Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I directed to a patient specific cardiovascular stent in the reply filed on 8/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “patient-specific cardiovascular stent” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The claims require the stent to be for coronary artery spasm treatment but no stent structure is shown to determine if the structure is specific to that application. The structure for this specific treatment is necessary to properly examine the invention. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regard to claims 3-5, “wt%” should be “weight %” or “weight percent” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moaddeb (2007/0142907A1) in view of Huang (CN102379762A).
In regard to claim 1, Moaddeb teaches a patient-specific stimuli-responsive cardiovascular stent 114 (see fig 1B) for coronary artery spasm treatment [0130: in a body duct; therefore capable of; leaflets are not present in fib 1A-B and therefore the stent is capable of being used in other locations; the stent will hold the artery open and therefore be capable of providing coronary artery spasm treatment] to eliminate post-surgical interventions (intended use, capable of by allowing adjustments [0011: capability for adjustment using non surgical methodology]) comprising magnetic particles configured to enable magnetically induced shape memory effects. [0015: at least one adjustable element comprises a shape memory material; 0069: adjusted in vivo by applying an energy source to activate the shape memory material and cause it to change to a memorized shape; magnetic field energy; 0076-0077; 0088; 0091: hematite; 0076: powder]
While Moaddeb teaches the magnetic portion can be a powder [0076], Moaddeb does not teach the magnetic portion is in the form of a nanoparticle specifically.
Huang teaches the use of magnetic nanoparticles used in a stent (abstract: magnetic nanoparticles) to induce a shape memory effect in a stent (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use make the magnetic material of Moaddeb nanoparticles as taught by Huang because this form avoids thermal damages to the wall of a blood vessel when the material is heated/activated (abstract).
In regard to claim 2, Moaddeb meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and further teaches the magnetic material comprises Hematite (a-Fe2O3). [0091: comprising various mixtures of iron oxides such as hematite of magnetite and the oxides of other metals]
However, Moaddeb does not teach the magnetic particles are nano particles.
As discussed above, Huang teaches the magnetic particles are nanoparticles (abstract).
In regard to claims 3-5, Moaddeb meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 2, but remains silent to the concentration of Hematite.
It has been held that the mere optimization of the working parts of an invention, yielding a predictable result, requires no more than routine skill in the art. The amount of Hematite is a result-effective variable with the concentration of Hematite affecting the shape-memory and magnetic effects of the stent. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the concentration of Hematite is at least 20 wt% (also includes at least 10% and at least 15%) in the mixture of Hematite and oxide of other metals in order to optimize the magnetic and shape memory affects to the desired application. Absent a teaching of criticality (new or unexpected results), this arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed. MPEP 2144.05IIA
In regard to claim 6, Moaddeb meets the claim limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and further teaches the stent 100 is configured to have a desired magnetically induced shape memory position [0076; 0069; 0015] for a coronary artery spasm treatment. [0130: in a body duct; therefore capable of; leaflets are not present in fib 1A-B and therefore the stent is capable of being used in other locations; the stent will hold the artery open and therefore be capable of providing coronary artery spasm treatment]
Conclusion
/CHRISTIE BAHENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774