DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US20230080858).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses an electronic device comprising:
a flexible display (140) with a first portion (NFA), a second portion (FA) that is aligned with a bend axis (FX) that extends in a first direction, and a third portion (NFA), wherein the second portion is interposed between the first and third portions and wherein the first portion is configured to bend relative to the third portion about the bend axis (FX); and
a layer (110) that overlaps the flexible display, wherein the layer has a fourth portion that overlaps the first portion, a fifth portion that overlaps the second portion, and a sixth portion that overlaps the third portion (aforementioned Figure 5), wherein the fifth portion of the layer comprises a first material, and wherein the fourth and sixth portions of the layer comprise a second material that is different than the first material (material with no slots), and wherein the fifth portion of the layer has slots (Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20230080858) in view of Mathew et al. (hereinafter Mathew) (US10429892).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses the electronic device defined in claim 18,
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the second material comprises polymer and wherein the first material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of: stainless steel and carbon fiber.
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the layer comprises carbon fiber.
Mathew discloses wherein a layer (12P) comprises carbon fiber.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the carbon fiber into the layer of the electronic device of Lee.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this as the material is stiff and aids in reinforcing the elements within the electronic device.
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the layer comprises a material selected from the group consisting of stainless steel and carbon fiber.
Lee does not expressly disclose herein the layer comprises stainless steel.
Park discloses wherein a layer (200) comprising stainless steel.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the stainless steel of Park into the Lee.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to secure sufficient stiffness as well as flexibility despite said thickness.
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the layer comprises carbon fiber.
Mathew discloses wherein a layer (12P) comprises carbon fiber.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the carbon fiber into the layer of the electronic device of Lee.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein the fifth portion comprises interlocking features that attach the fifth portion to the fourth and sixth portions as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 1.
Claims 1-10, 11-14 and 15-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 1, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 11, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein the at least one property is selected from the group consisting of: a distance between rows of slots and an edge of the layer and an angle of each slot relative to the bend axis, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 11.
Regarding independent claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein the adhesive layer is non-overlapping with the second portion of the flexible display in the direction, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XANTHIA C RELFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
17 September 2026