CTNF 18/762,407 CTNF 90941 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20180020423 A1) in view of Heo et al. (US 20140094162 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. teach A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Wang [0159] A software/firmware module may reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory ); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the UE (Wang [0051] Processor 264 may also generate reference symbols for one or more reference signals ) to: receive, via a first signaling, an indication of a positioning reference signal configuration indicating one or more resources for transmission of an uplink positioning reference signal (Wang [0011] determining resources within a narrowband region of wider system bandwidth for transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) to one or more base stations , Wang [0096] the UE may receive scheduling (e.g., an UL grant) for UL PRS, Wang [0100] a UE may again get DL PRS from a serving cell and UL PRS configuration(s) for multiple neighbor cell ); and transmit the uplink positioning reference signal during the measurement gap based at least in part on the positioning reference signal configuration and the measurement gap (Wang [0099] The UE may receive eNB scheduling for UL PRS and transmit UL PRS based on the UL PRS configuration(s)). Wang et al. do not teach receive, via a second signaling, an indication of a measurement gap during which the UE is not expected to transmit or receive signaling other than the uplink positioning reference signal. In a similar endeavor, Heo et al. teach receive, via a second signaling, an indication of a measurement gap (Heo [0034] the eNB 104 provides 306 measurement configuration information that includes a measurement gap pattern) during which the UE is not expected to transmit or receive signaling other than the uplink positioning reference signal (Heo [0095] The processor configures, based on the measurement gap pattern, the UE to perform proximity detection measurement on one or more reference signals during the measurement gap. The processor configures the UE to prohibit transmission or reception of additional signals during the measurement gap ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Wang et al. UL PRS configuration by incorporating Heo et a. measurement gap configuration for UL PRS transmission only to arrive at the invention. The motivation of doing so would have improved the detection of the UL PRS. Regarding claim 2, The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches The UE of claim 1, wherein the second signaling is based at least in part on a capability of the UE (Heo [0034] if the capability information provided 304 by the UE 102 indicates that the UE is not capable of simultaneous transmission or reception of additional signals while receiving PD-RS, the eNB 104 may provide 306 a measurement gap pattern that configures the UE 102 to measure incoming PD-RS signals during a measurement gap and prohibits the UE 102 from transmitting or receiving signals during the measurement gap.) . The motivation of doing so would have improved the detection of the UL PRS. Regarding claim 4,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink positioning reference signal using frequency domain staggering (Wang [0087] PRS 702 may be staggered (e.g., across symbols within a subframe and/or across PRS tones) ). Regarding claim 5,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink positioning reference signal during at least a first slot and a second slot in accordance with an inter-slot transmission (Wang Fig. 8, [0088] The PRS may hop to a different PRS tone (e.g., a tone with a different tone index), for example, across time slots or across subframes) . Regarding claim 6,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the uplink positioning reference signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: perform a sweep transmission of the uplink positioning reference signal across a plurality of sub-bands of the one or more resources (Wang Fig. 8, [0088] The PRS may hop to a different PRS tone (e.g., a tone with a different tone index), for example, across time slots or across subframes) . Regarding claim 7,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the second signaling is based at least in part on frequency hopping being supported by the UE (Wang [0088] The PRS may hop to a different PRS tone (e.g., a tone with a different tone index), for example, across time slots or across subframes ). Regarding claim 8,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the UE of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink positioning reference signal using frequency hopping (Wang [0088] The PRS may hop to a different PRS tone (e.g., a tone with a different tone index), for example, across time slots or across subframes ). Regarding claim 9,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the uplink positioning reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal (Wang [0129] receiving at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) from the wireless node, wherein the estimating the position is further based on the SRS. ). Regarding claim 11. A method by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, via a first signaling, an indication of a positioning reference signal configuration indicating one or more resources for transmission of an uplink positioning reference signal (Wang [0011] determining resources within a narrowband region of wider system bandwidth for transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) to one or more base stations , Wang [0096] the UE may receive scheduling (e.g., an UL grant) for UL PRS, Wang [0100] a UE may again get DL PRS from a serving cell and UL PRS configuration(s) for multiple neighbor cell ); and transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal during the measurement gap based at least in part on the positioning reference signal configuration and the measurement gap (Wang [0099] The UE may receive eNB scheduling for UL PRS and transmit UL PRS based on the UL PRS configuration(s)). Wang et al. do not teach receiving, via a second signaling, an indication of a measurement gap during which the UE is not expected to transmit or receive signaling other than the uplink positioning reference signal. In a similar endeavor, Heo et al. teach receiving, via a second signaling, an indication of a measurement gap (Heo [0034] the eNB 104 provides 306 measurement configuration information that includes a measurement gap pattern) during which the UE is not expected to transmit or receive signaling other than the uplink positioning reference signal (Heo [0095] The processor configures, based on the measurement gap pattern, the UE to perform proximity detection measurement on one or more reference signals during the measurement gap. The processor configures the UE to prohibit transmission or reception of additional signals during the measurement gap ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Wang et al. UL PRS configuration by incorporating Heo et a. measurement gap configuration for UL PRS transmission only to arrive at the invention. The motivation of doing so would have improved the detection of the UL PRS. Regarding claim 12,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the second signaling is based at least in part on a capability of the UE (Heo [0034] if the capability information provided 304 by the UE 102 indicates that the UE is not capable of simultaneous transmission or reception of additional signals while receiving PD-RS, the eNB 104 may provide 306 a measurement gap pattern that configures the UE 102 to measure incoming PD-RS signals during a measurement gap and prohibits the UE 102 from