Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the priority benefit of US provisional application No. 63/524,811 filed on July 3, 2023 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 5, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Dependent claim 16 recites “determine a second tank temperature using one of the one or more thermistors; determine to heat the water tank using the gas heating system based on the second tank temperature; and send second instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve to the open position.” (emphasis added)
Dependent claim 15, from which claim 16 directly depends from, recites “one or more thermistors disposed in the water tank and configured to determine tank temperatures different than the first tank temperature.”
Independent claim 11, from which claim 16 indirectly depends from, recites “receive the first tank temperature from the valve assembly, the first tank temperature generated by the temperature probe; determine the first tank temperature does not satisfy the temperature setting; and send instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve from the closed position to the open position.” (Emphasis added)
Recognizing that the second tank temperature is different from the first tank temperature, if the gas valve has already transitioned from the closed position to the open position when the first tank temperature was determined in independent claim 11, why would instructions be sent to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve from the open position to the open position? Claim 16 does not specify from what position the gas valve transitions from. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art can only determine that the transition in claim 16 occurs from the open position to open position, which would not make sense.
For purposes of examination, the claim will be construed as “send second instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve from the open position to the closed position.”
Appropriate correction through claim amendment is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murahashi et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2002/0146241 A1) (“Murahashi”) in view of Knoeppel et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0142922 A1) (“Knoeppel”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Murahashi teaches:
A method for controlling a hybrid water heater, the method comprising: … the hybrid water heater comprising a heat pump system and a gas heating system, Murahashi: Paragraph [0003] (“The present invention relates to a hybrid water heater in which a combustor for heating water is combined with an electrical heating unit having a hot water tank.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0008] (“According to the present invention, in a hybrid water, an electrical heating unit and a combustion heating unit are disposed to heat water to be stored in a hot water tank. The combustion heating unit includes a combustor for heating water in a chamber. The chamber has a first water port at an upper side, through which heated water flows from the camber into an upper side in the hot water tank, and a second water port at a lower side, through which water at a lower side in the hot water tank flows into the camber. In the hybrid water heater, the hot water tank and the chamber are disposed to communicate with each other through the first water port and the second water port, in such a manner that the water heated in the chamber is stored in the hot water tank at the upper side using natural convection due to a temperature increase of the water in the chamber.”)
…
a gas valve in fluid communication with a gas line connected to a burner in thermal communication with the water tank, and Murahashi: Paragraph [0024] (“A gas combustor 25 is provided in the hot-water tank unit 10. In the gas combustor 25, gas (e.g., city gas) is supplied into a combustion chamber 27 through a gas pipe 26, and is ignited by an ignition device 28. The gas from the gas pipe 26 is mixed with combustion air blown by an electrical blower 29 in the combustion chamber 27, for burning.”) [At least one of the solenoid valves reads on “a gas valve”. The gas pipe reads on “a gas line”.]
a temperature probe adapted to extend into the water tank, the gas valve adapted to transition between an open position and a closed position; Murahashi: Paragraph [0028] (“In the hot water tank 12 extending in the vertical direction, plural temperature sensors (e.g., five sensors in FIG. 1) 36 each detecting the temperature of water therein are provided at different height positions in the vertical direction, respectively. A temperature distribution (temperature gradient) of water in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction can be determined using detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36. That is, using the detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36, it can be determined whether or not hot water having a predetermined temperature (e.g., 60° C.) or higher is smaller than a necessary amount in the hot water tank 12. Accordingly, it can determine whether or not hot water is in a deficient state in the hot water tank 12.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0031] (“At the step S110, the gas combustor 25 starts operation of gas combustion. Specifically, both the solenoid valves 31, 32 are opened, and the ignition device 28 and the electrical blower 29 are operated, so that the gas combustion of the gas combustor 25 is performed.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0033] (“At step S130, both solenoid valves 31, 32 of the gas combustor 25 are closed, and the electrical blower 29 is stopped, so that the gas combustion in the gas combustor 25 is stopped.”) [The temperature sensors projecting into the hot water tank as shown in FIG. 1 read on “a temperature probe adapted to extend into the water tank”. The solenoid valves opening or closing reads on “the gas valve adapted to transition between an open position and a closed position”.]
