DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 includes the limitation “at least one first application” multiple times; however, it is not specifically clear if they are referring to same one first application or different ones. Further claim 1 includes the limitation “first application process” multiple times and it is not specifically clear if they are referring to same first application process or different ones. Similarly claim 1 includes the limitation “second application process” multiple times and it is not specifically clear if they are referring to same second application process or different ones. Moreover claim 1 includes the limitation “application process” multiple times and it is not specifically clear whether the claimed “application process” corresponds to first application process or second application process. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 includes the limitation “second application process” claim 2 is dependent on claim 1 where claim 1 also includes the limitation “second application process” multiple times and it is not specifically clear where second application process in claim 2 is referring to same second application process or a different one. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for being directly or indirectly dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 includes the limitation “first application process” multiple times and it is not specifically clear if they are referring to same first application process or different ones.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 includes the limitation “second application process” claim 12 is dependent on claim 11 where claim 11 also includes the limitation “second application process” and it is not specifically clear where second application process in claim 12 is referring to same second application process or a different one. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for being directly or indirectly dependent on rejected claim 11.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 includes the limitation “first application process” multiple times and it is not specifically clear if they are referring to same first application process or different ones. Similarly claim 1 includes the limitation “application process” multiple times and it is not specifically clear whether the claimed “application process” corresponds to first application process or second application process. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 includes the limitation “second application process” claim 20 is dependent on claim 19 where claim 19 also includes the limitation “second application process” and it is not specifically clear where second application process in claim 20 is referring to same second application process or a different one. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varoglu et al (US Pub 2014/0089992) in view of JUNG et al (US Pub 2015/0113432).
With respect to claim 1, Varoglu discloses a first electronic device (fig. 2; fixed display device 200) comprising: a first display (fig. 2; fixed display subsystem 208); a communications subsystem that communicatively couples the first electronic device to a second electronic device during an app streaming session via a streaming interface (fig. 2; networking subsystem 206; par 0054; discloses In network environment 400, portable electronic device 100, fixed display system 200 and gateway 404 communicate using LAN 402); a memory having stored thereon an application streaming module for streaming at least one first application to the second electronic device (fig. 2; memory subsystem 204; par 0041; discloses Memory subsystem 204 includes one or more devices for storing data and/or instructions for processing subsystem 202, networking subsystem 206, and fixed display subsystem 208; par 0051; discloses operating system 302 serves as an intermediary between system hardware in portable electronic device 100 (e.g., subsystems 102-108) and applications executed by processing subsystem 102, such as applications 304-306 (which can be, for example, an email application, a web browser, a game application, and a streaming content application)); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the display, the communications subsystem, and the memory, (fig. 2; processing subsystem 202 connected to fixed display subsystem 208, memory subsystem 204 and networking subsystem 206; see par 0046) the at least one processor executing program code of the application streaming module, the at least one processor configured to cause the first electronic device to: detect a trigger comprising second application process being initiated on the second electronic device (par 0058; discloses Using portable electronic device 100, the user selects the content stream being displayed on fixed display system 200); in response to detecting the trigger, identify at least one first application or first application process for streaming to the second electronic device, the at least one first application associated with execution of the at least one second application or second application process (par 0059; discloses when portable electronic device 100 receives the selection of content stream 602 (step 502), portable electronic device 100 determines if it is compatible with the content stream (step 504). For example, in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602)); and in response to identifying the at least one first application or application process associated with the execution of the at least one second application or second application process (par 0060; discloses if content stream source 408 requires a user account or other permission in order to be able to stream content (e.g., a Netflix account) and content stream 602 requires an application (e.g., application 304 in FIG. 3 which may be a Netflix app) in order to be displayed on portable electronic device 100, then portable electronic device 100 determines if it has all of the requirements (e.g., accounts/authorization, application). Par 0061; discloses At step 504, if portable electronic device 100 determines that it is compatible with content stream 602 (e.g., meets all of the requirements necessary to be able to request, receive and display a synchronized content stream from content stream source 408), then the process continues to step 506. At step 506, portable electronic device 100 sends a request to content stream source 408 that includes the information required to request a synchronized content stream): initiate the at least one first application or application process on the first electronic device (par 0061; discloses FIG. 7 presents a block diagram illustrating a network environment depicting content stream 602 and synchronized content stream 702, each streaming from content stream source 408 through WAN 406, gateway 404, and LAN 402 to portable electronic device 100; par 0064; discloses at step 504 if portable electronic device 100 determines that it is not compatible with content stream 602 (e.g., it does not have the necessary permission or application(s) to receive and view synchronized content stream 702 from content stream source 408, then the process continues to step 510. At step 510, portable electronic device 100 requests a synchronized instance of content stream 602 based on mirroring fixed display system 200 as depicted in FIG. 8; see); and stream, via the communications subsystem, content of the at least one first application or application process from the first electronic device to the second electronic device to trigger modification of a second display of the second electronic device to render first application content on the second display of the second electronic device (par 0065; discloses fixed display system 200 then generates a synchronized content stream, mirrored content stream 802, based on mirroring content stream 602. Content stream 602 may be mirrored based on replicating the display information being used to display content stream 602 on fixed display subsystem 208. The mirrored content stream may also be scaled by fixed display system 200 based on information (e.g., display size, display resolution, etc.) about the display (i.e., in display subsystem 108) on portable electronic device 100, which may be sent as part of the request for mirrored content stream 802);
Varoglu doesn’t expressly disclose detecting a trigger comprising at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device; the at least one first application or first application process being different from the at least one second application;
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG discloses system and method for sharing data between devices (see abstract); JUNG discloses detecting a trigger comprising at least one second application or second application process being initiated on the second electronic device (par 0152; discloses the first device 100 may receive an execution request for a photo management application. In operation S430, the first device 100 may display a second window corresponding to the photo management application as a background of the first window; par 0137; discloses In operation S620, the first device 100 may receive a request to execute the camera application.; see par 0181 as well); the sharing of date is performed between first application and second application where at least one first application or first application process being different from the at least one second application (par 0275; discloses In response to an execution request with respect to a second application that is different from the first application, the display unit 121 may display a second window corresponding to the second application, as a background of the first window; par 0205; discloses In operation S1210, the second device 200 may establish a communication link with an external device by using a first application. For example, the second device 200 may establish the communication link with the first device 100 by using the first application; par 0219; discloses In operation S1250, the second device 200 may, in response to a touch input, provide the received data via the second application. For example, when the second device 200 receives the touch input with respect to the first window, the second device 200 may execute the second application related to the data received from the first device 100. Then, the second device 200 may provide the data received from the first device 100, by using the second application);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to share data between two device using two different applications in order to allow user to share information between devices conveniently and efficiently.
With respect to claim 2, Varoglu as modified by JUNG discloses wherein to detect the trigger, the at least one processor: detects a communication link with the second electronic device (Varoglu; par 0056; discloses the operations shown in FIG. 5 are performed by a portable electronic device, such as portable electronic device 100 and a fixed display system, such as fixed display system 200 operating in a network environment such as network environment 400); in response to detecting the communication link with the second electronic device, triggers the second electronic device to transmit application data corresponding to the at least one second application or second application process being initiated on the second electronic device; receives the application data from the second electronic device; and determines, if content of the at least one first application is to be streamed to the second electronic device, based on the received application data corresponding to the at least one second application (Varoglu; par 0059; discloses When portable electronic device 100 receives the selection of content stream 602 (step 502), portable electronic device 100 determines if it is compatible with the content stream (step 504). For example, in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602)).
