DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the at least one receiving optical device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The dependent claim 11 is rejected for being dependent on the rejected claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Handerek (US10837806B2).
Regarding claim 1, Handerek discloses A method for monitoring an optical transmission path in an optical transmission system (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
transmitting a signal on a portion of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 62-64; The optical switch 22 is arranged to couple each probe light pulse into a selected one of the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d), the optical transmission path includes a plurality of portions (Fig. 1; a plurality of optical fibers 10a-10d is shown);
assigning a clock synchronization signal (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; a probe light pulse 30) in a plurality of clock synchronization signals to the transmitted signal (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; Column 9, lines 8-16; FIG. 2 illustrates timing of probe light pulses 30 generated by the probe light source 12 as they are passed to the optical switch 22. The probe light pulses 30 are evenly spaced apart in time, and form a sequence which is repeated in a regular manner, each repetition corresponding to one duty cycle of the sensor); receiving a backscattered signal (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 62-66; The optical switch 22 is arranged to couple at least some of the corresponding backscattered light back to the optical circulator 20 for delivery to the detector 14), the backscattered signal being generated by the portion of the optical transmission path in response to the signal being transmitted on the portion of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 55-57; a detector 14 for detecting probe light resulting from the probe light pulses being backscattered within the sensing fibres 10a-10d); and
monitoring, based on the assigned clock synchronization signal, the portion of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 55-59; a detector 14 for detecting probe light resulting from the probe light pulses being backscattered within the sensing fibres 10a-10d, and an analyser 16 for processing data, such as properties of the backscattered and detected light, which has been received from the detector 14) by analyzing the backscattered signal to determine a presence of an interference on the portion of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 7, lines 15-17; Column 8, lines 25-29; The analyser 16 generates and outputs analysis results based on the detected backscattered light, such as a determination of the one or more physical parameters of the environment 7. Particular embodiments of the invention are adapted to measure acoustic vibrations, as a function of position concurrently along each of the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d, from properties of the probe light backscattered within the fibres, and detected at the detector 14).
Regarding claim 2, the present system discloses The method according to claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the optical transmission path is a distributed acoustic sensing optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 46-50; Column 8, lines 25-27; FIG. 1 illustrates a distributed optical fibre sensor 2 arranged to sense one or more physical parameters of an environment 7. Particular embodiments of the invention are adapted to measure acoustic vibrations, as a function of position concurrently along each of the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d).
Regarding claim 14, the present system discloses The method according to claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the signal is an interrogation signal (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 52-54; An interrogator unit 5 of the sensor 2 includes a probe light source 12 for generating probe light pulses of suitable timing, shape and wavelength).
Regarding claim 16, Handerek discloses A system for monitoring an optical transmission path in an optical transmission system (Fig. 1), the system comprising:
at least one transmitting optical device (Fig. 1; a probe light source 12) configured to transmit a signal on a portion of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 62-64; The optical switch 22 is arranged to couple each probe light pulse into a selected one of the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d), the optical transmission path includes a plurality of portions (Fig. 1; a plurality of sensing fibers 10a-10d is shown;
at least one clock (Fig. 1; the controller 18) configured to assign a clock synchronization signal in a plurality of clock synchronization signals to the transmitted signal (Fig. 1; Column 7, lines 3-6; The controller 18 may also send control signals or data to the probe light source 12, in order to correctly coordinate timing of the optical switch 22 with timing of the probe light source 12);
at least one receiving device (Fig. 1; the detector 14) configured to receive a backscattered signal (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 62-66; The optical switch 22 is arranged to couple at least some of the corresponding backscattered light back to the optical circulator 20 for delivery to the detector 14), the backscattered signal being generated by the portion of the optical transmission path in response to the signal being transmitted on the portion of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 55-57; a detector 14 for detecting probe light resulting from the probe light pulses being backscattered within the sensing fibres 10a-10d); and
at least one processor (Fig. 1; analyser 16) configured to monitor, based on the assigned clock synchronization signal, the portion of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 55-59; a detector 14 for detecting probe light resulting from the probe light pulses being backscattered within the sensing fibres 10a-10d, and an analyser 16 for processing data, such as properties of the backscattered and detected light, which has been received from the detector 14) by analyzing the backscattered signal to determine a presence of an interference on the portion of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 7, lines 15-17; Column 8, lines 25-29; The analyser 16 generates and outputs analysis results based on the detected backscattered light, such as a determination of the one or more physical parameters of the environment 7. Particular embodiments of the invention are adapted to measure acoustic vibrations, as a function of position concurrently along each of the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d, from properties of the probe light backscattered within the fibres, and detected at the detector 14).
