DETAILED ACTION
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
x. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
2. Applicant’s Amendment filed July 17, 2026 (“07/17/26 Amendment") has been entered, and fully considered.
3. In the 07/17/26 Amendment:
claims 31, 42, 43, 48, & 50 were amended;
claim 40 was cancelled (claims 1-30 were previously cancelled); &
claim 51 was newly added.
4. Therefore, claims 31-39, & 41-51 are now pending in the application.
5. The 07/17/26 Amendment has overcome the objections to the Specification and claims, as well as the claim rejections under §§ 112(b) & 103 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/25/26 (“02/25/26 Action”).
6. The prior non-statutory double-patenting rejection has also been withdrawn.
7. New grounds of rejection under § 103 are set forth herein, necessitated by Applicant’s Amendment.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 31, 32, 34, 36, 38, 39, 42-44, 46, & 48-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2013/0331914 to Lee et al. (“Lee”) in view of U.S. 2014/0081361 to Dhayan (“Dhayan”), and further in view of U.S. 2004/0249427 to Nabilsi (“Nabilsi”).
11. Regarding claim 31, Lee teaches a heat transfer device, comprising:
a thermoelectric component (TEC) [any of thermoelectric modules (18) - ¶’s [0043], [0047]; FIG. 2B] including a first side [the side facing second skin contacting surface (16) - ¶[0040]; FIG. 2B] configured to be thermally coupled to a user [thermally coupled via second skin contacting surface (16) - ¶’s [0040], [0042], [0043]; FIG. 2B] and a second side opposite the first side [the opposite side facing first chamber (20) - FIG. 2B];
a thermally conductive contact member [skin contacting surface (16) - ¶’s [0040], [0042]; FIG. 2B] coupled to the first side of the TEC [(18)] [¶’s [0042], [0043]; FIG. 2B], the contact member [(16)] being... a heat spreader configured to enhance heat transfer to and/or from the [user] [¶’s [0042]-[0043]; claim 6]; and
a heat transfer system configured to distribute heat from the TEC, the heat transfer system including—
a first heat transfer structure [as broadly as claimed, second chamber (22) - ¶’s [0042], [0043], FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the TEC [(18)] [NOTE: second chamber (22) includes the one or more thermoelectric modules (18) therein (see ¶[0043]), and fluid is pumped through the one or more thermoelectric modules (18) of second chamber (22) - ¶’s [0047], [0054]; FIG. 2B; FIG. 5; as such, “heat transfer” takes place therein] and having a first inlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (314) enters chamber (22)] and a first outlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (316) exits chamber (22)],
a second heat transfer structure [as broadly as claimed, thermoelectric modules (231) and the fluid pumped therethrough - ¶’s [0047], [0048]; FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the first heat transfer structure [via fluid flow conduits (314, 316) - ¶[0053]; FIG. 2B], wherein the second heat transfer structure [(231)] includes a second inlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (316) enters the modules (231)]... and a second outlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (314) exits the modules (231)]... , wherein, in operation, a working fluid [thermal fluid - ¶[0047]] received by the first heat transfer structure [(22)] is directed from the first outlet to the second inlet and from the second outlet to the first inlet [see ¶[0047] (“Fluid circulation pump 232 is operably controlled by controller 238 to pump a thermal fluid (not shown) through the thermoelectric modules 231 and heat exchanger 229. Fluid circulation pump 232 also controls fluid flow between the heat exchanger unit 230 and the one or more thermoelectric modules 18 in wrap 12”); see also ¶[0053] (“Fluid flow conduit 314 supplies thermal fluid from the heat exchanger unit 230 pumped by fluid distribution pump 232. Fluid flow conduit 316 returns thermal fluid from the thermoelectric modules 18 to the heat exchanger 230”); and [0054]], and
a heat exchanger [heat exchanger (229) - ¶’s [0046]-[0048]; FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the second heat transfer structure [(231)] [see ¶[0047]].
A. CONFORMING TO UNDER-EYE REGION
While Lee explicitly teaches that the device may be used with different parts of the body and may have different shapes, contours, and construction [e.g., ¶[0037]; FIGS. 1, 2A, 4], as well as a hard or soft casing [e.g., ¶[0040]], Lee does not teach a form factor that is used with/on an under-eye region of the user.
As such, Lee fails to teach the following emphasized claim limitations:
a thermally conductive contact member coupled to the first side of the TEC, the contact member sized to conform to an under-eye region of the user, and being a heat spreader configured to enhance heat transfer to and/or from the under-eye region.
Dhayan, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a device comprising, inter alia, a cooling element arranged to be located adjacent the skin of the under-eye area [e.g., Abstract; ¶[0019] (“By "under-eye area" it is meant the periorbital tissue that is below the eye, for example where eye-bags develop. By "portable", it is meant that the device is light and/or compact enough to be easily carried or moved”); ¶[0036] (“The at least one cooling element is preferably configured so as to only contact the under-eye area of skin of a wearer when the device is mounted to a head in use. That is, the cooling element(s) are not configured in such a way as to contact the eyes or eye-lids, and block or significantly impair the eyesight of a user wearing the device”); ¶[0047]].
