DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to application filed on 07/02/2024. Claims 1-5 were previously pending. Claims 1-5 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/02/2024, 06/03/2025 is/are is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawing(s) FIGs. 23-25 is/are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(m) because the shading does not aid in understanding the invention and does reduce legibility.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: HEADER REWRITING IN BOUNDARY RELAY.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 1-5 objected to because of the following informalities: “RRC” should be --radio resource control (RRC)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7.1. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
7.2. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhuo et al., (“Zhuo”, US 2025/0344130 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhuo teaches, A communication control method used in a cellular communication system, the communication control method comprising:
receiving, by a boundary relay node (FIG.4, IAB node 420A), configuration information (header rewriting configuration) related to an ingress link (ingress BH 413B) from a network (Zhuo, FIG.4, integrated access and backhaul (IAB) nodes 420, ingress backhaul (BH) radio link control (RLC) channel 413B, [0090-92]: [0170-171]: The header rewriting configuration may include at least one entry, each of which may indicate an ingress backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing ID and an egress BAP routing ID);
specifying, by the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A), a topology corresponding to the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on the configuration information (header rewriting configuration) (Zhuo, [0093]: the BAP routing ID carried by the received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the ingress topology. [0171]: the header rewriting configuration may include a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting); and
performing, by the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A), header rewriting processing on a packet flown in from the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on header rewriting configuration information received from the network, in response to the topology corresponding to the ingress link being a predetermined topology (Zhuo, [0091-92]: an IAB-node may rewrite the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of a packet under the circumstance: received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-centralized unit (CU) of the ingress topology while the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”)), wherein
the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A) is connected to a first donor node (IAB node 420B) through an F1 connection (ingress BH 413B) and is connected to a second donor node (IAB node 420D) through an RRC connection (egress BH 413C), the first donor node (IAB node 420B) being configured to manage a first topology and the second donor node (IAB node 420D) being configured to manage a second topology (Zhuo, FIG.4, radio link control (RLC) 411, backhaul (BH) link 413, [0089-90]: IAB node 420A (“boundary relay”) may receive a packet from a prior-hop IAB node 420B (“first donor node”), which may be a parent node of IAB node 420A for DL transmission on ingress BH RLC channel 413B on ingress BH link 411B; IAB node 420A may transmit the packet on egress BH RLC channel 413C on egress BH link 411C to next-hop node IAB 420D (“second donor node”). [0068]: an IAB donor-CU may provide the IAB node or the IAB donor-DU with the BAP address of its child node via F1AP signaling. [0061]: An IAB-node (IAB node 420A) with a radio resource control (RRC) interface terminating at a different IAB donor-CU than the F1 interface may be referred to as a “boundary IAB-node”), and
the predetermined topology is the second topology (Zhuo, [0092]: While the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”)).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhuo teaches, A boundary relay node (FIG.4, IAB node 420A) comprising:
a receiver circuitry configured to receive configuration information (header rewriting configuration) related to an ingress link (ingress BH 413B) from a network (Zhuo, FIG.10, apparatus 1000, transceiver 1002, processor 1006, [0181]: an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node includes at least one processor 1006 and at least one transceiver 1002 coupled to the processor 1006. FIG.4, IAB nodes 420, [0090-92]: IAB node 420A is a boundary IAB-node; [0170-171]: The header rewriting configuration may include at least one entry, each of which may indicate an ingress backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing ID and an egress BAP routing ID); and
a processing circuitry configured to specify a topology corresponding to the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on the configuration information (header rewriting configuration) (Zhuo, [0093]: the BAP routing ID carried by the received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the ingress topology. [0171]: the header rewriting configuration may include a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting), wherein
the processing circuitry is configured to perform header rewriting processing on a packet flown in from the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on header rewriting configuration information received from the network, in response to the topology corresponding to the ingress link being a predetermined topology (Zhuo, [0091-92]: an IAB-node may rewrite the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of a packet under the circumstance: A packet is routed between two topologies by a boundary IAB-node. The BAP routing ID carried by the received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-centralized unit (CU) of the ingress topology while the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”),
