Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for backboard coupled to supports and a rim coupled to the backboard (e.g., the embodiment of Fig. 1 and/or Fig. 5), does not reasonably provide enablement for the rim to be coupled to the support to be above the base (e.g., Fig. 7), while having a backboard (as claimed within independent claim 1). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with the device of claim 3. The specification described the embodiment of Fig. 1 (and/or Fig. 5) as the supports coupled to the backboard (while the rim coupled to the backboard) as distinct and separate embodiment from the rim directly coupled with the supports, without the backboard (as shown in Fig. 7).
Claims 3 and 10-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 3, further clarification is require regarding “wherein distal ends of the one or more support members extend toward a common location and are coupled to the rim, wherein the rim is positioned above the first surface of the base”. Claim 3 dependent from claim 1, whereas claim 1 is not “a generic claim” and related to the specific embodiment of Fig. 5, whereas such limitations of claim 3 are related to a different and distinct embodiment of Fig. 7.
With respect to claim 10, further clarification requires what does applicant consider “an angled support member”
With respect to claim 11, the claim is rejected based upon its dependency to claim 10.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,427,386 (“ ‘386”) in view of Manner et al US 8,764,017 (“Manner”) and Grant US 3,617,059 (“Grant”).
Claim 1 of ‘386, recites all the limitations of above claim 1, namely “an apparatus, comprising: a base including a first end, a second end positioned opposite of the first end, a first surface, and a second surface positioned opposite of the first surface, a receptacle formed in the first surface of the base and positioned between the first end of the base and the second end of the base; one or more support members extending from the base; a backboard coupled to the one or more support members; and a rim coupled to the backboard, the backboard including an insert horizontally centered above the receptacle” except “wherein the first end includes a first thickness between the first surface and the second surface, the second end includes a second thickness between the first surface and the second surface, and the second thickness is greater than the first thickness; and “wherein a first support member of the one or more support members is positioned between the receptacle and the first end of the base and a second support member of the one or more support members is between the receptacle and the second end of the base, and wherein a distal end of the first support member of the one or more support members disposed on a first side of the base is coupled to a distal end of the second support member of the one or more support members disposed on the first side of the base.”.
With respect to “wherein the first end includes a first thickness between the first surface and the second surface, the second end includes a second thickness between the first surface and the second surface, and the second thickness is greater than the first thickness” in a similar field of devices, Manner discloses a base (lid 26) wherein a first end includes a first thickness between a first surface and a second surface, a second end includes a second thickness between the first surface and the second surface, and the second thickness is greater than the first thickness (Figs. 6, 7A, 16, 22 and 29 (at least 3:60-4:14). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘386’s base wherein the first end includes a first thickness between the first surface and the second surface, the second end includes a second thickness between the first surface and the second surface, and the second thickness is greater than the first thickness for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated by Manner’s suggestions to form such base configuration in a traditional manner suitable to be used as a recreational amusement device to enable toss game thereto (e.g., 3:60-4:49).
With respect to the position of the supports with relation to the base and receptacles, in a similar field of apparatuses, Grant discloses base 10 with apertures 28; and supports (struts 14) supporting target/goal 16 above the base (Fig. 1; 1:48-2:40). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘386 wherein a first support member of the one or more support members is positioned between the receptacle and the first end of the base and a second support member of the one or more support members is between the receptacle and the second end of the base, and wherein a distal end of the first support member of the one or more support members disposed on a first side of the base is coupled to a distal end of the second support member of the one or more support members disposed on the first side of the base for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing known mechanical support arrangement that firmly connect the goal/target with the base while the apparatus in a ready use configuration. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of ‘386 to provide support to support the target/goal above the base with the receptacle within.
Claim 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,427,386 (“’ 386”) in view of Pannell US 7,351,168 (“Pannell“) and Pierre US 5,320,360 (“Pierre”).
Claim 11 of ‘ 386 recite all the limitations of above claim 5, namely “an apparatus, comprising: a base including a first end, a second end positioned opposite of the first end, a first surface, and a second surface positioned opposite of the first surface; a receptacle extending through the base between the first surface of the base and the second surface of the base; two vertical members extending from the base (equivalent to “one or more vertical” of ‘386) ; a backboard coupled to and spaced over the base by the one or more vertical members; wherein the backboard includes a face oriented toward the receptacle, wherein the face of the backboard extends in a plane which extends relative to the first surface of the base at an angle greater than ninety degrees”, except “the two vertical members extending from the base, wherein each vertical member comprises one or more holes, wherein each hole passes horizontally through the vertical member” and “and one or more legs coupled to the base, the one or more legs configured to elevate the second end of the base relative to the first end of the base to provide the first surface of the base at an inclination when the base is positioned on an underlying surface”.
