DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/29/2026 (hereafter “the amendment”) has been accepted and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3-4,6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the engagement end of the body" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because applicant has not claimed any “engagement end” before this line. For purpose for examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “ a engagement end of the body” and “an engagement end” in line 10 will be interpreted as “ the engagement end”. Claims 3-4,6,21, which depend from claim 1, are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-4,6 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Van Der Linde (US 20130048631 A1)
Regarding claim 1, as best understood based on 112 issues identified above, Van Der Linde teaches an adapter system for a utility module comprising (see annotated fig.13 below for adapter system capable of being used for a unity module):
an adapter comprising (see annotated fig.13 below):
a front piece, the front piece comprising (see annotated fig.13 below for a front piece):
a body extending along a longitudinal axis of the adapter; and one or more recessed sections positioned along the body the one or more recessed sections extending along the longitudinal axis (see annotated fig.13 below for a body extending along a longitudinal axis of the adapter and one or more of the recessed sections positioned along the body and recessed sections extending along the longitudinal axis);
a tab positioned at a engagement end of the body, the tab extending in a transverse direction from the longitudinal axis and defining an end of the one or more recessed sections (see annotated fig.13 below for the a tab positioned at a engagement end of the body and the tab extending in transverse direction from the longitudinal axis and defining an end of the recess section);
a rear clamp, the rear clamp rotatably coupled to the front piece (see annotated fig.13 below for the rear clamp that is rotatably coupled to the front pieces as those are hinges and turn);
the engagement end (see annotated fig.13 below for the engagement end);
a clamping end opposing the engagement end (see annotated fig.13 below for a clamping end opposing the engagement end);
a bore defined by the front piece and the rear clamp, the bore positioned at the clamping end (see annotated fig.13 below for a bore defined by the front piece and the read clamp and the bore positioned at the clamping end);
wherein the bore is configured to engage a corner post of the utility module (see annotated fig.13 below where the bore is capable of engaging a corner post of the utility module; it is noted that utility module and the corner post are not positively claimed and the prior art simply has to be capable of performing that action).
Annotated fig.13 of Van Der Linde
Regarding claim 3, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Van Der Linde further teaches wherein the one or more recessed sections extend inward, away from an outer edge of the body (see annotated fig.13 above where the one or more recessed section extend inward from the outer edge of the body as the tab is considered part of the body).
Regarding claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Van Der Linde further teaches wherein the body has a first width transverse to the longitudinal axis and the one or more recessed sections have a second width transverse to the longitudinal axis, and wherein the second width is less than the first width (see annotated fig.13 above body a first width i.e. length and the recessed sections have the second width and the second width is less than the first).
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 5 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Van Der Linde further teaches wherein the end is a distal end of the one or more recessed sections opposite of the clamping end(see annotated fig.13 above for the end is distal end the recessed sections opposite of the clamping end ).
Regarding claim 21, the references as applied to claim 4 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Van Der Linde further teaches wherein the tab has a third width transverse to the longitudinal axis and the second width is less than the third width (see annotated fig.13 above for the width of the tab being a third width which is less than the second width since the tabs have ends that curves inward extending its width).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11,14 and 22-23 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. No reference from the previous rejection is used.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRINCE PAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735