CTFR 18/762,344 CTFR 92147 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Response to Amendment The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the drawings and claims dated 02/12/2026 and enters for consideration. Claims 7-8, 11-15 have been newly cancelled. No new clams have been added. Claims 1-6, 9-10, 16 remain pending in the current application. The amendments are in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 11/12/2025. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/02/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 11/12/2025. The submission is filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 6, 9-10, 16 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2018/0205946 A1). Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Zhang et al. teach a method performed by a video decoding device (Fig. 11, reference numeral 300; [0032], L10-11) for deriving an intra mode of a current chroma block ([0032], L6-8; [0033], L1-4; It teaches that the video decoder 300 is configured to apply the techniques for deriving chroma intra-prediction modes ) , the method comprising: decoding information on the intra mode of the current chroma block ([0046]; [0155], L1-5; [0157]; It teaches that when prediction processing unit 304 determines that a chroma block is intra-predicted, prediction processing unit 304 may derive the intra-prediction mode using other information of the bitstream. It also teaches that prediction processing unit 304 generates a prediction block according to prediction information syntax elements that were entropy decoded by entropy decoding unit 302 as shown in Fig. 11) , wherein the information comprises a flag indicating whether a model-based chroma prediction mode is used for the current chroma block ([0068]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may code a one bit flag that indicates whether the DDM is either CCLM or derived direction mode ) ; generating a candidate mode list of the current chroma block ([0158], L1-7; it teaches that to derive an intra-prediction mode for a chroma block, prediction processing unit 304 (or intra-prediction unit 318 thereof) may construct an intra-prediction candidate list for the chroma block ) , wherein, when the flag indicates use of a model-based chroma prediction mode, the candidate mode list consists of model-based chroma prediction modes ([0068]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may code a one bit flag to indicate whether the DDM is either CCLM or derived direction mode or direct modes from luma blocks, which means for one value of the flag it indicates CCLM, which is a model based prediction mode, is part of the candidate list ) , and, when the flag indicates nonuse of a model-based chroma prediction mode, the candidate mode list consists of non-model-based chroma prediction modes ([0068]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may code a one bit flag to indicate whether the DDM is either CCLM or derived direction mode or direct modes from luma blocks, which means for another value of the flag it indicates DM, which is a non-model based prediction mode, is part of the candidate list ) ; and determining the intra mode of the current chroma block based on the candidate mode list ([0129]; [0158]; L7-14; It teaches that prediction processing unit 304 may then calculate sum of absolute transform difference (SATD) values for each of the candidate intra-prediction modes in the intra-prediction candidate list for the chroma block. Prediction processing unit 304 may then provide an indication of the intra-prediction mode having the lowest SATD value ) . Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Zhang et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein , when the flag indicates non-use of a model-based chroma prediction mode ([0068]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may code a one bit flag to indicate whether the DDM is either CCLM or derived direction mode or direct modes from luma blocks, which means for another value of the flag it indicates DM, which is a non-model based prediction mode, is part of the candidate list ) , determining the intra mode of the current chroma block comprises : obtaining costs of the non-model-based chroma prediction modes in the candidate mode list using a neighboring template of a current block ([0006]; [0066]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may check the cost (e.g., sum of absolute transform distance (SATD)) with one or more direct modes, and/or one or more modes from spatial neighboring luma/chroma blocks. Here the DM modes are non-model based prediction modes ) ; and determining the intra mode of the current chroma block based on the costs ([0006]; It teaches that after determining cost values, such as sum of absolute transform difference (SATD) values, for each of the candidate intra-prediction modes indicated by the intra-prediction candidate list for the current chroma block, it generates a prediction block for the current chroma block using one of the candidate intra-prediction modes indicated by the intra-prediction candidate list according to the cost values, e.g., the candidate intra-prediction mode having a lowest cost value ) . Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Zhang et al. teach the method of claim 1 , wherein, when the flag indicates use of a model-based chroma prediction mode ([0068]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may code a one bit flag to indicate whether the DDM is either CCLM or derived direction mode or direct modes from luma blocks, which means for one value of the flag it indicates CCLM, which is a model based prediction mode, is part of the candidate list ) , determining the intra mode of the current chroma block comprises: obtaining costs of the model-based chroma prediction modes in the candidate mode list using a neighboring template of a current block ([0105]; it teaches that at encoder side, one more RD cost check for chroma component is added for selecting the chroma intra prediction mode ) ; and determining the intra mode of the current chroma block based on the costs ([0006]; It teaches that after determining cost values, such as sum of absolute transform difference (SATD) values, for each of the candidate intra-prediction modes indicated by the intra-prediction candidate list for the current chroma block, it generates a prediction block for the current chroma block using one of the candidate intra-prediction modes indicated by the intra-prediction candidate list according to the cost values, e.g., the candidate intra-prediction mode having a lowest cost value ) . Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Zhang et al. teach a method performed by a video encoding device (Fig. 10, reference numeral 200; [0032], L9-10) for deriving an intra mode of a current chroma block ([0032], L6-8; [0033], L1-4; It teaches that the video encoder 200 is configured to apply the techniques for deriving chroma intra-prediction modes ) , the method comprising: (Note: The Examiner noted that the reference is used the same description for both encoding and decoding method as disclosed in [0115], L9-12) generating a candidate mode list of the current chroma block ([0158], L1-7; it teaches that to derive an intra-prediction mode for a chroma block, prediction processing unit 304 (or intra-prediction unit 318 thereof) may construct an intra-prediction candidate list for the chroma block ) , wherein the candidate mode list comprises model-based chroma prediction modes and non-model-based chroma prediction modes ([0068]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may construct the candidate list for chroma intra prediction mode list to only contain two modes: one is CCLM, which is model based prediction mode, and the other is the derived direction mode, which is non-model based prediction mode ) ; determining the intra mode of the current chroma block based on the candidate mode list ([0129]; [0158]; L7-14; It teaches that prediction processing unit 304 may then calculate sum of absolute transform difference (SATD) values for each of the candidate intra-prediction modes in the intra-prediction candidate list for the chroma block. Prediction processing unit 304 may then provide an indication of the intra-prediction mode having the lowest SATD value ) ; and encoding information on the intra mode of the current chroma block ([0167]; it teaches that the method of Fig. 12 represents an example of a method of encoding a chroma block of video data, including constructing an intra-prediction candidate list for a current chroma block of video data indicating candidate intra-prediction modes for the current chroma block ) , wherein the information comprises a flag indicating whether the current chroma block is coded using a model-based chroma prediction mode ([0068]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may code a one bit flag to indicate whether the DDM is either CCLM or derived direction mode or direct modes from luma blocks, which means for one value of the flag it indicates CCLM, which is a model based prediction mode, is part of the candidate list ) . Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Zhang et al. teach a method for transmitting a bitstream containing encoded video data (Fig. 1; [0033], L6-7; it teaches that source device 102 generates coded video data for transmission to destination device 116) , the method comprising: generating the bitstream for a current block in an image (Fig. 1; The source device 102 generates the bitstream from the output interface 108) ; and transmitting the bitstream (Fig. 1; The source device 102 generates the bitstream from the output interface 108 to transmit to the destination device 116) , wherein generating the bitstream for the image comprises: generating a candidate mode list of a current chroma block ([0158], L1-7; it teaches that to derive an intra-prediction mode for a chroma block, prediction processing unit 304 (or intra-prediction unit 318 thereof) may construct an intra-prediction candidate list for the chroma block ) , wherein the candidate mode list comprises model-based chroma prediction modes and non-model-based chroma prediction modes ([0068]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may construct the candidate list for chroma intra prediction mode list to only contain two modes: one is CCLM, which is model based prediction mode, and the other is the derived direction mode, which is non-model based prediction mode ) ; determining an intra mode of the current chroma block based on the candidate mode list ([0129]; [0158]; L7-14; It teaches that prediction processing