With respect to claim 11, Varoglu discloses a method comprising: detecting via at least one processor of a first electronic device, a trigger comprising second application process being initiated on a second electronic device; (par 0058; discloses Using portable electronic device 100, the user selects the content stream being displayed on fixed display system 200); in response to detecting the trigger, identifying at least one first application or first application process for streaming to the second electronic device, the at least one first application or first application process associated with execution of the at least one second application or application process; (par 0059; discloses when portable electronic device 100 receives the selection of content stream 602 (step 502), portable electronic device 100 determines if it is compatible with the content stream (step 504). For example, in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602)); and in response to identifying the at least one first application or first application process: initiating the at least one first application or first application process on the first electronic device; (par 0064; discloses at step 504 if portable electronic device 100 determines that it is not compatible with content stream 602 (e.g., it does not have the necessary permission or application(s) to receive and view synchronized content stream 702 from content stream source 408, then the process continues to step 510. At step 510, portable electronic device 100 requests a synchronized instance of content stream 602 based on mirroring fixed display system 200 as depicted in FIG. 8); and streaming content of the at least one first application or first application process from the first electronic device to the second electronic device to trigger modification of a second display of the second electronic device to render first application content on the second display of the second electronic device (par 0065; discloses fixed display system 200 then generates a synchronized content stream, mirrored content stream 802, based on mirroring content stream 602. Content stream 602 may be mirrored based on replicating the display information being used to display content stream 602 on fixed display subsystem 208. The mirrored content stream may also be scaled by fixed display system 200 based on information (e.g., display size, display resolution, etc.) about the display (i.e., in display subsystem 108) on portable electronic device 100, which may be sent as part of the request for mirrored content stream 802);
Varoglu doesn’t expressly disclose detecting a trigger comprising at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device; the at least one first application or first application process being different from the at least one second application;
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG discloses system and method for sharing data between devices (see abstract); JUNG discloses detecting a trigger comprising at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device (par 0152; discloses the first device 100 may receive an execution request for a photo management application. In operation S430, the first device 100 may display a second window corresponding to the photo management application as a background of the first window; par 0137; discloses In operation S620, the first device 100 may receive a request to execute the camera application.; see par 0181 as well); the sharing of date is performed between first application and second application where at least one first application or first application process being different from the at least one second application (par 0275; discloses In response to an execution request with respect to a second application that is different from the first application, the display unit 121 may display a second window corresponding to the second application, as a background of the first window; par 0205; discloses In operation S1210, the second device 200 may establish a communication link with an external device by using a first application. For example, the second device 200 may establish the communication link with the first device 100 by using the first application; par 0219; discloses In operation S1250, the second device 200 may, in response to a touch input, provide the received data via the second application. For example, when the second device 200 receives the touch input with respect to the first window, the second device 200 may execute the second application related to the data received from the first device 100. Then, the second device 200 may provide the data received from the first device 100, by using the second application);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to share data between two device using two different applications in order to allow user to share information between devices conveniently and efficiently.
With respect to claim 12, Varoglu as modified by JUNG discloses wherein to detect the trigger, the method further comprises: detecting a communication link with the second electronic device; (Varoglu; par 0056; discloses the operations shown in FIG. 5 are performed by a portable electronic device, such as portable electronic device 100 and a fixed display system, such as fixed display system 200 operating in a network environment such as network environment 400) in response to detecting the communication link with the second electronic device, triggering the second electronic device to transmit application data corresponding to the at least one second application or second application process being initiated on the second electronic device; receiving the application data from the second electronic device; and determining, if content of the at least one first application is to be streamed to the second electronic device based on the received application data corresponding to the at least one second application (Varoglu; par 0059; discloses When portable electronic device 100 receives the selection of content stream 602 (step 502), portable electronic device 100 determines if it is compatible with the content stream (step 504). For example, in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602)).
With respect to claim 19, Varoglu discloses a computer program product comprising: a non-transitory computer readable storage device having stored thereon program code which, when executed by at least one processor of a first electronic device having a first display and a communications subsystem configures the first electronic device to complete the functionality of (fig. 2; memory subsystem 204; par 0041; discloses Memory subsystem 204 includes one or more devices for storing data and/or instructions for processing subsystem 202, networking subsystem 206, and fixed display subsystem 208; par 0051; discloses operating system 302 serves as an intermediary between system hardware in portable electronic device 100 (e.g., subsystems 102-108) and applications executed by processing subsystem 102, such as applications 304-306 (which can be, for example, an email application, a web browser, a game application, and a streaming content application): detecting a trigger comprising second application process being initiated on the second electronic device (par 0058; discloses Using portable electronic device 100, the user selects the content stream being displayed on fixed display system 200); in response to detecting the trigger, identifying at least one first application or first application process for streaming to the second electronic device, the at least one first application or first application process being associated with execution of the at least one second application or application process (par 0059; discloses when portable electronic device 100 receives the selection of content stream 602 (step 502), portable electronic device 100 determines if it is compatible with the content stream (step 504). For example, in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602)); and in response to identifying the at least one first application: initiating the at least one first application or application process on the first electronic device (par 0064; discloses at step 504 if portable electronic device 100 determines that it is not compatible with content stream 602 (e.g., it does not have the necessary permission or application(s) to receive and view synchronized content stream 702 from content stream source 408, then the process continues to step 510. At step 510, portable electronic device 100 requests a synchronized instance of content stream 602 based on mirroring fixed display system 200 as depicted in FIG. 8); and streaming content, via the communications subsystem, of the at least one first application or first application process from the first electronic device to the second electronic device to trigger modification of a second display of the second electronic device to render first application content on the second display of the second electronic device (par 0065; discloses fixed display system 200 then generates a synchronized content stream, mirrored content stream 802, based on mirroring content stream 602. Content stream 602 may be mirrored based on replicating the display information being used to display content stream 602 on fixed display subsystem 208. The mirrored content stream may also be scaled by fixed display system 200 based on information (e.g., display size, display resolution, etc.) about the display (i.e., in display subsystem 108) on portable electronic device 100, which may be sent as part of the request for mirrored content stream 802);
