DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 7/2/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/2/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. US 20260149991 hereafter Jeong.
As to Claim 1. Jeong discloses a method of operating an electronic device [i.e. User Equipment-UE/UE-1], the method comprising [Abstract: The disclosure relates to a 5G/6G communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate performed by user equipment (UE) comprise performing the RVQoE measurement in an inactive or idle mode and establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a second base station]:
conveying, using wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410] in a connected mode, wireless data with a first wireless base station [Figs. 2, 14 (Depicts UE Configuration), Sections 0042, 0044, 0206: The gNB (base station) connected to the UE through a radio channel and a UE transmit/receive data while maintaining connections to the gNB. A connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) is a radio access state in which a UE transmit or receive data. The RF processor-1410 perform a function for transmitting or receiving signals through a radio channel via antenna or multiple antennas],
receiving, using the wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410, Fig. 14, Section 0206] in the connected mode [i.e. RRC connected or connected mode], a measurement object [i.e. QoE/RvQoE or Area includes IEs] from the first wireless base station [i.e. gNB-1/serving cell/first base station or gNB-210], the measurement object being associated with a second wireless base station [i.e. gNB-2/eNB-230/second base station/cell] different from the first wireless base station [Figs. 7-8, Sections 0011, 0113, 0131, 0138: A UE receive, from a first base station, configuration information for quality of experience (RVQoE) measurement. The gNB-1 transmit, to UE configuration information for QoE measurement, in this case, the UE in the connected mode and configuration information include transferring, by gNB-2 RVQoE. The gNB-1 transmit to the UE configuration information for QoE measurement and the UE in the connected mode; the configuration include information on an area (i.e. gNB-2) in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement. In relation to the area in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement, a list of parameters of the IE included; for example, a CGI-Info list corresponding to base station gNB-2];
and measuring, using the wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410, Fig. 14, Section 0206] in an idle mode [i.e. RRC idle/inactive mode or idle, Section 0130: The UE in the idle mode perform QoE measurement for each base station or cell], a radio-frequency signal based on the measurement object [i.e. QoE/RvQoE or Area includes IEs], the radio-frequency signal being transmitted by the second wireless base station [Figs. 2 & 8-9, Sections 0093, 0124-0125, 0165: The UE receive SIBx that include a mapping relationship between the frequency and MBS; SIBx field contains a list of neighboring frequencies including additional bands. Area Configuration field descriptions Inter-Freq Target Info and indicates the neighbouring frequency and cells for which UE is requested to perform measurement. In operation, the UE transition to the inactive/idle mode and perform QoE measurement. The base station (gNB-2) may configure, for UE, RVQoE configuration information that gNB2 wants based on RVQoE Configuration-1].
As to Claim 2. Jeong discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing, using the wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410, Fig. 14, Section 0206], cell reselection from the first wireless base station to the second wireless base station based on the measurement of the radio-frequency signal [Figs. 8, 10, Sections 0012, 0044-0045, 0140: UE receive from a first base station, configuration information, performing the measurement in an idle mode, establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a second base station, and transmitting, to the second base station information. The inactive mode state may have the characteristic below: Cell re-selection mobility. As the UE moves, a base station or cell providing the service may be changed. Note: Cell resection is known term for mobility/handover or connecting to another BS/cell].
As to Claim 3. Jeong discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the measurement comprises a Layer 1 (L1) measurement [Sections 0058-0059, 0091: Submit stored application layer measurement report containers to lower layers (i.e. layer 1) for the application layer measurements configuration is associated. As described above, in a case of an operation related to QoE measurement configuration included in the UE application layer of the UE. Broadcast configuration information configured in the physical layer in accordance].
As to Claim 4. Jeong discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: conveying, using the wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410, Fig. 14, Section 0206] in the connected mode, additional wireless data with the second base station after the cell reselection from the first wireless base station to the second wireless base station [Figs. 2, 8, Sections 0126, 0140: In operation, the UE establish an RRC connection with a new base station (e.g., gNB2) and in a connected mode the UE report measured result (i.e. additional data) and transfer information (i.e. more additional data) indicating all of the corresponding information to the base station (gNB2). As the UE moves, a base station or cell providing the service may be change. Note: Cell resection is known term for mobility/handover or connecting to another BS/cell].
As to Claim 5. Jeong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first wireless base station has a first cell and the second wireless base station has a second cell neighboring the first cell [Fig. 2, Sections 0042, 0141: The gNB/base stations each correspond to cells. The UE may distinguish each base station or cell as gNB-1, gNB-2 or gNB-3].
