DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-5, 8-12, 14 and 18-20 are under examination, as directed to Example 1 of Table 1, including species microcrystalline cellulose of claim 3. Claim 6, 7, 15-17 are withdrawn. Withdrawn claim 13 is rejoined. While Claims 11-13 were previously noted to be allowable, this was incorrect as they depended from rejected claim 1 and are noted to be objected to.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 21, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 8-10, 14, 18, 19 and 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2014/043208 A1 (WO 208). See below.
Applicant's arguments filed July 21, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1-5, 8-10, 14 and 18-20 remain rejected under WO 208 reference in view of WO 2008064202A2 (“WO 202”). See below.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 8-10, 14, and 18-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2014/043208 A1 (“WO 208” – cited on 7/2/2024 IDS, 2nd FOR reference).
Examined claim 1 requires a tablet formulation of a granulate co-precipitate of enzalutamide (ENZ) in amorphous form and a cellulosic concentration enhancing polymer selected from hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS) and hydroxypropylmethylcellulose phthalate (HPMCP); a substrate comprising a sugar alcohol (mannitol), microcrystalline cellulose, (MCC), or mixtures thereof, where the weight ratio of enzalutamide to polymer is in the range of 1 : 2 : 0.5 to 1: 6 : 5, respectively.
In terms of claim interpretation, the specification teaches co-precipitation of enzalutamide (ENZ) and a polymer (such HMPCAS) at step a) of the process of page 9. See also claim 11, step a). While the specification notes the tablet comprises a granulate formed by co-precipitation of ENZ and HMPCAS, claim 1 is interpreted to be a tablet formulation comprising a granulate (whether formed by the art recognized process of co-precipitation or not), with the required enzalutamide in granule with a polymer (HPMCAS) and a substrate of microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) in the claimed ratio range of 1 : 2 : 0.5 to 1: 6 : 5, respectively.
Further, the specification recognizes the unique challenges of formulating enzalutamide, where it states “Enzalutamide is a BCS class II2 compound, exhibiting low solubility [in water, i.e., aqueous solvents] and high permeability [easily pass thru cell membranes and are easily absorbed by the body].” See specification at page 2, lines 5-6.
Prior art recognizing these tablet limitations and recognizing the unique challenges of formulating enzalutamide tablets would have been relevant to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) in the obviousness analysis.
To address the recognized low solubility issue, WO 208 teaches formulating “a suitable single tablet of reasonable size comprising the prescribed amount of enzalutamide and having suitable and advantageous solubility and/or dissolution stability and absorption would be advantageous as a suitable alternative to soft capsules.” Id. at paragraph 5.
As required by claim 1’s co-precipitate limitation, WO 208 teaches an enzalutamide (amorphous form) dissolved in solvent with a polymer such as HPMCAS in the presence of a substrate, MCC, in tablet form, where the taught ENZ : HPMCAS (polymer) : MCC (substrate) ratio falls with the range of claim 1. See Example 14, Table 14.1 on page 64 reproduced below.
While not specifically recited by claim 1, it is noted that ENZ and the concentration enhancing polymer HPMCAS component of claim 1 is formed by dissolving both in acetone. See page 9, step a) of the process recited therein. See also process claim 11, step a).
Similar to this process, WO 208 recognized the solubility issue of enzalutamide, dissolves it with acetone, and/or mixtures with water. See paragraphs 79, 145, and Example 2 entitled (Preparation of enzalutamide dispersions with concentration enhancing polymers [example used therein HPMCAS].
The below claim chart highlights examined claim 1’s limitations and how they are taught by Table 14.1 of WO 208.
Instant Claim 1 Limitations
Table 14.1. Tablet Composition
tablet composition comprising
a granulate consisting of a co-precipitate (comprises amorphous enzalutamide (ENZ) and a polymer, hydroxypropylmethylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS) on a substrate
266.7 grams of 60% amorphous (A) enzalutamide(ENZ) / HPMCAS-M-SDD (spray dry dispersions)
The ENZ SDD was formed dissolving it with acetone along with the polymer HPMCAS, as per claims 36, 37 and 38.
wherein the substrate comprises a sugar alcohol, microcrystalline cellulose, or
mixtures thereof; and
See Example 14, Table 14.1 noting the presence of 94.8 grams microcrystalline cellulose (MCC, aka Avicel® PH102)
wherein the weight ratio of enzalutamide to the cellulosic concentration enhancing polymer to the substrate is within the range of 1:2:0.5 to 1:6:5, respectively.