Regarding claim 17, the present system discloses The system according to claim 16, as described and applied above, wherein the optical transmission path is a distributed acoustic sensing optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 46-50; Column 8, lines 25-27; FIG. 1 illustrates a distributed optical fibre sensor 2 arranged to sense one or more physical parameters of an environment 7. Particular embodiments of the invention are adapted to measure acoustic vibrations, as a function of position concurrently along each of the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 12-13, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handerek (US10837806B2) in view of Huang et al. (US10917168B2).
Regarding claim 3, the present system discloses The method according to claim 2, as described and applied above.
However, the present system does not expressly disclose a plurality of terminals communicatively coupled to at least one transmitting path for transmitting and at least one receiving path for receiving one or more signals between at least two terminals in the plurality of terminals.
Huang et al. discloses a plurality of terminals (Fig. 1; the OLT 1.1 and a plurality of ONUs) communicatively coupled (Fig. 1; data signals are sent between the OLT 1.1 and ONUs as shown) to at least one transmitting path for transmitting and at least one receiving path for receiving one or more signals between at least two terminals in the plurality of terminals (Fig. 1; the OLT 1.1 communicates with a plurality of ONUs through transmission fiber cable 2.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add OLT and ONUs to the present system in order to provide optical communication function with a remote node while providing the function of pipeline leak and intrusion detection along the communication path.
Regarding claim 4, the present combination discloses The method according to claim 3, as described and applied above, wherein the transmitting the signal includes transmitting the signal from a transmitting optical device communicatively coupled to the portion of the optical transmission path (Huang et al., Fig. 1; the OLT 1.1 sends data signals with sensing signals along the transmission fiber cable 2.1 as shown).
Regarding claim 5, the present combination discloses The method according to claim 3, as described and applied above, wherein a plurality of transmitting optical devices are communicatively coupled to optical transmission path (Huang et al., Fig. 1; a transponder 101 and DOFS integrator 102 inside the OLT 1.1 are coupled to the transmission fiber cable 2.1), each transmitting optical device in the plurality of transmitting optical devices being communicatively coupled to a respective portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path without being communicatively coupled to another portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path (Huang et al., Fig. 1; a transponder 101 is coupled to the data fiber 201 while the DOFS integrator is coupled to the sensing fiber 202).
Regarding claim 6, the present combination discloses The method according to claim 5, as described and applied above, wherein a receiving optical device (Handerek, Fig. 1; the detector 14) is communicatively coupled to the optical transmission path (Handerek, Fig. 1; the detector 14 is coupled to a plurality of optical fiber 10a to 10d) and is configured to receive a plurality of backscattered signals generated by each portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path (Handerek, Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 55-59; a detector 14 for detecting probe light resulting from the probe light pulses being backscattered within the sensing fibres 10a-10d, and an analyser 16 for processing data, such as properties of the backscattered and detected light, which has been received from the detector 14) in response to a respective signal transmitted by the corresponding transmitting optical device in the plurality of transmitting optical devices (Huang et al., Fig. 1; DOFS integrator 102 transmits and receives the sensing signals as shown).
Regarding 12, the present system discloses The method according to claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the transmitting includes generating the clock synchronization signal (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; Column 9, lines 8-16; FIG. 2 illustrates timing of probe light pulses 30 generated by the probe light source 12 as they are passed to the optical switch 22. The probe light pulses 30 are evenly spaced apart in time, and form a sequence which is repeated in a regular manner, each repetition corresponding to one duty cycle of the sensor).
However, the present system does not expressly disclose simultaneously with transmitting the signal.
