL RSs per capability index of the certain functionality, where M is a positive integer. (S310)”; Hakola et al.; 0114)
(“Report could be like: [0148] index #0: DL RS #b, DL RS #t [0149] index #1: DL RS #d, DL RS #g [0150] index #2: DL RS #e DL RS #h”; Hakola et al.; 0147-0150)
(“1. UE provides capability set in terms of the number of ports it would support per SRS resource:
nrOfPorts1(index #1):=2 [0158] 2. When configured, UE performs L1-RSRP measurements and reporting of best DL RSs conditional to the configuration of the SRS resource set with usage set to “codebook” based: [0159] Upon measurements UE starts timer for the validity of the association between DL RSs and capability indices [0160] UE reports best M DL RSs that would be feasible spatial source for the certain SRS resource in the SRS resource set. [0161] M could be {1, 2, 3, 4} [0162] Conditional condition means that the UE would report separately DL RSs that would be feasible spatial sources for the SRS resource #0/associated to the capability index 0, separately for the SRS resource #1/associated to the capability index 1, and so on, of the configured SRS resource set with usage set to “codebook.” [0163] The UE may report then multiple sets of DL RSs, each set corresponding to the certain SRS resource/associated to the capability index in the SRS resource set.”; Hakola et al.; 0157-0163)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reference signal configuration/codebook capability of Hakola et al. into Guan By modifying the processing/communications of Guan to include the reference signal configuration/codebook capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hakola et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Guan; Abstract) with improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
However, George et al. further teaches a W RS/SSB resources reporting configuration capability which includes:
M [reference signsls]
M [is an integer]
(“An embodiment provides a method for operating a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the method comprising: [0113] receiving at least a CSI report configuration from a network node via a higher layer, wherein the CSI report configuration at least provides W≥2 CSI-RS and/or SSB resources for channel measurement by the wireless device, [0114] performing measurements on at least one of said resources, and [0115] reporting the index (indices)/indicator(s)/identifier(s) of L RS(s) via the PHY-layer and/or a higher layer along with an L1-RSRP and/or L1-SINR value (or differential L1-RSRP and/or differential L1-SINR) associated with each resource, wherein 1≤L≤W, and the value L is configured by the network.”; George et al.; 0112)
(“For data transmission, a physical resource grid may be used. The physical resource grid may comprise a set of resource elements (REs) to which various physical channels and physical signals are mapped. For example, the physical channels may include the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink (SL) shared channels (PDSCH, PUSCH, PSSCH) carrying user specific data, also referred to as downlink, uplink or sidelink payload data, the physical broadcast channel (PBCH) carrying for example a master information block (MIB) and a system information block (SIB), the physical downlink, uplink and/or sidelink control channels (PDCCH, PUCCH, PSCCH) carrying for example the downlink control information (DCI), the uplink control information (UCI) or the sidelink control information (SCI). For the uplink, the physical channels may further include the physical random-access channel (PRACH or RACH) used by UEs for accessing the network once a wireless device is synchronized and obtains the MIB and SIB. The physical signals may comprise reference signals (RS), synchronization signals (SSs) and the like.”; George et al.; 0007)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reference signal configuration capability of George et al. into Guan. By modifying the processing/communications of Guan. to include the reference signal configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of George et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Guan; Abstract) with improved beam refinement (George et al.; 0508) are achieved.
As to claim 20:
Guan as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the indication of the N selected reference signals includes an indication of the selected format the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals.
However, Hokola et al. further teaches a reference signal configuration/codebook capability which includes:
wherein the indication of the N selected reference signals includes an indication of the selected format the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals.
(“According to at least some example embodiments, when the timer at the gNB 102 is reset (i.e., due to expiration or, alternatively, a timer reset trigger event), the gNB 102 may transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to report its current M best DL RSs of each capability index to the gNB 102 or, alternatively, transmit a request to the UE 106 for the UE 106 to determine new M best DL RS(s) for each capability index and report the newly determined M best DL RS(s) for each capability index to the gNB 102. For example, the gNB may transmit a request that cases the UE 106 to perform one or more of steps S370, S380, S310, S320 and S330 discussed above.”; Hakola et al.; 0139)
(“The UE 106 may measure DL RSs based on the received configuration and determine the best M DL RSs resources according to configured criteria and associate DL RSs per capability index of the certain functionality, where M is a positive integer. (S310)”; Hakola et al.; 0114)
(“Report could be like: [0148] index #0: DL RS #b, DL RS #t [0149] index #1: DL RS #d, DL RS #g [0150] index #2: DL RS #e DL RS #h”; Hakola et al.; 0147-0150)
(“1. UE provides capability set in terms of the number of ports it would support per SRS resource:
nrOfPorts1(index #1):=2 [0158] 2. When configured, UE performs L1-RSRP measurements and reporting of best DL RSs conditional to the configuration of the SRS resource set with usage set to “codebook” based: [0159] Upon measurements UE starts timer for the validity of the association between DL RSs and capability indices [0160] UE reports best M DL RSs that would be feasible spatial source for the certain SRS resource in the SRS resource set. [0161] M could be {1, 2, 3, 4} [0162] Conditional condition means that the UE would report separately DL RSs that would be feasible spatial sources for the SRS resource #0/associated to the capability index 0, separately for the SRS resource #1/associated to the capability index 1, and so on, of the configured SRS resource set with usage set to “codebook.” [0163] The UE may report then multiple sets of DL RSs, each set corresponding to the certain SRS resource/associated to the capability index in the SRS resource set.”; Hakola et al.; 0157-0163)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reference signal configuration/codebook capability of Hakola et al. into Guan By modifying the processing/communications of Guan to include the reference signal configuration/codebook capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hakola et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Guan; Abstract) with improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan, “Method and Apparatus for Tracking Reference Signal, 2021-08-19, WO, WO 2021159447 (citations are from English translation) in view of George et al. US 20250374107 and in further view of Duan et al. US 20220109957.
