DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/10/26 has/have been acknowledged and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the first paragraph of the specification should be updated to indicate the present status of the priority application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Isaacson fails to disclose sending a stimulation signal to the electrodes. The Applicant further argues that if the system applies a stimulation threshold to the electrodes it only does it to one electrode. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraphs 6 and 79 clearly disclose sending stimulation signals to the electrodes. Further, paragraph 6 states the signal is sent to each electrode separately. As previously noted the claims do not require simultaneous stimulation. Further, as evidenced by paragraphs 81 and 82, Isaacson discloses determining the efficacy of each electrode, selecting the electrode with the most efficacy on the fly and then provides the stimulation to reduce impedance and then continues monitoring. Therefore, the rejections stand.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, since a terminal disclaimer has not been filed, the rejection stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 12-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isaacson et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0346534 hereinafter “Isaacson”).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Isaacson discloses a method and non-transitory computer readable medium comprising: at a device comprising one or more processors (e.g. 40), stimulation circuitry (e.g. 44) and sensing circuity (e.g. 46): driving (e.g. 100) a first stimulation signal (e.g. ¶6; it is noted that the claims do not require simultaneous stimulation) on a first electrode (e.g. 24) and a second stimulation signal (e.g. ¶6; it is noted that the claims do not require simultaneous stimulation) on a second electrode (e.g. 26), different from the first electrode (e.g. ¶6; stimulate one or more of first and second electrode separately); measuring (e.g. 70) one or more signals in response to the first stimulation signal and the second stimulation signal (e.g. ¶79; determine impedance); and in accordance with the one or more signals measured in response to the first stimulation signal and the second stimulation signal meeting one or more criteria, measuring or continuing measuring a physiological signal using the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g. 80; monitor physiological activity if impedance is below threshold).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Isaacson further discloses in accordance with the one or more signals measured in response to the first stimulation signal and the second stimulation signal failing to meet the one or more criteria, forgoing or ceasing measuring the physiological signal (e.g. 80; above threshold, signals not sensed).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Isaacson further discloses the one or more signals measured in response to the first stimulation signal and the second stimulation signal comprise one or more first signals measured by a first sensing circuit coupled to the first electrode and one or more second signals measured by a second sensing circuit coupled to the second electrode (e.g. 70; ¶79; impedance determined via response to stimulation); and wherein the one or more criteria includes a first criterion that is satisfied when the one or more first signals measured in response to the first stimulation signal have an amplitude less than a threshold voltage and a second criterion that is satisfied when the one or more second signals measured in response to the second stimulation signal have an amplitude less than the threshold voltage (e.g. 80; ¶79; look at impedance criteria to determine sensing).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Isaacson further discloses wherein measuring the physiological signal comprises: filtering one or more signals measured by sensing circuitry to remove the one or more signals measured in response to the first stimulation signal and the second stimulation signal from the one or more signals (e.g. ¶52).
Regarding claim 8, Isaacson further discloses wherein the first stimulation signal and the second stimulation signal are driven at least partially concurrently with measuring the physiological signal (e.g. Abstract; concurrent stimulation and sensing).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 12-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,042,301. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘301 patent are obvious variants of the current claims. See below for reasoning.
Claims 1 and 12 of the current claim set are obvious variants of claim 1 of the ‘301 patent. Claim 1 of the ‘301 includes the exact device that the method of claim 1 and medium of claim 12 are comprised of. Both including the driving of stimulation signal to two separate electrodes, sensing/measuring signals in response to the stimulation and measuring a physiological signal if the sensed/measured response meet a criteria.
Claims 2 and 13 of the current claim set have substantially duplicate language to claim 2 of the ‘301 patent.
Claims 3 and 14 of the current claim set have substantially duplicate language to claim 4 of the ‘301 patent.
Claims 4 and 15 of the current claim set are taught by claims 6-8 of the ‘301 patent. Specifically concurrent stimulation, first and second frequencies and phases that are separated by 180 degrees.
Claims 5 and 16 of the current claim set have substantially duplicate language to claim 10 of the ‘301 patent.
Claims 6 and 17 of the current claim set have substantially duplicate language to claim 6 of the ‘301 patent.
Claims 7 and 18 of the current claim set have substantially duplicate language to claim 7 of the ‘301 patent.
Claim 8 of the current claim set have substantially duplicate language to claim 8 of the ‘301 patent.
Claim 9 of the current claim set have substantially duplicate language to claim 9 of the ‘301 patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796