Huang et al. discloses simultaneously with transmitting the signal (Fig. 1; the data signals and the sensing signals are simultaneously transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add OLT and ONUs to the present system in order to provide optical communication function with a remote node while providing the function of pipeline leak and intrusion detection along the communication path.
Regarding claim 13, the present combination discloses The method according to claim 12, as described and applied above, wherein the receiving the backscattered signal includes associating the backscattered signal with the generated clock synchronization signal based on a time of generation of the clock synchronization signal (Handerek, Fig. 3; line 17-31; the dwell time d1 on sensing optical fibre 1, and the corresponding delay before a probe light pulse is launched into the second optical fibre, is relatively short, the dwell time on fibre 2 is relatively long, and the dwell time on fibre 3 is intermediate between these two. Of sensing optical fibres 1-3, therefore under this scheme, vibration can be sensed with the greatest range along fibre 2, and the shortest range along fibre 1. Of course, the controller 18 can be used to control the dwell time of the switch 22 on each sensing optical fibre 10a-10d, along with the launch time of each corresponding probe light pulse 30 and the operation of the detector 14 and interrogator 16 to provide sensing to chosen distances along each sensing optical fibre as desired for particular circumstances).
Regarding claim 15, the present system discloses The method according to claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present system does not expressly disclose each portion in the plurality of portions includes a termination point, wherein at least one of: at least one portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path and at least one termination point is located at least one of: a land location, a subsea location, and any combination thereof.
Huang et al. discloses each portion in the plurality of portions includes a termination point (Fig. 1; a plurality of feeder fiber cables 4.1 is shown, wherein each feeder fiber cable 4.1 is connected to a respective ONU), wherein at least one of: at least one portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path and at least one termination point is located at least one of: a land location (Fig. 1; the ONU and the feeder fiber cable is located on land), a subsea location, and any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add OLT and ONUs to the present system in order to provide optical communication function with a remote node while providing the function of pipeline leak and intrusion detection along the communication path.
Regarding claim 18, the present system discloses The system according to claim 17, as described and applied above, wherein the at least one receiving optical device (Fig. 1; the detector 14) is communicatively coupled to the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; the detector 14 is coupled to a plurality of optical fiber 10a to 10d) and is configured to receive a plurality of backscattered signals generated by each portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 55-59; a detector 14 for detecting probe light resulting from the probe light pulses being backscattered within the sensing fibres 10a-10d, and an analyser 16 for processing data, such as properties of the backscattered and detected light, which has been received from the detector 14) in response to a respective signal transmitted by the corresponding transmitting optical device (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 55-59; a detector 14 for detecting probe light resulting from the probe light pulses being backscattered within the sensing fibres 10a-10d).
However, the present system does not expressly disclose a plurality of terminals communicatively coupled to at least one transmitting path for transmitting and at least one receiving path for receiving one or more signals between at least two terminals in the plurality of terminals; and a plurality of transmitting optical devices communicatively coupled to the optical transmission path, each transmitting optical device in the plurality of transmitting optical devices being communicatively coupled to a respective portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path without being communicatively coupled to another portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path.
Huang et al. discloses a plurality of terminals (Fig. 1; the OLT 1.1 and a plurality of ONUs) communicatively coupled (Fig. 1; data signals are sent between the OLT 1.1 and ONUs as shown) to at least one transmitting path for transmitting and at least one receiving path for receiving one or more signals between at least two terminals in the plurality of terminals (Fig. 1; the OLT 1.1 communicates with a plurality of ONUs through transmission fiber cable 2.1); and
a plurality of transmitting optical devices communicatively coupled to the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; a transponder 101 and DOFS integrator 102 inside the OLT 1.1 are coupled to the transmission fiber cable 2.1), each transmitting optical device in the plurality of transmitting optical devices being communicatively coupled to a respective portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path without being communicatively coupled to another portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; a transponder 101 is coupled to the data fiber 201 while the DOFS integrator is coupled to the sensing fiber 202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add OLT and ONUs to the present system in order to provide optical communication function with a remote node while providing the function of pipeline leak and intrusion detection along the communication path.
