DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Okazaki et al. (US 2022/0231307).
Regarding Claim 1, Okazaki et al. teaches a lithium primary battery (i.e. a power storage cell) comprising a wound electrode body (Fig. 1, #200) (Para. [0043]) including a negative electrode and a positive electrode (Para. [0013]) (i.e. a cathode and an anode), the wound electrode body housed in a battery can (Fig. 1, #100) (i.e. a cell case for accommodating the wound electrode body) and a sealing body (i.e. lid) that blocks an opening of the battery can (i.e. the cell case includes a case body that opens in one direction, and a lid for closing the case body), wherein the sealing body includes an external terminal (Fig. 1, #330)( Para. [0043]) connected to the negative electrode (i.e. #330 is an anode external terminal connected to the anode) and a sealing plate (Fig. 1, #310) (i.e. cathode external terminal) wherein a second current collecting wire is connected to the positive electrode and the inner surface of the battery can (Para. [0045]), wherein the battery can and sealing plate is made from aluminum (Para. [0044]) and the sealing plate (Fig. 1, #310) and battery can (Fig. 1, #100) are directly joined to each other (i.e. the lid includes a cathode external terminal directly joined to the case body, and the cathode external terminal is electrically connected to the cathode via the case body) and an insulating gasket (Fig. 1, #320) disposed between the external terminal and sealing plate (i.e. and an insulating member for electrically insulating the cathode external terminal and the anode external terminal).
Regarding Claim 2, Okazaki et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Okazaki et al. further teaches the positive electrode contains a positive current collector and a positive electrode composite layer wherein the positive current collector contains aluminum and is a metal foil (Para. [0055]) and further includes a second current collecting wire (Fig 1, #220) that connects the positive electrode to the sealing body (Para. [0015]) (i.e. case body) and the second current collecting wire is a metal foil (Para. [0017]) such as aluminum or aluminum alloy (Para. [0018]) (i.e. the cathode includes a cathode current collector foil and a cathode composite material layer; the cathode current collector foil is made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy, the case body is directly joined to the cathode current collector foil), the positive electrode composite is laminated so as to be brought into physical contact with the positive current collector (Para. [0059]) (i.e. the cathode composite material layer is laminated on the cathode current collector foil), and the battery can (i.e. case body) and sealing plate (i.e. cathode external terminal) is made of aluminum or aluminum alloy (Para. [0044]).
Regarding Claim 3, Okazaki et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Okazaki et al. further teaches a second current collecting wire (Fig 1, #220) (i.e. a cathode current collector member) that connects the positive electrode to the sealing body (Para. [0015]) (i.e. case body) (i.e. disposed between the wound electrode body and the case body on a side opposite the lid as viewed form the wound electrode body, see Fig. 1), the positive electrode contains a positive current collector and a positive electrode composite layer wherein the positive current collector contains aluminum or aluminum alloy and is a metal foil (Para. [0055]) (i.e. the cathode includes a cathode current collector foil and a cathode composite material layer, the cathode current collector is made of aluminum or aluminum alloy), the positive electrode composite is laminated so as to be brought into physical contact with the positive current collector (Para. [0059]) (i.e. the cathode composite material layer is laminated on the cathode current collector foil) and the second current collecting wire is a metal foil (Para. [0017]) such as aluminum or aluminum alloy (Para. [0018]) (i.e. the cathode current collector member is made of aluminum or aluminum alloy), the second current collecting wire (Fig, 1, #220) (i.e. the cathode current collector member) is directly joined/welded to the positive electrode where the positive current collector was exposed (see Fig. 1, #201 and Para. [0072]) (i.e. the cathode current collector member is directly joined to the cathode current collector) and also welded to the inner bottom surface of the battery can (Para. [0077]) (i.e. the cathode current collector member is connected to the case body) and the battery can (i.e. case body) and sealing plate (i.e. cathode external terminal) is made of aluminum or aluminum alloy (Para. [0044]).
Conclusion
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729