DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the office action from 3/25/2026, the applicant has submitted an amendment, filed 6/22/2026, amending claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 12, 17, and 19, cancelling claims 10 and 20, while arguing to traverse the prior art rejections. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot with respect to new grounds of rejections further in view of the prior art of record PHERSSON mandated by the amendments and for the reasons explained in the response to arguments.
Response to Arguments
In what follows applicant’s arguments and comments will be addressed in the order presented.
On page 7, following an overview of the latest amendments, the 112(f) of the claim 9 is discussed; in particular it is argued: “when an applicant does not use the terms “means” or “step” in the claims, there is a rebuttable presumption that 112(f) does not apply”.
Respectfully, the “means” or “step” language are NOT the only way a claim is interpreted in 112(f).
Please see MPEP 2181 quoted here: “With respect to the first prong of this analysis, a claim element that does not include the term "means" or "step" triggers a rebuttable presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) does not apply. When the claim limitation does not use the term "means," examiners should determine whether the presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) does not apply is overcome. The presumption may be overcome if the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder (a term that is simply a substitute for the term "means"). The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." Welker Bearing Co., v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Mass. Inst. of Tech. v. Abacus Software, 462 F.3d 1344, 1354, 80 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Personalized Media, 161 F.3d at 704, 48 USPQ2d at 1886–87; Mas-Hamilton Group v. LaGard, Inc., 156 F.3d 1206, 1214-1215, 48 USPQ2d 1010, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Note that there is no fixed list of generic placeholders that always result in 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation, and likewise there is no fixed list of words that always avoid 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation. Every case will turn on its own unique set of facts.”
Page 8 the first paragraph discussed the previous claim 9 objection.
Due to the latest amendments the said objection is withdrawn.
On pages 8-9, Following a broad overview of the latest amendments to the independent claims which comprise of absorption of the cancelled dependent claim 10, it is concluded on page 9 the 3rd paragraph: “Pehrsson does not “the first processed signal being generated from a recording system coupled to the audio processor”.
The Pehrsson’s “A portable communication device” (an audio processor) is “connected” (coupled) to the “second recording devices” (to a recording system). For more details please visit the new office action.
On page 10 the third paragraph it is recited: “Dependent claims” “are allowable for at least the same reasons” as their parent claims.
Since applicants have not argued the merits of these dependent claims, but assert patentability solely through their dependence on the allegedly patentable parent claims, they stand or fall with said parent claims and hence no further response to applicant’s arguments is necessary.
Unfortunately, due to these factors, the examiner must respectfully disagree with the contention that “claims 1-9 and 11-19 are in condition for allowance” (page 10 last line).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “audio processing system” in claim 9 where no structure is recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GABA et al. (WO 2022/139077), and further in view of PEHRSSON et al. (EP1336253).
Regarding claim 1, GABA et al. do teach an audio processor for generating a non-delayed sidetone for a user (Title, Abstract, Fig. 2 displays “an electronic device” (audio processor) which according to the Abstract lines 3-4 manages a “group call” (a playback signal) among “a plurality of participants” (plurality of users)),
the audio processor comprising:
an input for receiving a first processed signal, the first processed signal including a playback audio signal mixed together with respective delayed audio signals from one or more users, the one or more users including a first user, the playback audio signal being a mix of recorded audio signal from the one or more users (Abstract lines 3-4 discuss managing a “group call” (a playback signal) among “a plurality of participants” (plurality of users), which could comprise of “echo” (a delayed signal (¶ 111 lines 4-5); ¶ 76 lines 1+: “the electronic device (100)” (the audio processor) “is configured to receive a private connection request from one or more” “of the plurality of identified participants” “during the group call” “to enable a private mode between the electronic device” “and the one or more candidate participant” “is configured to receive a media stream” (receiving a playback (first processed) signal) “from the one or more candidate participant during the group call in the private mode and mask the media stream from the one or more candidate participant. Further, the electronic device (100) is configured to mix” (which includes mixing) “the masked media stream received from the one or more first participant” (a first user) “and a media stream received from the remaining participant” “of the plurality of participants” (and one or more users in the “media stream” (playback signal) where these include “echo” (a delayed signal as well (¶111)),
a signal remover configured to generate a second processed signal by removing the delayed audio signal for the first user from the first processed signal (¶ 111 lines 4-5: “the enhancement bit-steam generator” (a signal remover) “remove echo” (removes the delayed audio signal) “for a current speaker” (from the first processed signal of the user) “from the final mixed audio” (to generate a second processed signal));
and a signal mixer coupled to the signal remover, the signal mixer configured to generate a third processed signal by mixing the second processed signal with a non-delayed input audio signal from the first user (¶ 111 lines 6-7: “The bit-stream multiplexer (504) mixes the audio stream” (the third processed signal generated from mixing the first processed signal with a non-delayed input audio signal from the first user, because according to ¶ 111 lines 1-3 the “mixed audio stream” is formed by mixing “audio from different calling connections” which includes the “first participant” or sometimes referred to as “first speaker” (the first user input audio) included the “mixed audio” (which comprises of the second processed signal) ),
and output the third processed signal (¶ 111 last S: “The mixed audio stream” (the resulting third processed signal) “is transmit” (is outputted) “to the participants” (e.g., including the “first participant” (first user)).
