DETAILED ACTION
This action is made in response to the amendment filed on 08/06/2026. This action is made final.
Claims 46-65 are pending. Claims 46 and 56 are independent claims.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/06/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 10303357, 10705727, 10921980, 11662902, 12056348 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 46-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stallings et al. (US 2010/0156812 A1; hereinafter Stallings) in view of Nelson (US 2014/0032636 A1; hereinafter Nelson) further in view of Kennedy et al. (US 20120117271 A1; hereinafter Kennedy).
As to claim 46, Stallings teaches:
A method (see ¶ 0014) comprising:
while a video content item is being displayed on a device (see Fig. 1B and ¶ 0015; the item as shown in Fig. 1B can be transferred to another mobile device, the item comprises objects, data, images, audio, video, text.. Fig. 6A-6B and ¶ 0050-0052; i.e., contact card 610 is being displayed), detecting a flick motion on a touch screen interface of the device from the video in a direction of the plurality of user devices (see Fig. 6A and ¶ 0052, 0063; the user may apply a touch 642 generally to the area of contact card 610 and slide touch 642 forward as indicated in FIG. 6A along the surface of display 230 (e.g., the user may flick a finger along the surface of display 230). Fig. 1B shows the user touches on the item to initiate a transfer, as disclosed in ¶ 0015, the item can be video); and
in response to detecting the flick motion, transmitting data associated with the video content item to one of the plurality of devices (see Fig. 6A-6B and ¶ 0050-0052; The sliding touch 642 may be interpreted by device 100 as a command to initiate gesture-based item delivery of the contact card 610. Based on the command, device 100 may initiate one or more actions to identify the intended recipient device for the contact card 610. Actions to identify the intended recipient device may include, for example, determining a location of device 100, determining an orientation of device 100, determining a direction of sliding touch 642, and/or determining locations of the other recipient devices within the proximity (e.g., within network 510)).
While Stallings discloses that the item that is transferred to another device comprises video and being displayed on a first device (see Fig. 1B and ¶ 0015; the item as shown in Fig. 1B can be transferred to another mobile device, the item comprises objects, data, images, audio, video, text), Stallings does not expressly teach the video is being played.
Nelson is relied upon for teaching the limitations. Specifically, Nelson teaches while a video content item is being played on a device, detecting an operation to transmitting data associated with the video content item to one of a plurality of devices (see Fig. 6 and ¶ 0043-0044; while the media server is streaming media data, representing a media item, to a fist device (e.g., a mobile phone), request for the same media item to stream to a second device; while streaming media. ¶ 0021; if a user is viewing a movie on his mobile handset while travelling, the media server may recognize the user's new location and automatically begin streaming the movie, in a higher quality format, to the user's large flat panel display).
The references, each discloses a user interface for sending data between devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to combine the teaching of Stallings and the teaching of Nelson together to provide a user interface configured to transfer a playing video content to another device as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because of the overlapping subject matter, and the advantages described in Nelson that allows the user to view video on the move between a plurality of different devices without the need to restart video on a different device leading to wasting time and causing frustration (Nelson: see ¶ 0004-0006).
Stallings does not appear to teach:
receiving, on a social networking service, a plurality of requests associated with a plurality of user accounts to subscribe to content associated with a user account;
the vieo content item is on the social networking service, and being displayed on a device associated with the user account, and a visual representation of the plurality of user accounts that subscribed to the content associated with the user account;
the transmitting data is to a plurality of devices associated with the plurality of user accounts.
However, Kennedy is relied upon for teaching the deficient limitations. Specifically, Kennedy teaches:
receiving, on a social networking service, a plurality of requests associated with a plurality of user accounts to subscribe to content associated with a user account (see ¶ 0023; network accounts. ¶ 0027, 0038, 0039; the auto-sync engine can download content posted to or stored at the user and/or his/her contacts’ Internet social networks);
the video content item is on the social networking service (see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0041; social network content items. ¶ 0036; media content comprises videos), and being displayed on a device associated with the user account, and a visual representation of the plurality of user accounts that subscribed to the content associated with the user account (see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0041; the user can send the selected content items by dragging and dropping the selected content items onto a target graphical object representing an Internet social network contact or a target device listed on the GUI. ¶ 0043; send to friends, family or all contacts, selected contacts);
the transmitting data is to a plurality of devices associated with the plurality of user accounts (see ¶ 0044; after detecting the user's drag-and-drop action or click-send-button action, the auto-sync engine can perform the above-described data filtering process, and transmit the filtered data to the intended destination(s) such as, e.g., intended social network contact(s) and/or target device(s)).
