Claim Objections
Claims 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 is dependent on claim 7 which has been cancelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 14, 15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berliner et al. US 2022/0141875 A1 in view of Sun et al. US 20220264589 A1.
Claims 1 and 20:
Berliner discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories (See fig. 9, memory); and one or more processors (See fig. 9, processor), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to: receive configuration information associated with a secondary cell (SCell) (See para 13, “receiving, from the primary cell, a configuration of the SCell, and monitoring, at least in part in response to receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”), wherein the SCell has a narrowband channel bandwidth (See para 70, cell configured according to narrowband IoT); receive a synchronization signal block (SSB) on the SCell in accordance with an SSB bandwidth configuration (See para 160, “receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”), wherein the SSB bandwidth configuration is associated with at least one of: the configuration information (See para 160, “receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”), or a frequency of the SSB being identified by a synchronization raster, wherein the synchronization raster is for cells having the narrowband channel bandwidth; and monitor an initial control resource set (CORESET) using a CORESET bandwidth configuration associated with the configuration information (See para 67, “A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115. For example, one or more of the UEs 115 may monitor or search control regions for control information according to one or more search space sets…”).
Berliner doesn’t disclose that the configuration information comprises a serving cell configuration parameter that indicates that the channel bandwidth of the SCell is less than 5 MHz.
Sun discloses that the configuration information comprises a serving cell configuration parameter that indicates that the channel bandwidth of the SCell is less than 5 MHz (See para 127, “a cell with a bandwidth of 5 MHz and a cell with a bandwidth of 2 MHz as the Scell may be configured”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Berliner with the teachings of Sun to improve the method disclosed by Berliner by including the feature of configuring bandwidth less than 5MHz. The motivation to combine would have been faster data rate, greater capacity, low power consumption and communicate small data packets.
Claim 15:
Berliner discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to: transmit configuration information associated with a secondary cell (SCell) (See para 13, “receiving, from the primary cell, a configuration of the SCell, and monitoring, at least in part in response to receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”), wherein the SCell has a narrowband channel bandwidth (See para 70, cells configured according to narrowband IoT); transmit a synchronization signal block (SSB) on the SCell in accordance with an SSB bandwidth configuration (See para 160, “receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”), wherein the SSB bandwidth configuration is associated with at least one of: the configuration information (See para 160, “receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”), or a frequency of the SSB being identified by a synchronization raster for cells having the narrowband channel bandwidth; and transmit a communication on an initial control resource set (CORESET) using a CORESET bandwidth configuration associated with the configuration information (See para 67, “A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115. For example, one or more of the UEs 115 may monitor or search control regions for control information according to one or more search space sets…”).
Berliner doesn’t disclose that the configuration information comprises a serving cell configuration parameter that indicates that the channel bandwidth of the SCell is less than 5 MHz.
Sun discloses that the configuration information comprises a serving cell configuration parameter that indicates that the channel bandwidth of the SCell is less than 5 MHz (See para 127, “a cell with a bandwidth of 5 MHz and a cell with a bandwidth of 2 MHz as the Scell may be configured”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Berliner with the teachings of Sun to improve the method disclosed by Berliner by including the feature of configuring bandwidth less than 5MHz. The motivation to combine would have been faster data rate and greater capacity.
Claims 4 & 18:
Berliner discloses in association with the SSB having the frequency on the synchronization raster for cells having the narrowband channel bandwidth (See para 70, cell configured according to narrowband IoT), the SSB bandwidth configuration uses a number of physical resource blocks (See para 67, “A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115”) or a set of excluded physical resource blocks associated with a standalone carrier (See para 60, standalone mode).
Claims 5 & 19:
Berliner discloses in association with the SSB having the frequency on the synchronization raster for cells having the narrowband channel bandwidth (See para 70, cell configured according to narrowband IoT), the CORESET bandwidth configuration uses a number of physical resource blocks (See para 67, “A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115”) or a set of excluded physical resource blocks associated with a standalone carrier (See para 60, standalone mode).
Claim 11:
Berliner discloses that the physical downlink control channel configuration parameter indicates at least one of the SSB bandwidth configuration or the CORESET bandwidth configuration (See para 160, “receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”).
Claim 14:
Berliner discloses that the configuration information comprises a measurement object (See para 160, “receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”. SSB is used for measuring).
Claim 8:
Berliner discloses that the serving cell configuration parameter indicates at least one of the SSB bandwidth configuration (See para 160, “receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”. Also, see para 114 and 239) or the CORESET bandwidth configuration (See para 67, “A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115”).