requesting a first tank temperature from the valve assembly; receiving the first tank temperature from the valve assembly, the first tank temperature generated by the temperature probe; determining to heat the water tank using the gas heating system based on the first tank temperature; sending instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve from the closed position to the open position; requesting a second tank temperature from the valve assembly; receiving the second tank temperature from the valve assembly, the second tank temperature generated by the temperature probe; determining the second tank temperature satisfies the temperature setting; and sending instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve to the closed position. Murahashi: Paragraph [0028] [As described above.] Murahashi: Paragraph [0030] (“As shown in FIG. 3, first, it is determined whether or not the hot water is deficient in the hot water tank 12 at step S100. Specifically, the temperature gradient (temperature distribution) of water in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction is determined using the detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36 arranged in the vertical direction in the hot water tank 12. Then, it is determined, based on the determined temperature distribution (gradient), whether or not the amount of the hot water having a temperature equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature (e.g., 60° C.) is larger than a necessary amount in the hot water tank 12. When the amount of the hot water in the hot water tank 12 is larger than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, it is determined that the amount of the hot water is sufficient in the hot water tank 12, and a control routine is ended.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0031] (“On the other hand, when the amount of the hot water having a temperature equal to or higher than the predetermined temperature is smaller than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, it is determined that the hot water is deficient, and a control program proceeds to step S110. At the step S110, the gas combustor 25 starts operation of gas combustion. Specifically, both the solenoid valves 31, 32 are opened, and the ignition device 28 and the electrical blower 29 are operated, so that the gas combustion of the gas combustor 25 is performed. Next, at step S120, it is determined whether or not the hot-water deficient state is eliminated in the hot water tank 12. That is, at step S120, it is determined whether or not the amount of the hot water having the temperature equal to or higher than the predetermined temperature is recovered larger than the necessary amount. This determination at step S120 can be performed based on the temperature distribution in the vertical direction in the hot water tank 12 as described at step S100.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0032] (“The gas combustion operation of the gas combustor 25 is continued until the hot-water deficiency is eliminated in the ECU 38. The water in the lower side portion of the water-heating chamber 30 is mainly heated by the gas combustion. When the temperature of the heated water is increased, and the mass density of the heated water is reduced. Therefore, the heated water is moved upward in the water-heating chamber 30 by natural convection, and the high-temperature hot water in the upper side part of the water-heating chamber 30 flows from the hot water port 35 into the upper side in the hot water tank 12. Thus, the high-temperature hot water is gradually stored in the upper side of the hot water tank 12. This hot-water supply from the water-heating chamber 30 to the hot water tank 12 is similar to the case where the high-temperature hot water heated in the heat pump unit 11 is supplied from the hot water port 14 into the upper side in hot water tank 12. Accordingly, even when the high-temperature hot water flows from the water-heating chamber 30 into the hot water tank 12, a temperature boundary between the high-temperature hot water and the low-temperature water is not disturbed in the hot water tank 12.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0033] (“The water temperature in the hot water tank 12 is increased by using the water-heating operation and the hot-water circulation operation due to the gas combustion. When it is determined that the hot-water deficient state is eliminated at step S120, the control program proceeds to step S130. At step S130, both solenoid valves 31, 32 of the gas combustor 25 are closed, and the electrical blower 29 is stopped, so that the gas combustion in the gas combustor 25 is stopped.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0034] (“In the first embodiment, when it is determined that the amount of hot water is reduced equal to or lower than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, the combustion operation of the gas combustor 25 is started, so that water in the water-heating chamber 30 is heated by the combustion operation of the gas combustor 25.”) [The determination of the temperature of the water in the water tank before opening the solenoid valves reads on “requesting of a first tank temperature from the valve assembly”. The temperature sensors at different height positions in the water tank reading temperature distribution in the vertical direction reads on “the first tank temperature generated by the temperature probe”. The determination of the temperature of the water in the water tank being smaller or lower than the predetermined temperature reads on “determining to heat the water tank using the gas heating system based on the first tank temperature”. The operation of the gas combustor to open the solenoid valves in response to the temperature being smaller or lower than the predetermined temperature reads on “sending instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve from the closed position to the open position”. The determination of the temperature of the water after the opening of the solenoid valves reads on “requesting a second tank temperature from the valve assembly”. The temperature sensors at different height positions in the water tank reading temperature distribution in the vertical direction reads on “the second tank temperature generated by the temperature probe”. The determination of the temperature of the water in the water tank being larger than the predetermined temperature reads on “determining the second tank temperature satisfies the temperature setting”. The closing of the solenoid valves reads on “transition the gas valve to the closed position.”]
The first embodiment of Murahashi does not expressly teach “determining, by a controller, a temperature setting for a water tank of the hybrid water heater, … the gas heating system including a valve assembly comprising a valve controller,…”. However, Knoeppel describes a hybrid water heater. Knoeppel teaches:
… determining, by a controller, a temperature setting for a water tank of the hybrid water heater, … Knoeppel: Paragraph [0020] (“Once the water temperature sensor indicates that the water has reached the desired temperature, the assembly 130 shuts off fuel flow to the burner 155, and the water heater 100 is in “standby mode” until the water temperature again drops to the point where the assembly 130 should again provide fuel to the burner 155.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0028] (“In the hot water tank 12 extending in the vertical direction, plural temperature sensors (e.g., five sensors in FIG. 1) 36 each detecting the temperature of water therein are provided at different height positions in the vertical direction, respectively. A temperature distribution (temperature gradient) of water in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction can be determined using detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36. That is, using the detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36, it can be determined whether or not hot water having a predetermined temperature (e.g., 60° C.) or higher is smaller than a necessary amount in the hot water tank 12. Accordingly, it can determine whether or not hot water is in a deficient state in the hot water tank 12.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0029] (“As shown in FIG. 2, detection signals from a sensor group 24, 33, 36 and the like and operation signals from an operation panel 37 are inputted to an electronic control unit (ECU) 38. Then, the ECU 38 controls operation of each equipment 11, 23, 28, 29, 31, 32 shown in FIG. 1 by performing a predetermined operational process based on the input signals.”) [Based on the predetermined temperature or the predetermined operational process based on the input signals reads on “determining, by a controller, a temperature setting for a water tank of the hybrid water heater”.]