GABA et al. do not specifically disclose:
And the first processed signal being generated from a recording system coupled to the audio processor
The non-delayed input audio signal acting as a sidetone for the user.
PEHRSSON et al. to teach:
And the first processed signal being generated from a recording system coupled to the audio processor (Abstract: “A portable communication device” (an audio processor) “for conference calls, comprising at least first and second speech encoder paths with first and second inputs” (from input to) “for connection” (coupled to) “to first and second recording devices” (recording system) “respectively, and at least one output” (to generate playback) “connected to signal processor means for receiving and processing first and second electronic signals from said recording devices via said first and second speech encoder paths for transmission to a transmitter/receiver operatively connected to said signal processor means, wherein said apparatus is adapted to receive said first and second electronic signals simultaneously even if the signals are different, and said apparatus comprises a summator adapted to sum said first and second electronic signals into a sum signal for transmission to said transmitter/receiver”);
the non-delayed input audio signal acting as a sidetone for the first user (in a “conference call” (Col. 10 line 4) according to Col. 10 lines 15+ teach : “signals originate from different users” (a plurality of users) “generating by said summator a sum signal” (signals are summed or mixed) “of said first and second electronic signals for transmission to a transmitter/receiver (10) of said portable communication device, and generating a first sidetone” (wherein a non-delayed audio signal of each user acts as a sidetone) “of said first electronic signal for transmission” (upon output) “to first and second earphone outputs (13a,13b; 14), and a second sidetone of the second electronic signal for transmission to said earphone outputs (13a,13b; 14)”).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the “summator” module of PEHRSSON et al. into the “multiplexer” which “mixes the audio stream” of GABA et al. would enable the combined systems and their associated methods to perform in combination as they do separately and to further enable GABA et al. to enable its “caller[s]” to get a sense of the volume of their own voice without generating echo of the user’s voice from the speaker back into the microphone receiving the user’s voice.
Regarding claim 2, GABA et al. do teach the audio processor according to claim 1 further comprising a measuring unit coupled to the signal remover, the measuring unit configured to determine an audio feature of the delayed audio signal of the first user relative to the playback audio signal or relative to the non-delayed input audio signal from the first user (¶ 111 lines 4-5: “the enhancement bit-steam generator” (a measuring unit) “remove echo” (to determine a feature of the audio signal including its delayed signal component) “for a current speaker” (for the first user) “from the final mixed audio”).
Regarding claim 3, GABA et al. do not specifically disclose the audio processor according to claim 2 further comprising a first amplifier having a first input, a second input, and an output, wherein the first input of the first amplifier is coupled to the measuring unit and the second input of the first amplifier is coupled to the non-delayed input audio signal from the first user, the output of the first amplifier being coupled to the signal mixer such that the audio feature of the non-delayed input audio signal is adjusted based on a relative level of the determined audio feature of the delayed audio signal with respect to the playback audio signal.
