DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. Claims 1-6 are pending and examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 4,704,248 in view of Korton et al., US, 6,212,250.
3. Regarding claims 1-3, Lee discloses a nuclear fuel assembly (Fig. 5; column 1, lines 11-20) for a nuclear reactor core, comprising: at least one fuel element (20A) comprising: an elongated shell (28) defining an interior volume and having a first end (26) and a second end (24); a lattice structure disposed within the interior volume (22; see column 2, lines 62-66); at least one flow channel (30) extending through the lattice structure; at least one lattice site (32) disposed in the lattice structure; a first end (26) having a first boss (48)having a polygonal/hexagonal shape (column 3, lines 40-46); and a second end (24) having a first bore (42) having a polygonal/hexagonal shape (column 3, lines 34-38). Lee does not disclose end caps. Korton teaches a fuel element (column 1, lines 3-7; see Fig. 7) comprising an elongated shell (9) defining an interior volume and defining a first end (12) and a second end (6), a lattice structure disposed within the interior volume (“fuel matrix”); at least one flow channel (2) extending through the lattice structure; a first end cap (13) including a boss (16) having a first cross-sectional shape, the first end cap being affixed to the first end of the shell; and a second end cap (6)including a first bore having a second cross-sectional shape, the second end cap being affixed to the second end of the shell, wherein the first cross-sectional shape of the boss is the same as the second cross- sectional shape of the bore (column 3, lines 33-45). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing would have found it obvious to apply the end caps taught by Korton to the fuel element of Lee for the predictable purpose of “avoid[ing] losses of fission products at the extreme operating conditions experienced by the fuel element” (column 1, lines 31-35).
4. Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walton US 5,410,578 in view of Lee et al., US 4,704,248 and Korton et al., US, 6,212,250 as applied to claims 1-3.
5. Regarding claims 4-6, Walton discloses a nuclear thermal propulsion rocket engine (column 1,m lines 7-9; Fig. 1) comprising a nuclear reactor core (14), comprising a first fuel element and a second fuel element (50; see Fig. 3), each of the first and second fuel elements comprising a lattice structure (“compacted carbon”) and having at least one flow channel (52) extending through the lattice structure.
As explained above, Lee in view of Korton teaches the fuel element of claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing would have found it obvious to employ the fuel element of Lee as modified by Korton for the predictable advantages of preventing coolant leakage by providing an alignment mechanism between fuel elements (see Lee at column 1, line 44- through column 2, line 10) and “avoid[ing] losses of fission products at the extreme operating conditions experienced by the fuel element” (see Korton at column 1, lines 31-35).
Conclusion
/SHARON M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646