As to Claim 6. Jeong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement object identifies a frequency of the radio-frequency signal [Sections 0093, 0124: The UE receive SIBx that include a mapping relationship between the frequency and MBS; SIBx field contains a list of neighboring frequencies including additional bands. Area Configuration field descriptions Inter-Freq Target Info and indicates the neighbouring frequency and cells for which UE is requested to perform measurement].
As to Claim 7. Jeong discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the measurement object identifies a radio access technology (RAT) [i.e. Base Station or LTE, 5G, etc.] of the radio-frequency signal [Sections 0041-0042, 0138, 0208: A radio access network (i.e. RAT) include and refers to a base station/gNB. The wireless communication system have bandwidth (i.e. frequency) and employ radio access technology (i.e. RAT). In relation to the area in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement, a list of parameters of the IE included corresponding to base station gNB-2 (i.e. RAT). The processor of UE support different radio access technologies include a wireless RAN (e.g., IEEE 802.11), a cellular network (e.g., LTE), etc., in addition with the different frequency bands].
As to Claim 8. Jeong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement object identifies a radio access technology (RAT) [i.e. Base Station or LTE, 5G, etc.] of the radio-frequency signal [Sections 0041-0042, 0138, 0208: A radio access network (i.e. RAT) include and refers to a base station/gNB. The wireless communication system have bandwidth (i.e. frequency) and employ radio access technology (i.e. RAT). In relation to the area in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement, a list of parameters of the IE included corresponding to base station gNB-2 (i.e. RAT). The processor of UE support different radio access technologies include a wireless RAN (e.g., IEEE 802.11), a cellular network (e.g., LTE), etc., in addition with the different frequency bands].
As to Claim 9. Jeong discloses the method of claim 8, wherein conveying the wireless data comprises conveying the wireless data using an additional RAT that is different from the RAT [Figs. 2, 8, Sections 0126, 0208-0209: In operation, the UE establish an RRC connection with a new base station (e.g., gNB2) in a connected mode and the UE report and UE transfer information to the base station (gNB2). The processor of UE support different radio access technologies include a wireless RAN (e.g., IEEE 802.11), a cellular network (e.g., LTE), etc., in addition with the different frequency bands. The operation of the UE and data of configuration information related to a second access node performing radio communication by using a second radio access technology (RAT)].
As to Claim 10. Jeong discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, using the wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410, Fig. 14, Section 0206] in the connected mode, a set of measurement objects from the first wireless base station, each measurement object in the set of measurement objects being associated with a different respective wireless base station other than the first wireless base station [Figs. 2 & 8-9, Sections 0011, 0093, 0124, 0138: A UE receive, from a first base station, configuration information for quality of experience (RVQoE) measurement. The UE receive SIBx (i.e. from first bae station) that include a mapping relationship between the frequency and MBS; SIBx field contains a list of neighboring frequencies including additional bands. Area Configuration field descriptions Inter-Freq Target Info and indicates the neighbouring frequency and cells for which UE is requested to perform measurement. In relation to the area in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement, a list of parameters of the IE included corresponding to base station gNB-2].
As to Claim 11. Jeong discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: measuring, using the wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410, Fig. 14, Section 0206] in the idle mode [i.e. RRC idle/inactive mode or idle, Section 0130: The UE in the idle mode perform QoE measurement for each base station or cell], radio-frequency signals based on each measurement object in the set of measurement objects [Figs. 2 & 8-9, Sections 0093, 0124, 0125: The UE receive SIBx (i.e. from first bae station) that include a mapping relationship between the frequency and MBS; SIBx field contains a list of neighboring frequencies including additional bands. Area Configuration field descriptions Inter-Freq Target Info and indicates the neighbouring frequency and cells for which UE is requested to perform measurement. In operation, the UE transition to the inactive/idle mode and perform QoE measurement].
As to Claim 12. Jeong discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, using the wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410, Fig. 14, Section 0206], a broadcast signal [i.e. SIB] from the first wireless base station; decoding [i.e. Processor-1420, Section 0207: The baseband processor-1420 perform decoding of signals/information received or data reception from the RF-1410], using the wireless circuitry, a system information block (SIB) of the first wireless base station from the broadcast signal and entering the connected mode with the first wireless base station [Fig. 3 (Depicts Transition of Radio Access State), Sections 0077, 0092, 0139: In operation, a UE camp on a base station or a cell providing SIBx and receive the SIBx and in a connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) UE also receive the SIBx from the base station which include information required for the UE to acquire multicast/broadcast service (MBS). The UE configure an RRC connection and transition to the connected mode. The UE transition to the connected mode and may receive the MBS service],
transitioning, using the wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410, Fig. 14, Section 0206], from the connected mode to the idle mode in response to a connection release by the first wireless base station [Section 0051: The transition to the connected mode or the idle mode by using a specific procedure according to a resume process, the INACTIVE/idle mode may be switched to the connected mode, and the connected mode may be switched to the INACTIVE/idle mode by using a release procedure include transmitting or receiving one or more RRC messages to or from the UE and the base station, that is, through the establishment or release procedure, the switching between the modes may be performed according to LTE technology];
and transitioning, using the wireless circuitry [i.e. RF processor-1410], from the idle mode to the connected mode while connecting to the second wireless base station [Figs. 2, 3 (Depicts Transition of Radio Access State), Sections 0012, 0126, 0140: UE performing the measurement in an idle mode, establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a second base station. The UE establish an RRC connection with a new base station (e.g., gNB2) to report to the base station (gNB2). The UE perform operation while moving; as the UE moves, a base station or cell providing the service may be changed, for example, the UE may first receive the service from the base station (gNB1), then become far away from the base station (gNB1), receive the service while camping on base station (gNB2) while in idle mode or being RRC-connected].
