DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11. The use of “and/or” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the plurality of attachment portions extending outwardly from a front and sides; or either extending outwardly from a front or sides.
For the purpose of examination, the claim is interpreted as reciting that the plurality of attachment portions extending outwardly from a front or sides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TASHIRO et al. (US 2016/0006163 hereinafter refer as “TASHIRO”).
Regarding claim 1. TASHIRO discloses an electrical connector (11, see Fig. 1) comprising: a housing (18) at least partially enclosing a space, the housing comprising an opening (to be covered by 120), connected to the space, at a top (front face, see Fig. 1) and a cap (rear holder 19, see Fig. 1, Para. 0049) disposed at a rear of the housing (18), the cap (19) comprising a cavity (40, see Fig. 1, Para. 0058) having first and second channels (e.g. three channels, see Fig. 1) connected to the space; a first cable (e.g. 13) extending through the first channel of the cap into the space of the housing; a second cable (the other cable 13) extending through the second channel of the cap into the space of the housing; and a sealing material (50, 60, 70, see Figs. 1, 6, and 10B, Para. 0050) disposed in the cavity (40, see Fig. 1, Para. 0058) of the cap (19) such that portions of the first and second cables extending through the first and second channels are fixedly disposed in the sealing material (see Fig. 11B).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2019/0044291 hereinafter refer as “Chen”).
Regarding claim 11. Chen discloses an electrical connector (see Figs. 1 and 8) comprising: a housing (connector body 1, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0023) comprising an opening at a rear (see Fig. 3) and a plurality of attachment portions extending outwardly from a front and/or sides (plurality of side wings 18 at two sides of the tubular portion 11, see Figs. 3 and 8, Para. 0029); a first module (e.g. audio connector component 2, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0027 and 0030) disposed in the housing (1), the first module comprising a plurality of first ends (21) extending toward the rear of the housing and a plurality of second ends (23, see Fig. 2) extending out of a bottom of the housing (see Fig. 4); and a second module (e.g. electrical connector 3′, see Fig. 2, Para. 0030) disposed in the housing, the second module comprising a plurality of first ends extending toward the rear of the housing and a plurality of second ends (33, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0030) extending out of the bottom of the housing (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12. Chen further discloses each of the plurality of attachment portions (plurality of side wings 18 at two sides of the tubular portion 11, see Figs. 3 and 8, Para. 0029) of the housing comprises a hole extending therethrough (see Figs. 2, 5, and 8, Para. 0029).
Regarding claim 13. Chen further discloses the plurality of attachment portions (plurality of side wings 18 at two sides of the tubular portion 11, see Figs. 3 and 8, Para. 0029) of the housing comprises a first pair of attachment portions extending outwardly from the front of the housing, and a second pair of attachment portions respectively extending outwardly from opposite sides of the housing (see Figs. 2 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kwon et al. (US 2017/0012396 hereinafter refer as “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 14. Chen further discloses an audio insertion groove (14, see Fig. 2, Para. 0026) attached to the plurality of first ends of the first module and extending out of the housing from the rear of the housing (see Fig. 3) and a connector insertion groove (15, see Fig. 2, Para. 0026) attached to the plurality of first ends of the second module and extending out of the housing from the rear of the housing and a plug (not shown) is inserted into the audio insertion groove (14, see Para. 0027-0028), the plug is connected to the audio terminals (21).
However, Chen is silent with respect to the plug is a first cable and the second plug is a second cable comprising a pair of signal wires.
Kwon teaches a cable assembly (10, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047) that includes a housing (14, see Fig. 9, Para. 0047); a cable portion (11, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047); a first cable (e.g. coaxial cable 111, see Fig. 9, Para. 0029) and a second cable (e.g. signal cables 113, see Fig. 9, Para. 0030).
Therefore, in view of Kwon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen by replacing the first and second plug attachments with a first cable and a second cable, wherein the second cable includes a pair of signal wires as a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, as taught by Kwon, in order to provide an effective connection, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the cable connection by facilitating direct contact between the cables and the first module and second module thereby achieving the predictable benefit of simple and more effective connection.