The references, each discloses a user interface for sending data between devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to combine the teaching of Stallings and the teaching of Kennedy together to provide a user interface configured to send data between social networking accounts as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because of the overlapping subject matter, and the advantages described in Kennedy that allows the user easily sending social networking content between accounts; thus, enhance user experience with the user interface (Kennedy: see ¶ 0041).
As to claim 47, the rejection of claim 46 is incorporated. Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy further teach: wherein the visual representation of the plurality of user accounts that subscribed to the content associated with the user account comprises user accounts associated with all the plurality of requests to subscribe to the content associated with the user account on the social networking service (Kennedy: see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0043). Thus, combining Stallings and Kennedy would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 46.
As to claim 48, the rejection of claim 46 is incorporated. Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy further teach: wherein the visual representation of the plurality of user accounts that subscribed to the content associated with the user account comprises user accounts associated with a subset of the plurality of requests to subscribe to the content associated with the user account on the social networking service, and wherein a selection of the subset of the plurality of requests is received at the device associated with the user account (Kennedy: see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0041-0043; selected contacts, Friends, Family). Thus, combining Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 46.
As to claim 49, the rejection of claim 46 is incorporated. Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy further teach: wherein the visual representation of the plurality of user accounts that subscribed to the content associated with the user account comprises user accounts associated with a subset of the plurality of requests to subscribe to the content associated with the user account on the social networking service, and wherein the subset of the plurality of requests is automatically selected by the social networking service (Kennedy: see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0041-0043; selected contacts, Friends, Family. ¶ 0015; automatically identify destinations and synchronize data from a local device to the multiple, identified destinations in one or more computer networks). Thus, combining Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 46.
As to claim 50, the rejection of claim 46 is incorporated. Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy further teach: wherein the transmitting the data associated with the video content item to the plurality of devices associated with the plurality of user accounts comprises transmitting the data to a plurality of devices associated with a subset of plurality of user accounts regardless of the direction of the flick motion (Kennedy: see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0041-0043; selected contacts, Friends, Family. ¶ 0040-0044; After detecting the user's drag-and-drop action or click-send-button action, the auto-sync engine can perform the above-described data filtering process, and transmit the filtered data to the intended destination(s) such as, e.g., intended social network contact(s) and/or target device(s)). Thus, combining Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 46.
As to claim 51, the rejection of claim 46 is incorporated. Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy further teach: wherein the data associated with the video content item comprises a link to the video content item (Kennedy: see ¶ 0039; the auto-sync engine may manage and share the content by providing links to the content items but without downloading them). Thus, combining Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 46.
As to claim 52, the rejection of claim 51 is incorporated. Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy further teach: causing the plurality of devices associated with the plurality of user accounts to automatically play the video content item using the link (Stallings: see Fig. 12 and ¶ 0075-0077. Kennedy: see ¶ 0036; the data synchronization process can cause the transmitted data to be populated and displayed on a target device automatically). Thus, combining Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 46.
As to claim 53, the rejection of claim 51 is incorporated. Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy further teach: determining a playing position of the video content item that was displayed on the touch screen interface when the flick motion was detected; and causing the plurality of devices associated with the plurality of user accounts to automatically play the video content item based on the data using the link, the plurality of devices automatically playing the video content item beginning at the determined playing position of the video content item (Kennedy: see ¶ 0039; the auto-sync engine may manage and share the content by providing links to the content items but without downloading them; ¶ 0036; ; the data synchronization process can cause the transmitted data to be populated and displayed on a target device automatically). Thus, combining Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 46.
As to claim 54, the rejection of claim 46 is incorporated. Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy further teach: wherein the transmitting data associated with the video content item to the plurality of devices associated with the plurality of user accounts in response to detecting the flick motion further comprises: receiving a user selection, at the device associated with the user account, of one or more user accounts of the plurality of user accounts; and transmitting the data associated with the video content item to devices associated with the one or more user accounts (Kennedy: see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0041-0043; selected contacts, Friends, Family). Thus, combining Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 46.
As to claim 55, the rejection of claim 46 is incorporated. Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy further teach: causing the plurality of devices associated with the plurality of user accounts to store the video content item (Kennedy: see ¶ 0045-0046; stored content). Thus, combining Stallings/Nelson/Kennedy would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 46.
As to claims 56-65, claims 56-65 are directed to a system comprising: input/output circuitry configured to implementing the similar features as claimed in claims 46-55, respectively; therefore, are rejected under similar rationale (Stallings: see ¶ 0016).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 46-65 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)).
/TUYETLIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179