See Table 14.1 with 60% of enzalutamide, or 160.2 grams (60% of 267.7 grams total) with
106.8 grams of the polymer HPMCAS (40% of 267.7 grams total) with
94.8 grams microcrystalline cellulose substrate in a weight ratio as follows,
160.2 g ENZ : 106.8 g HPMCAS : 94.8 g MCC
This ratio of about 1.6 : 1 : 0.95 (or about 1 : 0.67 : 0.67) is in contrast to the claimed ratio of claim 1. 1 : 2 : 0.5 to 1 :6 : 5.
While Table 14.1 does not teach the exact ratio of ENZ : polymer (e.g., HPMCAS or HPMCP) : substrate as claimed, per MPEP 2144.05 I.-II.3, it would be prima facie obvious for a PHOSITA to adjust the ranges of the particular ratios of ENZ : polymer ratio as taught WO 208. Paragraph 88 of WO 208 teaches such adjustment of range, as well as a basis to adjust such ranges as follows.
“[t]he amount of concentration-enhancing polymer relative to the amount of enzalutamide present in the dispersions may vary widely. The composition of enzalutamide/polymer dispersions is expressed, for example, as 25%A:HPMCAS-M, where 25%A means "25% active" and the dispersion contains 25% (by weight) enzalutamide and 75% (by weight) hydroxypropylmethylcellulose acetate succinate M-grade. In enzalutamide dispersions described herein, the enzalutamide content is generally greater than 20%A; in some embodiments, from 25%A to 75%A; in some embodiments, from 50%A to 70%A. For a specific concentration-enhancing polymer, the enzalutamide/polymer ratio that yields optimum results is best determined in in vitro dissolution tests and/or in vivo bioavailability tests.
Note, where WO 208, paragraph 88, teaches an ENZ: polymer ratio 25%: 75% or 1:3 falls within the claimed range ratio of ENZ to HPMCA.
While Table 14.1 does not teach a granulate co-precipitate of amorphous enzalutamide and a polymer such as HPMCAS with other excipients, a PHOSITA would formulate such a granulate with a reasonable expectation of success as it discloses granules for formulation into tablets as taught in WO 208 as follows.
WO 208 claim 95 teaches a process for manufacturing enzalutamide and polymer tablets where (1) a solid dispersion of enzalutamide and polymer is formed, (2) the solid dispersion of enzalutamide and polymer is mixed with additives to form a granulating mixture and (3) tableting the mixture. See claim 94.
Further, WO 208 teaches its spray dried dispersion post solidification, stays as a solid powder in its spray drying chamber to further evaporate solvent from it. See paragraph 81. Subsequently, the dried powder is preferably sprayed with a solvent or polymer solution or other excipient to form granules. Id. at paragraph 81. Note that paragraph 81 discloses the spraying of polymer or other excipient into the spraying drying chamber to form granules, where it would be with the purview of a PHOSITA to routinely optimize a spraying of a co-precipitate of polymer, ENZ and substate, where the ENZ and polymer co-precipitate when sprayed with a substate would form the claimed granulate consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate.
Alternatively, the tablet formulation of Table 14.1, while being a dry powder direct compression, methods of forming solid pharmaceutical composition as granulate via dry granulation are also routine for a PHOSITA to routinely optimize to predictably arrive at the claimed invention. See paragraph 151. The granulate of claims 1 and 14, consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate, could be formed by the dry granulation of paragraph 151, where the dry mixing and granulation of co-precipitate with an excipient/substrate would result in the claimed granulate consisting of co-precipitate on a substrate.
A PHOSITA would routinely optimize the teachings of Table 14.1 as per the granulation methods of as per claim 95 and paragraphs 81 and 151.
At the time the present application was filed, it would have been prima facie obvious to a PHOSITA following the teachings of WO 208 to have 1) arrived at the claimed enzalutamide: polymer : substrate and 2) to formulate the composition of WO 208’s Table 14.1 via dry granulation as claimed in order to arrive at the tablet formulation of instant claim 1. A rationale to do so would be the combination of prior art elements (teachings of tablet of Table 14.1) combined with known methods (adjust of ranges ENZ and polymer, and known methods to granulate to form solid dosage forms such as tablet compression) to predictably arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3 and the limitation of microcrystalline cellulose as a substrate, WO 208 teaches MCC at Table 14.1 as discussed above.
