DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 24 February 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 3 and 18 have been amended, claim 4 is cancelled, and claim 21 is newly added. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 currently stand pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 24 February 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that Lane (US 2009/0112327) has not been shown to teach attaching the insertion tool to one or more recesses on a first end of the sleeve and formed at least partially in the inner surface of the sleeve, because Lane teaches that tool 350 is attached to the base 18 in a different manner than attaching the tool to recesses on the base. Rather, Applicant contends that Lane discloses that tabs 360 and 362 grasp the base from above and below. Examiner respectfully submits that Lane does disclose attaching tabs 364 of the insertion tool 350 to one or more recesses 42 on a first end of the sleeve (par. [0227]), FIGS. 59-60, the one or more recesses 42 formed at least partially in the inner surface defining the interior hollowed portion of the sleeve (the recesses are formed into and comprise a cutaway of a portion of the inner surface). The tabs 364 of the insertion tool 350 can be seen nestingly attached to/received in the recesses 42 in FIG. 60. This attachment at tabs 364/recesses 42 is in addition to the attachment of tabs 360/362 described by Applicant.
Applicant's arguments as to the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 24 February 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of prior patent number 12,029,451 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded. The previously presented nonstatutory double patenting rejection is overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 19, the limitation “the one or more features” renders the claims indefinite, because it lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “one or more features”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2009/0112327 to Lane et al. (hereinafter, “Lane”), in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,629,451 to Winters et al. (hereinafter, “Winters”).
As to claim 1, Lane discloses a method of inserting a burr hole cover into a burr hole using an insertion tool, the burr hole cover (16) comprising a sleeve (18) and a plate (22) (par. [0163]), FIG. 2, wherein the sleeve comprises an inner surface (forming/surrounding center opening 26) and an outer surface (all outer facing surfaces of 18), the inner surface forming an interior hollowed portion (26) and the outer surface defining a cylindrical body (cylindrical or shaped like a cylinder at least at portions of the outermost portion of the outer surface), the outer surface (at outer surfaces of tabs 32) including one or more external serrations (threads, par. [0167]), the method comprising: attaching the insertion tool (350) to one or more recesses (42) on a first end of the sleeve (par. [0227]), FIGS. 59-60, the one or more recesses formed at least partially in the inner surface defining the interior hollowed portion of the sleeve (the recesses are formed into and comprise a cutaway of a portion of the inner surface), the interior hollowed portion of the sleeve extending from the first end to a second end opposite the first end along a longitudinal axis of the cylindrical body, FIGS. 8-9, and affixing the plate to the sleeve by fitting one or more protrusions (316) of the plate in one or more corresponding recesses of the one or more recesses of the sleeve (par. [0217]) so that the plate covers the interior hollowed portion of the sleeve at the first end, FIGS. 3, 52, and 95, wherein the interior hollowed portion of the sleeve remains uncovered at the second end of the sleeve (since the second end of the sleeve is not fully covered by the plate or by any other solid cover), and wherein, when the burr hole cover is inserted into the burr hole (5), the sleeve terminates prior to a level of a dura, FIG. 1.
As to claim 2, Lane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the insertion tool comprises a hand piece (354) (par. [0223]) and a driver portion (distal portion distal to 354), and wherein the driver portion comprises one or more features (364) for attaching to the one or more recesses of the sleeve (par. [0227]).
As to claim 3, Lane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more external serrations comprise one or more threads (par. [0167]) extending helically around the outer surface of the sleeve (threads extend helically).
As to claim 6, Lane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the burr hole is smaller or substantially equal to a diameter of the sleeve (a diameter of the burr hole is smaller than a diameter of the sleeve taken at the protruding ears of the sleeve that receive screws 15, since the screws are screwed into the cranium and thus the ears extend beyond the burr hole in order to rest on top of the cranium).
As to claim 7, Lane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the interior hollowed portion defines an inner cylinder, FIG. 2, and the outer surface defines an outer cylinder (at the outermost portion of the outer surface), and wherein the inner cylinder and the outer cylinder share a central axis, FIG. 2.