The cooling element of Dhayan includes various components such as, e.g., liquid retaining means (e.g., ¶[0051]), heat transfer means (e.g., ¶[0051]), fins (e.g., ¶’s [0050]-[0052]), a thermoelectric heating/cooling element such as a Peltier device, and a heat sink [see ¶[0057] (“In the most preferred embodiment the device incorporates a thermoelectric heating/cooling element such as a Peltier device (6) and associated power supply such as for example a battery. The thermoelectric heating (6) and cooling device is preferably embedded in, or in contact with the heat sink (5). Advantageously such a device when in association with the heat sink (5) will aid in the modulation of heat transfer from the surface of the skin”); FIGS. 4 & 5].
Given Lee’s explicit teaching that the device may be used with different parts of the body and may have different shapes, contours, and construction [e.g., ¶[0037]; FIGS. 1, 2A, 4], it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee such that the portion configured to contact the user (e.g., the thermoelectric component (TEC), thermally conductive contact member, and first heat transfer structure of the heat transfer system) be provided in a known, art-recognized form factor, such as, e.g., the cooling element of Dhayan, which is arranged to be located adjacent the skin of the under-eye area used for thermal therapy, and which includes similar components (e.g., thermoelectric device, fluid channels, etc.), or more particularly, such that the contact member be sized to conform to an under-eye region of the user, and being a heat spreader configured to enhance heat transfer to and/or from the under-eye region, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results [facilitating hot/cold treatment of an under-eye region] to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
NOTE: For clarity, Dhayan is being relied-upon for the size/shape of the cooling element (housing), and the teaching that such an element is sized to conform to an under-eye region of the user so that thermal therapy can be administered to the under-eye region. Dhayan is not being relied upon for the individual components (or arrangement thereof) of the cooling element.
B. INLET/OUTLET POSITION
Finally, independent claim 31 includes the following emphasized limitations directed to the positioning of the inlets/outlets of the first and second heat transfer structures vis-à-vis one another:
a second heat transfer structure thermally coupled to the first heat transfer structure, wherein the second heat transfer structure includes a second inlet positioned at a higher elevation relative to the first outlet and a second outlet positioned at a higher elevation relative to the first inlet, wherein, in operation, a working fluid received by the first heat transfer structure is directed from the first outlet to the second inlet and from the second outlet to the first inlet.
First, it is noted that the fluid flow conduits (314, 316) in Lee are disposed within a flexible cable (316) connecting the first heat transfer structure (22) and the second heat transfer structure (231) [¶[0053]; FIG. 2B], which would clearly allow the second heat transfer structure (231) to be positioned “above” (at a higher elevation than) than the first heat transfer structure (22), thereby satisfying the above-emphasized claim limitations. Lee additionally teaches battery power [¶[0050]], thereby contemplating portability.
However, the claimed configuration is not explicitly taught in Lee.
Nabilsi, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a cooling pad (120) in the form of an eye mask [FIG. 3B] that utilizes cool tubing (134) to circulate cooling fluid from a cooling unit (110) to mask (120), and warm tubing (136) to transfer heat away from a person’s body and back to cooling unit (110) and its associated heat exchanger [e.g., ¶’s [0017]-[0021], [0024], and FIG. 3B].
Nabilsi further teaches that a retaining arm stand holds the hot and cold lines above the patient for connection to the cooling unit [see ¶’s [0023] (“A retaining arm stand similar to an IV bag stand holds the hot and cold line tubing pair (132) traveling to cooling pad (120)”); and ¶[0033] (“The pair of tubes are maintained in position above a patient by a stand holding the tubes. The only part of the device necessarily touching the user is the cooling pad (120) unit. The stand is attached to the cooling unit (110) for stability and telescopes from a contracted position to an expanded position”)].
It is appreciated that placement of the hot and cold lines above the patient does not necessarily mean that the cooling unit itself [including the inlet/outlet of the cooling unit] is also placed above the patient. However, Examiner notes that "[a] person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). Office personnel may… take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
In this case, given the size of the supply module (200) of Lee [see FIG. 2B of Lee], it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee and Dhayan such that the second heat transfer structure itself [TEC modules (231) as part of supply module (200)] and its associated components be mounted on a telescoping/expandable stand, such as a portable IV stand, in a position above the patient, since such a modification would provide the benefit/advantage of keeping the hot/cold lines from interfering with (and potentially aggravating) the user/patient, while simultaneously enabling mobility.
As modified, the second heat transfer structure of Lee would be positioned above (and at a higher elevation than) the first heat transfer structure, thereby positioning the second inlet and the second outlet at a higher elevation relative to the first outlet and the first inlet, respectively, of the first heat transfer structure.