Regarding claims 4-5 and the limitation of disintegrant, such as croscarmellose sodium, this is taught by WO 208 in Table 14.1.
Regarding claims 8-9 and the limitations of where the tablet further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, such as diluents, disintegrants, glidants and lubricants, these limitations are taught by WO 208 in Table 14.1.
WO 208 teaches that examples of diluents include these two ingredients of Table 14.1, lactose. See paragraph 124.
WO 208 teaches that colloidal silicon dioxide of Table 14.1 is a glidant. See paragraphs 93 and 119.
WO 208 teaches croscarmellose sodium of Table 14.1 is a disintegrant. See claim 33.
WO 208 teaches the known lubricant, magnesium stearate of Table 14.1. See paragraph 115 for examples of lubricant including Mg stearate.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, it is noted that with regard to a dissolution rate of less than 15% in 30 minutes (notably not at 30 minutes) when tested at the claimed pH of 1.2, Example 25 and Figs. 3-4 note that starting at a time period of 0 minutes and at 0% dissolution rate, but before the 30 minute limitation, rates of dissolution are less than 15% before reaching about 20% at 30 minutes.
Regarding claims 10 and 20 and the limitation of at least a 75% dissolution rate in 90 minutes, at Fig. 4 of WO 208 the 1:3 ratio formulation approaches and if not reaches the claimed dissolution rate at a pH 6.8, to what is claimed. Regarding claim 20 and the limitation of 80 mg ENZ, WO 208 teaches a dose from about 0.0001 to about 100 mg/kg per day, as well as a dosage form of 40 to 160 mg of ENZ per unit dosage form. See paragraphs 25-26. See MPEP 2144.05 (Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges).
Regarding claim 14 and its granulate consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate, as detailed above, WO 208 discloses such a granulate as detailed in the claim chart comparing claim 1 to Table 14.1, where each of the elements of the granulate of claim 14 is disclosed, such as ENZ, HPMCAS and a surfactant such as MCC, in the claimed weight ratio.
Instant Claim 1 Limitations
Table 14.1. Tablet Composition
tablet composition comprising
a granulate consisting of a co-precipitate (comprises amorphous enzalutamide (ENZ) and a polymer, hydroxypropylmethylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS) on a substrate
266.7 grams of 60% amorphous (A) enzalutamide(ENZ) / HPMCAS-M-SDD (spray dry dispersions)
The ENZ SDD was formed dissolving it with acetone along with the polymer HPMCAS, as per claims 36, 37 and 38.
wherein the substrate comprises a sugar alcohol, microcrystalline cellulose, or
mixtures thereof; and
See Example 14, Table 14.1 noting the presence of 94.8 grams microcrystalline cellulose (MCC, aka Avicel® PH102)
wherein the weight ratio of enzalutamide to the cellulosic concentration enhancing polymer to the substrate is within the range of 1:2:0.5 to 1:6:5, respectively.
See Table 14.1 with 60% of enzalutamide, or 160.2 grams (60% of 267.7 grams total) with
106.8 grams of the polymer HPMCAS (40% of 267.7 grams total) with
94.8 grams microcrystalline cellulose substrate in a weight ratio as follows,
160.2 g ENZ : 106.8 g HPMCAS : 94.8 g MCC
This ratio of about 1.6 : 1 : 0.95 (or about 1 : 0.67 : 0.67) is in contrast to the claimed ratio of claim 1. 1 : 2 : 0.5 to 1 :6 : 5.
While Table 14.1 does not teach the exact ratio of ENZ : polymer (e.g., HPMCAS or HPMCP) : substrate as claimed, per MPEP 2144.05 I.-II.4, it would be routine for a PHOSITA to adjust the ranges of the particular ratios of ENZ : polymer ratio as taught WO 208. Paragraph 88 of WO 208 teaches such adjustment of range, as well as a basis to adjust such ranges as follows.
“[t]he amount of concentration-enhancing polymer relative to the amount of enzalutamide present in the dispersions may vary widely. The composition of enzalutamide/polymer dispersions is expressed, for example, as 25%A:HPMCAS-M, where 25%A means "25% active" and the dispersion contains 25% (by weight) enzalutamide and 75% (by weight) hydroxypropylmethylcellulose acetate succinate M-grade. In enzalutamide dispersions described herein, the enzalutamide content is generally greater than 20%A; in some embodiments, from 25%A to 75%A; in some embodiments, from 50%A to 70%A. For a specific concentration-enhancing polymer, the enzalutamide/polymer ratio that yields optimum results is best determined in in vitro dissolution tests and/or in vivo bioavailability tests.
