Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka (JP 3995182 B2) in view of Seiji (KR 20040099522 A).
Regarding claim 1, Oka teaches a method for manufacturing a rack bar,
the method comprising: forming a flattened portion (A) extending in an axial direction of a hollow shaft member on an outer peripheral surface of the hollow shaft member (see entire par. 9);
forming rack teeth on a flat outer surface of the flattened portion (see entire par. 10);
(holding radially inner side of the hollow shaft member by core bar 10 described in par. 0009 and mandrel 12 described in par. 0010).However Oka is silent regarding quenching process of the rack teeth with mandrel inside.
Seiji (KR 20040099522 A) teaches a method and device for forging a rack bar from a steel tube with core inserted into steel tube “when quenching in post-processing” to minimize hardening distortions. Seiji teaches quenching extends service life of the teeth.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Seiji in hollow rack production of Oka and add post teeth forming process of quenching the teeth while a core is inserted into the hollow shaft member/hollow rack bar. Doing so would extend life of the teeth while minimizing hardening distortion.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka in view of Seiji as applied in rejection of claim 1 above, and further in view of Takashi (WO 2016152146 A1).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Oka and Seiji does not teach the claimed adding another hollow shaft member to the first hollow shaft member.
Fig. 6 of Takashi shows joining a solid extension shaft member (rod-shaped extension shaft member S2) to one end of the rack bar (hollow rack bar 1); and forming a linear motion structure (rack bar 21) on the extension shaft member in an axial direction of the extension shaft member. Takashi teaches “rack bar 21 is configured to be used in a dual pinion electric power steering device”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Takashi to combined rack bar of Oka and Seiji and add a second rack to the first rack. Doing so would make a dual rack steering apparatus for a dual pinion electric power steering device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chiaki (JP 2003311366 A) teaches a cored bar inserted into hollow rack bar for external toothing. Chiaki further teaches core inserted inside toothed rack to minimize quenching distortion.
Fig. 10 of Kenichi (WO 2020158616 A1) shows joining a solid extension shaft member (solid second shaft member 114) to one end of the rack bar (hollow first shaft member 113); and forming a linear motion structure (rack bar 110) on the extension shaft member in an axial direction of the extension shaft member; andFig. 11 of Kenichi shows joining a hollow extension shaft member (hollow second shaft member 214) to one end of the rack bar (hollow first shaft member 213); and forming a linear motion structure (rack bar 210) on the extension shaft member in an axial direction of the extension shaft member.
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723