PEHRRSON et al. do teach the audio processor according to claim 2 further comprising a first amplifier having a first input, a second input, and an output, wherein the first input of the first amplifier is coupled to the measuring unit and the second input of the first amplifier is coupled to the non-delayed input audio signal from the first user, the output of the amplifier being coupled to the signal mixer such that the audio feature of the non-delayed input audio signal is adjusted based on a relative level of the determined audio feature of the delayed audio signal with respect to the playback audio signal (Col. 5 lines 42+ referring to Fig. 2: “As described above the CODEC block 1 has a speech decoder path, which operates simultaneously and independently from the speech encoder paths for duplex operation. The PCM signal accepted by the PCM input 12 from the DSP 8 is transmitted to a PCM voice decoder 22. The output signal from the decoder 22 is fed through a programmable volume control 23. Further, the volume-controlled signal is fed through a filter block 24, comprising a receiver low-pass filter, a digital-to-analogue converter for converting the PCM decoded signal into an analogue signal. Before input to a first earphone amplifier 25 for the fixed earphone 15 and/or to a second earphone amplifier 26 for the handsfree earphone 16, the signal passes a receive programmable gain stage (PGA) in the filter block 24, enabling adjustment of the circuit for different sensitivity of the earphone(s) and is spread in the path” (the entire set of Fig. 2 including the “amplifier 25” functions as an amplifier which in one instance comprises of the “volume control 23” (a first input) the “SIDE TONE” “30” (a second input) and “programmable gain stage (PGA) in the filter block 24” (an output), such that the “volume control 23” receives “output signal from the decoder” (a non-delayed input audio signal) and itself functions as a measuring and “control” (adjusting) unit for “volume” (an audio feature), plus an input from the “SIDE TONE” “30” (a delayed audio signal) which are together fed into the ‘FILTER DAC” or “block 24” (the output) which “enable[es] adjustment” (i.e., adjusts the two through “volume” (relative level)).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the functions of the “conference call” management of PEHRRSON et al. into the “group call” of GABA et al. would enable the combined systems and their associated methods to perform in combination as they do separately and to further enable GABA et al. to “enabling adjustment” “for different [audio] sensitivity” as disclosed in GABA et al. ¶ 0028 last sentence.
Regarding claim 4, GABA et al. do not specifically disclose the audio processor according to claim 3 wherein the determined audio feature is a volume or a frequency of the delayed audio signal.
PEHRRSON et al. do teach the audio processor according to claim 3 wherein the determined audio feature is a volume or a frequency of the delayed audio signal (¶ 0028 lines 6+: “The output signal from the decoder 22 is fed through a programmable volume control 23. Further, the volume-controlled signal” (“volume” audio feature is determined) “is fed through a filter block 24”).
For obviousness to combine GABA et al. and PEHRRSON et al. see claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, GABA et al. do teach the audio processor according to claim 1 further comprising a microphone coupled to the audio processor, the microphone being configured to input audio signals from the first user (¶ 68: “FIGS. 1a-1c are example illustrations in which an electronic device (100) handles a group call, according to an embodiment as disclosed herein. The electronic device (100) can be, for example, but not limited to a cellular phone, a smart phone” (i.e., devices that comprise of a microphone: see PEHRRSON et al. ¶ 0002: “A conventional mobile phone is used for a single user and, consequently, the mobile phone has a single microphone for receiving sound waves of human voice of the user of the phone and a single loudspeaker for reproducing sound for the user”).
Regarding claim 6, GABA et al. do teach the audio processor according to claim 5 further comprising a speaker coupled to the audio processor, the speaker being configured to output the third processed signal to the first user (¶ 68: “FIGS. 1a-1c are example illustrations in which an electronic device (100) handles a group call, according to an embodiment as disclosed herein. The electronic device (100) can be, for example, but not limited to a cellular phone, a smart phone” (i.e., devices that comprise of speakers for e.g., outputting the third processed audio signal : see PEHRRSON et al. ¶ 0002: “A conventional mobile phone is used for a single user and, consequently, the mobile phone has a single microphone for receiving sound waves of human voice of the user of the phone and a single loudspeaker for reproducing sound for the user”)).
Regarding claim 7, GABA et al. do not specifically disclose the audio processor according to claim 6 further comprising an analog-to-digital converter coupled to the microphone.
PEHRRSON et al. do teach the audio processor according to claim 6 further comprising an analog-to-digital converter coupled to the microphone (¶ 0033: “The output of the amplifier comprises the analogue sum signal. The signal is filtered through a filter block 28, which comprises a transmit programmable gain stage (TX PGA), an analogue-to-digital converter (ADC)” (analog to digital converter) “and a transmit band pass filter, which converts the analogue signal from the microphone” (coupled to the microphone) “to a digital signal and filters”).