unit 304 may then calculate sum of absolute transform difference (SATD) values for each of the candidate intra-prediction modes in the intra-prediction candidate list for the chroma block. Prediction processing unit 304 may then provide an indication of the intra-prediction mode having the lowest SATD value ) ; and encoding information on the intra mode of the current chroma block ([0167]; it teaches that the method of Fig. 12 represents an example of a method of encoding a chroma block of video data, including constructing an intra-prediction candidate list for a current chroma block of video data indicating candidate intra-prediction modes for the current chroma block ) , wherein the information comprises a flag indicating whether the current chroma block is coded using a model-based chroma prediction mode ([0068]; It teaches that video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may code a one bit flag to indicate whether the DDM is either CCLM or derived direction mode or direct modes from luma blocks, which means for one value of the flag it indicates CCLM, which is a model based prediction mode, is part of the candidate list ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2018/0205946 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US PGPub 2021/0385459 A1) . Regarding claim 2 (Original), Zhang et al. teach the method of claim 1. But Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach performing a redundancy check, and adding non-redundant modes to the candidate mode list. However, Zhu et al. , in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) , teach a decoding method where a redundancy check is performed to add non-redundant modes to the candidate mode list (Zhu et al.; [0063], L7-10) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al ’s invention of coding video data using derived chroma mode to include Zhu et al 's redundancy check, because it improves the coding efficiency and reduce complexity (Zhu et al.; [0063], L10-17) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2018/0205946 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2018/0048889 A1) hereinafter called Zhang2 . Regarding claim 3 (Original), Zhang et al. teach the method of claim 1. Although, Zhang et al. in [0109]; [0113]; [0164], teach adding default modes in to the candidate mode list, but it does not explicitly teach that the addition of the default modes are in response to candidate list is not fulfilled. However, Zhang2 , in the same filed of endeavor (Abstract) , teach a decoding method where the insertion of the default modes are based on candidate list being not fulfilled (Zhang2; [0207]; It teaches that if candidate list is still not complete, video decoder 30 may add default modes, namely, the vertical, horizontal, 2, and diagonal modes ). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al ’s invention of coding video data using derived chroma mode to include Zhang2 's addition of default modes based on candidate list being not fulfilled, because it may improve coding efficiency by increasing the total number of chroma modes (Zhang2; [0147], L15-16) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2018/0205946 A1) in view of Filippov et al. (US PGPub 2024/0244194 A1) (Inventive concepts disclosed in 63/249527 dated 09/28/2021) . Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Zhang et al. teach the method of claim 1. But Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach determining use or nonuse of a template-based intra mode derivation method for the current chroma block, and in response to the nonuse of the template-based intra mode derivation method, performing decoding intra-mode index of chroma components. However, Filippov et al. , in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) , teach a decoding method where it teaches determining use or nonuse of a template-based intra mode derivation method for the current chroma block (Filippov et al.; [0139]; it teaches a TIMD flag which indicates whether TIMD is used or not to encode the current block ) , and in response to the nonuse of the template-based intra mode derivation method, performing decoding intra-mode index of the chroma components (Filippov et al.; [0139]; It also teaches that “Based on sending the TIMD flag, the encoder may not transmit other syntax elements used to code the intra prediction of current block , such as an MPM flag, an MPM index…”, which means when the TIMD flag is 0 (non-use), the decoder parses other intra mode index of the current block ) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al ’s invention of coding video data using derived chroma mode to include Filippov et al 's usage of TIMD mode flag, because the TIMD enabled flag causes the decoder to ignore subsequent MPM flags and indexes, thereby increasing compression efficiency (Filippov et al.; [0139]) . Regarding claim 5 (Previously Presented), Zhang et al. and Filippov et al. teach the method of claim 4, wherein determining use or nonuse of the template-based intra mode derivation method includes: decoding and checking a flag from a bitstream to indicate a use or nonuse of the template-based intra mode derivation method (Filippov et al.; [0139]; it teaches a TIMD flag which indicates whether TIMD is used or not to encode the current block ) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Zhang et al ’s invention of coding video data using derived chroma mode to include Filippov et al 's usage of TIMD mode flag, because the TIMD enabled flag causes the decoder to ignore subsequent MPM flags and indexes, thereby increasing compression efficiency (Filippov et al.; [0139]) . