DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18/762,405 filed on 07/02/2024 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 21 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group /Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/18/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the graphene layer” should read “a graphene layer, or claim 9 should depend on claim 4 where it has antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pan, Kai et al. (CN 109586608; Hereinafter, “Kai”).
Regarding claim 1: Kai discloses a triboelectric nanogenerator (abstract, line 1) comprising: a single substrate layer (the elastomer layer in fig. 1); a single electrode layer (electrode in fig. 1, made of graphene); and a single tribolayer (nanofiber layer in fig. 1 made of Polyimide); wherein the single electrode layer (graphene) and the single tribolayer (PI) are bonded by hydrogen bonds (since PI has electronegative oxygen and Nitrogen atoms, graphene by moisture will form a hydrogen bond with the PI).
Regarding claim 2/1: Kai discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the single substrate layer is the base layer (the Elastomer layer in fig. 1) , the single electrode layer is the middle layer, and the single tribolayer (the nanofiber layer) is the surface layer (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4/1: Kai discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the single electrode layer is a graphene layer (see excerpt from Kai below).
Regarding claim 7/1: Kai discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the single tribolayer comprises a film (see excerpt from Kai below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai in view of Turng et al. (US 2018/0013358; Hereinafter, “Turng”).
Regarding claim 5: Kai discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose that the single tribolayer is a nanocellulose layer.
Turng (see para [0010]) teaches forming the single tribolayer is a nanocellulose layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the triboelectric nanogenerator of Kai with the single tribolayer is a nanocellulose layer as disclosed by Turng to produce a stable output generator from an environment friendly materials.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai.
Regarding claims 8, 9, and 10: Kai discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not specifically disclose that the single tribolayer has a thickness from 1.5 to 20 pm; the graphene layer has a thickness from 3 to 8 pm; and the device output voltage is greater than 500 V.
However, the Examiner notes that thethickness of the tribolayer, the graphene layer, and the output voltage are a result effective variables. The dimensions of the tribolayer, and the graphene determines the output voltage. A person having ordinary skill in the art using a simulation program can enter the desired outputs, and find out the dimensions of the tribolayer, and the graphene layer.
That being said, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have set the thickenss of the tribolayer, and the graphene layer as claimed to reach the desired output voltage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3/1, 6/5/1 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 11: the limitations of claim 11, “…a first component having a positive tribolayer; and a second component having a negative tribolayer, wherein each of the first component and the second component comprise: a substrate layer; an electrode layer; and a tribolayer; wherein the electrode layer and the tribolayer of the first component are bonded by hydrogen bonds” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor obvious over the prior arts in record. Claims 12-20 are allowable for depending on claim 11.
Conclusion
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834