For obviousness to combine GABA et al. and PEHRRSON et al. see claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, GABA et al. do not specifically disclose the audio processor according to claim 7 further comprising a digital-to-analog converter coupled to the speaker.
PEHRRSON et al. do teach the audio processor according to claim 7 further comprising a digital-to-analog converter coupled to the speaker (¶ 0028 lines 51+: “a digital-to-analogue converter” (a digital to analog converter) “for converting the PCM decoded signal into an analogue signal. Before input to a first earphone” (coupled to a speaker)).
For obviousness to combine GABA et al. and PEHRRSON et al. see claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, GABA et al. do teach an audio processing system for generating a non-delayed sidetone for a plurality of users (Title, Abstract, Fig. 2 displays “an electronic device” (audio processing system) which according to the Abstract lines 3-4 manages a “group call” (a playback signal) among “a plurality of participants” (plurality of users)),
the audio processing system comprising for each respective user of the plurality of users:
an input configured to receive a first processed signal including a playback audio signal mixed together with delayed audio signals from the plurality of users, the playback audio signal being a mix of recorded audio signals form the plurality of users (Abstract lines 3-4 discuss managing a “group call” (a first processed (playback signal) among “a plurality of participants” (plurality of users), which could comprise of “echo” (a delayed signal (¶ 111 lines 4-5); ¶ 76 lines 1+: “the electronic device (100)” (the audio processor) “is configured to receive a private connection request from one or more” “of the plurality of identified participants” “during the group call” “to enable a private mode between the electronic device” “and the one or more candidate participant” “is configured to receive a media stream” (receiving a first processed (playback) signal) “from the one or more candidate participant during the group call in the private mode and mask the media stream from the one or more candidate participant. Further, the electronic device (100) is configured to mix” (which includes mixing) “the masked media stream received from the one or more first participant” (a first user) “and a media stream received from the remaining participant” “of the plurality of participants” (and one or more users in the “media stream” (first processed (playback) signal) where these include “echo” (a delayed signal as well (¶111));
a signal remover, coupled to the input, the signal remover being configured to generate a second processed signal by removing the delayed audio signal for the respective user from the first processed signal (¶ 111 lines 4-5: “the enhancement bit-steam generator” (a signal remover) “remove echo” (removes the delayed audio signal) “for a current speaker” (for the first user from the first processed signal) “from the final mixed audio” (to generate a second processed signal));
and a signal mixer, the signal mixer being coupled to the signal remover, the signal mixer configured to generate a third processed signal by mixing the second processed signal with a non-delayed input audio signal from the first user (¶ 111 lines 6-7: “The bit-stream multiplexer (504) mixes the audio stream” (the third processed signal generated from mixing the first processed signal with a non-delayed input audio signal from the first user, because according to ¶ 111 lines 1-3 the “mixed audio stream” is formed by mixing “audio from different calling connections” which includes the “first participant” or sometimes referred to as “first speaker” (the first user input audio) included the “mixed audio” (which comprises of the second processed signal) ),
and output the third processed signal (¶ 111 last S: “The mixed audio stream” (the resulting third processed signal) “is transmit” (is outputted) “to the participants” (e.g., including the “first participant” (first user)).
GABA et al. do not specifically disclose:
And the first processed signal being generated from a recording system coupled to the audio processor
The non-delayed input audio signal acting as a sidetone for the user.
PEHRSSON et al. to teach:
And the first processed signal being generated from a recording system (Abstract: “A portable communication device” (an audio processor) “for conference calls, comprising at least first and second speech encoder paths with first and second inputs” (from input to) “for connection” (coupled to) “to first and second recording devices” (recording system) “respectively, and at least one output” (to generate playback) “connected to signal processor means for receiving and processing first and second electronic signals from said recording devices via said first and second speech encoder paths for transmission to a transmitter/receiver operatively connected to said signal processor means, wherein said apparatus is adapted to receive said first and second electronic signals simultaneously even if the signals are different, and said apparatus comprises a summator adapted to sum said first and second electronic signals into a sum signal for transmission to said transmitter/receiver”);
the non-delayed input audio signal acting as a sidetone for the respective user (in a “conference call” (Col. 10 line 4) according to Col. 10 lines 15+ teach : “signals originate from different users” (a plurality of users) “generating by said summator a sum signal” (signals are summed or mixed) “of said first and second electronic signals for transmission to a transmitter/receiver (10) of said portable communication device, and generating a first sidetone” (wherein a non-delayed audio signal of each user acts as a sidetone) “of said first electronic signal for transmission” (upon output) “to first and second earphone outputs (13a,13b; 14), and a second sidetone of the second electronic signal for transmission to said earphone outputs (13a,13b; 14)”).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the “summator” module of PEHRSSON et al. into the “multiplexer” which “mixes the audio stream” of GABA et al. would enable the combined systems and their associated methods to perform in combination as they do separately and to further enable GABA et al. to enable its “caller[s]” to get a sense of the volume of their own voice without generating echo of the user’s voice from the speaker back into the microphone receiving the user’s voice.