Varoglu doesn’t expressly disclose detecting a trigger comprising at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device; the at least one first application or first application process being different from the at least one second application;
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG discloses system and method for sharing data between devices (see abstract); JUNG discloses detecting a trigger comprising at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device (par 0152; discloses the first device 100 may receive an execution request for a photo management application. In operation S430, the first device 100 may display a second window corresponding to the photo management application as a background of the first window; par 0137; discloses In operation S620, the first device 100 may receive a request to execute the camera application.; see par 0181 as well); the sharing of date is performed between first application and second application where at least one first application or first application process being different from the at least one second application (par 0275; discloses In response to an execution request with respect to a second application that is different from the first application, the display unit 121 may display a second window corresponding to the second application, as a background of the first window; par 0205; discloses In operation S1210, the second device 200 may establish a communication link with an external device by using a first application. For example, the second device 200 may establish the communication link with the first device 100 by using the first application; par 0219; discloses In operation S1250, the second device 200 may, in response to a touch input, provide the received data via the second application. For example, when the second device 200 receives the touch input with respect to the first window, the second device 200 may execute the second application related to the data received from the first device 100. Then, the second device 200 may provide the data received from the first device 100, by using the second application);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to share data between two device using two different applications in order to allow user to share information between devices conveniently and efficiently.
With respect to claim 20, Varoglu as modified by JUNG discloses wherein to detect the trigger, the program code further comprises program code that configures the first electronic device to complete the functionality of:: detecting a communication link with the second electronic device (Varoglu; par 0056; discloses the operations shown in FIG. 5 are performed by a portable electronic device, such as portable electronic device 100 and a fixed display system, such as fixed display system 200 operating in a network environment such as network environment 400); in response to detecting the communication link with the second electronic device, triggering the second electronic device to transmit application data corresponding to the at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device; receiving the application data from the second electronic device; and determining, if content of the at least one first application is to be streamed to the second electronic device, based on the received application data corresponding to the at least one second application (Varoglu; par 0059; discloses When portable electronic device 100 receives the selection of content stream 602 (step 502), portable electronic device 100 determines if it is compatible with the content stream (step 504). For example, in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602)).
Claim(s) 6, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varoglu et al (US Pub 2014/0089992) in view of JUNG et al (US Pub 2015/0113432) and XIAO et al (US Pub 2025/0008316).
With respect to claim 6, Varoglu as modified by JUNG don’t expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor: renders a first graphical user interface (GUI) on the first display, the first GUI including a first user-selectable option to automatically initiate streaming, to the second electronic device, of content of at least one local application that has an association with the second application which is initiated on the communicatively-connected second electronic device, the at least one local application comprising the at least one first application; and in response to detecting selection of the first user-selectable option: initiates monitoring for the trigger indicative of the at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device; and automatically initiates streaming of content of the at least one first application to the second electronic device when the trigger is detected;
In the same field of endeavor, XIAO discloses system and method for sharing information (see abstract); XIAO discloses wherein the at least one processor: renders a first graphical user interface (GUI) on the first display, the first GUI including a first user-selectable option to automatically initiate streaming, to the second electronic device, of content of at least one local application that has an association with the second application which is initiated on the communicatively-connected second electronic device, the at least one local application comprising the at least one first application; and in response to detecting selection of the first user-selectable option (par 0045; discloses the first terminal 21 displays a first application interface, the first application interface including a sharing target selection control and a sharing information selection control; determines at least one type of target information for sharing from at least two types of candidate information of the first terminal in response to receipt of a selection operation on the sharing information selection control; displays a list of sharing targets in response to receipt of a selection operation on the sharing target selection control; receives a selection operation on a first sharing target in the list of sharing targets; and transmits a share link to the second terminal corresponding to the first sharing target, where the share link is used for the second terminal to obtain and display the at least one type of target information of the first terminal; par 0167; discloses the first terminal can automatically transmit a share link to a preset sharing target when identifying that the target information meets a specific condition): initiates monitoring for the trigger indicative of the at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device; and automatically initiates streaming of content of the at least one first application to the second electronic device when the trigger is detected (par 0054; discloses the second terminal 22 receives the share link transmitted by the first terminal; displays a second application interface in response to receipt of a trigger operation on the share link; and displays the at least one type of target information of the first terminal in the second application interface.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of XIAO to initiate the streaming via the first electronic device using a GUI interface in order to allow user to efficiently share information from first electronic device to the second electronic device via a share link.