Note, where WO 208, paragraph 88, teaches an ENZ: polymer ratio 25%: 75% or 1:3 falls within the claimed range ratio of ENZ to HPMCA.
While Table 14.1 does not teach a granulate co-precipitate of amorphous enzalutamide and a polymer such as HPMCAS with other excipients, a PHOSITA would formulate such a granulate so with a reasonable expectation of success as it discloses granulates for formulation into tablets as taught in WO 208 as follows.
WO 208 claim 95 teaches a process for manufacturing enzalutamide and polymer tablets where (1) a solid dispersion of enzalutamide and polymer is formed, (2) the solid dispersion of enzalutamide and polymer is mixed with additives to form a granulating mixture and (3) tableting the mixture.
Further, WO 208 teaches its spray dried dispersion post solidification, stays as a solid powder in its spray drying chamber to further evaporate solvent from it. See paragraph 81. Subsequently, the dried powder is preferably sprayed with a solvent or polymer solution or other excipient to form granules. Id. at paragraph 81. Note that paragraph 81 discloses the spraying of polymer or other excipient into the spraying drying chamber to form granulate, where it would be with the purview of a PHOSITA to routinely optimize a spraying of a co-precipitate of polymer, ENZ and substate, where the ENZ and polymer co-precipitate when sprayed with a substate would form the claimed granulate consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate.
Alternatively, the tablet formulation of Table 14.1, while being a dry powder direct compression, methods of forming solid pharmaceutical composition such as granules via dry granulation are also routine for a PHOSITA to routinely optimize to predictably arrive at the claimed invention. See paragraph 151.
The granulate of claims 1 and 14, consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate, could be formed by the dry granulation of paragraph 151, where the dry mixing and granulation of co-precipitate with an excipient/substrate would result in the claimed granulate consisting of co-precipitate on a substrate.
A PHOSITA would routinely optimize the teachings of Table 14.1 as per the granulation methods of as per claim 95 and paragraphs 81 and 151.
At the time the present application was filed, it would have been prima facie obvious to a PHOSITA following the teachings of WO 208 to have 1) arrived at the claimed enzalutamide: polymer : substrate and 2) to formulate the composition of Table 14.1 via dry granulation as claimed in order to arrive at the tablet formulation of claim 1. A rationale to do so would be the combination of prior art elements (teachings of tablet of Table 14.1) combined with known methods (adjust of ranges ENZ and polymer, and known methods to granulate to form solid dosage forms such as tablet compression) to predictably arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 18 is directed to the granulate wherein the weight ratio of enzalutamide: polymer: substrate is 1:3:1 to 1:5:3, respectively.
This ratio of about 1.6 : 1 : 0.95 (or about 1 : 0.67 : 0.67) is taught above, see Table 14.1.
While Table 14.1 does not teach the exact ratio of ENZ : polymer (e.g., HPMCAS or HPMCP) : substrate as claimed, per MPEP 2144.05 I.-II.5, it would be routine for a PHOSITA to adjust the ranges of the particular ratios of ENZ : polymer ratio as taught WO 208. Paragraph 88 of WO 208 teaches such adjustment of range, as well as a basis to adjust such ranges as follows.
“[t]he amount of concentration-enhancing polymer relative to the amount of enzalutamide present in the dispersions may vary widely. The composition of enzalutamide/polymer dispersions is expressed, for example, as 25%A:HPMCAS-M, where 25%A means "25% active" and the dispersion contains 25% (by weight) enzalutamide and 75% (by weight) hydroxypropylmethylcellulose acetate succinate M-grade. In enzalutamide dispersions described herein, the enzalutamide content is generally greater than 20%A; in some embodiments, from 25%A to 75%A; in some embodiments, from 50%A to 70%A. For a specific concentration-enhancing polymer, the enzalutamide/polymer ratio that yields optimum results is best determined in in vitro dissolution tests and/or in vivo bioavailability tests.
Note, where WO 208, paragraph 88, teaches an ENZ: polymer ratio 25%: 75% or 1:3 falls within the claimed range ratio of ENZ to HPMCA.
