DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pearson (US 2011/0209078).
As per claim 1, Pearson teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform:
obtainment of information indicating a size of a size-changeable display region (Pearson, para.28-29, 40, 51, detection unit detects changes to display region 152/155, display system recognizes boundaries of region); and
control based on the obtained information such that in a case where the size of the display region is a first size (Pearson, Fig.4; para.29, 47, expanded state), display items that correspond to a first number being plural of contents and are categorized into a plurality of corresponding categories are displayed in a plurality of areas corresponding to the categories, respectively, in the display region (Pearson, Figs.4, 27-57; para.31-32, 43, 47, 57, expanded state displays two displayable content 350 at once; LIVE VIDEO category and CHAT LIST category), and
in a case where the size of the display region is a second size being smaller than the first size (Pearson, Figs.3A-3B; para.29, collapsed state), a plurality of operation items corresponding to the plurality of categories, respectively (Pearson, para.30, 42-43, content tags 330), are displayed in the display region and a display item corresponding to the content categorized into the category corresponding to a selected one of the operation items is displayed without displaying a display item corresponding to the content categorized into the category corresponding to an unselected one of the operation items (Pearson, Figs.3A-3B, 7-26; para.30, 32, 39, 42, 44-46, 57, collapsed state comprise shared content area 320 where only one displayable content 350 is displayed at a time, switch content by activating tags 330).
As per claim 2, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the first number is equal to or above 2 (Pearson, Figs.4, 27-57; para.31, two displayable contents 350).
As per claim 11, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein in a case of a change in size of the display region from the second size to the first size, control is performed such that the display item of a category corresponding to an operation item selected before the change out of the plurality of operation items is displayed in a state of display being equivalent to a state of display in a case of operating an operator for expanding an area to display the display item (Pearson, Fig.3A, 4, 5A-B; para.50-55, expanded state displays displayable content 350 together).
As per claim 12, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein in a case of a change in size of the display region from the second size to the first size, control is performed such that the display item corresponding to the content categorized into a category corresponding to an operation item selected before the change out of the plurality of operation items is displayed at a display position that falls within a predetermined range in the display region (Pearson, Fig.3A, 4, 5A-B; para.50-55, expanded state displays displayable content 350 within threshold boundaries).
As per claim 13, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of operation items are any of a plurality of tabs and respective items in a pull-down menu (Pearson, para.30, 42-43, content tags 330).
Claims 15-16 are similar in scope to claim 1, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (US 2011/0209078) in view of Chang et al. (“Chang”, US 2022/0374136).
As per claim 3, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein control is performed such that, in a case where the size of the display region is a third size being smaller than the first size and larger than the second size (Pearson, para.50, intermediate states) and display items that are categorized into the corresponding categories are displayed in the plurality of areas corresponding to the plurality of categories, respectively (Pearson, Figs.4, 27-57; para.31-32, 43, 47, 57, displayable content 350 within associated category tabs: LIVE VIDEO category and CHAT LIST category). However, Pearson does not teach to display items that correspond to a second number of the contents being less than the first number. Chang teaches a medium of resizing groups to a different size wherein display items that correspond to a second number of the contents is less than the first number (Chang, Fig.6M-6P, para.240-243, tile contents are reduced; para.221, Mountaineers group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Chang‘s teaching with Pearson’s medium in order to display an alternative size for displaying content.
As per claim 4, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein control is performed such that each of the display items is displayed in a predetermined size or larger even in a case where the size of the display region is reduced from the first size to the second size. Chang teaches a medium of resizing groups to a different size wherein control is performed such that each of the display items is displayed in a predetermined size or larger even in a case where the size of the display region is reduced from the first size to the second size (Chang, para.276, minimum representation size). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Chang‘s teaching with Pearson’s medium in order to ensure content is visible.
Claims 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (US 2011/0209078) in view of Okabayashi (US 2015/0092228).
As per claim 5, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein each of the contents categorized into the plurality of categories is a content concerning a mode of using an apparatus. Okabayashi teaches a medium of displaying categories wherein each of the contents categorized into the plurality of categories is a content concerning a mode of using an apparatus (Okabayashi, Figs.8, 10-12, para.99, 122, color mode, aggregate, density, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Okabayashi‘s teaching with Pearson’s medium in order to utilize variable display sizes for modes in an apparatus.
As per claim 6, the medium of Pearson and Okabayashi teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 5, wherein the apparatus is a printing apparatus (Okabayashi, Fig.1, para.3, 34, 44, printer).
