Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/02/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al. (EP 1162072 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto teaches an inkjet recording apparatus (Figure 6, shown below, displays a conventional ink jet recording apparatus described in paragraph [0010].) comprising:
a recording head that records an image by discharging ink to a recording medium being conveyed (Figure 2, shown below, displays a “recording head 22” described in paragraph [0076].);
a waste ink container (Figure 2, shown below, “unit box 31” described as an ink collecting unit in paragraph [0078].) located in such a manner as to face the recording head in a certain direction across a conveyance path of the recording medium (Figure 12, shown below, displays the same “unit box 31” that faces and receives waste ink from a “ink jet recording head 105” from the “carriage 101”. This “ink jet recording head 105” is also displayed in Figure 6, shown below, to print on the “recording paper 107” in a “horizontal scanning direction (direction arrow A)”. Therefore the “unit box 31” faces the “ink jet recording head 105” in a certain direction across the “horizontal scanning direction (direction arrow A)” described in paragraph [0033].), having a reservoir region (Figure 2, shown below, displays a “collecting space 33” described in paragraph [0080].) therein, and storing the ink in the reservoir region, the stored ink being discharged from the recording head and not to be used for recording of the image (Paragraph [0080] describes how most of the waste ink drops ejected from the “recording head 22” is stored at the “collecting space 33”); and
a suction mechanism that sucks gas from the waste ink container (Figure 2, shown below, displays a “ventilation fan 42” described in paragraph [0082].),
wherein the waste ink container includes: a receiving opening for receiving the ink discharged from the recording head (Figure 3, shown below, displays how the ink drops are accepted into the “unit box 31” through the “duct-like opening 25a” described in paragraph [0079]);
a suction opening located at a position spaced at an interval from the receiving opening as viewed from the certain direction and connected to the suction mechanism (Figure 2, shown below, displays a “ventilation fan 42” at the other end of the “unit box 31” and “air flow passage 41” described in paragraph [0082].);
a suction air passage forming communication between the receiving opening and the suction opening to cause a suction airflow to pass therethrough generated in response to driving of the suction mechanism (Figure 2, shown below, display how the “air flow passage 41” forms a connection between the “duct-like opening 25a” and “ventilation fan 42”.); and
a partitioning member located in the reservoir region and defining the suction air passage (Figure 2, shown below, displays several “plate bodies 43” that help shape the “air flow passage 41” described in paragraph [0085]-[0086].), purpose of successfully capturing ink mist
the suction air passage includes a bellows section folded in a bellows shape (Figure 2, shown below, displays how the “plate bodies 43” help the “air flow passage 41” be in a bellows or zig-zag shape.),
the bellows section includes: a first portion causing the suction airflow to flow toward one side in a first direction (Figure 3, shown below, displays a portion of the “air flow passage 41” that is bent horizontally by the first group of “plate bodies 43”, the first portion is marked in green in Figure 3 below.);
a second portion spaced at an interval from the first portion and located on the one side in the first direction with respect to the first portion and causing the suction airflow to flow toward the one side in the first direction (Figure 3, shown below, displays a second set of “plate bodies 43”, marked in blue in Figure 3, of the “air flow passage 41” that still flows in the horizontal direction that is on one side of the first when passing the first section of the “plate bodies 43”); and
a third portion located adjacent to the first portion and the second portion and on one side in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction with respect to the first portion and the second portion, connected to an end of the first portion on the one side in the first direction, connected to an end of the second portion on the other side opposite the one side in the first direction, and causing the suction airflow to flow from the first portion to the second portion Figure 3, shown below, displays a third portion of the “air flow passage 41”, the third portion is marked in red in Figure 3, that is bent vertically when passing the first section of the “plate bodies 43” to the second set of “plate bodies 43”),
the partitioning member includes: a first partitioning section defining the first portion on the one side in the second direction (Figure 1, shown below, displays the first partitioning wall, marked in red in Figure 1, that helps define the first set of “plate bodies 43” that moves the “air flow passage 41” in the horizontal direction.);
a second partitioning section defining the second portion on the one side in the second direction (Figure 1, shown below, displays the second “inner wall body 31c”, marked in green in Figure 1,the second set of “plate bodies 43” that defines the horizontal movement of the “air flow passage 41” arranged vertically.); and
a third partitioning section defining the third portion on the other side opposite the one side in the second direction (Figure 1, shown below, displays the first “inner wall body 31c”, marked in blue in Figure 1,the middle section of the “air flow passage 41” in between the first and second set of “plate bodies 43” arranged vertically.), and the first partitioning section, the second partitioning section, and the third partitioning section overlap each other in the first direction (Figure 1, shown below, displays how all three sections overlap each other with respect of viewing in the horizontal direction.).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto teaches the inkjet recording apparatus according to claim 1, Matsumoto further discloses wherein the first direction is a horizontal direction and the second direction is a top-bottom direction (Figure 2, shown below, displays how the “plate bodies 43” help the “air flow passage 41” first go horizontally then vertically in a repetitive motion.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (EP 1162072 A1) in view of Otana et al. (US 20240131847 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee and joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 3, Matsumoto teaches the inkjet recording apparatus according to claim 2.