12. Regarding claim 32, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches a cold fluid passage [conduit (314) - ¶’s [0053], [0054]; FIG. 2B] configured to direct the working fluid from the second outlet to the first inlet, and a hot fluid passage [conduit (316) - ¶’s [0053], [0054]; FIG. 2B] configured to direct the working fluid from the first outlet to the second inlet, wherein the first heat transfer structure [(22)] is spaced apart from the second heat transfer structure [(231)] via at least one of the cold fluid passage [(314)] or the hot fluid passage [(316)] [spaced apart via both conduits (314, 316) - see FIG. 2B] [NOTE: Lee uses both reference characters (314) & (310) to refer to the first (cold) fluid flow conduit, as well as both reference characters (316) & (312) to refer to the second (hot) fluid flow conduit - see ¶’s [0053]-[0054]].
13. Regarding claim 34, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 32 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches wherein the first heat transfer structure, the second heat transfer structure, the cold fluid passage, and the hot fluid passage comprise a closed-loop system [e.g., ¶’s [0021], [0048]].
14. Regarding claim 36, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches wherein the heat exchanger [(229)] is positioned over the second heat transfer structure [(231)] [clearly shown in FIG. 2B] such that, in operation, the heat exchanger [(229)] removes heat from the second heat transfer structure [(231)] via at least one of conduction or convection [¶’s [0047], [0048], [0053], [0054]].
15. Regarding claim 38, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches wherein the first heat transfer structure [(22)] is thermally coupled to the contact member [skin contacting surface (16) - ¶’s [0040], [0042]; claim 6; FIG. 2B].
16. Regarding claim 39, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches wherein the first heat transfer structure [(22)] has a shape corresponding to a shape of the contact member [skin contacting surface (16)] such that, in operation, heat transfers over a maximum surface area of the contact member [(16)] [as clearly seen in FIG. 2B, skin-contacting surface (16) extends along the entire bottom length of (22)].
17. Regarding claim 42, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches wherein the TEC is a first TEC [any of thermoelectric modules (18) is a first TEC - FIG. 2B], and wherein the device further comprises a second TEC [any of thermoelectric modules (231) is a second TEC - FIG. 2B] including a third side [bottom/lower side of a TEC (231)] configured to be thermally coupled to the second heat transfer structure [the thermoelectric modules (231) comprises the second heat transfer structure] and a fourth side [top/upper side of the TEC (231)] opposite the third side [the top/upper side of TEC (231) is opposite its bottom/lower side] thermally coupled to the heat exchanger [top/upper side of TEC (231) is thermally coupled to heat exchanger (229) - ¶’s [0046]-[0048]; FIG. 2B].
18. Regarding claim 43, Lee teaches a heat transfer device, comprising:
thermoelectric components (TECs) arranged in an array and spaced apart from one another [thermoelectric modules (18) - ¶’s [0043], [0047]; FIG. 2B], wherein individual TECs include a first side [the side facing second skin contacting surface (16) - ¶[0040]; FIG. 2B] configured to be thermally coupled to a human [thermally coupled via second skin contacting surface (16) - ¶’s [0040], [0042], [0043]; FIG. 2B] and a second side opposite the first side [the opposite side facing first chamber (20) - FIG. 2B];
a thermally conductive contact member [skin contacting surface (16) - ¶’s [0040], [0042]; FIG. 2B] coupled to the first sides of individual ones of the TECs [(18)] [¶’s [0042], [0043]; FIG. 2B],...;
a heat transfer system configured to distribute heat from the individual TECs, the heat transfer system including—
a first heat transfer structure [as broadly as claimed, second chamber (22) - ¶’s [0042], [0043], FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the individual TECs [(18)] [NOTE: second chamber (22) includes the one or more thermoelectric modules (18) therein (see ¶[0043]), and fluid is pumped through the one or more thermoelectric modules (18) of second chamber (22) - ¶’s [0047], [0054]; FIG. 2B; FIG. 5; as such, “heat transfer” takes place therein] and having a first inlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (314) enters chamber (22)] and a first outlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (316) exits chamber (22)],
a second heat transfer structure [as broadly as claimed, thermoelectric modules (231) and the fluid pumped therethrough - ¶’s [0047], [0048]; FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the first heat transfer structure [via fluid flow conduits (314, 316) - ¶[0053]; FIG. 2B], and having a second inlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (316) enters the modules (231)] … and a second outlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (314) exits the modules (231)]…,
a heat exchanger [heat exchanger (229) - ¶’s [0046]-[0048]; FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the second heat transfer structure [(231)] [see ¶[0047]] such that, in operation, a working fluid [thermal fluid - ¶[0047]] is directed from the first outlet to the second inlet and from the second outlet to the first inlet [see ¶[0047] (“Fluid circulation pump 232 is operably controlled by controller 238 to pump a thermal fluid (not shown) through the thermoelectric modules 231 and heat exchanger 229. Fluid circulation pump 232 also controls fluid flow between the heat exchanger unit 230 and the one or more thermoelectric modules 18 in wrap 12”); see also ¶[0053] (“Fluid flow conduit 314 supplies thermal fluid from the heat exchanger unit 230 pumped by fluid distribution pump 232. Fluid flow conduit 316 returns thermal fluid from the thermoelectric modules 18 to the heat exchanger 230”); and [0054]]; and
a controller [controller (238) - ¶’s [0046], [0051], FIG. 2B] coupled to the individual TECs [e.g., ¶’s [0013], [0043]], wherein the controller is configured to operate the individual TECs [e.g., ¶’s [0013], [0015], [0043], [0045], [0048], [0050], [0051], [0053]-[0055]] and the heat transfer system such that (i) the heat transfer system cools the second sides of the individual TECs to a first temperature and (ii) the individual TECs cause a temperature... change to a second temperature, different than the first temperature, within a predetermined period of time [e.g., ¶’s [0013], [0015], [0043], [0045], [0048], [0050], [0051], [0053]-[0055]].