Claim(s) 7-11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handerek (US10837806B2) and Huang et al. (US10917168B2) in view of Parker et al. (US10704932B2).
Regarding claim 7, the present combination discloses The method according to claim 6, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose at least one optical repeater device is communicatively coupled to the optical transmitting path, the at least one optical repeater device includes at least one transmitting optical device in the plurality of optical transmitting devices and being associated with at least one portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path.
Parker et al. discloses at least one optical repeater device (Fig. 1; the amplifier module 14) is communicatively coupled to the optical transmitting path (Fig. 1; the amplifier module 14 is connected to the sensing fiber 11), the at least one optical repeater device includes at least one transmitting optical device (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; Column 5, lines 11-13; The second optical circulator 28 then outputs the amplified and filtered pulse on its second port, to be transmit along the next length of fiber 13) in the plurality of optical transmitting devices (Fig. 1; a plurality of amplifier modules 14, 16, and 18 is shown) and being associated with at least one portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; the amplifier module 14 is associated with sensing fiber 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add amplifier modules, as taught by Parker et al., in the present combination in order to amplify the intensity of the optical signal to increase the transmission distance of the optical signal.
Regarding claim 8, the present combination discloses The method according to claim 7, as described and applied above, wherein the at least one optical repeater device includes at least one receiving amplifier (Parker et al., Fig. 3; an optical amplifier 32) and at least one transmitting amplifier (Parker et al., Fig. 3; an optical amplifier 24), the at least one receiving amplifier amplifies a signal transmitted on the at least one receiving path, and the at least one transmitting amplifier amplifies a signal transmitted on the at least one transmitting path (Parker et al., Fig. 3; the optical amplifier 26 amplifies the transmitting signal while the optical amplifier 32 amplifies the received signal as shown).
Regarding claim 9, the present combination discloses The method according to claim 8, as described and applied above, wherein the at least one receiving amplifier amplifies at least one backscattered signal generated by at least one portion of the optical transmitting path communicatively coupled to the at least one optical repeater device (Parker et al., Fig. 3; Column 5, lines 38-41; an optical fiber amplifier like an erbium doped fiber amplifier 32, which receives the return backscatter and/or reflections signal from the third port of the optical circulator 28, and amplifies it) in response to at least one signal transmitted by the at least one transmitting optical device of the at least one optical repeater device (Handerek, Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 55-57; a detector 14 for detecting probe light resulting from the probe light pulses being backscattered within the sensing fibres 10a-10d. The backscattered light is due to the probe light pulses generated at the interrogator unit 5).
Regarding claim 10, the present combination discloses The method according to claim 9, as described and applied above, wherein the at least one optical repeater device being communicatively coupled to the at least one receiving optical device (Parker et al., Fig. 1; the amplifier module 14 is communicatively connected to the sensor source apparatus 12).
Regarding claim 11, the present combination discloses The method according to claim 10, as described and applied above, wherein at least one first optical device (Handerek, Fig. 1; an optical circulator 20) is communicatively coupled to and between the at least one optical repeater device and the at least one receiving optical device (Handerek, Fig. 1; the optical circulator 20 is connected to the detector 14 and the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d), the at least one receiving optical device being configured to separate the at least one backscattered signal for transmission to the at least one receiving optical device and the at least one signal transmitted on the at least one receiving path for transmission to at least one terminal in the plurality of terminals (Handerek, Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 60-66; The probe light source 12 forms probe light pulses which are forwarded to an optical circulator 20 and from there on to an optical switch 22. The optical switch 22 is arranged to couple each probe light pulse into a selected one of the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d, and to couple at least some of the corresponding backscattered light back to the optical circulator 20 for delivery to the detector 14).
Regarding claim 19, the present combination The system according to claim 18, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose at least one optical repeater device communicatively coupled to the optical transmission path and to the at least one receiving optical device, the at least one optical repeater device includes at least one transmitting optical device in the plurality of optical transmitting devices and being associated with at least one portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path; the at least one optical repeater device includes at least one receiving amplifier and at least one transmitting amplifier, the at least one receiving amplifier amplifies a signal transmitted on the at least one receiving path, and the at least one transmitting amplifier amplifies a signal transmitted on the at least one transmitting path; the at least one receiving amplifier amplifies at least one backscattered signal generated by at least one portion of the optical transmitting path communicatively coupled to the at least one optical repeater device in response to at least one signal transmitted by the at least one transmitting optical device of the at least one optical repeater device.