As to claim 8, Lane discloses the method of claim 7, wherein a diameter of the inner cylinder at a top is substantially the same as a diameter of the inner cylinder at a bottom, FIG. 2.
As to claim 9, Lane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the inner surface and the outer surface are substantially parallel to each other (at portions of the outermost portion of the outer surface).
As to claim 10, Lane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more recesses of the sleeve are located on a top portion of the sleeve, FIG. 2.
As to claim 11, Lane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein after the affixing of the plate to the sleeve, the burr hole cover is substantially flush with a skull (where substantially flush allows for some protrusion above the skull, and the taper of the sleeve makes at least its outer edges substantially flush with the skull), FIG. 1.
As to claim 12, Lane discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plate defines one or more apertures (320), FIG. 52, and wherein the method comprises inserting a lead into the one or more apertures (par. [0218]), FIG. 95.
Lane discloses the insertion tool and the sleeve do not rotate relative to each other due to the features (364) of the tool being attached to the recesses (42) of the sleeve (par. [0227]), but is silent as to applying a torque to the sleeve using the insertion tool so that the one or more external serrations cut grooves into inner side walls of the burr hole.
Winters teaches a method of inserting a threaded burr hole cover into a burr hole using an insertion tool by applying a torque to the threaded burr hole cover using the insertion tool (col. 2 / lines 23-27), where when the material of the burr hole cover is sufficiently hard to be self-threading, the burr hole need not be threaded when it is made (col. 4 / lines 10-12).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to insert Lane’s sleeve into the burr hole by applying a torque to the sleeve using the insertion tool, since Lane discloses that the sleeve is threaded and that the insertion tool and the sleeve do not rotate relative to each other due to the features (364) of the tool being attached to the recesses (42) of the sleeve, so that rotation of the insertion tool would result in rotation of the sleeve. Lane’s insertion tool is disclosed as used to mount the sleeve to the cranium (par. [0223]). Once the sleeve is fully seated, the threads on the sleeve would increase friction and prevent unintentional movement between the sleeve and the burr hole prior to permanent anchoring when the screws are inserted through the sleeve in order to permanently anchor the sleeve to the cranium. It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Lane’s threaded sleeve of a sufficiently hard material to be self-threading or self-tapping, so that the threads (external serrations) cut grooves into inner side walls of the burr hole as the threaded sleeve is rotated into the burr hole, to eliminate a separate step of threading the burr hole and thus reducing surgical time and cost, and to ensure that the grooves cut into the burr hole are complementary to the threads of the sleeve of the burr hole cover to ensure secure attachment therein.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane in view of Winters (hereinafter, “Lane/Winters”), as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-12 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. US 6,609,020 to Gill.
Lane/Winters are silent as to further comprising forming the burr hole in a skull using a drilling tool.
Gill teaches forming a burr hole in a skull using a drilling tool (col. 9 / lines 16-17).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the method of Lane/Winters the step of forming the burr hole in a skull using a drilling tool, as taught by Gill, to provide a pilot hole in the bone where the sleeve will be inserted so that the sleeve does not have to perform a complete drilling out of the burr hole, therefore reducing damage and wear on the burr hole cover sleeve.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane in view of Winters (hereinafter, “Lane/Winters”), as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-12 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0030099 to Sampath et al. (hereinafter, “Sampath”).
Lane/Winters are silent as to further comprising 3D printing the burr hole cover.
Sampath teaches 3D printing a burr hole cover (par. [0038]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to 3D print the burr hole cover in Lane/Winters since additive manufacturing is well known as an efficient manufacturing process and applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is within the ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane/Winters in view of Sampath (hereinafter, “Lane/Winters/Sampath”), as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2009/0112278 to Wingeier et al. (hereinafter, “Wingeier”).
As to claim 14, Lane/Winters/Sampath disclose the burr hole cover is 3D printed (as above, in view of Sampath).
As to claim 17, Lane/Winters/Sampath disclose wherein the plate of the burr hole cover is formed to follow a contour of a skull of a patient (the plate follows a contour of the skull at least generally due to its smoothness and curvature).