With respect to claim 15, Varoglu as modified by JUNG don’t expressly disclose further comprising: rendering a first graphical user interface (GUI) on the first display, the first GUI including a first user-selectable option to automatically initiate streaming, to the second electronic device, of content of at least one local application that has an association with the second application which is initiated on the communicatively-connected second electronic device, the at least one local application comprising the at least one first application; and in response to detecting selection of the first user-selectable option: initiating monitoring for the trigger indicative of the at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device; and automatically initiating streaming of content of the at least one first application to the second electronic device when the trigger is detected;
In the same field of endeavor, XIAO discloses system and method for sharing information (see abstract); XIAO discloses rendering a first graphical user interface (GUI) on the first display, the first GUI including a first user-selectable option to automatically initiate streaming, to the second electronic device, of content of at least one local application that has an association with the second application which is initiated on the communicatively-connected second electronic device, the at least one local application comprising the at least one first application; and in response to detecting selection of the first user-selectable option (par 0045; discloses the first terminal 21 displays a first application interface, the first application interface including a sharing target selection control and a sharing information selection control; determines at least one type of target information for sharing from at least two types of candidate information of the first terminal in response to receipt of a selection operation on the sharing information selection control; displays a list of sharing targets in response to receipt of a selection operation on the sharing target selection control; receives a selection operation on a first sharing target in the list of sharing targets; and transmits a share link to the second terminal corresponding to the first sharing target, where the share link is used for the second terminal to obtain and display the at least one type of target information of the first terminal; par 0167; discloses the first terminal can automatically transmit a share link to a preset sharing target when identifying that the target information meets a specific condition): initiates monitoring for the trigger indicative of the at least one second application being initiated on the second electronic device; and automatically initiates streaming of content of the at least one first application to the second electronic device when the trigger is detected (par 0054; discloses the second terminal 22 receives the share link transmitted by the first terminal; displays a second application interface in response to receipt of a trigger operation on the share link; and displays the at least one type of target information of the first terminal in the second application interface.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of XIAO to initiate the streaming via the first electronic device using a GUI interface in order to allow user to efficiently share information from first electronic device to the second electronic device via a share link.
Claim(s) 7, 9, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varoglu et al (US Pub 2014/0089992) in view of JUNG et al (US Pub 2015/0113432) and THELLEERATHU et al (US Pub 2018/0210641).
With respect to claim 7, Varoglu as modified by JUNG discloses wherein: to identify the at least one first application for streaming to the second electronic device,(Varoglu; par 0059; discloses in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602).);
Varoglu as modified by JUNG doesn’t expressly disclose the at least one processor: retrieves historical application streaming data for the first electronic device; parses the historical application streaming data for the first electronic device to find a most frequently selected application that is initiated after the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device; and identifies the most frequently selected application as the at least one first application;
In the same field of endeavor, THELLEERATHU discloses an electronic apparatus and control method where the at least one processor: retrieves historical application streaming data for the first electronic device; parses the historical application streaming data for the first electronic device to find a most frequently selected application that is initiated after the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device; and identifies the most frequently selected application as the at least one first application (par 0063; discloses at operation 202, the method includes detecting the input performed on the interactive data item associated with the first application displayed on the display screen 112 of the electronic device 100, wherein the interactive data item is associated with at least one functional data item associated with at least one second application; par 0059; discloses the at least one functional data item, associated with the at least one second application, to be displayed is dynamically determined based on at least one of applications frequently used with the first application);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of THELLEERATHU to identify the second application based on the usage history of the first application in order to quickly and effectively identify the second application such that streaming time between the two devices is reduced.