Regarding claim 15. Chen further discloses the rear of the housing comprises a cap (e.g. protruding block 12, see Fig. 2, Para. 0034) having a cavity (e.g. an audio insertion groove 14 and connector insertion groove 15, see Fig. 2, Para. 0026) through which the first and second cables extend; and the electrical connector comprises a sealing member (waterproof glue 7, see Figs. 3 and 4, Para. 0033) disposed in the cavity of the cap and enclosing portions of the first and second cables extending therein.
Regarding claim 16. Chen further discloses a cover (e.g. separation board 4, see Figs. 2-4, Para. 0031) disposed at a bottom of the housing and a sealing member (waterproof glue 7, see Figs. 3 and 4, Para. 0033) disposed between the housing and the cover.
However, Chen is silent with respect to the cover disposed at a top of the housing.
Therefore, in view of Kwon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen by providing additional cover at the top of the housing, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 17. The teachings of Chen have been discussed above.
However, Chen does not explicitly teach that the first cable comprises two or more wires; a hoop disposed around a sheath of the first cable; and a third sealing member disposed between the first module and the hoop.
Kwon teaches a cable assembly (10, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047) that includes a housing (14, see Fig. 9, Para. 0047); a cable portion (11, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047); a first cable (e.g. coaxial cable 111, see Fig. 9, Para. 0029) and a second cable (e.g. signal cables 113, see Fig. 9, Para. 0030).
Therefore, in view of Kwon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s first cable to include two or more wires, a hoop disposed around a sheath of the first cable, and a third sealing member disposed between the first module and the hoop as a matter of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, as taught by Kwon, in order to provide an effective connection, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the cable connection by facilitating direct contact between the cables and the first module and second module thereby achieving the predictable benefit of simple and more effective connection.
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappold (US 2023/0327361) in view of Chen and further in view of Kwon.
Regarding claim 1. Rappold discloses an electrical connector (10, see Fig. 1) comprising: a housing (11, see Fig. 1) at least partially enclosing a space (see Fig. 1), the housing comprising an opening (to be covered by first housing shell 12), connected to the space, at a top and a cap (retaining jacket 23, see Figs. 1, 2, and 4, Para. 0033, 0034,0035) disposed at a rear of the housing (see Figs. 1 and 2), the cap (23) comprising a cavity (cavities for receiving the four wiring harness 31, see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0033, 0035, and 0036) having first (channel for receiving a wiring harness 31, see Figs. 2 and 4, Para. 0037) and second channels (e.g. channel for exposing connection contact 30, see Figs. 2 and 4, Para. 0037); a first cable (e.g. 31) extending through the first channel of the cap into the space of the housing; a second cable (the other cable 31, see Fig. 4) extending through the second channel of the cap into the space of the housing (see Figs. 3 and 4); and a sealing material (24, see Fig. 2, Para. 0036) disposed in the cavity (21, 22, see Fig. 2, Para. 0036) of the cap (23) such that portions of the first and second cables extending through the first and second channels are fixedly disposed in the sealing material (see Fig. 2).
However, Rappold is silent with respect to the cavity of the cap being connected to the housing space.
Chen teaches an all-in-one electrical receptacle connector that includes a housing (connector body 1, see Figs. 2 and 5) having a space (see Fig. 5); a cap (part of protruding block 12, see Fig. 2, Para. 0026) disposed at a rear of the housing; a cavity (groove 14 and 15, see Figs. 2 and 5) having first and second channels connected to the space; a sealing material (waterproof glue 7, see Fig. 4, Para. 0033) disposed in the cavity
Kwon teaches a cable assembly (10, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047) that includes a housing (14, see Fig. 9, Para. 0047); a cable portion (11, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047); a first cable (e.g. coaxial cable 111, see Fig. 9, Para. 0029) and a second cable (e.g. signal cables 113, see Fig. 9, Para. 0030).
Therefore, in view of the combined teachings of Chen and Kwon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rappold so that the cavity of the cap is connected to the housing space, as taught by Chen, while incorporating the first and second cable arrangement as taught by Kwon in order to provide a connector structure that facilitates assembly and maintenance, including a more easily replaceable cable connection system, since it has been held by the courts making an integral structure separable (e.g. in a plurality of pieces), if so is desired, would require only ordinary skill. In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claim 2. Rappold further discloses comprising: a first module (part of the a connecting component 29, see Figs. 1 and 3, Para. 0033) comprising a first end disposed in the space and connected to the first cable (e.g. one of the four connection contact 30, see Fig. 3, Para. 0034) and a second module (one of the connecting component 29) comprising a first end disposed in the space and connected to the second cable (e.g. one of the four connection contact 30, see Fig. 3, Para. 0034).
