DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the 2nd line of claim 1, “recoded” should be corrected to --recorded--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: coupling member in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kainuma (US 2022/0019159).
Regarding claim 1, Kainuma discloses a belt conveyor device 30 having a belt for conveying in an image forming apparatus a toner image or a recording medium to which an image is recorded (Fig. 1 [0016]), the belt conveyor device comprising:
the belt being an endless belt 31 (Fig. 1 [0022]);
a plurality of rollers 35/36 on which the belt is rotatably stretched (Fig. 1 [0030]); and
a correction mechanism 50 for correcting meanders of the belt relative to the rollers 35/36 (Fig. 7 [0038, 0069]), wherein
the correction mechanism 50 includes:
a pair of inclined bearings 52 (note that correction mechanism 50 is disposed at each end portion of shaft 361; [0038]) including a pair of bearing portions (portions of 52 that support 361) for bearing a shaft portion 361 of one of the rollers 36 (Fig. 7), and further including a pair of inclined portions 521 that are inclined symmetrically with respect to an axial direction Dx of the rollers (Fig. 7), where the pair of inclined bearings 52 rotatably support the shaft portion 361 of any one of the plural rollers, and are movable in the axial direction (Fig. 7 [0050, 0075]); and
a pair of main-body guides 55 which are put into contact with the pair of inclined portions 521, respectively, and which make end portions of the rollers in the axial direction move in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction, together with the pair of inclined bearings 52 that are moved in the axial direction Dx by meandering of the belt (Figs. 7-8 [0076]); and
a coupling member 43/44 (Figs. 5-6) extending in the axial direction of the rollers, the coupling member coupling the pair of inclined bearings 52 to each other (via shaft 361) (Fig. 3 [0060]),
where
either one of the pair of inclined portions 52 or the pair of main-body guides 55 have a contact region with the other formed from a curved surface convex toward the other being in contact with the one, as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction (see Fig. 7 [0075]; each of the pair of main-body guides 55 is a roller and has a curved surface convex toward each of the pair of inclined portions 52).
Regarding claim 2, Kainuma discloses the belt conveyor device according to claim 1, wherein either one of the pair of inclined portions or the pair of main-body guides have the contact region with the other formed from a cylindrical (roller) shape extending in a direction (into/out of the page of Fig. 7) perpendicular to the axial direction (see Fig. 7 [0075]; each of the pair of main-body guides 55 is a roller).
Regarding claim 3, Kainuma discloses the belt conveyor device according to claim 1, wherein either one of the pair of inclined portions or the pair of main-body guides have the contact region with the other formed from a rotating member that rotates around an axial line extending in a direction (into/out of the page of Fig. 7) perpendicular to the axial direction (see Fig. 7 [0075]; each of the pair of main-body guides 55 is a roller).
Regarding claim 4, Kainuma discloses an image forming apparatus 1 (Fig. 1 [0070]) comprising: a plurality of image forming parts 20 (Fig. 1 [0019]); and the belt conveyor device 30 according to claim 1 which is placed in adjacency to the image forming parts 20 and which conveys a recording medium S on which images are recorded by the image forming parts (Fig. 1 [0024-0025]; note that recording medium S is conveyed by belt conveyor device 30 at least during secondary transfer).
Regarding claim 5, Kainuma discloses an image forming apparatus comprising: a plurality of image forming parts 20 (Fig. 1 [0019]); and the belt conveyor device 30 according to claim 1 which is placed in adjacency to the image forming parts 20 and the belt of which is an intermediate transfer belt to which toner images formed by the image forming parts are transferred successively in superimposition (Fig. 1 [0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 5 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that the subject matter of amended claim 1 is neither disclosed nor suggested by Kainuma.
The Office respectfully disagrees, as outlined in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852