CTNF 18/762,020 CTNF 73131 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishikawa (US 6997662) . Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa discloses a fastener 10 for connecting a first component 5 to a second component 4, comprising: a main body 11 being annular; at least two clamping arms 10A-F being formed by extending from the main body and configured to clamp the first component 5; and at least two abutting arms 11b being formed by extending from the main body and configured to abut against the second component. Regarding claim 2, Nishikawa discloses wherein the at least two clamping arms 10A are configured to clamp the first component 5 in a first direction, and the at least two abutting arms 11b are configured to abut against the second component 4 in a second direction; and wherein the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the second direction. Regarding claim 4, Nishikawa discloses wherein each of the at least two abutting arms 11b comprises a bent portion 11c, and a bottom surface of the bent portion is lower than a bottom surface of the main body 11. Regarding claim 6, Nishikawa discloses wherein the at least two clamping arms 10A are arranged at a distance from the at least two abutting arms 11b. Regarding claim 7, Nishikawa discloses wherein each of the at least two clamping arms 10A has a connecting end and a free end 10a, the connecting end being connected to the main body, and at least part of the free ends being configured to clamp the first component 5. Regarding claim 8, Nishikawa discloses wherein the at least part of the free ends 10a of the at least two clamping arms for clamping the first component 5 are arranged in a spiral configuration. Regarding claim 9, Nishikawa discloses a first component 5 comprising a base 5b and a post 5a which are connected to each other; and a second component 4 being provided with a connecting hole and being capable of being sheathed on the post extending through the connecting hole, wherein the fastener 10 and the base are located at opposite sides of the second component, the at least two clamping arms 10A clamp the post, and the at least two abutting arms 11b abut against the second component, such that the first component is connected to the second component. Regarding claim 10, Nishikawa discloses wherein the post 5a is provided with a thread, and at least part of the free ends 10a of the at least two clamping arms 10A are capable of fitting with the thread . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa . Regarding claim 3, Nishikawa discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose the arrangement of the abutting arms wherein each of the at least two abutting arms is formed by extending inwardly from the main body and toward the second component for a certain distance, and then extending away from the second component. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske , 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In view of a review of the prior art by the Examiner; the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests all of the claimed subject matter of claim 5 including where each of the at least two abutting arms is arranged between two adjacent clamping arms and located between the at least two clamping arms and the second component. There is no motivation to modify the prior art references, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, in the manner required by the claims . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EUGENE G BYRD whose telephone number is (571)270-1824. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kristina Fulton can be reached at 5712727376. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/762,020 Page 2 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/762,020 Page 3 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/762,020 Page 4 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/762,020 Page 5 Art Unit: 3675