A. CONFORMING TO UNDER-EYE REGION
While Lee explicitly teaches that the device may be used with different parts of the body and may have different shapes, contours, and construction [e.g., ¶[0037]; FIGS. 1, 2A, 4], as well as a hard or soft casing [e.g., ¶[0040]], Lee does not teach a form factor that is used with/on an under-eye region of the user.
As such, Lee fails to teach the following emphasized claim limitations:
wherein the contact member is sized to conform to an under-eye region of the human;
... (ii) the individual TECs cause a temperature of the under-eye region to change to a second temperature.
Dhayan, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a device comprising, inter alia, a cooling element arranged to be located adjacent the skin of the under-eye area [e.g., Abstract; ¶[0019] (“By "under-eye area" it is meant the periorbital tissue that is below the eye, for example where eye-bags develop. By "portable", it is meant that the device is light and/or compact enough to be easily carried or moved”); ¶[0036] (“The at least one cooling element is preferably configured so as to only contact the under-eye area of skin of a wearer when the device is mounted to a head in use. That is, the cooling element(s) are not configured in such a way as to contact the eyes or eye-lids, and block or significantly impair the eyesight of a user wearing the device”); ¶[0047]].
The cooling element of Dhayan includes various components such as, e.g., liquid retaining means (e.g., ¶[0051]), heat transfer means (e.g., ¶[0051]), fins (e.g., ¶’s [0050]-[0052]), a thermoelectric heating/cooling element such as a Peltier device, and a heat sink [see ¶[0057] (“In the most preferred embodiment the device incorporates a thermoelectric heating/cooling element such as a Peltier device (6) and associated power supply such as for example a battery. The thermoelectric heating (6) and cooling device is preferably embedded in, or in contact with the heat sink (5). Advantageously such a device when in association with the heat sink (5) will aid in the modulation of heat transfer from the surface of the skin”); FIGS. 4 & 5].
Given Lee’s explicit teaching that the device may be used with different parts of the body and may have different shapes, contours, and construction [e.g., ¶[0037]; FIGS. 1, 2A, 4], it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee such that the portion configured to contact the user (e.g., the thermoelectric component (TEC), thermally conductive contact member, and first heat transfer structure of the heat transfer system) be provided in a known, art-recognized form factor, such as, e.g., the cooling element of Dhayan, which is arranged to be located adjacent the skin of the under-eye area used for thermal therapy, and which includes similar components (e.g., thermoelectric device, fluid channels, etc.), or more particularly, such that the contact member be sized to conform to an under-eye region of the user, which would allow the individual TECs cause a temperature of the under-eye region to change from a first temperature to a second temperature, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results [facilitating hot/cold treatment of an under-eye region] to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
NOTE: For clarity, Dhayan is being relied-upon for the size/shape of the cooling element (housing), and the teaching that such an element is sized to conform to an under-eye region of the user so that thermal therapy can be administered to the under-eye region. Dhayan is not being relied upon for the individual components (or arrangement thereof) of the cooling element.
B. INLET/OUTLET POSITION
Finally, independent claim 43 includes limitations directed to the positioning of the inlets/outlets of the first and second heat transfer structures vis-à-vis one another:
a second heat transfer structure thermally coupled to the first heat transfer structure and having a second inlet positioned at a higher elevation relative to the first outlet and a second outlet positioned at a higher elevation relative to the first inlet.
First, it is noted that the fluid flow conduits (314, 316) in Lee are disposed within a flexible cable (316) connecting the first heat transfer structure (22) and the second heat transfer structure (231) [¶[0053]; FIG. 2B], which would clearly allow the second heat transfer structure (231) to be positioned “above” (at a higher elevation than) than the first heat transfer structure (22), thereby satisfying the above-emphasized claim limitations. Lee additionally teaches battery power [¶[0050]], thereby contemplating portability.
However, the claimed configuration is not explicitly taught in Lee.
Nabilsi, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a cooling pad (120) in the form of an eye mask [FIG. 3B] that utilizes cool tubing (134) to circulate cooling fluid from a cooling unit (110) to mask (120), and warm tubing (136) to transfer heat away from a person’s body and back to cooling unit (110) and its associated heat exchanger [e.g., ¶’s [0017]-[0021], [0024], and FIG. 3B].