Matsumoto fails to teach wherein the partitioning member is composed of a plurality of layers stacked in the second direction, the plurality of layers each has an opening penetrating the corresponding layer in the second direction, space composed of a combination of the respective openings at the plurality of layers is extended from the receiving opening to the suction opening by stacking the plurality of layers in the second direction and forming communication between the openings adjacent to each other in the second direction, and the suction air passage is formed by the space composed of the combination of the respective openings at the plurality of layers.
However, Otana teaches wherein the partitioning member is composed of a plurality of layers stacked in the second direction (Figure 9 displays the “first to sixth absorbing members 36a to 36f” that are stacked described in paragraph [0067]), the plurality of layers each has an opening penetrating the corresponding layer in the second direction (Paragraph [0059] describes how the “ink absorber 36” is made of a porous material and therefore has openings that correspond to the next layer in the vertical direction.), space composed of a combination of the respective openings at the plurality of layers is extended from the receiving opening to the suction opening by stacking the plurality of layers in the second direction and forming communication between the openings adjacent to each other in the second direction, and the suction air passage is formed by the space composed of the combination of the respective openings at the plurality of layers (Figures 10 and 11 display the “suction path 35” is formed by the void space of the “ink absorber 36” described in paragraph [0058]).
Matsumoto and Otana are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an ink jet apparatus with a waste ink unit. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink jet recording apparatus taught by Matsumoto to also apply the partitioning member is composed of a plurality of layers stacked in the second direction, the plurality of layers each has an opening penetrating the corresponding layer in the second direction taught by Otana. This would have been done for the purpose of improving the absorption and retaining of ink (Otana, paragraph [0059]).
It would also be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink jet recording apparatus taught by Matsumoto to also apply a space composed of a combination of the respective openings at the plurality of layers is extended from the receiving opening to the suction opening by stacking the plurality of layers in the second direction and forming communication between the openings adjacent to each other in the second direction, and the suction air passage is formed by the space composed of the combination of the respective openings at the plurality of layers taught by Otana. This would have been done for the purpose of connecting the ink receivers to the suction fan (Otana, paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto teaches the inkjet recording apparatus according to claim 1.
Matsumoto fails to teach wherein the partitioning member is composed of a material to absorb the ink.
However, Otana teaches wherein the partitioning member is composed of a material to absorb the ink (Figure 6 displays an “ink absorber 36” that is composed of a material that can absorb the ink described in paragraph [0059]).
Matsumoto and Otana are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an ink jet apparatus with a waste ink unit. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink jet recording apparatus taught by Matsumoto to also apply the partitioning member is composed of a material to absorb the ink taught by Otana. This would have been done for the purpose of having an open-cell structure capable of absorbing and retaining the ink (Otana, paragraph [0059])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for allowance of claim 4 is the inclusion of the plurality of layers includes: one layer having the opening to function as the first portion and the opening to function as the second portion; the other layer having the opening to function as the third portion; and an intermediate layer located between the one layer and the other layer in the second direction, and forming communication between the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion, and the first partitioning section, the second partitioning section, and the third partitioning section are provided in the intermediate layer.
Conclusion
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853