With respect to claim 9, Varoglu as modified by JUNG discloses wherein: to identify the at least one first application for streaming to the second electronic device, (Varoglu; par 0059; discloses in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602);
Varoglu as modified by JUNG doesn’t expressly disclose the at least one processor: retrieves historical application streaming data for a plurality of electronic devices; parses the historical application streaming data to find a most frequently selected application from among the plurality of electronic devices that is initiated after the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device; and identifies, as the at least one first application, the most frequently selected application from among the plurality of electronic devices;
In the same field of endeavor, THELLEERATHU discloses an electronic apparatus and control method where the at least one processor: : retrieves historical application streaming data for a plurality of electronic devices; parses the historical application streaming data to find a most frequently selected application from among the plurality of electronic devices that is initiated after the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device; and identifies, as the at least one first application, the most frequently selected application from among the plurality of electronic devices; (par 0063; discloses at operation 202, the method includes detecting the input performed on the interactive data item associated with the first application displayed on the display screen 112 of the electronic device 100, wherein the interactive data item is associated with at least one functional data item associated with at least one second application; par 0059; discloses the at least one functional data item, associated with the at least one second application, to be displayed is dynamically determined based on at least one of applications frequently used with the first application, frequently used with applications similar to the first application, user selected applications, and system defined applications based on their cross-functional similarities);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of THELLEERATHU to identify the second application based on the usage history of the first application in order to quickly and effectively identify the second application such that streaming time between the two devices is reduced.
With respect to claim 16, Varoglu as modified by JUNG discloses wherein: to identify the at least one first application for streaming to the second electronic device,(Varoglu; par 0059; discloses in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602).);
Varoglu as modified by JUNG doesn’t expressly disclose the method comprises: retrieving historical application streaming data for the first electronic device; parsing the historical application streaming data for the first electronic device to find a most frequently selected application that is initiated after the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device; and identifying the most frequently selected application as the at least one first application;
In the same field of endeavor, THELLEERATHU discloses an electronic apparatus and control method where the method comprises: retrieving historical application streaming data for the first electronic device; parsing the historical application streaming data for the first electronic device to find a most frequently selected application that is initiated after the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device; and identifying the most frequently selected application as the at least one first application; (par 0063; discloses at operation 202, the method includes detecting the input performed on the interactive data item associated with the first application displayed on the display screen 112 of the electronic device 100, wherein the interactive data item is associated with at least one functional data item associated with at least one second application; par 0059; discloses the at least one functional data item, associated with the at least one second application, to be displayed is dynamically determined based on at least one of applications frequently used with the first application);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of THELLEERATHU to identify the second application based on the usage history of the first application in order to quickly and effectively identify the second application such that streaming time between the two devices is reduced.
With respect to claim 18, Varoglu as modified by JUNG discloses wherein: to identify the at least one first application for streaming to the second electronic device, (Varoglu; par 0059; discloses in some embodiments, as part of the service discovery protocol, fixed display system 200 includes information about which applications and permissions are required to receive content stream 602, and fixed display system 200 may also include information related to the content being played (e.g., a unique identifier for the content), the current progress (e.g., how much of the movie has elapsed), the current time and/or a unique identifier for content stream 602 (e.g., that allows content stream source 408 to uniquely identify content stream 602);
Varoglu as modified by JUNG doesn’t expressly disclose the method comprises: retrieving historical application streaming data for a plurality of electronic devices; parsing the historical application streaming data to find a most frequently selected application from among the plurality of electronic devices that is initiated after the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device; and identifying, as the at least one first application, the most frequently selected application from among the plurality of electronic devices;
In the same field of endeavor, THELLEERATHU discloses an electronic apparatus and control method where the method comprises: retrieving historical application streaming data for a plurality of electronic devices; parsing the historical application streaming data to find a most frequently selected application from among the plurality of electronic devices that is initiated after the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device; and identifying, as the at least one first application, the most frequently selected application from among the plurality of electronic devices; (par 0063; discloses at operation 202, the method includes detecting the input performed on the interactive data item associated with the first application displayed on the display screen 112 of the electronic device 100, wherein the interactive data item is associated with at least one functional data item associated with at least one second application; par 0059; discloses the at least one functional data item, associated with the at least one second application, to be displayed is dynamically determined based on at least one of applications frequently used with the first application, frequently used with applications similar to the first application, user selected applications, and system defined applications based on their cross-functional similarities);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of THELLEERATHU to identify the second application based on the usage history of the first application in order to quickly and effectively identify the second application such that streaming time between the two devices is reduced.