However, Rappold is silent with respect to the second end of the first module extending out of the housing from a bottom of the housing and configured to mount to a circuit board; and a second end of the second module extending out of the housing from the bottom of the housing and configured to mount to a circuit board.
Chen teaches an all-in-one electrical receptacle connector that includes a first module (e.g. audio connector component 2, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0030) includes a first end (21) disposed in a space and connected to a first cable (communication with the audio insertion groove 14, see Fig. 21, Para. 0027), and a second end (23, see Fig. 2, Para. 0030 and 0037) extending out of a housing from a bottom of the housing and configured to mount to a circuit board (5, see Fig. 3); and a second module (3’/3”, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0030) comprising a first end disposed in the space and connected to a second cable (cable in the connector insertion groove 15, see Figs. 2 and 8), and a second end (33) extending out of the housing from the bottom of the housing and configured to mount to a circuit board (5) for conduction (see Para. 0030).
Kwon teaches a cable assembly (10, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047) that includes a housing (14, see Fig. 9, Para. 0047); a cable portion (11, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047); a first module (e.g. first MMCX connector 112) and a second module (e.g. the spring terminal 17) with first end connected to cable portion (11) and a second end (see Fig. 2) to be connected to a PCB (21, see Fig. 7, Para. 0047).
Therefore, in view of the combined teachings of Chen and Kwon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rappold’s connecting component to include second ends extending from the bottom of the housing and configured to be mount to a circuit board, as suggested by Chen and Kwon, in order to provide an effective connection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide an improved connector by facilitating reliable mounting and electrical connection to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 3. Rappold further discloses the first module is a power module configured to supply power (e.g. electrical connection, see Para. 0017 and 0033); and the second module is a signal module (e.g. signal connection, see Para. 0017) configured to transmit Ethernet signals.
Regarding claim 4. Rappold further discloses the cap (retaining jacket 23, see Figs. 1, 2, and 4, Para. 0033, 0034,0035) comprises a bottom having grooves (e.g. recesses 20 and 22) and protrusions protruding into the cavity and engaging the sealing material (24, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5. Rappold further discloses a cover (12, see Fig. 1, Para. 0033) disposed at the top of the housing (11) and substantially coveting the opening at the top of the housing, wherein the sealing material (24) comprises a first portion (first mating retainer 17, see Figs. 1 and 2) disposed around the cover so as to fill a groove between the cover and the housing.
Regarding claim 6. Rappold further discloses the cover (12) is separated from the cap (23) by a first portion of the space of the housing; the sealing material (24) comprises a second portion disposed in the first portion of the space of the housing; and portions of the first and second cables (30) extending in the first portion of the space pass through and are held by the second portion of the sealing material (24, see Para. 0036).
Regarding claim 7. Rappold further discloses the housing (11, see Fig. 2) comprises a rib (protrusions 27, 28, Para. 0035); the first portion (second mating retainer 18, see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0034) of the space of the housing is between the rear of the housing and the rib; the space of the housing comprises a second portion between the rib and a front of the housing; the electrical connector comprises one or more modules (29) disposed in the second portion of the space; and each of the one or more modules is a terminal subassembly.
Regarding claims 8 and 10. Rappold further discloses the housing (11) comprises a chamber (second mating retainer 18 portion, see Figs. 1 and 2) through which the ends of the plurality of wires (30, see Figs. 2 and 3) extend to the first module; and the sealing material (24) comprises a third portion (near the first recess 19 or a first gap and a second recess 20 or a second gap at each connection contact 30, see Figs. 1 and 2) disposed in the chamber of the housing such that the ends of the connection contacts (30) are fixedly disposed in the third portion.
However, Rappold is silent with respect to the first cable comprises a sheath and a plurality of wires in the sheath, each of the plurality of wires comprising an end extending out of the sheath; the first module is connected to the first cable at the end extending out of the sheath; comprising: a hoop disposed adjacent the chamber of the housing and attached to the sheath of the first cable..
