DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US6523863 (“Ishiwata”).
Regarding claim 1, Ishiwata discloses an alignment guiding structure for quick coupler a for correcting radial offset existing between a male (11) and a female coupler (10), the alignment guiding structure comprising a rigid guiding sleeve (12) having an engaging end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) and a guiding end (tapered top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) and internally defining a guiding passage (opening extending through sleeve member 12) extended between the engaging end and the guiding end; the engaging end being a closed end (closed via threading engagement with member 11) having an engaging bore (bore within which male coupler 11 fixedly is engaged) communicable with the guiding passage; the male coupler being inserted into and assembled to the guiding sleeve via the engaging bore (see fig. 1); the guiding end being an open end defining a guiding bore (bore which accepts mating end of female coupler 10) communicable with the guiding passage and having a free end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) formed into a beveled guiding surface (tapered interior surface of sleeve 12, which accepts female coupler 10); and the female coupler being guided by the beveled guiding surface at the guiding end of the guiding sleeve to move into the guiding passage and connectable to the male coupler end to end (see assembly of fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Ishiwata discloses the male coupler (11) is connected to the guiding sleeve (12) in a way of tight fitting (see figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Ishiwata discloses wherein the guiding passage (passage defined by interior surface of guiding sleeve 12) of the guiding sleeve (12) is internally provided with a limiting platform (abutment shoulder against which bottom end of female sleeve 30 abuts, relative to the orientation of fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiwata, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of DE3840144 (“Weinhold”).
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 6, Ishiwata discloses the invention as claimed except for the guiding sleeve being provided on an outer surface with a penetrating bore, which extends radially through the guiding sleeve and is communicable with the guiding passage;
a locating element inserted into the guiding passage via the penetrating bore to assemble to the guiding sleeve; the locating element in the guiding passage limiting the male coupler from inserting axially too deep into the guiding passage via the engaging bore of the guiding sleeve; and
wherein the locating element is a screw.
Weinhold teaches (see fig. 3) a guiding sleeve (11) provided on an outer surface with a penetrating bore (threaded bore which receives worm screw 4 to fix sleeve 11 and coupler 2 together), which extends radially through the guiding sleeve and is communicable with a guiding passage (interior passage of sleeve 11);
a locating element (4) inserted into the guiding passage via the penetrating bore to assemble to the guiding sleeve;
the locating element in the guiding passage limiting the coupler from inserting axially too deep into the guiding passage via the engaging bore of the guiding sleeve; and
wherein the locating element is a screw (worm screw 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Ishiwata by configuring the outer surface of the guiding sleeve with a penetrating bore, which extends radially through the guiding sleeve and is communicable with the guiding passage, a screw inserted into the guiding passage via the penetrating bore to assemble to the guiding sleeve, and the screw the male coupler from inserting axially too deep into the guiding passage via the engaging bore of the guiding sleeve, as taught by Weinhold, to further prevent movement between the guiding sleeve and the male coupler.
Response to Arguments
With regards to Applicant’s arguments concerning the prior art rejection of claims 1-5 over Renato in view of McGugan, and claim 6 over Renato in view of McGugan and further in view of Hagiya, Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, the amended claims have necessitated new ground(s) of rejection rendering Applicant's arguments regarding the previous grounds of rejection are moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US4327770 and US109351076 discloses a coupler having a guiding sleeve with a beveled interior end.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753