Regarding claim 11, GABA et al. do not specifically disclose the audio processing system according to claim 9 further comprising a second amplifier in the recording system for adjusting an audio feature of the delayed input audio signal in the first processed signal.
PEHRSSON et al. do teach the audio processing system according to claim 9 further comprising a second amplifier in the recording system for adjusting an audio feature of the delayed input audio signal in the first processed signal (Col. 5 lines 53+ : “Before input to a first earphone amplifier 25 for the fixed earphone 15 and/or to a second earphone amplifier 26 for the handsfree earphone 16, the signal passes a receive programmable gain stage (PGA) in the filter block 24” (there are two “amplifiers”, “25” and “26” (a second amplifier) and they are coupled to the “programmable gain stage” (a “volume control” (for adjusting audio feature (Col. 5 line 49)))).
For obviousness to combine GABA et al. and PEHESSON et al. see claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, GABA et al. do teach an audio processing method for generating a non-delayed sidetone for a user (Title, Abstract, Fig. 2 displays “an electronic device” (audio processor) which according to the Abstract lines 3-4 manages a “group call” (a playback signal) among “a plurality of participants” (plurality of users)),
the audio processing method comprising:
receiving a first processed signal, the first processed signal including a playback audio signal mixed together with respective delayed audio signals from one or more users, the one or more users including a first user, the playback audio signal being a mix of recorded audio signals from the one or more users (Abstract lines 3-4 discuss managing a “group call” (a first processed (playback) signal) among “a plurality of participants” (plurality of users), which could comprise of “echo” (a delayed signal (¶ 111 lines 4-5); ¶ 76 lines 1+: “the electronic device (100)” (the audio processor) “is configured to receive a private connection request from one or more” “of the plurality of identified participants” “during the group call” “to enable a private mode between the electronic device” “and the one or more candidate participant” “is configured to receive a media stream” (receiving a first processed (playback) signal) “from the one or more candidate participant during the group call in the private mode and mask the media stream from the one or more candidate participant. Further, the electronic device (100) is configured to mix” (which includes mixing) “the masked media stream received from the one or more first participant” (a first user) “and a media stream received from the remaining participant” “of the plurality of participants” (and one or more users in the “media stream” (playback signal) where these include “echo” (a delayed signal as well (¶111));
generating, by a signal remover, a second processed signal by removing the delayed audio signal for the first user from the first processed signal (¶ 111 lines 4-5: “the enhancement bit-steam generator” (a signal remover) “remove echo” (removes the delayed audio signal) “for a current speaker” (for the first user from the first processed signal) “from the final mixed audio” (to generate a first processed signal));
generating, by a signal mixer, a third processed signal by mixing the second processed signal with a non-delayed input audio signal from the first user (¶ 111 lines 6-7: “The bit-stream multiplexer (504) mixes the audio stream” (the third processed signal generated from mixing the first processed signal with a non-delayed input audio signal from the first user, because according to ¶ 111 lines 1-3 the “mixed audio stream” is formed by mixing “audio from different calling connections” which includes the “first participant” or sometimes referred to as “first speaker” (the first user input audio) included the “mixed audio” (which comprises of the second processed signal) ),
and outputting, by the signal mixer, the third processed signal (¶ 111 last S: “The mixed audio stream” (the resulting third processed signal) “is transmit” (is outputted) “to the participants” (e.g., including the “first participant” (first user)).
GABA et al. do not specifically disclose:
And the first processed signal being generated from a recording system
The non-delayed input audio signal acting as a sidetone for the first user.