Claim 9:
Berliner discloses that the serving cell configuration parameter indicates at least one of the SSB bandwidth configuration (See para 160, “receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”. Also, see para 114 and 239) or the CORESET bandwidth configuration in association with a table for cells having the narrowband channel bandwidth (See para 67, “A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115”).
Claim 12:
Berliner discloses that the physical downlink control channel configuration parameter indicates at least one of the SSB bandwidth configuration (See para 160, “receiving the configuration, for the one or more SSBs from the SCell”. Also, see para 114 and 239) or the CORESET bandwidth configuration in association with a table associated with cells (See para 67, “A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115”) having channel bandwidths less than 5 MHz (See para 70, narrowband).
Claim(s) 2-3 & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berliner et al. in view of Sun et al. and Sun et al. US 20260128838 A1 (hereinafter Sun2).
Claims 2 and 16:
Berliner in view of Sun doesn’t disclose that the SSB bandwidth configuration indicates at least one of: a number of physical resource blocks comprising a bandwidth of the SSB, or a set of physical resource blocks that are excluded from the bandwidth of the SSB.
Sun2 discloses that the SSB bandwidth configuration indicates at least one of: a number of physical resource blocks comprising a bandwidth of the SSB, or a set of physical resource blocks that are excluded from the bandwidth of the SSB (See para 139, “for a CORESET (or an SSB) that needs to be punctured, a bandwidth of the CORESET (or SSB) is a quantity of RBs after puncturing, and a CORESET corresponding to a parameter configuration is a CORESET obtained after puncturing; and for a CORESET (or an SSB) that does not need to be punctured, a bandwidth of the CORESET (or SSB) and a quantity of RBs actually occupied by the CORESET (or SSB) correspond to a same quantity of physical resources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Berliner in view of Sun with the teachings of Sun2 to improve the method disclosed by Berliner in view of Sun by including the feature of SSB bandwidth configuration including PRBs. The motivation to combine would have been to enable UE to receive and implement SSB configuration to receive SSB.
Claims 3 and 17:
Berliner in view of Sun doesn’t disclose that the CORESET bandwidth configuration indicates at least one of: a number of physical resource blocks comprising a bandwidth of the initial CORESET, or a set of physical resource blocks that are excluded from the bandwidth of the initial CORESET.
Sun2 discloses that the CORESET bandwidth configuration indicates at least one of: a number of physical resource blocks comprising a bandwidth of the initial CORESET, or a set of physical resource blocks that are excluded from the bandwidth of the initial CORESET (See para 139, “for a CORESET (or an SSB) that needs to be punctured, a bandwidth of the CORESET (or SSB) is a quantity of RBs after puncturing, and a CORESET corresponding to a parameter configuration is a CORESET obtained after puncturing; and for a CORESET (or an SSB) that does not need to be punctured, a bandwidth of the CORESET (or SSB) and a quantity of RBs actually occupied by the CORESET (or SSB) correspond to a same quantity of physical resources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Berliner in view of Sun with the teachings of Sun2 to improve the method disclosed by Berliner in view of Sun by including the feature of SSB bandwidth configuration including PRBs. The motivation to combine would have been to enable UE to receive and implement SSB configuration to receive SSB.
Claim(s) 10 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berliner et al. in view of Sun et al. and Xu et al. US 2024/0223325 A1.
Claim 10:
Berliner in view of Sun doesn’t disclose that the configuration information comprises a physical downlink control channel configuration parameter that indicates that the channel bandwidth of the SCell is less than 5 MHz.
Xu discloses that the configuration information comprises a physical downlink control channel configuration parameter that indicates that the channel bandwidth of the SCell is less than 5 MHz (See para 418, “The UE may only transmit on or receive from a narrow-bandwidth BWP (e.g., 5MHZ) on the PCell or SCell…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Berliner in view of Sun with the teachings of Xu to improve the method disclosed by Berliner in view of Sun by including the feature of channel bandwidth of less than 5MHz. The motivation for doing so would have been low power consumption and communicate small data packets.
Claim 13:
Berliner in view of Sun doesn’t disclose that the configuration information indicates that a bandwidth of the SSB is associated with cells having the narrowband channel bandwidth.
Xu discloses that the configuration information indicates that a bandwidth of the SSB is associated with cells having the narrowband channel bandwidth (See para 418, “The UE may only transmit on or receive from a narrow-bandwidth BWP (e.g., 5MHZ) on the PCell or SCell…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Berliner in view of Sun with the teachings of Xu to improve the method disclosed by Berliner in view of Sun by including the feature of channel bandwidth of less than 5MHz. The motivation for doing so would have been low power consumption and communicate small data packets.
Conclusion
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475