the gas heating system including a valve assembly comprising a valve controller, Knoeppel: Paragraph [0017] (“The gas valve assembly 130 selectively controls the flow of fuel to internal components of the water heater 100 via the gas manifold 140.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0018] (“FIG. 2 illustrates a sectional view of a bottom portion of the water heater 100 according to some embodiments. As illustrated, the water heater 100 further includes a water temperature sensor 145 configured to measure the fluid within the water tank 105. The water heater 100 further includes a combustion chamber 150. A burner 155 within the combustion chamber 150 receives fuel controlled by the gas valve assembly 130. The burner 155 burns a mixture of the fuel and air to create the products of combustion that flow up through the flue 120 to heat the fluid within the water tank 105.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0024] (“The input/output module (I/O) module 215 provides a communication link between controller 205 and various components of the water heater 100, such as but not limited to, the gas valve assembly 130 and one or more temperature sensors 240. In some embodiments, the I/O module 215 further provides a communication link between controller 205 and external devices (for example, an external computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, etc.). The communication links may be wired and/or wireless. In some embodiments, the wireless communication link may be, but are not limited to, a radio frequency (RF) communications link, a Bluetooth communications link, and a WiFi communications link.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0025] (“In some embodiment, the gas valve assembly 130 may further include a gas valve, or main gas valve, 245 and a pilot gas valve 250. Gas valves 245, 250 are electronically controlled gas valves of the gas valve assembly 130 configured to control the flow of fuel. In some embodiments the gas valves 245, 250 are biased in a closed position. In such an embodiment, the gas valves 245, 250 open, and thus permit the flow of fuel, when a control signal is received from the controller 205. In some embodiments, the main gas valve 245 is configured to control the flow of fuel to the main gas burner 155, while the pilot gas valve 250 is configured to control the flow of fuel to the pilot burner 185.”) [The gas valve assembly in communication with a controller controlling fuel reads on “a valve assembly comprising a valve controller”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Murahashi and Knoeppel before them, to determine, by a controller, a temperature setting for a water tank of the hybrid water heater, the gas heating system including a valve assembly comprising a valve controller because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on hybrid water heaters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would further define the different components that are included in a hybrid water heater. Knoeppel further defines different electrical and electronic components associated with a hybrid water heater in communication including wireless communication. Knoeppel Paragraphs [0021]-[0025]
Regarding claim 2, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Knoeppel further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the controller is in wireless communication with the valve controller. Knoeppel: Paragraphs [0024] and [0025] [As described in claim 1.] [The wireless communication between the controller and the gas valve assembly selectively controlling reads on “the controller is in wireless communication with the valve controller.”]
The motivation to combine Murahashi and Knoeppel as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 3, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 2, from which claim 3 depends. Knoeppel further teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the valve controller is adapted to receive the request for the first tank temperature and to send the first tank temperature to the controller. Knoeppel: Paragraphs [0024], [0025], [0028], and [0029] [As described in claim 1.]
The motivation to combine Murahashi and Knoeppel as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 4, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 2, from which claim 4 depends. Knoeppel further teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the valve controller is adapted to receive the instructions to transition the gas valve from the closed position to the open position and to cause the gas valve to transition from the closed position to the open position. Knoeppel: Paragraphs [0024] and [0025] [As described in claim 1.] [The change from the closed position to the open position of the gas valves in response to a control signal from the controller reads on “receive the instructions to transition the gas valve from the closed position to the open position and to cause the gas valve to transition from the closed position to the open position”.]
The motivation to combine Murahashi and Knoeppel as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 5, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 5 depends. Murahashi further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a third tank temperature using one of one or more thermistors disposed in the water tank of the hybrid water system. Murahashi: Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] [As described in claim 1.] Murahashi: FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0023] (“The temperature adjusting valve 23 adjusts a mixing ratio between the high-temperature hot water (e.g., 60-90° C.) stored in the hot water tank 12 and low-temperature water from the water pipe 21 a, so that the temperature of hot water to be supplied can be suitably adjusted. In the first embodiment, the temperature adjusting valve 23 is driven by an actuator such as a motor, and its valve position is automatically adjusted based a temperature detected by a temperature sensor (thermistor) 24 for detecting the temperature of the mixed water. Thus, the temperature of the mixed water from the hot water pipe 22 and the water pipe 21 a can be maintained at a target temperature.”) [The monitoring of another temperature of water in the hot water tank and continued combustion operation until the hot-water deficiency is eliminated based on the temperature sensor (thermistor) or continuously reads on “determining a third tank temperature using one of one or more thermistors disposed in the water tank of the hybrid water system”.]
Regarding claim 6, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 6 depends. Murahashi further teaches:
The method of claim 5, further comprising: determining to heat the water tank using the gas heating system based on the third tank temperature; and sending second instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve to the open position. Murahashi: Paragraphs [0030]-[0034] [As described in claim 1.] Murahashi: FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0023] [As described in claim 5.] Murahashi: Paragraph [0049] (“At step S 120, it is determined whether or not the hot-water deficient state is eliminated. That is, at step S120, it is determined whether or not the amount of the hot water having the predetermined high temperature is recovered to be equal to or more than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, based on the temperature distribution in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction. The combustion operation of the gas combustor 25 and the closing state of the control valve 39 set at the step S110 a are continued until the hot-water deficient state is eliminated in the hot water tank 12.”)
Regarding claim 7, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 7 depends. Knoeppel further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving the temperature setting from a remote controller. Knoeppel: Paragraph [0024] (“The input/output module (I/O) module 215 provides a communication link between controller 205 and various components of the water heater 100, such as but not limited to, the gas valve assembly 130 and one or more temperature sensors 240. In some embodiments, the I/O module 215 further provides a communication link between controller 205 and external devices (for example, an external computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, etc.). The communication links may be wired and/or wireless.”) [An external computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, etc. read on “a remote controller”.]