As to Claim 13. Jeong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode and the idle mode comprises an RRC idle mode [Fig. 3, Section 0044: A wireless communication system may have three radio access states (radio resource control (RRC) states); a connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED), an idle mode (RRC_IDLE) and inactive (RRC_INACTIVE); the connected mode and the idle mode are radio access states which are also applied to the legacy LTE system related to bae station and UE].
As to Claim 14. Jeong discloses an electronic device [i.e. User Equipment-UE/UE-1], comprising [Abstract: The disclosure relates to a 5G/6G communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate performed by user equipment (UE) comprise performing the RVQoE measurement in an inactive or idle mode and establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a second base station]:
one or more antennas [i.e. RF processor-1410]; one or more radios coupled to the one or more antennas, the one or more radios being configured to use the one or more antennas to [Fig. 14, Sections 0205-0206: The UE include a radio frequency processor-1410. The RF processor-1410 perform a function for transmitting or receiving signals through a radio channel via antenna or multiple antennas],
receive, in a connected mode, wireless data transmitted by a wireless base station in a first cell [Figs. 2, 14, Sections 0042, 0044: The gNB (base station) connected to the UE through a radio channel and a UE transmit/receive data while maintaining connections to the gNB. A connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) is a radio access state in which a UE transmit or receive data],
receive, in the connected mode [i.e. RRC connected or connected mode], information transmitted by the wireless base station that identifies a frequency of a second cell [i.e. gNB-2/eNB-230/second base station/cell] neighboring the first cell [Figs. 7-8, Sections 0113, 0124, 0131: The gNB-1 transmit, to UE configuration information for quality of experience, QoE measurement, in this case, the UE in the connected mode. Area Configuration field descriptions Inter-Freq Target Info and indicates the neighbouring frequency and cells for which UE is requested to perform measurement. The gNB-1 transmit to the UE configuration information for QoE measurement and the UE in the connected mode; the configuration include information on an area (i.e. gNB-2) in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement];
and measure, in an idle mode [i.e. RRC idle/inactive mode or idle, Section 0130: The UE in the idle mode perform QoE measurement for each base station or cell], a radio-frequency signal at the frequency; and one or more processors [Multi-Connection Processor-1442, Fig. 14] configured to perform cell reselection based on the measurement of the radio-frequency signal [Figs. 2 & 8-9, Sections 0093, 0124-0125, 0165: The UE receive SIBx that include a mapping relationship between the frequency and MBS; SIBx field contains a list of neighboring frequencies including additional bands. Area Configuration field descriptions Inter-Freq Target Info and indicates the neighbouring frequency and cells for which UE is requested to perform measurement. In operation, the UE transition to the inactive/idle mode and perform QoE measurement. The base station (gNB-2) may configure, for UE, RVQoE configuration information that gNB2 wants based on RVQoE Configuration-1].
As to Claim 15. Jeong discloses the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the information transmitted by the wireless base station further identifies a radio access technology (RAT) of the second cell [Sections 0041-0042, 0138, 0208: A radio access network (i.e. RAT) include and refers to a base station/gNB. The wireless communication system employ radio access technology (i.e. RAT). In relation to the area in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement, a list of parameters of the IE included corresponding to base station gNB-2 (i.e. RAT). The processor of UE support different radio access technologies include a wireless RAN (e.g., IEEE 802.11), a cellular network (e.g., LTE), etc., in addition with the different frequency bands].