Nabilsi further teaches that a retaining arm stand holds the hot and cold lines above the patient for connection to the cooling unit [see ¶’s [0023] (“A retaining arm stand similar to an IV bag stand holds the hot and cold line tubing pair (132) traveling to cooling pad (120)”); and ¶[0033] (“The pair of tubes are maintained in position above a patient by a stand holding the tubes. The only part of the device necessarily touching the user is the cooling pad (120) unit. The stand is attached to the cooling unit (110) for stability and telescopes from a contracted position to an expanded position”)].
It is appreciated that placement of the hot and cold lines above the patient does not necessarily mean that the cooling unit itself [including the inlet/outlet of the cooling unit] is also placed above the patient. However, Examiner notes that "[a] person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). Office personnel may… take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
In this case, given the size of the supply module (200) of Lee [see FIG. 2B of Lee], it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee and Dhayan such that the second heat transfer structure itself [TEC modules (231) as part of supply module (200)] and its associated components be mounted on a telescoping/expandable stand, such as a portable IV stand, in a position above the patient, since such a modification would provide the benefit/advantage of keeping the hot/cold lines from interfering with (and potentially aggravating) the user/patient, while simultaneously enabling mobility.
As modified, the second heat transfer structure of Lee would be positioned above (and at a higher elevation than) the first heat transfer structure, thereby positioning the second inlet and the second outlet at a higher elevation relative to the first outlet and the first inlet, respectively, of the first heat transfer structure.
19. Regarding claim 44 the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 43 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches a cold fluid passage [conduit (314) - ¶’s [0053], [0054]; FIG. 2B] configured to direct the working fluid from the second outlet to the first inlet, and a hot fluid passage [conduit (316) - ¶’s [0053], [0054]; FIG. 2B] configured to direct the working fluid from the first outlet to the second inlet, wherein the first heat transfer structure [(22)] is spaced apart from the second heat transfer structure [(231)] via at least one of the cold fluid passage [(314)] or the hot fluid passage [(316)] [spaced apart via both conduits (314, 316) - see FIG. 2B] [NOTE: Lee uses both reference characters (314) & (310) to refer to the first (cold) fluid flow conduit, as well as both reference characters (316) & (312) to refer to the second (hot) fluid flow conduit - see ¶’s [0053]-[0054]].
20. Regarding claim 46, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 43 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches wherein the heat exchanger [(229)] is positioned over the second heat transfer structure [(231)] [clearly shown in FIG. 2B] such that, in operation, the heat exchanger [(229)] removes heat from the second heat transfer structure [(231)] via at least one of conduction or convection [¶’s [0047], [0048], [0053], [0054]].
21. Regarding claim 48, Lee teaches a method for cooling [a] region of a human, comprising:
positioning a heat transfer device including a thermoelectric component (TEC) [any of thermoelectric modules (18) - ¶’s [0043], [0047]; FIG. 2B] and a contact member [skin contacting surface (16) - ¶’s [0040], [0042]; FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the... region [thermally coupled via second skin contacting surface (16) - ¶’s [0040], [0042], [0043]; FIG. 2B], ...and the heat transfer device including—
a first heat transfer structure [as broadly as claimed, second chamber (22) - ¶’s [0042], [0043], FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the TEC [(18)] [NOTE: second chamber (22) includes the one or more thermoelectric modules (18) therein (see ¶[0043]), and fluid is pumped through the one or more thermoelectric modules (18) of second chamber (22) - ¶’s [0047], [0054]; FIG. 2B; FIG. 5; as such, “heat transfer” takes place therein] and having a first inlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (314) enters chamber (22)] and a first outlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (316) exits chamber (22)],
a second heat transfer structure [as broadly as claimed, thermoelectric modules (231) and the fluid pumped therethrough - ¶’s [0047], [0048]; FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the first heat transfer structure [via fluid flow conduits (314, 316) - ¶[0053]; FIG. 2B] and having a second inlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (316) enters the modules (231)] … and a second outlet [broadly, where fluid flow conduit (314) exits the modules (231)]…, and
a heat exchanger [heat exchanger (229) - ¶’s [0046]-[0048]; FIG. 2B] thermally coupled to the second heat transfer structure [(231)] [see ¶[0047]],
directing a working fluid [thermal fluid - ¶[0047]] from the second outlet to the first inlet such that the working fluid flows through the first heat transfer structure and absorbs heat from the first heat transfer structure and cools the TEC to a first temperature [see ¶[0047] (“Fluid circulation pump 232 is operably controlled by controller 238 to pump a thermal fluid (not shown) through the thermoelectric modules 231 and heat exchanger 229. Fluid circulation pump 232 also controls fluid flow between the heat exchanger unit 230 and the one or more thermoelectric modules 18 in wrap 12”); see also ¶[0053] (“Fluid flow conduit 314 supplies thermal fluid from the heat exchanger unit 230 pumped by fluid distribution pump 232. Fluid flow conduit 316 returns thermal fluid from the thermoelectric modules 18 to the heat exchanger 230”); and [0054]];
directing the working fluid from the first outlet to the second inlet such that the heat absorbed from the first heat transfer structure is transferred to the second heat transfer structure [¶’s [0047], [0053], [0054]];
removing the heat absorbed from the second heat transfer structure via the heat exchanger [¶’s [0047], [0053], [0054]]; and
cooling the... region to a second temperature, different from the first temperature [e.g., ¶’s [0013], [0015], [0043], [0045], [0048], [0050], [0051], [0053]-[0055]].