While Table 14.1 does not teach a granulate co-precipitate of amorphous enzalutamide and a polymer such as HPMCAS with other excipients, a PHOSITA would formulate such a granulate so with a reasonable expectation of success as it discloses granulates for formulation into tablets as taught in WO 208 as follows.
WO 208 claim 95 teaches a process for manufacturing enzalutamide and polymer tablets where (1) a solid dispersion of enzalutamide and polymer is formed, (2) the solid dispersion of enzalutamide and polymer is mixed with additives to form a granulating mixture and (3) tableting the mixture.
Further, WO 208 teaches its spray dried dispersion post solidification, stays as a solid powder in its spray drying chamber to further evaporate solvent from it. See paragraph 81. Subsequently, the dried powder is preferably sprayed with a solvent or polymer solution or other excipient to form granules. Id. at paragraph 81. Note that paragraph 81 discloses the spraying of polymer or other excipient into the spraying drying chamber to form granulate, where it would be with the purview of a PHOSITA to routinely optimize a spraying of a co-precipitate of polymer, ENZ and substate, where the ENZ and polymer co-precipitate when sprayed with a substate would form the claimed granulate consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate.
Alternatively, the tablet formulation of Table 14.1, while being a dry powder direct compression, methods of forming solid pharmaceutical composition such as granules via dry granulation are also routine for a PHOSITA to routinely optimize to predictably arrive at the claimed invention. See paragraph 151.
The granulate of claims 1 and 14, consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate, could be formed by the dry granulation of paragraph 151, where the dry mixing and granulation of co-precipitate with an excipient/substrate would result in the claimed granulate consisting of co-precipitate on a substrate.
A PHOSITA would routinely optimize the teachings of Table 14.1 as per the granulation methods of as per claim 95 and paragraphs 81 and 151.
Regarding claim 19 and the limitation the ENZ tablet comprising the granulate of claim 14, the claimed ENZ tablet and granulate are rendered obvious as explained in the rejection of claims 1 and 14. With regard to the limitations of one or more extragranular excipients (diluents, disintegrants and lubricants), Table 14.1 teaches these excipients as follows.
WO 208 teaches that examples of diluents include these two ingredients of Table 14.1, lactose. See paragraph 124.
WO 208 teaches that colloidal silicon dioxide of Table 14.1 is a glidant. See paragraphs 93 and 119.
WO 208 teaches croscarmellose sodium of Table 14.1 is a disintegrant. See claim 33.
WO 208 teaches the known lubricant, magnesium stearate of Table 14.1. See paragraph 115 for examples of lubricant including Mg stearate.
Consistent with the non-final office action, claims 11-13, directed to process claims, remain free of the closest prior art, WO ‘208, of this obviousness rejection.
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 14 and 18-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A1 (“WO 208”) reference in view of WO 2008064202A2 (“WO 202”).
WO 208 is cited on the 7/2/2024 IDS, 2nd FOR WO 202 is cited on the PTO 892 form.
While WO 208 teaches the limitations of claims 1, 3-5, 8-10, 14, and 18-20 as detailed above, it does not teach claim 2 and where the species of sugar alcohol component of the substrate is mannitol.
Mannitol as a substrate of co-precipitation process is well known. See WO 202 page 8, lines 11-16. WO 202 discloses “Other hydrophilic or hydrophobic materials acceptable for the preparation of solid dispersions are well within the scope of this invention without limitation as long as these materials improve the solubility properties of the active.” See page 8, lines 19-22.
At the time the present application was filed, it would have been prima facie obvious to a PHOSITA following the teachings of WO 208 to have 1) arrived at the claimed enzalutamide: polymer : substrate and 2) to formulate the composition of WO 208’s Table 14.1 via dry granulation as claimed in order to arrive at the tablet formulation of instant claim 1, where 3) the art discloses mannitol is known to be co-precipitation substrate. A rationale to do so would be the combination of prior art elements (teachings of tablet of Table 14.1) combined with known methods (adjustment of ranges ENZ and polymer, and known methods to granulate to form solid dosage forms such as tablet compression), where mannitol is known as a co-precipitation substrate, to predictably arrive at the claimed invention.