Kwon further teaches the cable assembly (10, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047) includes first cable (e.g. 113) comprises a sheath and a plurality of wires (see Fig. 9, Para. 0041) in the sheath (1131, 1132, see Fig. 9, Para. 0041), each of the plurality of wires comprising an end extending out of the sheath; the first module is connected to the first cable at the end extending out of the sheath. Kwon further teaches a hoop (see Fig. 9) disposed adjacent the chamber of the housing and attached to the sheath of the first cable.
Therefore, in view of Kwon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rappold’s first cable to include two or more wires, a sheath for first cable and a hoop, in order to protect the wires, as suggested by Kwon, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for enhancing the performance and durability of the connector as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 9. The teachings of Rappold have been discussed above.
However, Rappold is silent with respect to the sealing material comprises cured adhesive.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rappold’s sealing material to comprise a cured adhesive in order to provide reliable seal between the housing and the cable jacket, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, the use of a curable adhesive that is applied in uncured state to fill gaps and subsequently cured to form seal was a well-known sealing technique and it would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 18. Rappold a method of manufacturing an electrical connector (10), comprising: a rear cap (second mating retainer 18, see Figs. 1, 2, and 4, Para. 0033, 0034,0035) of a housing, and first and second cables (31, see Fig. 3) extending through the rear cap of the housing into the housing, the rear cap of the housing comprising a cavity (see Fig. 2); providing adhesive (24, see Fig. 2, Para. 0036) into the cavity of the rear cap and around portions of the first and second cables extending through the cavity of the rear cap of the housing so as to form a seal between the housing and the first and second cables; and affixing the rear cap to the housing.
However, Rappold is silent with respect the method includes providing a subassembly comprising a first module and a second module, and positioning the first module and the second module in the housing.
Chen teaches an all-in-one electrical receptacle connector that includes a first module (e.g. audio connector component 2, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0030) and a second module (3’/3”, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0030).
Kwon teaches a cable assembly (10, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047) that includes a housing (14, see Fig. 9, Para. 0047); a cable portion (11, see Fig. 1, Para. 0047); a first module (e.g. first MMCX connector 112) and a second module (e.g. the spring terminal 17) with first end connected to cable portion (11) and a second end (see Fig. 2) to be connected to a PCB (21, see Fig. 7, Para. 0047).
Therefore, in view of the combined teachings of Chen and Kwon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rappold’s connecting component to include second ends extending from the bottom of the housing and configured to be mount to a circuit board, as suggested by Chen and Kwon, in order to provide an effective connection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide an improved connector by facilitating reliable mounting and electrical connection to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 19. Rappold further discloses providing adhesive (sealant 24) into a chamber (second mating retainer 18 portion, see Figs. 1 and 2) inside the housing (11) and around portions of wires (30, see Fig. 2) of the first cable so as to form a seal between the housing and the first cable.
Regarding claim 20. Rappold further discloses disposing a cover (12, see Fig. 1, Para. 0033) at a top of the housing (11); and providing adhesive (e.g. sealant 24 at the first mating retainer portion 17, see Figs. 1 and 2) around the cover and in gaps between the cover and the housing so as to form a seal between the housing and the cover.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huang et al. (US 2023/0216232 hereinafter refer as “Huang”) discloses connector housing comprises an inner housing including a rear housing, and a first sub housing and a second sub housing each formed integrally with the rear housing; Zhao et al. (US 2021/0336393) teaches an electrical plug (100, see Fig. 1, Para. 0034) including a cable (150, see Figs. 2, 3, and 8, Para. 0034); wherein cable (150) includes a first cable (e.g., data section 160, see Figs. 2 and 3) comprises two or more wires (166a, 166b, 166c, see Fig. 3, Para. 0039); a hoop (126/920, see Fig. 8, Para. 0034) disposed around a sheath (164, see Fig. 3, Para. 0039) of the first cable; and a third sealing member disposed between a first module (130, see Fig. 9) and the hoop (see Para. 0064); and Genta et al. (US 2021/0351543) discloses a housing part for an electrical connector includes a cable channel receiving a cable, a flange surface adapted to abut a complementary housing part, and a sealing gasket extending along the flange surface.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875