DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2024, 1/14/2025, 9/02/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., (US 2010/0327068), hereinafter Chen in view of Mow et al., (US 2019/0027808), hereinafter Mow.
Regarding claim 1 Chen discloses a communication device (e.g., Title, Abstract), comprising a back cover (e.g., Fig. 20, at 2102); and an antenna module (e.g., Fig. 20, at 104, 2102, 750, , wherein the antenna module includes: an IC package (e.g., paragraph 0110), wherein the IC package includes a die (e.g., Fig. 20, at 162; paragraph 0110) coupled to a package substrate (e.g., Fig. 20, at 108, 110, 128, 172; paragraph 0110), an antenna patch support (e.g., Fig. 20, at 2102) coupled to the package substrate on a side of the package substrate opposite to the die, wherein the antenna patch support has a recess (e.g., Fig. 20, at 750) opposite to the package substrate, and an antenna patch (e.g., Fig. 20, at 104) coupled to the antenna patch support, such that the antenna patch is over the recess (e.g., Fig. 20, at 104 is over 750).
Chen does not explicitly disclose a display wherein the antenna module is between the display and back cover.
Mow discloses a display (e.g., Fig. 7 at 56) wherein the antenna module is between the display and back cover (Fig. 7, at 109 which is between display 56 and back cover 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the communication device disclosed by Chen in accordance with the teaching of Mow regarding the use of a display with a communications device in order to convey image data to a user (Mow, paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 2 Chen further discloses the communication device of claim 1, wherein: the antenna patch support has a plurality of recesses (Fig. 20, at 750), a corresponding plurality of antenna patches is coupled to the antenna patch support (Fig. 20, at 2120 and 104), and each one of the plurality of antenna patches is over a corresponding one of the plurality of recesses (Fig. 20, at 750 and 104).
Regarding claim 16 Chen discloses an antenna patch support (e.g., Fig. 20, at 2102), comprising: a printed circuit board (e.g., paragraph 0110 “PCB”) (PCB) having a first surface and an opposing second surface, the first surface to couple to an integrated circuit (IC) die (Fig. 20, at 162) and the second surface having a plurality of recesses (e.g., Fig. 20, at 750); and a plurality of antenna patches coupled to the second surface, at least some antenna patches in the plurality of antenna patches (e.g., Fig. 20, at 104) being over corresponding ones of the plurality of recesses with an air cavity (e.g., Fig. 20, at 750) between each such antenna patch and the second surface having the corresponding recess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kyocera (JP 2017 028245), hereinafter Kyocera.
Regarding claim 17 Chen does not disclose the antenna patch support of claim 16, wherein: the PCB has a plurality of conductive contacts on the first surface, and the PCB has solder resist on the first surface around the plurality of conductive contacts.
Kyocera discloses wherein: the PCB has a plurality of conductive contacts on the first surface, and the PCB has solder resist on the first surface around the plurality of conductive contacts (Figs. 2-3, at 60 and 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the communication device disclosed by Chen in accordance with the teaching of Kyocera regarding the use of conductive contacts with a communications device in order to fix the PCB to the antenna package.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-9 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 2, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein the antenna patch support has a narrowed portion to allow the antenna patch support to bend at the narrowed portion from a straight configuration to a bent configuration.
Chen and Mow are both cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a display, a back cover, an antenna module, an antenna patch support, an IC package, and a die.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding dependent claim 7, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein a footprint of the IC package is larger than a footprint of the antenna patch support.
Chen and Mow are both cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a display, a back cover, an antenna module, an antenna patch support, an IC package, and a die.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding dependent claim 18, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein: first recesses in the plurality of recesses have antenna patches over the first recesses, second recesses in the plurality of recesses do not have antenna patches over the second recesses, and any one of the second recesses is between adjacent ones of the first recesses.
Chen and Mow are both cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including an antenna patch support having a printed circuit board (PCB) having a first surface and an opposing second surface, the first surface to couple to an integrated circuit (IC) die and the second surface having a plurality of recesses, a plurality of antenna patches coupled to the second surface, at least some antenna patches in the plurality of antenna patches being over corresponding ones of the plurality of recesses with an air cavity between each such antenna patch and the second surface having the corresponding recess.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 10, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein a hinge portion between the first portion and the second portion; a first antenna patch coupled to the antenna patch support, wherein the first antenna patch is over the first recess; and a second antenna patch coupled to the antenna patch support, wherein the second antenna patch is over the second recess.
Chen and Mow are both cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a display, a back cover, an antenna module, an antenna patch support, an IC package, and a die.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845