A. CONFORMING TO UNDER-EYE REGION
While Lee explicitly teaches that the device may be used with different parts of the body and may have different shapes, contours, and construction [e.g., ¶[0037]; FIGS. 1, 2A, 4], as well as a hard or soft casing [e.g., ¶[0040]], Lee does not teach a form factor that is used with/on an under-eye region of the user.
As such, Lee fails to teach the following emphasized claim limitations:
a method for cooling an under-eye region of a human;
positioning a heat transfer device including a thermoelectric component (TEC) and a contact member thermally coupled to the under-eye region, the contact member sized to conform to the under-eye region, [and]
cooling the under-eye region to a second temperature, different from the first temperature.
Dhayan, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a device comprising, inter alia, a cooling element arranged to be located adjacent the skin of the under-eye area [e.g., Abstract; ¶[0019] (“By "under-eye area" it is meant the periorbital tissue that is below the eye, for example where eye-bags develop. By "portable", it is meant that the device is light and/or compact enough to be easily carried or moved”); ¶[0036] (“The at least one cooling element is preferably configured so as to only contact the under-eye area of skin of a wearer when the device is mounted to a head in use. That is, the cooling element(s) are not configured in such a way as to contact the eyes or eye-lids, and block or significantly impair the eyesight of a user wearing the device”); ¶[0047]].
The cooling element of Dhayan includes various components such as, e.g., liquid retaining means (e.g., ¶[0051]), heat transfer means (e.g., ¶[0051]), fins (e.g., ¶’s [0050]-[0052]), a thermoelectric heating/cooling element such as a Peltier device, and a heat sink [see ¶[0057] (“In the most preferred embodiment the device incorporates a thermoelectric heating/cooling element such as a Peltier device (6) and associated power supply such as for example a battery. The thermoelectric heating (6) and cooling device is preferably embedded in, or in contact with the heat sink (5). Advantageously such a device when in association with the heat sink (5) will aid in the modulation of heat transfer from the surface of the skin”); FIGS. 4 & 5].
Given Lee’s explicit teaching that the device may be used with different parts of the body and may have different shapes, contours, and construction [e.g., ¶[0037]; FIGS. 1, 2A, 4], it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee such that the portion configured to contact the user (e.g., the thermoelectric component (TEC), thermally conductive contact member, and first heat transfer structure of the heat transfer system) be provided in a known, art-recognized form factor, such as, e.g., the cooling element of Dhayan, which is arranged to be located adjacent the skin of the under-eye area used for thermal therapy, and which includes similar components (e.g., thermoelectric device, fluid channels, etc.), or more particularly, to be used in a method for cooling an under-eye region of a human, including positioning a heat transfer device including a thermoelectric component (TEC) and a contact member thermally coupled to the under-eye region, the contact member sized to conform to the under-eye region, and cooling the under-eye region to a second temperature, different from the first temperature, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results [facilitating hot/cold treatment of an under-eye region] to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
NOTE: For clarity, Dhayan is being relied-upon for the size/shape of the cooling element (housing), and the teaching that such an element is sized to conform to an under-eye region of the user so that thermal therapy can be administered to the under-eye region. Dhayan is not being relied upon for the individual components (or arrangement thereof) of the cooling element.
B. INLET/OUTLET POSITION
Finally, independent claim 48 includes the following emphasized limitations directed to the positioning of the inlets/outlets of the first and second heat transfer structures vis-à-vis one another:
a second heat transfer structure thermally coupled to the first heat transfer structure and having a second inlet positioned at a higher elevation than the first outlet and a second outlet positioned a higher elevation than the first inlet.
First, it is noted that the fluid flow conduits (314, 316) in Lee are disposed within a flexible cable (316) connecting the first heat transfer structure (22) and the second heat transfer structure (231) [¶[0053]; FIG. 2B], which would clearly allow the second heat transfer structure (231) to be positioned “above” (at a higher elevation than) than the first heat transfer structure (22), thereby satisfying the above-emphasized claim limitations. Lee additionally teaches battery power [¶[0050]], thereby contemplating portability.
However, the claimed configuration is not explicitly taught in Lee.
Nabilsi, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a cooling pad (120) in the form of an eye mask [FIG. 3B] that utilizes cool tubing (134) to circulate cooling fluid from a cooling unit (110) to mask (120), and warm tubing (136) to transfer heat away from a person’s body and back to cooling unit (110) and its associated heat exchanger [e.g., ¶’s [0017]-[0021], [0024], and FIG. 3B].