As per claim 8, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the first number of the contents are selected in descending order of a statistical number of times that the display items are selected by a user. Okabayashi teaches a medium of displaying categories wherein the first number of the contents are selected in descending order of a statistical number of times that the display items are selected by a user (Okabayashi, Figs.8, 10-12, para.111, 114, frequency data used to sequentially display content). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Okabayashi‘s teaching with Pearson’s medium in order to allow quick access to frequently used items.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (US 2011/0209078) in view of Deutsch et al. (“Deutsch”, US 2012/0159395).
As per claim 7, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, however does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of categories at least include one of categories each concerning any of life, work, and study. Deutsch teaches a medium for resizing category windows wherein the plurality of categories include one of categories each concerning any of life, work, and study (Deutsch, Fig.6, para.34, 36, Work group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Deutsch‘s teaching with Pearson’s medium in order to incorporate alternate categories to suit the user’s needs.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (US 2011/0209078) in view of Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 2016/0124595).
As per claim 9, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, however does not explicitly teach wherein a tab to be firstly selected in a case of a change in size of the display region from the first size to the second size corresponds to a category displayed at an uppermost part in the display region before the change. Kim teaches a medium for arranging windows wherein a tab to be firstly selected in a case of a change in size of the display region from the first size to the second size corresponds to a category displayed at an uppermost part in the display region before the change (Kim, Fig.11A-11B, 17B, para.119, 173, MY FILE displayed first). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Kim‘s teaching with Pearson’s medium in order to allow quick access to recently used items.
As per claim 10, Pearson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein an operation item out of the plurality of operation items to be firstly selected in a case of a change in size of the display region from the first size to the second size corresponds to a category for which an operator for expanding an area to display the display item is operated most recently before the change. Kim teaches a medium for arranging windows wherein an operation item out of the plurality of operation items to be firstly selected in a case of a change in size of the display region from the first size to the second size corresponds to a category for which an operator for expanding an area to display the display item is operated most recently before the change (Kim, Fig.11A-11B, 17B, para.119, 173, most recently displayed front). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Kim‘s teaching with Pearson’s medium in order to allow quick access to recently used items.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (US 2011/0209078) in view of Okabayashi (US 2015/0092228) and further in view of Deutsch et al. (“Deutsch”, US 2012/0159395).
As per claim 14, Pearson teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform:
obtainment of information indicating a size of a size-changeable display region (Pearson, para.28-29, 40, 51, detection unit detects changes to display region 152/155, display system recognizes boundaries of region); and
control based on the obtained information such that, in a case where the size of the display region is a first size (Pearson, Fig.4; para.29, 47, expanded state), display items that correspond to a first number being plural of contents and are categorized into a plurality of corresponding categories are displayed in a plurality of areas corresponding to the categories, respectively, in the display region (Pearson, Figs.4, 27-57; para.31-32, 43, 47, 57, expanded state displays two displayable content 350 at once; LIVE VIDEO category and CHAT LIST category).
However, Pearson does not teach wherein each of the contents categorized into the plurality of categories is a content concerning a mode of using an apparatus. Okabayashi teaches a medium of displaying categories wherein each of the contents categorized into the plurality of categories is a content concerning a mode of using an apparatus (Okabayashi, Figs.8, 10-12, para.99, 122, color mode, aggregate, density, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Okabayashi‘s teaching with Pearson’s medium in order to utilize variable display sizes for modes in an apparatus.
Furthermore, the medium of Pearson and Okabayashi does not teach the plurality of categories at least include one of categories each concerning any of life, work, and study. Deutsch teaches a medium for resizing category windows wherein the plurality of categories include one of categories each concerning any of life, work, and study (Deutsch, Fig.6, para.34, 36, Work group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Deutsch‘s teaching with the medium of Pearson and Okabayashi in order to incorporate alternate categories to suit the user’s needs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weskamp et al. (“Weskamp”, US 2022/0391456) teaches a method of grouping pages together into a browser tab.
Bertram et al. (US 2005/0183030) teaches a method of displaying different levels of window sizes.
Muto (US 10,126,907) teaches a method of displaying resizable items for a printing apparatus.
Chung et al. (US 2022/0130304) teaches a method of displaying frequently used apps with higher priority.
Lee et al. (US 2012/0309463) teaches a method of categorizing apps and displaying in groups.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174 /WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174