Lane/Winters/Sampath are silent as to the burr hole cover is 3D printed based on patient-specific data (claim 14); wherein the patient-specific data comprises at least one of a size of the burr hole and a thickness of a skull of a patient (claim 15).
Wingeier teaches that a burr hole cover is customized based on patient-specific data including a thickness of a skull of the patient so that the burr hole cover is provided with an appropriate overall length so as not to damage the brain (par. [0059], [0067], [0088], [0240]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the burr hole cover based on patient-specific data including a thickness of a skull of the patient so that the burr hole cover is provided with an appropriate overall length so that it can be inserted into the skull without extending into and damaging the brain. As taught above, the burr hole cover is 3D printed, and would be 3D printed to the specifications based on such patient-specific data.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane/Winters/Sampath in view of Wingeier (hereinafter, “Lane/Winters/Sampath/Wingeier”), as applied to claims 14, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. US 9,848,789 to Hu et al. (hereinafter, “Hu”).
As to claim 16, Lane/Winters/Sampath/Wingeier disclose the burr hole cover is 3D printed but are silent as to using at least one of metal and PEEK.
Hu teaches a skull implant is made of PEEK for biocompatibility (col. 2 / lines 4-10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to comprise the burr hole cover of PEEK for biocompatibility since Lane contemplates the use of PEEK for various components and Hu teaches PEEK offers biocompatibility.
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. US 8,182,540 to Lin et al. (hereinafter, “Lin”), in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,629,451 to Winters et al. (hereinafter, “Winters”).
As to claim 18, Lin discloses a method of inserting a burr hole cover (100) into a burr hole (102) using an insertion tool (screw tool, not shown, col. 3 / lines 4-7), the burr hole cover comprising a sleeve (111) and a plate (122) (col. 2 / lines 35-47), FIG. 1A, the sleeve and the plate having the same diameter (the inner diameter of the sleeve is the same as the outer diameter of the plate where they threadedly connect), FIG. 4, wherein the sleeve comprises an inner surface and an outer surface, the inner surface forming an interior hollowed portion, FIG. 1B, the outer surface including one or more external serrations (113, col. 3 / lines 1-4), the method comprising: attaching the insertion tool to a cruciform feature (115s and 126s; col. 3 / lines 4-7; features on the sleeve and plate shown aligned in another embodiment in FIG. 7) of the burr hole cover, the cruciform feature formed by a plurality of elongate slits (115s and 126s) in the burr hole cover, FIG. 1A; and applying a torque to the burr hole cover using the insertion tool (col. 3 / lines 4-7) to insert the burr hole cover into the burr hole, wherein following insertion the burr hole cover is substantially flush with a skull, FIG. 4.
As to claim 19, Lin discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the one or more features of the burr hole cover is located on the plate (features 126 are on the plate), FIG. 1A.
As to claim 20, Lin discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the plate and the sleeve are permanently connected to each other (where permanently means lasting indefinitely – once connected, the plate and the sleeve are indefinitely connected to each other, barring any further action).
As to claim 21, Lin discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the one or more external serrations comprise one or more threads (113) extending helically around the outer surface of the sleeve (threads extend helically), FIGS. 1A-1B.
Lin is silent as to the one or more external serrations cut grooves into inner side walls of the burr hole as the burr hole cover is inserted into the burr hole.
Winters teaches a method of inserting a threaded burr hole cover into a burr hole using an insertion tool, where when the material of the burr hole cover is sufficiently hard to be self-threading, the burr hole need not be threaded when it is made (col. 4 / lines 10-12).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sleeve in Lin of a sufficiently hard material to be self-threading or self-tapping, so that the external serrations/threads cut grooves into inner side walls of the burr hole as the burr hole cover is inserted into the burr hole, to eliminate a separate step of threading the burr hole and thus reducing surgical time and cost, and to ensure that the grooves cut into the burr hole are complementary to the threads of the sleeve of the burr hole cover to ensure secure attachment therein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY L KAMIKAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3775