Nabilsi further teaches that a retaining arm stand holds the hot and cold lines above the patient for connection to the cooling unit [see ¶’s [0023] (“A retaining arm stand similar to an IV bag stand holds the hot and cold line tubing pair (132) traveling to cooling pad (120)”); and ¶[0033] (“The pair of tubes are maintained in position above a patient by a stand holding the tubes. The only part of the device necessarily touching the user is the cooling pad (120) unit. The stand is attached to the cooling unit (110) for stability and telescopes from a contracted position to an expanded position”)].
It is appreciated that placement of the hot and cold lines above the patient does not necessarily mean that the cooling unit itself [including the inlet/outlet of the cooling unit] is also placed above the patient. However, Examiner notes that "[a] person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). Office personnel may… take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
In this case, given the size of the supply module (200) of Lee [see FIG. 2B of Lee], it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee and Dhayan such that the second heat transfer structure itself [TEC modules (231) as part of supply module (200)] and its associated components be mounted on a telescoping/expandable stand, such as a portable IV stand, in a position above the patient, since such a modification would provide the benefit/advantage of keeping the hot/cold lines from interfering with (and potentially aggravating) the user/patient, while simultaneously enabling mobility.
As modified, the second heat transfer structure of Lee would be positioned above (and at a higher elevation than) the first heat transfer structure, thereby positioning the second inlet and the second outlet at a higher elevation relative to the first outlet and the first inlet, respectively, of the first heat transfer structure.
22. Regarding claim 49, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 48 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches wherein the working fluid directed from the second outlet to the first inlet is a cooled working fluid and the working fluid directed from the first outlet to the second inlet is a heated working fluid [¶’s [0047], [0053]-[0054]].
23. Regarding claim 50, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 48 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches wherein removing the heat absorbed from the second heat transfer structure via the heat exchanger further comprises at least one of conducting the heat absorbed away from the second heat transfer structure or removing the heat absorbed away from the second heat transfer structure by convection [¶’s [0047], [0048], [0053], [0054]].
24. Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi, as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of U.S. 2019/0083299 to Rozanski (“Rozanski”).
25. Regarding claim 33, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 32 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Claim 33 recites the limitation “wherein an entirety of the cold fluid passage is positioned at a higher elevation than an entirety of the hot fluid passage.”
In Lee, the cold fluid passage (314) is shown below the hot fluid passage (316) [see FIG. 2B], although Lee does teach that the polarity of the thermoelectric modules may be reversed, thereby providing a heating therapy effect [¶’s [0055], [0057]], in which case the hot fluid passage (316) would serve as a cold fluid passage, and the cold fluid passage (314) would serve as a hot fluid passage.
Regardless, Rozanski, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches that it was known in the art for a cold fluid passage to be positioned at a higher elevation than an entirety of a hot fluid passage. For example, with reference to FIG. 1, when circulating cooling fluid, a top portion of a conduit (14) exits control unit (12) at a (second) outlet (43) and delivers cooling fluid to a (first) inlet (23) of an eye mask (16), while a bottom portion of conduit (14) (which removes heat and circulates the fluid back to control unit (12)) exits mask (16) at a (first) outlet (25) and delivers the heated fluid back to a (second) inlet (45) of control unit (12) [see ¶’s [0018], [0019], [0021]; FIG. 1].
It would have been It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi such that an entirety of the cold fluid passage is positioned at a higher elevation than an entirety of the hot fluid passage, e.g., as taught by Rozanski, since such a modification amounts to a mere rearrangement of parts, which is an example of a common practice which the court has held normally requires only ordinary skill in the art, and is hence considered a routine expedient. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device); and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). In the instant case, positioning the cold fluid passage (314) of Lee above the hot fluid passage (316) would not modify the operation of the device.
26. Claims 35 & 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi, and further in view of U.S. 6,770,085 to Munson ("Munson").
27. Regarding claim 35, the combination of Lee & Harsy teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
The combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi does not, however, teach:
wherein the heat transfer system is a two-phase system, such that the working fluid directed from the second outlet to the first inlet comprises a liquid and the working fluid directed from the first outlet to the second inlet comprises a vapor.
Munson, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a cooling pad for removing heat from a person’s body part [Abstract]. Munson teaches delivery of a working fluid to the pad, where absorbed heat is used to boil the fluid into a vapor. The vapor is then expelled from the pad and carried to a condensing block where the heat is removed using a thermoelectric heat pump and the vapor is condensed back into a liquid for delivery back to the pad [Munson, Abstract, col. 2, ll. 41].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi such that the heat transfer system is a two-phase system, such that the working fluid directed from the second outlet to the first inlet comprises a liquid and the working fluid directed from the first outlet to the second inlet comprises a vapor, since such a heat transfer system was well known in the art (as demonstrated by Munson), and since such a modification amounts merely to the substitution of one well-known heat transfer system for another, yielding predictable results (removing heat from the contact member positioned adjacent the target area of the human) to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
28. Regarding claim 45, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 43 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
The combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi does not, however, teach:
wherein the heat transfer system is a two-phase system, such that the working fluid directed from the second outlet to the first inlet comprises a liquid and the working fluid directed from the first outlet to the second inlet comprises a vapor.