transmitting or receiving signals during the measurement gap.) . The motivation of doing so would have improved the detection of the UL PRS. Regarding claim 14,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal using frequency domain staggering (Wang [0087] PRS 702 may be staggered (e.g., across symbols within a subframe and/or across PRS tones) ). Regarding claim 15,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal during at least a first slot and a second slot in accordance with an inter-slot transmission (Wang Fig. 8, [0088] The PRS may hop to a different PRS tone (e.g., a tone with a different tone index), for example, across time slots or across subframes) . Regarding claim 16,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the method of claim 11, wherein transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal comprises: performing a sweep transmission of the uplink positioning reference signal across a plurality of sub-bands of the one or more resources (Wang Fig. 8, [0088] The PRS may hop to a different PRS tone (e.g., a tone with a different tone index), for example, across time slots or across subframes) . Regarding claim 17,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the second signaling is based at least in part on frequency hopping being supported by the UE (Wang [0088] The PRS may hop to a different PRS tone (e.g., a tone with a different tone index), for example, across time slots or across subframes ).. Regarding claim 18,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising: transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal using frequency hopping (Wang [0088] The PRS may hop to a different PRS tone (e.g., a tone with a different tone index), for example, across time slots or across subframes ). . Regarding claim 19,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the uplink positioning reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal (Wang [0129] receiving at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) from the wireless node, wherein the estimating the position is further based on the SRS. ). Regarding claim 20. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code (Wang [0159] A software/firmware module may reside in RAM memory, flash memory, ROM memory) , the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to: receive, via a first signaling, an indication of a positioning reference signal configuration indicating one or more resources for transmission of an uplink positioning reference signal (Wang [0011] determining resources within a narrowband region of wider system bandwidth for transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) to one or more base stations , Wang [0096] the UE may receive scheduling (e.g., an UL grant) for UL PRS, Wang [0100] a UE may again get DL PRS from a serving cell and UL PRS configuration(s) for multiple neighbor cell ); and transmit the uplink positioning reference signal during the measurement gap based at least in part on the positioning reference signal configuration and the measurement gap (Wang [0099] The UE may receive eNB scheduling for UL PRS and transmit UL PRS based on the UL PRS configuration(s)). Wang et al. do not teach receive, via a second signaling, an indication of a measurement gap during which the UE is not expected to transmit or receive signaling other than the uplink positioning reference signal. In a similar endeavor, Heo et al. teach receive, via a second signaling, an indication of a measurement gap (Heo [0034] the eNB 104 provides 306 measurement configuration information that includes a measurement gap pattern) during which the UE is not expected to transmit or receive signaling other than the uplink positioning reference signal (Heo [0095] The processor configures, based on the measurement gap pattern, the UE to perform proximity detection measurement on one or more reference signals during the measurement gap. The processor configures the UE to prohibit transmission or reception of additional signals during the measurement gap ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Wang et al. UL PRS configuration by incorporating Heo et a. measurement gap configuration for UL PRS transmission only to arrive at the invention. The motivation of doing so would have improved the detection of the UL PRS . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 10, and 13 , rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20180020423 A1) in view of Heo et al. (US 20140094162 A1), and in further view of MEDIATEK Inc. (provisional application 62/740,459) . Regarding claim 3, The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches The UE of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink positioning reference signal across a plurality of resources of the one or more resources in accordance with a frequency comb offset. In a similar endeavor, MEDIATEK Inc. teaches transmit the uplink positioning reference signal across a plurality of resources of the one or more resources in accordance with a frequency comb offset (MEDIATEK page 3 Definition of comb structure , and Page 9 Example of design of interference avoidance ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. by incorporating MEDIATEK Inc. comb design for the UL PRS of Wang et al. to arrive at the invention. The motivation of doing so would have reduced interference in detecting the UL PRS. Regarding claim 10,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the UE of claim 1, but does not teach’ wherein the uplink positioning reference signal has a uniform density in a frequency domain. In a similar endeavor, MEDIATEK Inc. teaches wherein the uplink positioning reference signal has a uniform density in a frequency domain (MEDIATEK page 3 examples of comb-2, comb-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. by incorporating MEDIATEK Inc. comb design for the UL PRS of Wang et al. to arrive at the invention. The motivation of doing so would have reduced interference in detecting the UL PRS. Regarding claim 13,The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. teaches the method of claim 11, but does not teach further comprising: transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal across a plurality of resources of the one or more resources in accordance with a frequency comb offset. In a similar endeavor, MEDIATEK Inc. teaches transmitting the uplink positioning reference signal across a plurality of resources of the one or more resources in accordance with a frequency comb offset (MEDIATEK page 3 Definition of comb structure , and Page 9 Example of design of interference avoidance ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified The combination of Wang et al. and Heo et al. by incorporating MEDIATEK Inc. comb design for the UL PRS of Wang et al. to arrive at the invention. The motivation of doing so would have reduced interference in detecting the UL PRS. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SAID M ELNOUBI whose telephone number is (571)272-9732. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:30AM to 6:00PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SAID M ELNOUBI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 3 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 4 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 5 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 6 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 7 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 8 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 9 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 10 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 11 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 12 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/762,407 Page 13 Art Unit: 2644