PEHRSSON et al. to teach:
And the first processed signal being generated from a recording system (Abstract: “A portable communication device” (an audio processor) “for conference calls, comprising at least first and second speech encoder paths with first and second inputs” (from input to) “for connection” (coupled to) “to first and second recording devices” (recording system) “respectively, and at least one output” (to generate playback) “connected to signal processor means for receiving and processing first and second electronic signals from said recording devices via said first and second speech encoder paths for transmission to a transmitter/receiver operatively connected to said signal processor means, wherein said apparatus is adapted to receive said first and second electronic signals simultaneously even if the signals are different, and said apparatus comprises a summator adapted to sum said first and second electronic signals into a sum signal for transmission to said transmitter/receiver”);
the non-delayed input audio signal acting as a sidetone for the first user (in a “conference call” (Col. 10 line 4) according to Col. 10 lines 15+ teach : “signals originate from different users” (a plurality of users) “generating by said summator a sum signal” (signals are summed or mixed) “of said first and second electronic signals for transmission to a transmitter/receiver (10) of said portable communication device, and generating a first sidetone” (wherein a non-delayed audio signal of each user acts as a sidetone) “of said first electronic signal for transmission” (upon output) “to first and second earphone outputs (13a,13b; 14), and a second sidetone of the second electronic signal for transmission to said earphone outputs (13a,13b; 14)”).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the “summator” module of PEHRSSON et al. into the “multiplexer” which “mixes the audio stream” of GABA et al. would enable the combined systems and their associated methods to perform in combination as they do separately and to further enable GABA et al. to enable its “caller[s]” to get a sense of the volume of their own voice without generating echo of the user’s voice from the speaker back into the microphone receiving the user’s voice.
Regarding claim 13, GABA et al. do teach the method according to claim 12 further comprising determining, by a measuring unit, an audio feature of the delayed audio signal of the first user relative to the playback audio signal or relative to the non-delayed input audio signal from the first user (¶ 111 lines 4-5: “the enhancement bit-steam generator” (a measuring unit) “remove echo” (to determine a feature of the audio signal including its delayed signal component) “for a current speaker” (for the first user) “from the final mixed audio”).
Regarding claim 14, GABA et al. do not specifically disclose the method according to claim 13 further comprising adjusting, by a first amplifier, the audio feature of the non-delayed input audio signal based on a relative level to the playback signal, wherein a first input of the first amplifier is coupled to the measuring unit and a second input of the first amplifier is coupled to the non-delayed input audio signal from the first user, and an output of the first amplifier is coupled to the signal.
PEHRRSON et al. do teach the method according to claim 13 further comprising adjusting, by a first amplifier, the audio feature of the non-delayed input audio signal based on a relative level to the playback signal, wherein a first input of the first amplifier is coupled to the measuring unit and a second input of the first amplifier is coupled to the non-delayed input audio signal from the first user, and an output of the first amplifier is coupled to the signal mixer (Col. 5 lines 42+ referring to Fig. 2: “As described above the CODEC block 1 has a speech decoder path, which operates simultaneously and independently from the speech encoder paths for duplex operation. The PCM signal accepted by the PCM input 12 from the DSP 8 is transmitted to a PCM voice decoder 22. The output signal from the decoder 22 is fed through a programmable volume control 23. Further, the volume-controlled signal is fed through a filter block 24, comprising a receiver low-pass filter, a digital-to-analogue converter for converting the PCM decoded signal into an analogue signal. Before input to a first earphone amplifier 25 for the fixed earphone 15 and/or to a second earphone amplifier 26 for the handsfree earphone 16, the signal passes a receive programmable gain stage (PGA) in the filter block 24, enabling adjustment of the circuit for different sensitivity of the earphone(s) and is spread in the path” (the entire set of Fig. 2 including the “amplifier 25” functions as a first amplifier which in one instance comprises of the “volume control 23” (a first input) the “SIDE TONE” “30” (a second input) which are mixed as a signal mixer and “programmable gain stage (PGA) in the filter block 24” (an output), such that the “volume control 23” receives “output signal from the decoder” (a non-delayed input audio signal) and itself functions as a measuring and “control” (adjusting) unit for “volume” (an audio feature), plus an input from the “SIDE TONE” “30” (a delayed audio signal) which are together fed into the ‘FILTER DAC” or “block 24” (the output) which “enable[es] adjustment” (i.e., adjusts the two through “volume” (relative level)).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the functions of the “conference call” management of PEHRRSON et al. into the “group call” of GABA et al. would enable the combined systems and their associated methods to perform in combination as they do separately and to further enable GABA et al. to “enabling adjustment” “for different [audio] sensitivity” as disclosed in GABA et al. ¶ 0028 last sentence.