the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A) is connected to a first donor node (IAB node 420B) through an F1 connection (ingress BH 413B) and is connected to a second donor node (IAB node 420D) through an RRC connection (egress BH 413C), the first donor node being configured to manage a first topology and the second donor node being configured to manage a second topology (Zhuo, FIG.4, radio link control (RLC) 411, backhaul (BH) link 413, [0089-90]: IAB node 420A (“boundary relay”) may receive a packet from a prior-hop IAB node 420B (“first donor node”), which may be a parent node of IAB node 420A for DL transmission on ingress BH RLC channel 413B on ingress BH link 411B; IAB node 420A may transmit the packet on egress BH RLC channel 413C on egress BH link 411C to next-hop node IAB 420D (“second donor node”). [0068]: an IAB donor-CU may provide the IAB node or the IAB donor-DU with the BAP address of its child node via F1AP signaling. [0061]: An IAB-node (IAB node 420A) with a radio resource control (RRC) interface terminating at a different IAB donor-CU than the F1 interface may be referred to as a “boundary IAB-node”), and
the predetermined topology is the second topology (Zhuo, [0092]: while the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhuo teaches, A cellular communication system comprising:
a first donor node (FIG.4, IAB node 420B); a second donor node (IAB node 420D), and a boundary relay node (IAB node 420A) (Zhuo, FIG.4, integrated access and backhaul (IAB) nodes 420, [0090-92]: IAB node 420A is a boundary IAB-node, and IAB node 420B (“first donor node”), IAB 420D (“second donor node”)), wherein
the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A) receives configuration information (header rewriting configuration) related to an ingress link (ingress BH 413B) from a network (Zhuo, [0170-171]: The boundary IAB node 420A receives a header rewriting configuration. The header rewriting configuration may include at least one entry, each of which may indicate an ingress backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing ID and an egress BAP routing ID);
the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A) specifies a topology corresponding to the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on the configuration information (Zhuo, [0093]: the BAP routing ID carried by the received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the ingress topology. [0171]: the header rewriting configuration may include a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting); and
the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A) performs header rewriting processing on a packet flown in from the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on header rewriting configuration information received from the network, in response to the topology corresponding to the ingress link being a predetermined topology (Zhuo, [0091-92]: an IAB-node may rewrite the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of a packet under the circumstance: A packet is routed between two topologies by a boundary IAB-node. The BAP routing ID carried by the received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-centralized unit (CU) of the ingress topology while the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”))), wherein
the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A) is connected to a first donor node (IAB node 420B) through an F1 connection (ingress BH 413B) and is connected to a second donor node (IAB node 420D) through an RRC connection (egress BH 413C), the first donor node being configured to manage a first topology and the second donor node being configured to manage a second topology (Zhuo, FIG.4, radio link control (RLC) 411, backhaul (BH) link 413, [0089-90]: IAB node 420A (“boundary relay”) may receive a packet from a prior-hop IAB node 420B (“first donor node”), which may be a parent node of IAB node 420A for DL transmission on ingress BH RLC channel 413B on ingress BH link 411B; IAB node 420A may transmit the packet on egress BH RLC channel 413C on egress BH link 411C to next-hop node IAB 420D (“second donor node”). [0068]: an IAB donor-CU may provide the IAB node or the IAB donor-DU with the BAP address of its child node via F1AP signaling. [0061]: An IAB-node (IAB node 420A) with a radio resource control (RRC) interface terminating at a different IAB donor-CU than the F1 interface may be referred to as a “boundary IAB-node”), and
the predetermined topology is the second topology (Zhuo, [0092]: While the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”)).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhuo teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer of a boundary relay node (FIG.4, IAB node 420A) to execute processing comprising (Zhuo, FIG.10, transceiver 1002, processor 1006, [0185-186]: the non-transitory computer-readable medium may have stored thereon computer-executable instructions to cause the processor 1006 to implement the method with respect to the IAB node):
receiving configuration information (header rewriting configuration) related to an ingress link (ingress BH 413B) from a network (Zhuo, FIG.4, integrated access and backhaul (IAB) nodes 420, [0090-92]: IAB node 420A is a boundary IAB-node; [0170-171]: The header rewriting configuration may include at least one entry, each of which may indicate an ingress backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing ID and an egress BAP routing ID);
specifying a topology corresponding to the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on the configuration information (Zhuo, [0093]: the BAP routing ID carried by the received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the ingress topology. [0171]: the header rewriting configuration may include a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting); and
performing header rewriting processing on a packet flown in from the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on header rewriting configuration information received from the network, in response to the topology corresponding to the ingress link being a predetermined topology (Zhuo, [0091-92]: an IAB-node may rewrite the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of a packet under the circumstance: A packet is routed between two topologies by a boundary IAB-node, The BAP routing ID carried by the received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-centralized unit (CU) of the ingress topology while the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”)), wherein
