DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of group I claims (1-14) and Species B (figs.2,4-6,8-15 and 41-46), Species A (fig.26), species F (fig.118) , Species A (fig.66), Species B (figs.87-93) and adapter species (figs. 75-79 )in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 and 03/18/2026 is acknowledged. However, claim(s) 2, 7 and 12 recites feature “storage device”, which is directed towards non-elected spices i.e. figs.50-52,55,57,59-61,67-74. Accordingly, claim(s) 8-9, which depend from claim 7, and claim 13, which depends from claim 12, is/are additionally withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1,3-6,10-11 and 14 will be examined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forsberg (US10125919B2).
Regarding claim 1, Forsberg teaches an adapter system for a utility module comprising (see annotated fig.1 below for adapter system capable of being used for a unity module):
an adapter comprising (see annotated fig.1 below):
a front piece, the front piece comprising (see annotated fig.1 below for a front piece):
a body extending along a longitudinal axis of the adapter; and one or more recessed sections positioned along the body (see annotated fig.1 below for a body extending along a longitudinal axis of the adapter and one or more of the recessed sections positioned alone the body best seen in fig.2);
a rear clamp, the rear clamp rotatably coupled to the front piece (see annotated fig.1 below for the rear clamp that is rotatably coupled to the front pieces as those are hinges and turn);
an engagement end (see annotated fig.1 below for the engagement end);
a clamping end opposing the engagement end (see annotated fig.1 below for a clamping end opposing the engagement end);
a bore defined by the front piece and the rear clamp, the bore positioned at the clamping end (see annotated fig.1 below for a bore defined by the front piece and the read clamp and the bore positioned at the clamping end);
wherein the bore is configured to engage a corner post of the utility module (see annotated fig.1 below where the bore is capable of engaging a corner post of the utility module; it is noted that utility module and the corner post are not positively claimed and the prior art simply has to be capable of performing that action).
Annotated fig.1of Forsberg
Regarding claim 3, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Forsberg further teaches wherein the one or more recessed sections extend inward, away from an outer edge of the body (see annotated fig.1 above where the one or more recessed section extend inward from the outer edge of the body).
Regarding claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Forsberg further teaches wherein the body has a first width and the one or more recessed sections have a second width, and wherein the second width is less than the first width (see annotated fig.1 above body a first width i.e. length and the recessed sections have the second width and the second width is less than the first).
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Forsberg further teaches the adapter further comprising a tab positioned at the engagement end of the body (see annotated fig.1 below for the adapter with a tab positioned at the engagement end of the body).
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 5 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Forsberg further teaches wherein the tab is positioned at a distal end of the one or more recessed sections (see annotated fig.1 above for the tab being positioned at a distal end of the recessed sections).
Claim(s) 1,3-6,10-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christopher (US20240286798A1).
Regarding claim 1, Christopher teaches an adapter system for a utility module comprising (see annotated fig.3A below for adapter system capable of being used for a unity module):
an adapter comprising (see annotated fig.3A below):
a front piece, the front piece comprising (see annotated fig.3A below for a front piece):
a body extending along a longitudinal axis of the adapter; and one or more recessed sections positioned along the body (see annotated fig.3A below for a body extending along a longitudinal axis of the adapter and one or more of the recessed sections positioned along the body);
a rear clamp, the rear clamp rotatably coupled to the front piece (see annotated fig.3A below for the clamp that is rotatably coupled to the front pieces as those are hinges and turn);
an engagement end (see annotated fig.3A below for the engagement end);
a clamping end opposing the engagement end (see annotated fig.3A below for a clamping end opposing the engagement end);
a bore defined by the front piece and the rear clamp, the bore positioned at the clamping end (see annotated fig.3A below for a bore defined by the front piece and the read clamp and the bore positioned at the clamping end);
wherein the bore is configured to engage a corner post of the utility module (see annotated fig.3A below where the bore is capable of engaging a corner post of the utility module; it is noted that utility module and the corner post are not positively claimed and the prior art simply has to be capable of performing that action).
Annotated fig.3A of Christopher
Regarding claim 3, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Christopher further teaches wherein the one or more recessed sections extend inward, away from an outer edge of the body (see annotated fig.3B above where the one or more recessed section extend inward from the outer edge of the body).
Regarding claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Christopher further teaches wherein the body has a first width and the one or more recessed sections have a second width, and wherein the second width is less than the first width (see annotated fig.3B above body a first width and the recessed sections have the second width and the second width is less than the first).
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Christopher further teaches the adapter further comprising a tab positioned at the engagement end of the body (see annotated fig.3B above for the adapter with a tab positioned at the engagement end of the body).
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 5 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Christopher further teaches wherein the tab is positioned at a distal end of the one or more recessed sections (see annotated fig.3B above for the tab being positioned at a distal end of the recessed sections; it is noted that distal end of what is not defined yet).
Regarding claim 10, Christopher teaches a utility module system comprising (see annotated fig.6B below for utility module system):
a utility module comprising (see annotated fig.6B below for a utility module):
a plurality of corners, the plurality of corners including upper and lower corners (see annotated fig.6B below for plurality of corners including upper and lower corners);
a side extending between and connecting the plurality of corners (see annotated fig.6B below for side extending between and connecting the corners); and
a plurality of corner posts extending between and connecting the upper corners and the lower corners (see annotated fig.6B below for plurality of corner posts, each side as one is labeled, extending and connecting the upper and lower corners); and
a pair of adapters, each adapter coupled to one of the plurality of corner posts, each adapter comprising (see annotated fig.6B below for a adapter that is on each corner post and coupled thereto):
a first piece, the first piece comprising (see annotated fig.3A above for the first piece):
a longitudinally extending body extending along the side of the utility module (see annotated fig.3B above for the longitudinally extending body along the side of the module when assembled); and
a recessed section extending along the longitudinally extending body (see annotated fig.3B above for recessed section extending along the body);
a clamp, the clamp rotatably coupled to the first piece (see annotated fig.3B above for a clamp that is rotatably coupled to the first piece); an engagement end; and a clamping end opposing the engagement end (see annotated fig.3B above for the engagement end and a clamping end opposite of that).
Annotated fig.6B Christopher
Regarding claim 11, the references as applied to claim 10 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Christopher further teaches wherein a space is defined between the engagement ends of the pair of adapters (see annotated fig.3B above for a space is defined between the engagement ends of the adapters).
Regarding claim 14, the references as applied to claim 10 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Christopher further teaches wherein the plurality of corners define the outermost edges of the utility module (see annotated fig.6B above for the corners define the outermost edges of module).
Conclusion
See PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PRINCE PAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3735