DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI (English Translated Japanese Patent Publication No.: H02189223-A), hereinafter referred to as SUZUKI ‘223, in view of Hara et al (EP Patent Specification No.: 1049235-B1), hereinafter referred to as Hara et al ‘235.
Regarding claim 1, SUZUKI ‘223 discloses an accumulator (22) that separates a liquid refrigerant from a gas refrigerant used for cooling and heating in a vehicle interior of a vehicle {see Figs. 1-3: ¶ [0001]}, wherein heat is exchanged between a coolant (water) that cools any one of a motor (1) that drives the vehicle, and at least one of the gas refrigerants (38) and the liquid refrigerant (36) stored in the accumulator {see Figs. 1-3: ¶ [0001]}.
However, SUZUKI ‘223 fails to disclose the limitations of the accumulator that separates a liquid refrigerant from a gas refrigerant; and a power conversion module that operates the motor.
RHEE et al. ‘126 teach: the concept of the accumulator (190) that separates a liquid refrigerant from a gas refrigerant {see Figs. 4-5: ¶¶ [0055] and [0062-0063]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify SUZUKI ‘223 accumulator by the accumulator of RHEE et al. ‘126 so as to separates a liquid refrigerant from a gas refrigerant, in order to facilitate the low-temperature, low-pressure gaseous refrigerant discharged from the accumulator to be circulated through an outside cooling system {RHEE et al. ‘126 – ¶ [0073]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the SUZUKI ‘223 in view of RHEE et al. ‘126 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Hara et al ‘235 teach: the concept of wherein heat is exchanged between the coolant that cools any one of the motors that drives the vehicle and a power conversion module (U) that operates the motor {see ¶¶ [0027-0029]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify SUZUKI ‘223 in view of Hara et al ‘235 to include exchange of heat between the coolant that cools any one of the motors that drives the vehicle and a power conversion module (U) that operates the motor, in order to facilitate cooling of both motor and power module with a simple structure {Hara et al ‘235 – ¶ [0017]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the SUZUKI ‘223 in view of Hara et al ‘235 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of SUZUKI ‘223, RHEE et al. ‘126 and Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach the accumulator according to claim 1, SUZUKI ‘223 as modified by Hara et al ‘235 further teach the limitation of wherein oil serving as the coolant for cooling the motor is cooled by heat exchange {see ¶ [0031]}.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of SUZUKI ‘223, RHEE et al. ‘126 and Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach the accumulator according to claim 2, SUZUKI ‘223 discloses wherein the coolant circulates in a piping unit (33) disposed inside of the accumulator (22) {as shown in Fig. 2: Page 3, line 34-36}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of SUZUKI ‘223, RHEE et al. ‘126 and Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach the accumulator according to claim 3, SUZUKI ‘223 discloses wherein the piping unit (33) is disposed so as to be immersed in the liquid refrigerant, the piping unit being inside the accumulator (22) {as shown in Fig. 2: Page 4, lines 4-7; liquid refrigerant from (37)}.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of SUZUKI ‘223, RHEE et al. ‘126 and Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach the accumulator according to claim 4, SUZUKI ‘223 as modified by RHEE et al. ‘126 further disclose the limitations of wherein the piping unit (IHX) is formed in a spiral shape {as shown in Figs. 4-5: ¶ [0065]}.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of SUZUKI ‘223, Hara et al ‘235 and Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach the accumulator according to claim 1, SUZUKI ‘223 discloses wherein the coolant circulates in a piping unit (33) disposed inside of the accumulator (22) {as shown in Fig. 2: Page 3, line 34-36}.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of SUZUKI ‘223, Hara et al ‘235 and Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach the accumulator according to claim 7, SUZUKI ‘223 disclose wherein the piping unit (33) is disposed so as to be immersed in the liquid refrigerant, the piping unit being inside the accumulator (22) {as shown in Fig. 2: Page 4, lines 4-7; liquid refrigerant from (37)}.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of SUZUKI ‘223, Hara et al ‘235 and Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach the accumulator according to claim 8, SUZUKI ‘223 as modified by RHEE et al. ‘126 further disclose the limitations of wherein the piping unit (IHX) is formed in a spiral shape {as shown in Figs. 4-5: ¶ [0065]}.
Regarding claim 11, SUZUKI ‘223 as modified by Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach a vehicle driving device comprising: the motor (M) {see ¶ [0001]}; the power conversion module (U) {see ¶ [0028]}; a housing (10) that accommodates at least the motor and the power conversion module {as shown in Figs. 4 and 8: ¶¶ [0028]; and the accumulator (90) according to claim 1 attached to the housing {as shown in Figs. 3 and 8-9: of SUZUKI ‘223 as modified by Hara et al ‘235; {¶¶ [0025-0027], [0031] and [0033-0034]}.
Regarding claim 12, SUZUKI ‘223 as modified by Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach the vehicle driving device according to claim 11, further comprising: an oil cooler (C1) that exchanges heat between cooling water serving as the coolant for cooling the power conversion module and oil serving as the coolant for cooling the motor, wherein the cooling water exchanges heat with the oil in the oil cooler after being cooled by heat exchange in the accumulator {see ¶¶ [0035-0037]}.
Regarding claim 13, SUZUKI ‘223 as modified by Hara et al ‘235 teach the limitations of a vehicle driving device comprising: the motor (M); the power conversion module (U); a housing (10) that accommodates at least the motor and the power conversion module {as shown in Figs. 8, 12-13 and 15}; and the accumulator according to claim 2 attached to the housing {as shown in Fig. 3}.
Regarding claim 14, SUZUKI ‘223 as modified by Hara et al ‘235 further teach the limitations of vehicle driving device according to claim 13, further comprising: an oil cooler (C1) that exchanges heat between cooling water serving as the coolant for cooling the power conversion module and oil serving as the coolant for cooling the motor, wherein the cooling water exchanges heat with the oil in the oil cooler after being cooled by heat exchange in the accumulator {see ¶¶ [0035-0037]}.
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI ‘223, RHEE et al. ‘126 and Hara et al ‘235 as applied to claims 4, 3, 8 and 7 above, respectively; further in view of ESHIMA (WO Publication No.: 2020100366 A1), hereinafter referred to as ESHIMA ‘366.
Regarding claims 6 and 10, the combination of SUZUKI ‘223 and Hara et al ‘235 disclose and teach the accumulator according to claims 3 and 7, respectively, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein the piping unit is disposed so as to be wound around an outside of accumulator, the outside corresponding to a place where the liquid refrigerant being stored.
ESHIMA ‘366 teaches: the concept of the piping unit (11a) is disposed so as to be wound around an outside of accumulator (10), the outside corresponding to a place where the liquid refrigerant being stored {as shown in Fig. 8: Page 13}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify SUZUKI ‘223 in view of ESHIMA ‘366 to include the piping unit disposed so as to be wound around an outside of accumulator, the outside corresponding to a place where the liquid refrigerant being stored, in order to facilitate hot gas to flow over the entire surface of the accumulator {ESHIMA ‘366 - Page 13}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the SUZUKI ‘223 in view of ESHIMA ‘366 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 6 and 10.
Conclusion
2. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN-102059957-A to NASU, SHINGO.
EP-1049234-B1 to HARA TAKESHI
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
01/20/2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763