the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A) is connected to a first donor node (IAB node 420B) through an F1 connection (ingress BH 413B) and is connected to a second donor node (IAB node 420D) through an RRC connection (egress BH 413C), the first donor node being configured to manage a first topology and the second donor node being configured to manage a second topology (Zhuo, FIG.4, radio link control (RLC) 411, backhaul (BH) link 413, [0089-90]: IAB node 420A (“boundary relay”) may receive a packet from a prior-hop IAB node 420B (“first donor node”), which may be a parent node of IAB node 420A for DL transmission on ingress BH RLC channel 413B on ingress BH link 411B. IAB node 420A may transmit the packet on egress BH RLC channel 413C on egress BH link 411C to next-hop node IAB 420D (“second donor node”). [0068]: an IAB donor-CU may provide the IAB node or the IAB donor-DU with the BAP address of its child node via F1AP signaling), and
the predetermined topology is the second topology (Zhuo, [0092]: While the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
8.2. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
8.3. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhuo et al., (“Zhuo”, US 2025/0344130 A1) in view of Zhu et al., (“Zhu”, US 2020/0287615 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhuo teaches, (FIG.4, IAB node 420A),
receiving configuration information (header rewriting configuration) related to an ingress link (ingress BH 413B) from a network (Zhuo, FIG.4, integrated access and backhaul (IAB) nodes 420, [0090-92]: IAB node 420A is a boundary IAB-node; [0170-171]: The header rewriting configuration may include at least one entry, each of which may indicate an ingress backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing ID and an egress BAP routing ID);
specifying a topology corresponding to the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on the configuration information (Zhuo, [0093]: the BAP routing ID carried by the received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the ingress topology. [0171]: the header rewriting configuration may include a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting); and
performing header rewriting processing on a packet flown in from the ingress link (ingress BH 413B), based on header rewriting configuration information received from the network, in response to the topology corresponding to the ingress link being a predetermined topology (Zhuo, [0091-92]: an IAB-node may rewrite the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of a packet under the circumstance: A packet is routed between two topologies by a boundary IAB-node. The BAP routing ID carried by the received BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-centralized unit (CU) of the ingress topology while the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”)), wherein
the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A) is connected to a first donor node (IAB node 420B) through an F1 connection (ingress BH 413B) and is connected to a second donor node (IAB node 420D) through an RRC connection (egress BH 413C), the first donor node being configured to manage a first topology and the second donor node being configured to manage a second topology (Zhuo, FIG.4, radio link control (RLC) 411, backhaul (BH) link 413, [0089-90]: IAB node 420A (“boundary relay”) may receive a packet from a prior-hop IAB node 420B (“first donor node”), which may be a parent node of IAB node 420A for DL transmission on ingress BH RLC channel 413B on ingress BH link 411B. IAB node 420A may transmit the packet on egress BH RLC channel 413C on egress BH link 411C to next-hop node IAB 420D (“second donor node”). [0068]: an IAB donor-CU may provide the IAB node or the IAB donor-DU with the BAP address of its child node via F1AP signaling. [0061]: An IAB-node (IAB node 420A) with a radio resource control (RRC) interface terminating at a different IAB donor-CU than the F1 interface may be referred to as a “boundary IAB-node”), and
the predetermined topology is the second topology (Zhuo, [0092]: While the BAP routing ID carried by the transmitted BAP PDU may be allocated by the IAB donor-CU of the egress topology (“predetermined topology”)).
Zhuo does not expressly teach a chipset for a boundary relay node, however, Zhu teaches a chipset for a boundary relay node (Zhu, [0024]: The application provides a system chip. The system chip includes at least one processor and a communications interface, the communications interface is used by the system chip to perform communication interaction with the outside, and the at least one processor is configured to execute a program instruction, to implement an operation of a relay node)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify application of the boundary relay node (IAB node 420A), as taught by Zhuo, that provides a system chip, as taught by Park.
Doing so allows a chipset for a boundary relay node (Zhu, [0024]).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Park et al., US 2015/0049734 A1, Method For Transmitting Indication In Wireless Communication System, Involves Transmitting Indication Including Information On Lists Of UEs Handed Over To Target Evolved Node B (eNB) To Mobile Relay Node, FIG.5, [0041].
Huang et al., US 2021/0219374 A1, Method For Transmitting Information To E.g. Mobile Phone, Involves Determining Message To Be Transmitted, Sending Message To Base Station, Forwarding Message To IAB Donor Through Base Station, And Receiving Message Sent By IAB Node, [0011][0019-20].
Li et al., US 2020/0336942 A1, Method For Wireless Communications, Particularly For High Pathloss Mode Multiplexing Communications, Involves Configuring Sets Of Resources Of Radio Frequency Spectrum Bands For Communications Associated With First And Second Modes, FIG.2.
/C.L./
Examiner
Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418