REPONSE TO ATTORNEY ARGUMENTS:
Previously, claims 11-13 were said to be allowable. This was in an error as they depend from rejected claim 1. Therefore, they are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
The Attorney response states the Examiner claim construction, ignores Applicant’s claim language and re quired definition per the patent’s description. It is in error and cites to MPEP 2111, citing to In re Cortright, regarding the broadest reasonable interpretation standard is NOT the broadest possible interpretation, but rather, where claim construction is consistent with the use of the claim term in the specification and consistent with a skilled artisan’s interpretation. The Examiner’s claim construction gives improper meaning to the claim terms of co-precipitate, on and substrate; and the Examiner’s claim construction is in error, that claim 1 merely lists ingredients. See generally the Attorney response starting at page 2 to page 7.
The Attorney response distinguishes the present invention’s granules from the prior art, the invention is a "granulate consisting of a co-precipitate (that comprises amorphous enzalutamide (ENZ) and polymer, e.g., HMCP) on a substrate," not taught by WO 208. See page 2 of the response.
The Attorney response states the co-precipitate to be “on”, carried by the substrate, not touching it as “substrate” is conventionally understood to be a substratum, an underlying support or foundation, citing to the specification’s description of “spraying the solution of [ENZ] . . . and the . . . . polymer over the substrate and subsequently drying.” See also the filed specification criticizing the prior art solid dispersions (specification page 5 bridging to page 6).
Starting at page 5 of the Attorney response, Applicant argues WO 208 spray drying does not involve a substrate and the spray dried dispersion itself is not a granulate, as solvent is removed via spray drying (via atomization) to dry enough so form a solid, arguing a substrate is not present and the particles result a dry fine powder before reaching a substrate.
In response, Applicant’s disclosure supports a method preparing the co-precipitate as exemplified by objected to, pending claim 11, steps a)-c). Claim 11 recites a tablet composition comprising a granulate consisting of a coprecipitate on a substrate, wherein the co-precipitate comprises enzalutamide in amorphous form and a cellulosic concentration enhancing polymer selected from HPMCAS) and HPMCP.
Regarding claim 1, WO 208 teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a solid dispersion containing amorphous ENZ and a polymer. See claim 82, where the polymer is HMPACS and HPMMC. See claims 83-86.
Regarding the substrate limitation of claim 1, such as microcrystalline cellulose (MCC), WO 208 teaches MCC as an example of a filler/matrix/diluent.
Regarding the limitation of where the co-precipitate comprising amorphous ENZ and polymer (HPMCAS or HPMCP) is on a substrate, WO 208 teaches method of formulating a pharmaceutical composition involving preparing a solid dispersion of ENZ and polymer, where it is mixed and granulated, in one particular embodiment with one or more additive and granulating the mixture, and afterwards tableting the granules. See claims 93-95, in particular claim 95.
Further, WO 208 teaches methods granulation as per claim 95 and paragraphs 81 and 151. Note that unlike claim 11 (process NOT rejected for obviousness over WO 208), there is no explicit limitation requiring a spraying on (deposited step), but rather a co-precipitate on a substrate. Note that paragraph 81 discloses the spraying of polymer or other excipient into the spraying drying chamber to form granules, where it would be with the purview of a PHOSITA to routinely optimize a spraying of a co-precipitate of polymer, ENZ and substate, where the ENZ and polymer co-precipitate when sprayed with a substate would form the claimed granulate consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate. Further, the granulate of claims 1 and 14, consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate, could be formed by the dry granulation of paragraph 151, where the dry mixing and granulation of co-precipitate with an excipient/substrate would result in the claimed granulate consisting of co-precipitate on a substrate.
Applicant states the claimed invention is properly construed with regard to “substrate”, “on” and “co-precipitate,” and as defined by the specification, is not taught or suggested by the dry granulation teaching of spray dispersions in WO 208.
In response, the claims directed either to the claimed tablet or claimed granulate, do not explicitly recite the non-rejected process steps of claim 11.
Process claims 11-13 are not rejected by the teachings of WO 208, and currently only objected as being dependent upon a rejected claim 1. Pending claim 1 does not recite the process claims 11-13 steps, where such claims would be otherwise allowable but for depending upon rejected claim 1.
The Attorney response states that the reliance of paragraph 81 of WO 208 is misguided and dubious, quoting the last sentence to support a position that it seeks to preserve an already formed solid dispersion particle, where the dispersion is not adversely affected, where Applicant argues this does not teach its claimed co-precipitate.