The motivation to combine Murahashi and Knoeppel as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 8, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 7, from which claim 8 depends. Knoeppel further teaches:
The method of claim 7, wherein the remote controller is a smartphone in wireless communication with the controller. Knoeppel: Paragraph [0024] [As described in claim 7.]
The motivation to combine Murahashi and Knoeppel as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding independent claim 11, Murahashi teaches:
A hybrid water heater system comprising: a water tank configured to hold a volume of water; a gas heating system comprising a burner configured to be in fluid communication with a gas line and to heat the water tank; a heat pump system configured to heat the water tank; and Murahashi: Paragraph [0003] (“The present invention relates to a hybrid water heater in which a combustor for heating water is combined with an electrical heating unit having a hot water tank.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0008] (“According to the present invention, in a hybrid water, an electrical heating unit and a combustion heating unit are disposed to heat water to be stored in a hot water tank. The combustion heating unit includes a combustor for heating water in a chamber. The chamber has a first water port at an upper side, through which heated water flows from the camber into an upper side in the hot water tank, and a second water port at a lower side, through which water at a lower side in the hot water tank flows into the camber. In the hybrid water heater, the hot water tank and the chamber are disposed to communicate with each other through the first water port and the second water port, in such a manner that the water heated in the chamber is stored in the hot water tank at the upper side using natural convection due to a temperature increase of the water in the chamber.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0024] (“A gas combustor 25 is provided in the hot-water tank unit 10. In the gas combustor 25, gas (e.g., city gas) is supplied into a combustion chamber 27 through a gas pipe 26, and is ignited by an ignition device 28. The gas from the gas pipe 26 is mixed with combustion air blown by an electrical blower 29 in the combustion chamber 27, for burning.”)
a controller… Murahashi: Paragraph [0029] (“As shown in FIG. 2, detection signals from a sensor group 24, 33, 36 and the like and operation signals from an operation panel 37 are inputted to an electronic control unit (ECU) 38. Then, the ECU 38 controls operation of each equipment 11, 23, 28, 29, 31, 32 shown in FIG. 1 by performing a predetermined operational process based on the input signals.”)
…
request a first tank temperature from a valve assembly, … Murahashi: Paragraph [0030] (“As shown in FIG. 3, first, it is determined whether or not the hot water is deficient in the hot water tank 12 at step S100. Specifically, the temperature gradient (temperature distribution) of water in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction is determined using the detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36 arranged in the vertical direction in the hot water tank 12. Then, it is determined, based on the determined temperature distribution (gradient), whether or not the amount of the hot water having a temperature equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature (e.g., 60° C.) is larger than a necessary amount in the hot water tank 12. When the amount of the hot water in the hot water tank 12 is larger than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, it is determined that the amount of the hot water is sufficient in the hot water tank 12, and a control routine is ended.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0031] (“On the other hand, when the amount of the hot water having a temperature equal to or higher than the predetermined temperature is smaller than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, it is determined that the hot water is deficient, and a control program proceeds to step S110. At the step S110, the gas combustor 25 starts operation of gas combustion. At the step S110, the gas combustor 25 starts operation of gas combustion. Specifically, both the solenoid valves 31, 32 are opened, and the ignition device 28 and the electrical blower 29 are operated, so that the gas combustion of the gas combustor 25 is performed.”) [The determination of the temperature of the water in the water tank before opening the solenoid valves reads on “request a first tank temperature from a valve assembly”.] a gas valve in fluid communication with the gas line, and Murahashi: Paragraph [0024] (“A gas combustor 25 is provided in the hot-water tank unit 10. In the gas combustor 25, gas (e.g., city gas) is supplied into a combustion chamber 27 through a gas pipe 26, and is ignited by an ignition device 28. The gas from the gas pipe 26 is mixed with combustion air blown by an electrical blower 29 in the combustion chamber 27, for burning.”) [At least one of the solenoid valves reads on “a gas valve”. The gas pipe reads on “a gas line”.]
a temperature probe adapted to extend into the water tank, the gas valve configured to transition between an open position and a closed position; Murahashi: Paragraph [0028] (“In the hot water tank 12 extending in the vertical direction, plural temperature sensors (e.g., five sensors in FIG. 1) 36 each detecting the temperature of water therein are provided at different height positions in the vertical direction, respectively. A temperature distribution (temperature gradient) of water in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction can be determined using detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36. That is, using the detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36, it can be determined whether or not hot water having a predetermined temperature (e.g., 60° C.) or higher is smaller than a necessary amount in the hot water tank 12. Accordingly, it can determine whether or not hot water is in a deficient state in the hot water tank 12.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0031] (“At the step S110, the gas combustor 25 starts operation of gas combustion. Specifically, both the solenoid valves 31, 32 are opened, and the ignition device 28 and the electrical blower 29 are operated, so that the gas combustion of the gas combustor 25 is performed.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0033] (“At step S130, both solenoid valves 31, 32 of the gas combustor 25 are closed, and the electrical blower 29 is stopped, so that the gas combustion in the gas combustor 25 is stopped.”) [The temperature sensors projecting into the hot water tank as shown in FIG. 1 read on “a temperature probe adapted to extend into the water tank”. The solenoid valves opening or closing reads on “the gas valve adapted to transition between an open position and a closed position”.]