With respect to the vertical supports, in a similar field of apparatuses, Pannell discloses the two vertical members extending from a base, wherein each vertical member comprises one or more holes, wherein each hole passes horizontally through the vertical member (two extension members 17 (Figs. 2 and 5A) each includes a plurality of holes 18 (Fig. 6; 3:26-35). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form’386 the two vertical members extending from the base (i.e. “one or more vertical supports), wherein each vertical member comprises one or more holes, wherein each hole passes horizontally through the vertical member for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in applying known technique to provide an height adjustment means thus to enhance the use of the ‘386 to place the backboard, coupled to the vertical supports, at a desired height.
With respect to the base means, in similar field of apparatuses, Pierre discloses and one or more legs coupled to a base, the one or more legs configured to elevate a second end of the base relative to a first end of the base to provide a first surface of the base at an inclination when the base is positioned on an underlying surface (base 10 is including legs 13 and 14 placing the apparatus at such incline manner)(Fig. 1 in conjunction to Fig. 2 and at least 2:5-21). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘386’ and one or more legs coupled to the base, the one or more legs configured to elevate the second end of the base relative to the first end of the base to provide the first surface of the base at an inclination when the base is positioned on an underlying surface for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing known mechanical support arrangement that firmly support the base above playing surface that is suitable to be used as a recreational amusement device to enable toss game thereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manner et al US 8,764,017 (“Manner”) in view of Grant US 3,617,059 (“Grant”).
As per claim 1, Manner discloses an apparatus (at least in Figs. 1-22; and 3:42-7:35), comprising:
a base (lid 26) including a first end, a second end positioned opposite of the first end (Figs. 6-7A), a first surface (top 27), and a second surface positioned opposite of the first (surface 57)(Figs. 6-7A; 3:60-4:13), wherein the first end includes a first thickness between the first surface and the second surface (Figs. 6 and 7A), the second end includes a second thickness between the first surface and the second surface (figs. 6 and 7A), and the second thickness is greater than the first thickness (Figs. 6 and 7a);
a receptacle formed in the first surface of the base and positioned between the first end of the base and the second end of the base (one or more cavities 29)(Figs. 6-7a, 12 and 22; 4:28-49); one or more support members extending from the base (construed as mounting pegs 51 to be placed within mounting holes 50; the examiner construed the pegs 51 within holes 50 as “extending from base 26”)(Figs. 12 and 13; 5:25-44); a backboard coupled to the one or more support members (backboard 47 coupled with pegs 51)(Figs. 12 and 13; 5:25-44), and a rim coupled to the backboard (ring 48)(Fig. 13), the backboard including an insert horizontally centered above the receptacle,(Fig. 13 as marked hereinafter);
wherein the one or more support members are positioned between the receptacle and the first end of the base (pegs 51 positioned between receptacle 29 and the first end of base 26)(Fig. 12).
Manner is not specific regarding wherein a first support member of the one or more support members is positioned between the receptacle and the first end of the base and a second support member of the one or more support members is between the receptacle and the second end of the base, and wherein a distal end of the first support member of the one or more support members disposed on a first side of the base is coupled to a distal end of the second support member of the one or more support members disposed on the first side of the base.
However, in a similar field of apparatuses, Grant discloses a base 10 with apertures 28; and supports (struts 14) supporting target/goal 16 above the base (Fig. 1; 1:48-2:40). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Manner’s wherein a first support member of the one or more support members is positioned between the receptacle and the first end of the base and a second support member of the one or more support members is between the receptacle and the second end of the base, and wherein a distal end of the first support member of the one or more support members disposed on a first side of the base is coupled to a distal end of the second support member of the one or more support members disposed on the first side of the base for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing known mechanical support arrangement that firmly connect the goal/target with the base while the apparatus in a ready use configuration. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of Manner to provide support means to support the target/goal above the base with the receptacle.
As per claim 2, with respect to wherein the one or more support members extend along and are coupled to the base from the first end of the base to the second end of the base, note Grant’s Fig. 1 (1:48+) regarding supports/struts 14. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Manner’s wherein the one or more support members extend along and are coupled to the base from the first end of the base to the second end of the base for similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 3, with respect to wherein distal ends of the one or more support members extend toward a common location and are coupled to the rim, wherein the rim is positioned above the first surface of the base, note Grant’s Fig. 1 (1:48+) regarding supports/struts 14 as supporting rim 16 above the surface of base 10. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Manner’s wherein distal ends of the one or more support members extend toward a common location and are coupled to the rim, wherein the rim is positioned above the first surface of the base for similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1 (i.e., as a known supporting means).