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varoglu et al (US Pub 2014/0089992) in view of JUNG et al (US Pub 2015/0113432) and Anderson et al (US Pub 2018/0007546).
With respect to claim 8, Varoglu as modified by JUNG don’t expressly disclose wherein: to identify the at least one first application for streaming to the second electronic device, the at least one processor: monitors a time period between initiation of the at least one second application on the second electronic device and initiation of the at least one first application on the first electronic device; and in response to the time period being less than a threshold time period, automatically streams the at least one first application as a corresponding application to the second electronic device when the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device;
In the same field of endeavor, Anderson discloses monitors a time period between initiation of the at least one second application on the second electronic device and initiation of the at least one first application on the first electronic device; and in response to the time period being less than a threshold time period, automatically streams the at least one first application as a corresponding application to the second electronic device when the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device (par 0022; discloses In another example, default options may include time-based rules, such as automatically allowing content to be shared or rejecting content from being shared if the first clearing device 102 fails to indicate approval or denial within a predetermined period of time);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of Anderson to use the time rules to automatically start sharing content between the two applications in response to user approval or denial in order to implement a secure way of sharing content between plurality of devices.
With respect to claim 17, Varoglu as modified by JUNG don’t expressly disclose wherein: to identify the at least one first application for streaming to the second electronic device, the method further comprises: monitoring a time period between initiation of the at least one second application on the second electronic device and initiation of the at least one first application on the first electronic device; and in response to the time period being less than a threshold time period, automatically streaming the at least one first application as a corresponding application to the second electronic device when the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device;
In the same field of endeavor, Anderson discloses monitoring a time period between initiation of the at least one second application on the second electronic device and initiation of the at least one first application on the first electronic device; and in response to the time period being less than a threshold time period, automatically streams the at least one first application as a corresponding application to the second electronic device when the at least one second application has been initiated on the second electronic device (par 0022; discloses In another example, default options may include time-based rules, such as automatically allowing content to be shared or rejecting content from being shared if the first clearing device 102 fails to indicate approval or denial within a predetermined period of time);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of Anderson to use the time rules to automatically start sharing content between the two applications in response to user approval or denial in order to implement a secure way of sharing content between plurality of devices.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varoglu et al (US Pub 2014/0089992) in view of JUNG et al (US Pub 2015/0113432) and Rangarajan et al (US Pat 11,228,627).
With respect to claim 10, Varoglu as modified by JUNG don’t expressly discloses wherein: to identify the at least one first application for streaming to the second electronic device, the at least one processor: determines if a manual setting that maps the at least one second application to a corresponding at least one first application has been selected; and in response to determining that the manual setting has been selected, identifies the at least one first application for streaming to the second electronic device based on the manual setting;
In the same field of endeavor, Rangarajan discloses system and method for collaboration where Rangarajan discloses determines if a manual setting that maps the at least one second application to a corresponding at least one first application has been selected; and in response to determining that the manual setting has been selected, identifies the at least one first application for streaming to the second electronic device based on the manual setting (col 10; lines 35-59; discloses one or both of the web-service domains 202 may map user account data 204 for the first application 104(1) with user account data 206 for the second application 104(2) to identify which users within the group have subscriptions already associated with respective instances 134 of the second application 104(2). As illustrated, receipt of the second instance 122(2) and Nth instance 122(N) of the application configuration parameters cause the second instance 134(2) and Nth instance 134(N) of the second application 104(2) to also include the file pointer 114. Thus, as a result of the first user sharing the data file 124 into the collaboration object 108, the instances 134 of the second application 104(2) may be automatically updated to provide the other users with who the data file is shared with seamless access to the data file 124 via a completely different application that the one within which the file was shared by the first user. Col 11, lines 4-20; discloses application configuration data may be generated based on whether a user accepts an invitation 304, tentatively accepts an invitation 304, responds to a meeting invitation by proposing a new time, declines a meeting invitation, or so on.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Varoglu as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of Rangarajan to select second application based on the mapping configuration in order to allow content to be accessed and share between completely different applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 13 comprises allowable subject matter and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and when 112(b) rejections are overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1, 11, 19 have been fully considered but they are moot as the arguments do not apply to new reference being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2624