receive the first tank temperature from the valve assembly, the first tank temperature generated by the temperature probe; determine the first tank temperature does not satisfy the temperature setting; and send instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve from the closed position to the open position. Murahashi: Paragraph [0028] (“In the hot water tank 12 extending in the vertical direction, plural temperature sensors (e.g., five sensors in FIG. 1) 36 each detecting the temperature of water therein are provided at different height positions in the vertical direction, respectively. A temperature distribution (temperature gradient) of water in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction can be determined using detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36. That is, using the detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36, it can be determined whether or not hot water having a predetermined temperature (e.g., 60° C.) or higher is smaller than a necessary amount in the hot water tank 12. Accordingly, it can determine whether or not hot water is in a deficient state in the hot water tank 12.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0030] (“As shown in FIG. 3, first, it is determined whether or not the hot water is deficient in the hot water tank 12 at step S100. Specifically, the temperature gradient (temperature distribution) of water in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction is determined using the detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36 arranged in the vertical direction in the hot water tank 12. Then, it is determined, based on the determined temperature distribution (gradient), whether or not the amount of the hot water having a temperature equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature (e.g., 60° C.) is larger than a necessary amount in the hot water tank 12. When the amount of the hot water in the hot water tank 12 is larger than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, it is determined that the amount of the hot water is sufficient in the hot water tank 12, and a control routine is ended.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0031] (“On the other hand, when the amount of the hot water having a temperature equal to or higher than the predetermined temperature is smaller than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, it is determined that the hot water is deficient, and a control program proceeds to step S110. At the step S110, the gas combustor 25 starts operation of gas combustion. Specifically, both the solenoid valves 31, 32 are opened, and the ignition device 28 and the electrical blower 29 are operated, so that the gas combustion of the gas combustor 25 is performed. Next, at step S120, it is determined whether or not the hot-water deficient state is eliminated in the hot water tank 12. That is, at step S120, it is determined whether or not the amount of the hot water having the temperature equal to or higher than the predetermined temperature is recovered larger than the necessary amount. This determination at step S120 can be performed based on the temperature distribution in the vertical direction in the hot water tank 12 as described at step S100.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0032] (“The gas combustion operation of the gas combustor 25 is continued until the hot-water deficiency is eliminated in the ECU 38. The water in the lower side portion of the water-heating chamber 30 is mainly heated by the gas combustion. When the temperature of the heated water is increased, and the mass density of the heated water is reduced. Therefore, the heated water is moved upward in the water-heating chamber 30 by natural convection, and the high-temperature hot water in the upper side part of the water-heating chamber 30 flows from the hot water port 35 into the upper side in the hot water tank 12. Thus, the high-temperature hot water is gradually stored in the upper side of the hot water tank 12. This hot-water supply from the water-heating chamber 30 to the hot water tank 12 is similar to the case where the high-temperature hot water heated in the heat pump unit 11 is supplied from the hot water port 14 into the upper side in hot water tank 12. Accordingly, even when the high-temperature hot water flows from the water-heating chamber 30 into the hot water tank 12, a temperature boundary between the high-temperature hot water and the low-temperature water is not disturbed in the hot water tank 12.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0033] (“The water temperature in the hot water tank 12 is increased by using the water-heating operation and the hot-water circulation operation due to the gas combustion. When it is determined that the hot-water deficient state is eliminated at step S120, the control program proceeds to step S130. At step S130, both solenoid valves 31, 32 of the gas combustor 25 are closed, and the electrical blower 29 is stopped, so that the gas combustion in the gas combustor 25 is stopped.”) Murahashi: Paragraph [0034] (“In the first embodiment, when it is determined that the amount of hot water is reduced equal to or lower than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, the combustion operation of the gas combustor 25 is started, so that water in the water-heating chamber 30 is heated by the combustion operation of the gas combustor 25.”) [The temperature sensors at different height positions in the water tank reading temperature distribution in the vertical direction reads on “the first tank temperature generated by the temperature probe”. The determination of the temperature of the water in the water tank being smaller or lower than the predetermined temperature reads on “determine the first tank temperature from the valve assembly does not satisfy the temperature setting”. The operation of the gas combustor to open the solenoid valves in response to the temperature being smaller or lower than the predetermined temperature reads on “send instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve from the closed position to the open position”.]
Murahashi does not expressly teach that the controller “comprising memory configured to store computer-executable instructions, and at least one computer processor configured to access memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to: determine a temperature setting for the water tank; … the valve assembly comprising a valve controller…”. However, Knoeppel describes a hybrid water heater. Knoeppel teaches:
a controller comprising memory configured to store computer-executable instructions, and at least one computer processor configured to access memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to: Knoeppel: Paragraph [0021] (“FIG. 3 illustrates a block diagram of a control system 200 of the water heater 100 and/or the gas valve assembly 130 according to some embodiments. The control system 200 includes a controller 205 electrically and/or communicatively coupled to, a power supply 210 and an input/output module 215. The controller 205 includes a plurality of electrical and electronic components that provide power, operational control, and protection to the components and modules within the controller 205 and/or the water heater 100. For example, the controller 205 includes, among other things, a processing unit 225 (e.g., a microprocessor, a microcontroller, or another suitable programmable device) and a memory 230. In some embodiments, the controller 205 is implemented partially or entirely on a printed circuit board or a semiconductor (e.g., a field-programmable gate array [“FPGA”] semiconductor) chip, such as a chip developed through a register transfer level (“RTL”) design process.”)