Parker et al. discloses at least one optical repeater device (Fig. 1; the amplifier module 14) communicatively coupled to the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; the amplifier module 14 is connected to the sensing fiber 11) and to the at least one receiving optical device (Fig. 1; the amplifier module 14 is connected to the sensor source apparatus 12), the at least one optical repeater device includes at least one transmitting optical device (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; Column 5, lines 11-13; The second optical circulator 28 then outputs the amplified and filtered pulse on its second port, to be transmit along the next length of fiber 13) in the plurality of optical transmitting devices (Fig. 1; a plurality of amplifier modules 14, 16, and 18 is shown) and being associated with at least one portion in the plurality of portions of the optical transmission path (Fig. 1; the amplifier module 14 is associated with sensing fiber 11);
the at least one optical repeater device includes at least one receiving amplifier (Fig. 3; an optical amplifier 32) and at least one transmitting amplifier (Fig. 3; an optical amplifier 24), the at least one receiving amplifier amplifies a signal transmitted on the at least one receiving path (Fig. 3; the optical amplifier 24 amplifies the transmitting signal while the optical amplifier 32 amplifies the received signal as shown), and the at least one transmitting amplifier amplifies a signal transmitted on the at least one transmitting path (Fig. 3; the optical amplifier 24 amplifies the transmitting signal while the optical amplifier 32 amplifies the received signal as shown);
the at least one receiving amplifier amplifies at least one backscattered signal generated by at least one portion of the optical transmitting path communicatively coupled to the at least one optical repeater device (Fig. 3; Column 5, lines 38-41; an optical fiber amplifier like an erbium doped fiber amplifier 32, which receives the return backscatter and/or reflections signal from the third port of the optical circulator 28, and amplifies it) in response to at least one signal transmitted by the at least one transmitting optical device of the at least one optical repeater device (Fig. 3; the amplifier 32 receives the return backscatter signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add amplifier modules, as taught by Parker et al., in the present combination in order to amplify the intensity of the optical signal to increase the transmission distance of the optical signal.
Regarding claim 20, the present combination discloses The system according to claim 19, as described and applied above, further comprising at least one first optical device (Handerek, Fig. 1; an optical circulator 20) communicatively coupled to and between the at least one optical repeater device and the at least one receiving optical device (Handerek, Fig. 1; the optical circulator 20 is connected to the detector 14 and the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d), the at least one receiving optical device being configured to separate the at least one backscattered signal for transmission to the at least one receiving optical device and the at least one signal transmitted on the at least one receiving path for transmission to at least one terminal in the plurality of terminals (Handerek, Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 60-66; The probe light source 12 forms probe light pulses which are forwarded to an optical circulator 20 and from there on to an optical switch 22. The optical switch 22 is arranged to couple each probe light pulse into a selected one of the sensing optical fibres 10a-10d, and to couple at least some of the corresponding backscattered light back to the optical circulator 20 for delivery to the detector 14); wherein the at least one receiving optical device associates the backscattered signal with the generated clock synchronization signal based on a time of generation of the clock synchronization signal (Handerek, Fig. 3; line 17-31; the dwell time d1 on sensing optical fibre 1, and the corresponding delay before a probe light pulse is launched into the second optical fibre, is relatively short, the dwell time on fibre 2 is relatively long, and the dwell time on fibre 3 is intermediate between these two. Of sensing optical fibres 1-3, therefore under this scheme, vibration can be sensed with the greatest range along fibre 2, and the shortest range along fibre 1. Of course, the controller 18 can be used to control the dwell time of the switch 22 on each sensing optical fibre 10a-10d, along with the launch time of each corresponding probe light pulse 30 and the operation of the detector 14 and interrogator 16 to provide sensing to chosen distances along each sensing optical fibre as desired for particular circumstances).
Conclusion
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634