As per claim 10, with respect to wherein the first support member is an angled support member, to the best of his understanding the examiner construed the support/struts 14 as “an angled support/s” as shown in Fig. 1 of Grant, as such. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Manner’s wherein the first support member is an angled support member for similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 11, with respect to wherein the angled support member extends at an angle relative to the base, note Grant’s Fig. 1 as supports/struts 14 are at such angle relative to base 10. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Manner’s wherein the angled support member extends at an angle relative to the base for similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 12, with respect wherein the second support member is a vertical support member, note Manner’s Figs. 12, 13 regarding vertical support/s 51.
Claim(s) 5, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manner in view of Pannell US 7,351,168 (“Pannell“) and Pierre US 5,320,360 (“Pierre”).
As per claim 5, Manner discloses an apparatus(in Figs. 1-22; and 3:42-7:35), comprising: a base including a first end, a second end positioned opposite of the first end, a first surface, and a second surface positioned opposite of the first surface (lid 26; with top 27; and surface 57)(Figs. 6-7A; 3:60-4:13); a receptacle extending through the base between the first surface of the base and the second surface of the base(one or more cavities 29)(Figs. 6-7a, 12 and 22; 4:28-49); two vertical members extending from the base (mounting pegs 51 to be placed within mounting holes 50)(Figs. 12 and 13; 5:25-44); a backboard coupled to and spaced over the base by the two vertical members (backboard 47 coupled with pegs 51)(Figs. 12 and 13; 5:25-44); and one or more legs coupled to the base, the one or more legs configured to elevate the second end of the base relative to the first end of the base (legs 72)(Figs. 22, 23, 24-27; 6:48-62).
Manner is not specific wherein each vertical member comprises one or more holes, wherein each hole passes horizontally through the vertical member.
Manner is not specific regarding the one or more legs to provide the first surface of the base at an inclination when the base is positioned on an underlying surface.
With respect to the vertical members, Pannell discloses two vertical members extending from a base, wherein each vertical member comprises one or more holes, wherein each hole passes horizontally through the vertical member (two extension members 17 (Figs. 2 and 5A) each includes a plurality of holes 18) (Fig. 6; 3:26-35). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Manner wherein each vertical member comprises one or more holes, wherein each hole passes horizontally through the vertical member for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in applying known technique to provide an height adjustment means thus to enhance the use of the Manner to place the backboard, coupled to the vertical supports, at a desired height.
With respect to the position of the legs, Pierre discloses base 10 includes legs 13 and 14 placing the apparatus at such incline manner)(Fig. 1 in conjunction to Fig. 2 and at least 2:5-21). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Manner’s one or more legs to provide the first surface of the base at an inclination when the base is positioned on an underlying surface for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing known mechanical support arrangement that firmly support the base above playing surface that is suitable to be used as a recreational amusement device to enable toss game thereto. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of Manner to provide one or more legs to support the base above playing surface.
As per claims 8, 9, with respect to wherein each vertical member comprises a plunger (claim 8), wherein the plunger is configured to pass through one of the one or more holes of the vertical member to secure the vertical member in a vertical position (claim 9), note Pannell’s Fig. 6 and 3:26+ regarding the use of pin 14 (i.e., plunger/s) within through holes 18 to secure the vertical extension members at a vertical position (as shown for example in Figs. 1-3). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Manner’s wherein each vertical member comprises a plunger and/or wherein the plunger is configured to pass through one of the one or more holes of the vertical member to secure the vertical member in a vertical position for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing known mechanical fasting means of plunger-to-through hole to adjust the height of the vertical supports.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manner, Pannell and Pierre as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Cosenza US 2008/0220913 (“Cosenza”).
As per claim 7, Manner is not specific regarding wherein each vertical member is coupled to the base using a hinge.
However, in a similar field of apparatuses, Cosenza discloses wherein each vertical member is coupled to a base using a hinge (hinges (532/470) to coupled vertical posts 420-430 to base 100)(Fig. 3; [0038]-[0041]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Manner’s wherein each vertical member is coupled to the base using a hinge or the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing known mechanical fasteners means that firmly securing the vertical members to the base.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR ARIE KLAYMAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7131. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday; 7:00 AM-4:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicholas Weiss can be reached at 571-270-1775. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/A.A.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3711 9/22/2026
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711