determine a temperature setting for the water tank; … Knoeppel: Paragraph [0020] (“Once the water temperature sensor indicates that the water has reached the desired temperature, the assembly 130 shuts off fuel flow to the burner 155, and the water heater 100 is in “standby mode” until the water temperature again drops to the point where the assembly 130 should again provide fuel to the burner 155.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0028] (“In the hot water tank 12 extending in the vertical direction, plural temperature sensors (e.g., five sensors in FIG. 1) 36 each detecting the temperature of water therein are provided at different height positions in the vertical direction, respectively. A temperature distribution (temperature gradient) of water in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction can be determined using detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36. That is, using the detection signals from the plural temperature sensors 36, it can be determined whether or not hot water having a predetermined temperature (e.g., 60° C.) or higher is smaller than a necessary amount in the hot water tank 12. Accordingly, it can determine whether or not hot water is in a deficient state in the hot water tank 12.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0029] (“As shown in FIG. 2, detection signals from a sensor group 24, 33, 36 and the like and operation signals from an operation panel 37 are inputted to an electronic control unit (ECU) 38. Then, the ECU 38 controls operation of each equipment 11, 23, 28, 29, 31, 32 shown in FIG. 1 by performing a predetermined operational process based on the input signals.”) [Based on the predetermined temperature or the predetermined operational process based on the input signals reads on “determining a temperature setting for the water tank”.]
the valve assembly comprising a valve controller,… Knoeppel: Paragraph [0017] (“The gas valve assembly 130 selectively controls the flow of fuel to internal components of the water heater 100 via the gas manifold 140.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0018] (“FIG. 2 illustrates a sectional view of a bottom portion of the water heater 100 according to some embodiments. As illustrated, the water heater 100 further includes a water temperature sensor 145 configured to measure the fluid within the water tank 105. The water heater 100 further includes a combustion chamber 150. A burner 155 within the combustion chamber 150 receives fuel controlled by the gas valve assembly 130. The burner 155 burns a mixture of the fuel and air to create the products of combustion that flow up through the flue 120 to heat the fluid within the water tank 105.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0024] (“The input/output module (I/O) module 215 provides a communication link between controller 205 and various components of the water heater 100, such as but not limited to, the gas valve assembly 130 and one or more temperature sensors 240. In some embodiments, the I/O module 215 further provides a communication link between controller 205 and external devices (for example, an external computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, etc.). The communication links may be wired and/or wireless. In some embodiments, the wireless communication link may be, but are not limited to, a radio frequency (RF) communications link, a Bluetooth communications link, and a WiFi communications link.”) Knoeppel: Paragraph [0025] (“In some embodiment, the gas valve assembly 130 may further include a gas valve, or main gas valve, 245 and a pilot gas valve 250. Gas valves 245, 250 are electronically controlled gas valves of the gas valve assembly 130 configured to control the flow of fuel. In some embodiments the gas valves 245, 250 are biased in a closed position. In such an embodiment, the gas valves 245, 250 open, and thus permit the flow of fuel, when a control signal is received from the controller 205. In some embodiments, the main gas valve 245 is configured to control the flow of fuel to the main gas burner 155, while the pilot gas valve 250 is configured to control the flow of fuel to the pilot burner 185.”) [The gas valve assembly in communication with a controller controlling fuel reads on “a valve assembly comprising a valve controller”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Murahashi and Knoeppel before them, for the controller of Murahashi to include a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions, and at least one computer processor configured to access memory and execute the computer-executable instructions and to determine a temperature setting for a water tank, the gas heating system including a valve assembly comprising a valve controller because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on hybrid water heaters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would further define the different components that are included in a hybrid water heater. Knoeppel further defines different electrical and electronic components associated with a hybrid water heater in communication including wireless communication. Knoeppel Paragraphs [0021]-[0025]
Regarding claim 12, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 11, from which claim 12 depends. Murahashi further teaches:
The system of claim 11, … the valve controller is configured to cause the temperature probe to generate the first tank temperature and cause the gas valve to transition from the closed position to the open position. Murahashi: Paragraphs [0028] and [0030]-[0032] [As described in claim 11.]
Murahashi does not expressly teach that the controller is in wired or wireless communication with the valve controller of the valve assembly. However, Knoeppel teaches:
wherein the controller is in wired or wireless communication with the valve controller of the valve assembly and… Knoeppel: Paragraphs [0024] and [0025] [As described in claim 11.] [The wireless communication between the controller and the gas valve assembly selectively controlling reads on “the controller is in wireless communication with the valve controller.”]
The motivation to combine Murahashi and Knoeppel as provided in claim 11 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 13, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 12, from which claim 13 depends. Murahashi further teaches:
The system of claim 12, wherein the instructions are sent by the controller to the valve controller to cause the valve controller to transition the gas valve from the closed position to the open position. Murahashi: Paragraphs [0028] and [0030]-[0034] [As described in claim 11.] [The determination of the temperature of the water in the water tank being larger than the predetermined temperature to close the solenoid valves reads on “cause the valve controller to transition the gas valve from the closed position to the open position.”]
Regarding claim 14, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 12, from which claim 14 depends. Murahashi further teaches:
The system of claim 12, wherein the valve controller is configured to receive the request for the first tank temperature and to send the first tank temperature to the controller. Knoeppel: Paragraphs [0024], [0025], [0028], and [0029] [As described in claim 11.]