Regarding claim 15, GABA et al. do not specifically disclose the method according to claim 14 wherein the audio feature is a volume or a frequency of the delayed audio signal.
PEHRRSON et al. do teach the method according to claim 14 wherein the audio feature is a volume or a frequency of the delayed audio signal (¶ 0028 lines 6+: “The output signal from the decoder 22 is fed through a programmable volume control 23. Further, the volume-controlled signal” (“volume” audio feature is determined) “is fed through a filter block 24”).
For obviousness to combine GABA et al. and PEHRRSON et al. see claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, GABA et al. do teach the method according to claim 12 further comprising inputting, by a microphone, an input audio signal from the first user (¶ 68: “FIGS. 1a-1c are example illustrations in which an electronic device (100) handles a group call, according to an embodiment as disclosed herein. The electronic device (100) can be, for example, but not limited to a cellular phone, a smart phone” (i.e., devices that comprise of a microphone: see PEHRRSON et al. ¶ 0002: “A conventional mobile phone is used for a single user and, consequently, the mobile phone has a single microphone for receiving sound waves of human voice of the user of the phone and a single loudspeaker for reproducing sound for the user”).
Regarding claim 17, GABA et al. do teach the method according to claim 16 further comprising outputting, by a speaker, the third processed audio signal to the first user (¶ 68: “FIGS. 1a-1c are example illustrations in which an electronic device (100) handles a group call, according to an embodiment as disclosed herein. The electronic device (100) can be, for example, but not limited to a cellular phone, a smart phone” (i.e., devices that comprise of speakers for e.g., outputting the third processed audio signal : see PEHRRSON et al. ¶ 0002: “A conventional mobile phone is used for a single user and, consequently, the mobile phone has a single microphone for receiving sound waves of human voice of the user of the phone and a single loudspeaker for reproducing sound for the user”)).
Regarding claim 18, GABA et al. do not specifically disclose the method according to claim 17 further comprising coupling an analog-to-digital converter to the microphone and coupling a digital-to-analog converter to the speaker.
PEHRRSON et al. do teach the method according to claim 17 further comprising coupling an analog-to-digital converter to the microphone and coupling a digital-to-analog converter to the speaker (¶ 0033: “The output of the amplifier comprises the analogue sum signal. The signal is filtered through a filter block 28, which comprises a transmit programmable gain stage (TX PGA), an analogue-to-digital converter (ADC)” (analog to digital converter) “and a transmit band pass filter, which converts the analogue signal from the microphone” (coupled to the microphone) “to a digital signal and filters”; ¶ 0028 lines 51+: “a digital-to-analogue converter” (a digital to analog converter) “for converting the PCM decoded signal into an analogue signal. Before input to a first earphone” (coupled to a speaker)).
For obviousness to combine GABA et al. and PEHRRSON et al. see claim 14.
Regarding claim 19, GABA et al. do not specifically disclose the method according to claim 14 further comprising adjusting, by a second amplifier, an audio feature of the delayed input audio signal in the first processed signal.
PEHRSSON et al. do teach the method according to claim 14 further comprising adjusting, by a second amplifier, an audio feature of the delayed input audio signal in the first processed signal (Col. 5 lines 53+ : “Before input to a first earphone amplifier 25 for the fixed earphone 15 and/or to a second earphone amplifier 26 for the handsfree earphone 16, the signal passes a receive programmable gain stage (PGA) in the filter block 24” (there are two “amplifiers”, “25” and “26” (a second amplifier) and they are coupled to the “programmable gain stage” (a “volume control” (for adjusting audio feature (Col. 5 line 49) in a mixed e.g. first processed signal comprising one going to the “first earphone” and one going into the “second earphone”))).
For obviousness to combine GABA et al. and PEHESSON et al. see claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Farzad Kazeminezhad/
Art Unit 2653
September 5th 2026.