In response, the Attorney response distinguishes a spray drying method different from what is recited in objected claims 11-13 process. An amendment of claim 1 recites the particular steps of a)-c) to form the co-precipitated granule would overcome the rejection of claim 1 over WO 208. With regard to, to the Attorney response regarding reliance upon paragraph 81, while Applicant states the phrase “ the dispersion is not adversely affected,” teaches away from the claimed co-precipitate, there is no indication from WO 208 as to what constitutes how the solid dispersion is or is not adversely affected by the spray drying process.
Further, claim 95 of WO 208 teaches preparing the solid dispersion of ENZ and polymer, mixing and/or granulating the solid dispersion with one or more additives (fillers/diluents/matrix materials such as microcrystalline cellulose, see paragraph 124) and granulating the mixture for eventual tableting. The process of claim 95 outlines a similar process by to which Applicant uses as a process to arrive at the granulate of claim 1 consisting of a co-precipitate on a substrate.
The Attorney response states dependent claims 10 and 20 are further unobvious over WO 208. The Attorney response references its November 12, 2025, Appeal Brief at pages 13-14, stating WO 208 demonstrates that the required dissolution is not inherent.
Referencing its Appeal Brief, the Attorney response states that Example 25 and Figs. 3 and 4 of WO 208 support its argument that those tablets do not meet the claimed dissolution.
Applicant’s Appeal Brief noted that Fig. 3 demonstrates all tablets releasing more than 15% in 30 minutes, i.e. 25% or more release by 30 minutes. The Appeal Brief states Fig. 4 shows just under 20% released in 30 minutes. The Examiner does not dispute these findings. Rather, it is noted the language of claims 10 and 20 recite the 15% dissolution occurs in 30 minutes, and not necessarily at 30 minutes. Both Figs. 3 and 4 demonstrate less than 15% dissolution along the concentration vs. time curves, as both note 0% dissolution at time point zero (within 30 minutes) and along the X and Y plot of the each of the curves of both, prior to the 30 minute time point, values between 0 % and less than 15 % dissolution rate would be demonstrated as required by claims 10 and 20.
With regard to an initial starting pH of 1.5 and later increased to a pH of 6.8 for Figs. 3 and 4, it is assumed by the Examiner this was done by the inventors of WO 208 to simulate passage along the GI tract, starting with the acidic stomach conditions of pH 1.5 initially, and then switching to a pH of about 6.8 after 30 minutes, to simulate conditions of the small intestinal tract as a tablet is digested by a subject’s GI system. It is noted that claims 10 and 20 claim the same pH of 6.8 at later time point, as tested for in WO 208 Example 25 and Figs. 3-4.
While the Attorney notes that only 3 formulations of Fig.3. and one formulation of Fig 4 achieves a dissolution rate higher than 60% after 30 minutes, the fact that one formulation (1:3 ratio) approaches if not reaches the claimed time period meets the limitations of claims 10 and 20.
With regard to claim 2, the Attorney response states for the same reasons claim 1 is nonobvious over WO 208 above apply to claim 2. The Attorney response states WO 202 is not a further substrate but equivalent of the concentration polymer.
In response, claim 2 requires the substrate is a sugar alcohol such as mannitol. Mannitol is a known sugar alcohol (polyol) per Hugenholtz.6 Page 469, column 1, last paragraph.
Accordingly, Applicants arguments are unpersuasive, so the obviousness rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
At this time, no claims are allowed. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/WILLIAM Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623
1 This application is a CON of Application No. 17765934, which has been issued as US 12728096, that claims earliest foreign priority to EP 19201339.9 with a priority date of 10/03/2019.
2 See Pion webpage “What are BCS Class I drugs?” accessed Dec 7 2024, reproduced below.
https://www.pion-inc.com/blog/what-are-bcs-class-ii-drugs#:~:text=BCS%20stands%20for%20Biopharmaceutics%20Classification,high%20permeability%20but%20low%20solubility.
3 See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions [R-01.2024]
OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS
ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
4 See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions [R-01.2024]
OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS
ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
5 See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions [R-01.2024]
OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS
ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
6 Jeroen Hugenholtz, The lactic acid bacterium as a cell factory for food ingredient production,
International Dairy Journal, Volume 18, Issue 5, 2008, Pages 466-475, ISSN 0958-6946,
https://doi.org/10.1016/j.idairyj.2007.11.015.
(https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0958694607002385)