DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Each of Claims 1-6 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of Claims 1-6 recites at least one step or instruction for calculating a third-order cumulant of the fused data and a third-order spectrum of the fused data; filtering the third-order cumulant using Parzen window; and calculating an amplitude spectrum and a phase spectrum of the constant-phase wavelet and the first minimum-phase wavelet using bispectrum analysis to reconstruct the mixed-phase wavelet, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG or a certain method of organizing human activity under the 2019 PEG. Accordingly, each of Claims 1-6 recites an abstract idea.
More importantly, the calculations in the claim limitations as written can be calculated by hand.
Further, dependent Claims 2-6 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claim 1 (and the respective dependent Claims 2-6) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claim 1), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the additional elements of: signals are generically recited computer elements in independent Claim 1 (and the respective dependent claims) which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claim 1 (and the respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., signals as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claim 1 (and the respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, independent Claim 1 (and the respective dependent claims) are each directed to an abstract idea under 2019 PEG.
Step 2B
None of Claims 1-6 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons.
These claims require the additional elements of: signals.
The above-identified additional elements are generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. , 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed term signals is reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available computers, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process.
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the signals. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Claims 1-6 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the methods of Claims 1-6 are directed to applying an abstract idea (e.g., mental process or certain method of organizing human activity) on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself (as in McRO, Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR). In other words, none of Claims 1-6 provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent Claim 1 (and the dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. That is, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. As such, the above-identified additional elements, when viewed as whole, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, Claims 1-6 merely apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR).
Therefore, none of the Claims 1-6 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, Claims 1-6 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract ideas implemented on a generic computer in view of the Supreme Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. and 2019 PEG.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colombo et al US 2021/0264262.
Regarding claim 1, Colombo et al discloses a geological structure characterization method based on a seismic velocity signal and a seismic acceleration signal, comprising: acquiring the seismic acceleration signal and the seismic velocity signal (see paragraph [0028]); normalizing the seismic acceleration signal and the seismic velocity signal (see paragraph [0048]); based on wavelet phase requirements, setting parameters to carry out constant-phase wavelet and minimum-phase wavelet extraction or to extract a mixed-phase wavelet (see paragraphs [0077]-[0081]); and wherein the constant-phase wavelet and minimum-phase wavelet extraction is performed through the following steps: (S1) extracting a first minimum-phase wavelet based on a normalized seismic velocity signal (see FIG. 4 and corresponding text); (S2) extracting a constant-phase wavelet based on a normalized seismic acceleration signal (see FIG. 4 and corresponding text); and converting the constant-phase wavelet to obtain a second minimum-phase wavelet (see paragraph [0112]); and (S3) calculating a residual between the first minimum-phase wavelet and the second minimum-phase wavelet; if the residual is greater than a preset threshold, returning to step (S2) and performing constant-phase wavelet extraction again (see FIG. 3A and 3B and corresponding text); and if the residual is less than or equal to the preset threshold, outputting the first minimum-phase wavelet and the constant-phase wavelet (see FIG. 3A and 3B and corresponding text); wherein the geological structure characterization method further comprises: after the constant-phase wavelet and minimum-phase wavelet extraction, converting the normalized seismic velocity signal in an acceleration domain followed by splicing with the normalized seismic acceleration signal to obtain fused data (see paragraphs [0045]-[0064]); and calculating a third-order cumulant of the fused data and a third-order spectrum of the fused data; filtering the third-order cumulant using Parzen window; and calculating an amplitude spectrum and a phase spectrum of the constant-phase wavelet and the first minimum-phase wavelet using bispectrum analysis to reconstruct the mixed-phase wavelet; the mixed-phase wavelet is extracted through the following formulas: w=IFFT(W); and W=sinΦ'W+jcosΦ'W; wherein w represents the mixed-phase wavelet; IFFT represents Fourier inverse transform; W represents a wavelet frequency spectrum; Φ'represents a wavelet phase spectrum; W represents a wavelet amplitude spectrum; and jis an imaginary number. See FIG. 3A, 3B, 5, 6, and 10 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 2, Colombo et al discloses wherein in step (S1), the first minimum-phase wavelet is extracted based on the normalized seismic velocity signal through the following formulas: an=unaon; un=0n<01n=02n>0; aon=IFFTAoω; and Aoω=lnX(ω); wherein an represents the first minimum-phase wavelet; un represents a coefficient; aon is an odd-part sequence of an; n represents a time sequence; IFFT represents Fourier inverse transform; Ao(ω) represents a Fourier transform result of aon; and Xω represents an amplitude spectrum of a seismic record. See FIG. 3A, 3B, 5, 6, and 10 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 3, Colombo et al discloses wherein in step (S2), the constant-phase wavelet is extracted based on the normalized seismic acceleration signal through the following formulas: ga,n=bncosa-hbnsina; and bn=IFFTXω; wherein ga,n represents the constant-phase wavelet; bn represents a zero-phase wavelet; a represents a phase correction factor; hbn is a Hilbert transform result of bn; IFFTrepresents Fourier inverse transform; and Xω represents an amplitude spectrum of a seismic record. See FIG. 3A, 3B, 5, 6, and 10 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 4, Colombo et al discloses wherein the phase correction factor is expressed as: a=πk,k=1,2,3…; wherein k is a positive integer. See FIG. 3A, 3B, 5, 6, and 10 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 5, Colombo et al discloses wherein the wavelet phase spectrum Φ'is calculated through the following formulas: Φ'=(AphaTApha)-1AphaTφ'; Apha=2-100⋯0011-10⋯00⋮10⋮0⋮02⋮0⋮00⋮0⋮0-1⋮0⋱⋯⋯⋱⋱⋮10⋮0⋮-10⋮1; and φ'=(φ'(1,1),φ'(1,2),…,φ'(1,N-1),φ'(2,2),…,φ'(2,N-2),…,φ'(N2,N2))T; wherein Apha is a (N2/4)×N matrix; T represents a matrix transpose operation; -1 denotes a matrix inversion operation; φ' is a (N2/4)×1 column vector; and N represents a size of a higher-order cumulant matrix. See FIG. 3A, 3B, 5, 6, and 10 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 6, Colombo et al discloses wherein the wavelet amplitude spectrum W is calculated through the following formulas: W(n)=eW'n,n=1,2,3,⋯,N/2W(N-n),n=N2+1,N2+2,⋯,N-1; W'=(AampTAamp)-1AampTX'; Aamp=2100⋯001110⋯00⋮10⋮0⋮02⋮0⋮00⋮0⋮01⋮0⋱⋯⋯⋱⋱⋮10⋮0⋮00⋮1; and X'=(X'(1,1),X'(1,2),…,X'(1,N2-1),X'(2,2),…,X'(2,N2-2),…,X'(N4,N4))T; wherein W(n) represents the wavelet amplitude spectrum; e represents a base of a natural logarithm function; W'n represents a natural logarithm of the wavelet amplitude spectrum; n represents a time sequence; N represents a size of a higher-order cumulant matrix; W(N-n) represents a part of the wavelet amplitude spectrum greater than one half of a wavelet length; W' represents a(N/2)×1 column vector; Aamp represents a (N2/16)×(N/2) matrix; T represents a matrix transpose operation; -1 represents a matrix inversion operation; and X' represents a (N2/16)×1column vector. See FIG. 3A, 3B, 5, 6, and 10 and corresponding text.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747