As to Claim 16. Jeong discloses the electronic device of claim 15, the one or more radios [i.e. RF processor-1410] being configured to measure the radio-frequency signal using the RAT and being configured to receive the wireless data using an additional RAT different from the RAT [Figs. 2, 8, 14, Sections 0126, 0208-0209: In operation, the UE establish an RRC connection with a new base station (e.g., gNB2) in a connected mode and the UE report and UE transfer information to the base station (gNB2). The processor of UE support different radio access technologies include a wireless RAN (e.g., IEEE 802.11), a cellular network (e.g., LTE), etc., in addition with the different frequency bands. The operation of the UE and data of configuration information related to a second access node performing radio communication by using a second radio access technology (RAT)].
As to Claim 17. The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode and the idle mode comprises an RRC idle mode [See Claim 13 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 18. Jeong discloses a method of operating a wireless base station [i.e. gNB-1/serving cell/first base station or gNB-210] in a first cell, the method comprising [Fig. 2, Sections 0042, 0141: The gNB/base stations each correspond to cells. The UE may distinguish each base station or cell as gNB-1, gNB-2 or gNB-3]:
transmitting, using one or more antennas [i.e. RF Processor-1510, Fig. 15, Section 0213: The RF processor 1510 may perform a function for transmitting and receiving a signal through a radio channel, include a plurality of antennas], wireless data to a user equipment (UE) device in the first cell while the UE device is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode [Figs. 2, 14 (Depicts UE Configuration), Sections 0042, 0044: The gNB (base station) connected to the UE through a radio channel and a UE transmit/receive data while maintaining connections to the gNB. A connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) is a radio access state in which a UE transmit or receive data],
transmitting, using the one or more antennas [i.e. RF Processor-1510, Fig. 15, Section 0213], a measurement object [i.e. QoE/RvQoE or Area includes IEs] to the UE device while the UE device is in the RRC connected mode [i.e. RRC connected or connected mode], wherein the measurement object is associated with a second cell [i.e. gNB-2/eNB-230/second base station/cell] different from the first cell [Figs. 7-8, Sections 0011, 0113, 0131, 0138: A UE receive, from a first base station, configuration information for quality of experience (RVQoE) measurement. The gNB-1 transmit, to UE configuration information for QoE measurement, in this case, the UE in the connected mode and configuration information include transferring, by gNB-2 RVQoE. The gNB-1 transmit to the UE configuration information for QoE measurement and the UE in the connected mode; the configuration include information on an area (i.e. gNB-2) in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement. In relation to the area in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement, a list of parameters of the IE included; for example, a CGI-Info list corresponding to base station gNB-2];
and transitioning, using the one or more antennas [i.e. RF Processor-1510, Fig. 15, Section 0213], the UE device from the RRC connected mode to an RRC idle mode [i.e. RRC idle/inactive mode or idle, Section 0130: The UE in the idle mode perform QoE measurement for each base station or cell], the UE device being configured to perform idle mode measurements on the second cell based on the measurement object transmitted by the wireless base station [Figs. 2 & 8-9, Sections 0093, 0124-0125, 0165: The UE receive SIBx that include a mapping relationship between the frequency and MBS; SIBx field contains a list of neighboring frequencies including additional bands. Area Configuration field descriptions Inter-Freq Target Info and indicates the neighbouring frequency and cells for which UE is requested to perform measurement. In operation, the UE transition to the inactive/idle mode and perform QoE measurement. The base station (gNB-2) may configure, for UE, RVQoE configuration information that gNB2 wants based on RVQoE Configuration-1].
As to Claim 19. Jeong discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the measurement object identifies a RAT in use by the second cell, the UE device being configured to perform the idle mode measurements using the RAT identified by the measurement object [Figs. 2 & 8-9, Sections 0041, 0125, 0138, 0165: A radio access network (i.e. RAT) include and refers to a base station/gNB. In operation, the UE transition to the inactive/idle mode and perform QoE measurement. In relation to the area in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement, a list of parameters of the IE included corresponding to base station gNB-2 (i.e. RAT). The base station (gNB-2) may configure, for UE, RVQoE configuration information that gNB2 wants based on RVQoE Configuration-1].
As to Claim 20. Jeong discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the measurement object identifies a frequency in use by the second cell, the UE device being configured to perform the idle mode measurements using the frequency identified by the measurement object [Figs. 2 & 8-9, Sections 0041, 0125, 0138, 0165: A radio access network (i.e. RAT) include and refers to a base station/gNB. In operation, the UE transition to the inactive/idle mode and perform QoE measurement. In relation to the area in which the UE performs RVQoE measurement, a list of parameters of the IE included corresponding to base station gNB-2 (i.e. RAT). The base station (gNB-2) may configure, for UE, RVQoE configuration information that gNB2 wants based on RVQoE Configuration-1].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jin et al. US 20220141697 in particular the title “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR UPDATING LIST OF CELLS TO BE MEASURED IN RESELECTION OF CELL IN IDLE MODE”
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
August 13, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477