As to claim 17:
Guan as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
select the selected format of the plurality of formats based at least in part on report payload sizes associated with the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals.
However, Duan et al. further teaches a payload capability which includes:
wherein the one or more memories further include instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
select the selected format of the plurality of formats based at least in part on report payload sizes associated with the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals.
(“More recently, L1 and L2 signaling has been contemplated for use in association with PRS-based reporting. For example, L1 and L2 signaling is currently used in some systems to transport CSI reports (e.g., reporting of Channel Quality Indications (CQIs), Precoding Matrix Indicators (PMIs), Layer Indicators (Lis), Ll-RSRP, etc.). CSI reports may comprise a set of fields in a pre-defined order (e.g., defined by the relevant standard). A single UL transmission (e.g., on PUSCH or PUCCH) may include multiple reports, referred to herein as ‘sub-reports’, which are arranged according to a pre-defined priority (e.g., defined by the relevant standard). In some designs, the pre-defined order may be based on an associated sub-report periodicity (e.g., aperiodic/semi-persistent/periodic (A/SP/P) over PUSCH/PUCCH), measurement type (e.g., L1-RSRP or not), serving cell index (e.g., in carrier aggregation (CA) case), and reportconfigID. With 2-part CSI reporting, the part 1s of all reports are grouped together, and the part 2s are grouped separately, and each group is separately encoded (e.g., part 1 payload size is fixed based on configuration parameters, while part 2 size is variable and depends on configuration parameters and also on associated part 1 content). A number of coded bits/symbols to be output after encoding and rate-matching is computed based on a number of input bits and beta factors, per the relevant standard. Linkages (e.g., time offsets) are defined between instances of RSs being measured and corresponding reporting. In some designs, CSI-like reporting of PRS-based measurement data using L1 and L2 signaling may be implemented.”; Duan et al.; 0117)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the payload configuration capability of Duan et al. into Guan By modifying the processing/communications of Guan to include the payload capability as taught by the processing/communications of Duan et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Guan; Abstract) with improved beam management (Hakola et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan, “Method and Apparatus for Tracking Reference Signal, 2021-08-19, WO, WO 2021159447 (citations are from English translation) in view of George et al. US 20250374107 and in further view of Manolakos et al. US 20230050521.
As to claim 18:
Guan as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the measurement report includes an indication of the selected format of the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals.
However, Manolakos et al. further teaches a part 2/size capability which includes:
wherein the measurement report includes an indication of the selected format of the plurality of formats for indicating selected reference signals.
(“The present disclosure proposes to report positioning quantities/measurements (i.e., PSI) in CSI Part 1 and Part 2 reports. Some reported quantities/measurements are expected to result in variations in the size of the UCI. Which type of measurements are reported and the size of each measurement vector (e.g., RSTD, RSRP, Rx-Tx, etc.) is chosen by the UE. This is because the number of TRPs that can be detected/reported depends on the UE's choice, availability to measure the PRS from the TRP(s), etc. Note that a measurement vector may include up to 256 measurements, as currently, the UE may be configured to measure up to 256 TRPs. Thus, in Part 1 of a CSI report, the UE can report the size (i.e., the number of measurements) of each measurement vector, and also the type of the measurement vectors. For example, the UE may report the type of the measurement vectors using a bit string of ‘X’ bits, where each bit corresponds to a specific type of measurement (e.g., RSTD, RSRP, Rx-Tx, etc.) that is going to be reported. Then, ‘X’ numbers are reported in Part 1, each one indicating the size of one of the ‘X’ measurement vectors being reported in Part 2.”; Manolakos et Al.; 0139)
(“According to the techniques of the present disclosure, in these cases, the UE can determine the number of groups of the RSRPs associated with a given TRP that can be received/measured with the same downlink receive beams (one group per beam). As such, the UE may report, in the CSI Part 1, how many groups of the “same-beam-RSRP” it is planning to report in the CSI Part 2, and the length (i.e., number of RSRPs) of each group. This information (i.e., the number of groups and the length of each one) may be jointly encoded into one bit string. Then, in the CSI Part 2, the UE can simply order the RSRPs according to the reported group numbers. For example, the UE can list the RSRPs consecutively starting from the first group, then the second group, and so on. Since the receiver knows the number of RSRPs in each group from the CSI Part 1, it knows where each group starts and ends by simply counting the number of RSRPs from beginning to end.”; Manolakos et al.; 0147)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the part 2/size capability of Manolakos et al. into Guan By modifying the processing/communications of Guan to include the part 2/size capability as taught by the processing/communications of Manolakos et al., the benefits of improved efficiency (Guan; Abstract) with improved variable size second part (Manolakos et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20250260538 – teaches an index associated with a best reported beam (see para. 0118).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464