DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2020/0279106) in view of D2 (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2023/0062307).
-Regarding claim 1, D1 discloses a document processing system (FIG. 1) comprising: a storage device storing a document processing program for a document in the form of electronic data and a workflow corresponding to the document processing program (memory 110, FIG. 1); and a control device including a processor (processor 102, FIG. 1), and configured to execute, when the processor executes the document processing program, an operation including, according to a setting of the workflow (the user interface may be configured to mapping a line item (e.g. Label=“Cash”) to a client export template (i.e., the format desired for export), [0049]), recognizing a character string from the document through OCR (recognition server 316, which performs optical character recognition (“OCR”) scanning of the source document, [0040]), extracting a plurality of values with respect to a specific item from the character string (data extraction module 302 will present an interface to the user with the final rows of date to the user for processing, constituted by the label and relevant value, [0048]), acquiring the number of the extracted values (the document assembly module 308 has structured the source document into 34 rows and 2 columns, [0042]).
D1 is silent to teaching that reproducing the same number of documents as the number of the extracted values, and assigning, to each of the reproduced documents, a file name including a respective one of the extracted values. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches reproducing the same number of documents as the number of the extracted values (file management server 160 accesses files from the file system server 140 and copies them to the file system server 150, [0021]), and assigning, to each of the reproduced documents, a file name including a respective one of the extracted values (naming module 240, in operation 740, names the copy of the first file based on the identified object, [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to make each per-value document individually identifiable to the user.
-Regarding claim 2, wherein the control device, according to a setting of the workflow, acquires the document in the form of electronic data as a processing target (D1, the document acquisition module 300 could include a web portal that includes an interface for a user to login and upload a source document, [0039]; D2, the prioritization module 220 of the file management server 160 accesses a first document collection comprising a first file, [0064]), executes the extraction, the reproduction, and the assigning of the file name (D1, the source document lines for “Cash and cash equivalents” and “marketable securities” were mapped to “Cash” in the export template so the resulting line item for “Cash” is equal to the sum of the two mapped lines, [0050]; D2, the naming module 240 copies the first file to a second document collection, [0067]), and outputs the reproduced documents to an output destination indicated by the workflow (D1, data extracted by the extraction system 202 could be sent to an accounting system 208 via the network 206, [0036]; D2, the naming module 240 copies the first file to a second document collection, [0067]).
-Regarding claim 3, the combination further discloses wherein the control device creates a folder path of an output destination of the document, for which the file name including the value has been generated, with respect to each of the values, using the value (D2, the files may be organized so that folders are created for topics and the files are placed in the corresponding folders, [0021]).
-Regarding claim 4, D1 discloses a computer-readable, non-transitory storage medium storing therein a document processing program for a document in the form of electronic data (memory 110, FIG. 1) and a workflow corresponding to the document processing program, the document processing program being configured to cause a computer to execute an operation (processor 102, FIG. 1) including, according to a setting of the workflow (the user interface may be configured to mapping a line item (e.g. Label=“Cash”) to a client export template (i.e., the format desired for export), [0049]), recognizing a character string from the document through OCR (recognition server 316, which performs optical character recognition (“OCR”) scanning of the source document, [0040]), extracting a plurality of values with respect to a specific item from the character string (data extraction module 302 will present an interface to the user with the final rows of date to the user for processing, constituted by the label and relevant value, [0048]), acquiring the number of the extracted values (the document assembly module 308 has structured the source document into 34 rows and 2 columns, [0042]).
D1 is silent to teaching that reproducing the same number of documents as the number of the extracted values, and assigning, to each of the reproduced documents, a file name including a respective one of the extracted values. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches reproducing the same number of documents as the number of the extracted values (file management server 160 accesses files from the file system server 140 and copies them to the file system server 150, [0021]), and assigning, to each of the reproduced documents, a file name including a respective one of the extracted values (naming module 240, in operation 740, names the copy of the first file based on the identified object, [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to make each per-value document individually identifiable to the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664