The motivation to combine Murahashi and Knoeppel as provided in claim 11 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 15, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 11, from which claim 15 depends. Murahashi further teaches:
The system of claim 11, further comprising one or more thermistors disposed in the water tank and configured to determine tank temperatures different than the first tank temperature. Murahashi: Paragraphs [0030]-[0033] [As described in claim 1.] Murahashi: FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0023] (“The temperature adjusting valve 23 adjusts a mixing ratio between the high-temperature hot water (e.g., 60-90° C.) stored in the hot water tank 12 and low-temperature water from the water pipe 21 a, so that the temperature of hot water to be supplied can be suitably adjusted. In the first embodiment, the temperature adjusting valve 23 is driven by an actuator such as a motor, and its valve position is automatically adjusted based a temperature detected by a temperature sensor (thermistor) 24 for detecting the temperature of the mixed water. Thus, the temperature of the mixed water from the hot water pipe 22 and the water pipe 21 a can be maintained at a target temperature.”) [The monitoring of another temperature of water in the hot water tank and continued combustion operation until the hot-water deficiency is eliminated based on the temperature sensor (thermistor) or continuously reads on “determine tank temperatures different than the first tank temperature”.]
Regarding claim 16, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 15, from which claim 16 depends. Murahashi further teaches:
The system of claim 15, wherein the at least one computer processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: determine a second tank temperature using one of the one or more thermistors; determine to heat the water tank using the gas heating system based on the second tank temperature; and send second instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve to the open position. Murahashi: Paragraphs [0030]-[0034] [As described in claim 11.] Murahashi: FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0023] [As described in claim 15.] Murahashi: Paragraph [0049] (“At step S 120, it is determined whether or not the hot-water deficient state is eliminated. That is, at step S120, it is determined whether or not the amount of the hot water having the predetermined high temperature is recovered to be equal to or more than the necessary amount in the hot water tank 12, based on the temperature distribution in the hot water tank 12 in the vertical direction. The combustion operation of the gas combustor 25 and the closing state of the control valve 39 set at the step S110 a are continued until the hot-water deficient state is eliminated in the hot water tank 12.”) [The determination of the temperature of the water using at least one of the thermistors after the closing of the solenoid valves reads on “determine a second tank temperature using one of the one or more thermistors”. After the closing, the operation of the gas combustor to open the solenoid valves in response to the temperature being larger than the predetermined temperature reads on “send second instructions to the valve assembly to transition the gas valve from the open position to the closed position.” (per 35 USC 112(b) interpretation.)]
Regarding claim 17, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 11, from which claim 17 depends. Knoeppel further teaches:
The system of claim 11, wherein the at least one computer processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to receive the temperature setting from a remote controller. Knoeppel: Paragraph [0024] (“The input/output module (I/O) module 215 provides a communication link between controller 205 and various components of the water heater 100, such as but not limited to, the gas valve assembly 130 and one or more temperature sensors 240. In some embodiments, the I/O module 215 further provides a communication link between controller 205 and external devices (for example, an external computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, etc.). The communication links may be wired and/or wireless.”) [An external computer, a laptop, a tablet, a smartphone, etc. read on “a remote controller”.]
The motivation to combine Murahashi and Knoeppel as provided in claim 11 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 18, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 17, from which claim 18 depends. Knoeppel further teaches:
The system of claim 17, wherein the remote controller is a smartphone in wireless communication with the controller. Knoeppel: Paragraph [0024] [As described in claim 17.]
The motivation to combine Murahashi and Knoeppel as provided in claim 11 is incorporated herein.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murahashi, Knoeppel, and in view of Teng et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0024944 A1) (“Teng”).
Regarding claim 9, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 9 depends. Murahashi and Knoeppel do not expressly teach the features of claim 9. However, Teng describes a temperature algorithm for a hybrid water heater. Teng teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the temperature setting is determined based on user input generated by a touchscreen display of the hybrid water heater. Teng: Paragraph [0019] (“For example, the input/output devices 215 may include a touch screen, a speaker, buttons, and the like to receive user input regarding the operation of the water heater system 100 (for example, a temperature set point at which water is to be delivered from the water tank 105).”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Murahashi, Knoeppel, and Teng before them, for the temperature setting to be determined based on user input generated by a touchscreen display of the hybrid water heater because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on hybrid water heaters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification to provide a means to and enable a user to define a desired temperature using an input/output device that can include a touch screen. Teng Paragraph [0019]
Regarding claim 19, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 11, from which claim 19 depends.
Murahashi and Knoeppel do not expressly teach the features of claim 19. However, Teng describes a temperature algorithm for a hybrid water heater. Teng teaches:
The system of claim 11, wherein the temperature setting is determined based on user input generated by a touchscreen display of the hybrid water heater. Teng: Paragraph [0019] (“For example, the input/output devices 215 may include a touch screen, a speaker, buttons, and the like to receive user input regarding the operation of the water heater system 100 (for example, a temperature set point at which water is to be delivered from the water tank 105).”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Murahashi, Knoeppel, and Teng before them, for the temperature setting to be determined based on user input generated by a touchscreen display of the hybrid water heater because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on hybrid water heaters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification to provide a means to and enable a user to define a desired temperature using an input/output device that can include a touch screen. Teng Paragraph [0019]
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murahashi, Knoeppel, and in view of Bahar et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2015/0114829 A1) (“Bahar”).
