DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 10/07/2025
Claim 1 has been amended and claims 5-6, 8, 10 and 12-14 have been cancelled
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 11 are presented for examination
This action is Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannihan (US 2013/0126388) in view of Reilly et al. (US 2021/0163183) in view of Sullivan (US 11,497,661).
Claim 1. Hannahan discloses disposable diaper changing kit comprising:
a container 10 comprising side panels 12, 14 connected thereto,
wherein said container comprises a tear-off cover to seal 30 said open end of said container prior to use, said tear-off cover being fully separable from a main portion of said container ([0021]; fig. 1-2); and
consumer materials 202, 204 disposed within the container,
wherein said consumer materials are stored within said container when said container is in the collapsed position (fig. 5).
Hannahan fails to disclose a base panel. Reilly teaches a container comprising a base panel 180 wherein said container is expandable from a collapsed position in which said side panels and said base panel are folded over (fig. 1-2) and an expanded position in which said side panels are transverse to said base panel and together define a free-standing receptacle with an open end to receive used or soiled items dropped therein (fig. 4A-4B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bag of Hannahan to include the multiple modes of operation found in Reilly for storing, transporting and accessing products.
Hannahan fails to disclose diaper changing materials. Sullivan teaches diaper changing materials comprising a disposable diaper 102 and disposable wipes 110,
wherein said diaper changing materials are stored within said container when said container is in the collapsed position (fig. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the products of Hannahan to include the diaper changing materials of Sullivan to assist providing the necessary products for accommodating the needs of the consumer.
Claim 3. Hannahan-Reilly-Sullivan discloses the disposable diaper changing kit of claim 1, wherein said diaper changing materials comprise a disposable hand sanitizing packet 202 (Hannahan; [0024]).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannihan (US 2013/0126388) in view of Reilly et al. (US 2021/0163183) in view of Sullivan (US 11,497,661) in view of Sherrill (US 2010/0078351).
Claim 2. Hannahan-Reilly-Sullivan the disposable diaper changing kit of claim 1, but fails to disclose a changing mat. Sherrill teaches wherein said diaper changing materials comprise a disposable changing mat 60 ([0033]; fig. 2-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bag components of Hannihan to include the changing mat of Sherrill to better protect the user against surface contaminants.
Claim 4. Hannahan-Reilly-Sullivan discloses the disposable diaper changing kit of claim 2, wherein said diaper changing materials comprise a disposable hand sanitizing packet 202 (Hannahan; [0024]).
Claim 7. Hannahan-Reilly-Sullivan discloses the disposable diaper changing kit of claim 4, wherein said side panels have a height substantially greater than a width of said base panel (Hannahan; fig. 1).
Claim 9. Hannahan-Reilly-Sullivan discloses the disposable diaper changing kit of claim 4, wherein said container comprises a sealing structure 126 configured to seal said open end of said container after used or soiled items are dropped into said container (Hannahan; [0023]).
Claim 11. Hannahan-Reilly-Sullivan the disposable diaper changing kit of claim 4, wherein said base panel and said side panels comprise a semi-rigid material (Reilly; [0089]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735