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed on 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the drawings to address the objections to the drawings in the last office action and therefore withdraws the objection. The Applicant, in Page 9-10, argues regarding the Zhang et al. reference by stating that “The Office action cites [0066], [0068], and [0158] of Zhang. See the Office action, pages 4 and 5. First, Zhang focuses on constructing a mixed candidate list containing different types of modes. Specifically, Zhang merely discloses that a mixed candidate list may include one or more direct modes; and/or modes from spatial neighboring luma or chroma blocks; and optionally additional modes, such as DC, planar, horizontal, or vertical modes. See Zhang, paragraph [0066]. A mode from a candidate list is selected based on a cost metric. See Zhang, paragraph [0158]. However, Zhang is silent on constructing the candidate list exclusively from a single class of modes, i.e., restricting the candidate list to only model-based modes or only non- model-based modes. Second, Zhang merely discloses using a flag to indicate which mode is selected or used. See Zhang, paragraph [0066]. The candidate list of Zhang may still contain both model-based and non-model-based modes. See Zhang, paragraph [0066]. A one bit flag indicates whether the DDM is either CCLM or derived direction mode. See Zhang, paragraph [0068]. A mode from a candidate list is selected based on a cost metric. See Zhang, paragraph [0158]. However, Zhang is silent on using a flag to determine which class of modes is included in the candidate list (e.g., the candidate list consists exclusively of either model-based modes or non-model-based modes). By contrast, the subject matter of claim 1 requires that the composition of the candidate mode list itself is determined by the flag, and that the list is restricted to only one class of modes”. The Examiner cannot concur with the Applicant’s argument and respectfully disagrees. The Applicant admits that in [0066] , Zhang et al. discloses using a flag to indicate which mode is selected or used and candidate list of Zhang et al. may still contain both model-based and non-model-based modes. The Applicant also admits that in [0068] , Zhang et al. discloses a one bit flag indicates whether the DDM is either CCLM or derived direction mode, wherein a mode from a candidate list is selected based on a cost metric as disclosed in [0158] . The Applicant argues that Zhang et al. is silent on constructing the candidate list exclusively from a single class of modes , i.e., restricting the candidate list to only model-based modes or only non-model-based modes . The Applicant also argues that, by contrast, the subject matter of claim 1 requires that the composition of the candidate mode list itself is determined by the flag, and that the list is restricted to only one class of modes . (Emphasis added). However, nowhere in the amended claim 1, it says that the candidate list is exclusively from a single class of modes , i.e., restricting the candidate list to only model-based modes or only non-model-based modes . On the contrary, amended claim 10 recites “ wherein the candidate mode list comprises model-based chroma prediction modes and non-model-based chroma prediction modes ”, which is not an exclusivity of only model-based or only non-model-based modes. Therefore, Zhang et al. , as shown in the rejection section above, still anticipates all the limitations of the independent claim(s) . Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. “COMBINED INTER AND INTRA PREDICTION” – Xiu et al., US PGPub 2025/0119532 A1. “METHOD, DEVICE, AND MEDIUM FOR VIDEO PROCESSING” – Wang et al., US PGPub 2024/0244195 A1. “METHOD AND APPARATUS OF ADVANCED INTRA PREDICTION FOR CHROMA COMPONENTS IN VIDEO CODING” – Zhang et al., WO 2017/140211 A1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAINUL HASAN whose telephone number is (571)272-0422. The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI: 10AM-6PM, Alternate FRIDAYS, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JAY PATEL can be reached on (571)272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Mainul Hasan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 2 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 3 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 4 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 5 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 6 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 7 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 8 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 9 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 10 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 11 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 12 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 13 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 14 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/762,344 Page 15 Art Unit: 2485