Regarding claim 10, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 10 depends. Murahashi and Knoeppel do not expressly teach the features of claim 10. However, Bahar describes an electromechanical compressor type heat pump for a hybrid hot water heater. Bahar teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the heat pump system comprises a compressor, an evaporator, a condenser, and an expansion valve. Bahar: Abstract (“The electrochemical compressor may be configured in a hot water heater along with a secondary type heating source to produce a hybrid hot water heater.”) Bahar: Paragraph [0014] [“A hot water heater may be configured with an electrochemical compressor, as described herein. Water within the hot water heater may be in thermal communication with the condenser and thereby extract heat from the condenser, A condenser of the electrochemical compressor may be configured at least partially within a hot water heater, or a thermal communication device, such as a heat sink may couple the condenser with the water within the tank. An electrochemical compressor, as described herein may further conduit to create a closed loop system that may incorporate an expansion valve couple with an evaporator, wherein the device is configured as a heat pump. The heat pump may be configured at least partially within a hot water heater. In an exemplary embodiment, the condenser is configured inside a hot water heater, whereby heat is transferred from the condenser to the water within the hot water heater and the evaporator is configured outside of the hot water heater.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Murahashi, Knoeppel, and Bahar before them, for the heat pump system comprises a compressor, an evaporator, a condenser, and an expansion valve because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on hybrid water heaters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because Bahar explains that in hybrid hot water heaters, vapor compression heat pump cycles generally utilizes five important components. The first is a mechanical compressor that is used to pressurize a gaseous working fluid. After proceeding through the compressor, the hot pressurized working fluid is condensed in a condenser. The latent heat of vaporization of the working fluid is given up to a high temperature reservoir often called the sink. The liquefied working fluid is then expanded at substantially constant enthalpy in a thermal expansion valve or orifice. The cooled liquid working fluid is then passed through an evaporator In the evaporator, the working fluid absorbs its latent heat of vaporization from a low temperature reservoir often called a source. Bahar Paragraph [0007]
Regarding claim 20, Murahashi and Knoeppel teach all the claimed features of claim 11, from which claim 20 depends.
Murahashi and Knoeppel do not expressly teach the features of claim 20. However, Bahar describes an electromechanical compressor type heat pump for a hybrid hot water heater. Bahar teaches:
The system of claim 11, wherein the heat pump system comprises a compressor, an evaporator, a condenser, and an expansion valve. Bahar: Abstract (“The electrochemical compressor may be configured in a hot water heater along with a secondary type heating source to produce a hybrid hot water heater.”) Bahar: Paragraph [0014] [“A hot water heater may be configured with an electrochemical compressor, as described herein. Water within the hot water heater may be in thermal communication with the condenser and thereby extract heat from the condenser, A condenser of the electrochemical compressor may be configured at least partially within a hot water heater, or a thermal communication device, such as a heat sink may couple the condenser with the water within the tank. An electrochemical compressor, as described herein may further conduit to create a closed loop system that may incorporate an expansion valve couple with an evaporator, wherein the device is configured as a heat pump. The heat pump may be configured at least partially within a hot water heater. In an exemplary embodiment, the condenser is configured inside a hot water heater, whereby heat is transferred from the condenser to the water within the hot water heater and the evaporator is configured outside of the hot water heater.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Murahashi, Knoeppel, and Bahar before them, for the heat pump system comprises a compressor, an evaporator, a condenser, and an expansion valve because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on hybrid water heaters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because Bahar explains that in hybrid hot water heaters, vapor compression heat pump cycles generally utilizes five important components. The first is a mechanical compressor that is used to pressurize a gaseous working fluid. After proceeding through the compressor, the hot pressurized working fluid is condensed in a condenser. The latent heat of vaporization of the working fluid is given up to a high temperature reservoir often called the sink. The liquefied working fluid is then expanded at substantially constant enthalpy in a thermal expansion valve or orifice. The cooled liquid working fluid is then passed through an evaporator In the evaporator, the working fluid absorbs its latent heat of vaporization from a low temperature reservoir often called a source. Bahar Paragraph [0007]
It is noted that any citations to specific paragraphs or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 211233343U to Chen describes a gas-electric hybrid water heater, which comprises a water inlet pipe, a gas heat exchanger, a hot water outlet pipe, a water inlet temperature probe, a central controller, a water flow sensor, a water pump, a water outlet temperature probe, a water storage tank and an auxiliary heating device; the water inlet temperature probe is arranged on the water inlet pipe; the water flow sensor is arranged on a water path of the water heater; the water pump is arranged on a water way of the water heater; the water outlet temperature probe is arranged on the hot water outlet pipe; the water storage tank is arranged at the outlet end of the hot water outlet pipe; the auxiliary heating device is an electric heating device and is connected with the central controller, and the central controller controls the auxiliary heating device to be switched on or switched off. The utility model provides a gas-electric hybrid water heater with multiple heating methods and capable of selecting one or more heating methods for heating.
US Patent Publication No. 2013/0042635 A1 to Nelson et al. describes a method for heating water delivered and stored in a water heater storage tank includes activating at least one of dual fuel heater types in response to various modes of operation. The water heater is preferably a dual fuel or hybrid heat pump gas water heater that includes a heat pump as the first type of heater for heating the water, and a gas burner as the second type of heater that transfer heat to the water. One or more sensors monitor water temperature and communicate with a controller to activate one of, or both of, the first and second types of heaters. If there is an electrical power outage, the hybrid heat pump gas water heater is still able to heat the water.
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117