Munson, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a cooling pad for removing heat from a person’s body part [Abstract]. Munson teaches delivery of a working fluid to the pad, where absorbed heat is used to boil the fluid into a vapor. The vapor is then expelled from the pad and carried to a condensing block where the heat is removed using a thermoelectric heat pump and the vapor is condensed back into a liquid for delivery back to the pad [Munson, Abstract, col. 2, ll. 41].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi such that the heat transfer system is a two-phase system, such that the working fluid directed from the second outlet to the first inlet comprises a liquid and the working fluid directed from the first outlet to the second inlet comprises a vapor, since such a heat transfer system was well known in the art (as demonstrated by Munson), and since such a modification amounts merely to the substitution of one well-known known heat transfer system for another, yielding predictable results (removing heat from the contact member positioned adjacent the target area of the human) to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
29. Claims 37, 41, & 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi, and further in view of U.S. 2022/0273088 to Goo ("Goo").
30. Regarding claim 37, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
The combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi does not, however, teach:
wherein one of or both the first and second heat transfer structures have an inlet region, an outlet region, and microfeatures each spaced apart from one other to at least partially define channels configured to receive the working fluid, wherein, in operation, the working fluid flows from the inlet region to the outlet region and absorbs heat from the microfeatures.
Goo, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a mask comprising a contact layer having a lower portion in contact with a face surface of a user, at least one thermoelectric module for applying cold to a user's face, and a heat dissipation layer above the thermoelectric module [Goo, Abstract].
More particularly, and with reference to FIG. 24 of Goo, Goo teaches an embodiment wherein the mask comprises one or more thermoelectric modules (30) mounted on contact layer (20), and a heat transfer structure [fluid chamber (83) of fluid circulation unit (80)] mounted on TEC module (30). Goo teaches that fluid circulation unit (80) removes heat generated from the TEC module (30), and comprises an inlet region [interface to fluid inlet passage (82)], an outlet region [interface to fluid outlet passage (84)], and microfeatures spaced apart from each other to at least partially define channels configured to receive a working fluid [see ¶’s [0441]-[0443]], wherein, in operation, the working fluid flows from the inlet region to the outlet region and absorbs heat from the microfeatures [see ¶[0428]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi to implement the known, art-recognized configuration of Goo, wherein one of or both the first and second heat transfer structures have an inlet region, an outlet region, and microfeatures each spaced apart from one other to at least partially define channels configured to receive the working fluid, wherein, in operation, the working fluid flows from the inlet region to the outlet region and absorbs heat from the microfeatures, since such a modification amounts merely to the substitution of one known heat transfer configuration for another, yielding predictable results (removing heat generated by the TEC module) to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
31. Regarding claim 41, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Lee further teaches:
wherein the TEC [(18)] is directly over the contact member [(16)] [clearly shown in FIG. 2B].
However, because the second chamber (22) includes the one or more thermoelectric modules (18) therein [FIG. 2B], the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi does not teach:
wherein… the first heat transfer structure [(22)] is directly over the TEC [(18)].
Goo, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a mask comprising a contact layer having a lower portion in contact with a face surface of a user, at least one thermoelectric module for applying cold to a user's face, and a heat dissipation layer above the thermoelectric module [Goo, Abstract].
More particularly, and with reference to FIG. 24 of Goo (provided below), Goo teaches an embodiment wherein the mask comprises one or more thermoelectric modules (30) mounted on contact layer (20), and a heat transfer structure [fluid chamber (83) of fluid circulation unit (80)] mounted on TEC module (30).
FIG. 24 of GOO
Goo teaches that fluid circulation unit (80) removes heat generated from the TEC module (30), and may, via a fluid inlet passage (82), supply a circulating fluid to fluid chamber (83) which has one surface coming in contact with the thermoelectric module (30), exchange heat with the TEC module (30) in the fluid chamber (83), and then retrieve the circulating fluid discharged via a fluid outlet passage (84), thereby circulating the circulating fluid [Goo, ¶’s [0427], [0428]; see also FIG. 25].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi to implement the known, art-recognized configuration of Goo, wherein the first heat transfer structure comprises a fluid chamber positioned directly over the TEC (rather than have the TEC positioned in the heat transfer structure), as taught by Goo, since such a modification amounts merely to the substitution of one known heat transfer configuration for another, yielding predictable results (removing heat generated by the TEC module) to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
32. Regarding claim 47, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 43 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
The combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi does not, however, teach:
wherein one or both the first and second heat transfer structures have an inlet region, an outlet region, and microfeatures spaced apart from each other to at least partially define channels configured to receive the working fluid, wherein, in operation, the working fluid flows from the inlet region to the outlet region and absorbs heat from the microfeatures.
Goo, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a mask comprising a contact layer having a lower portion in contact with a face surface of a user, at least one thermoelectric module for applying cold to a user's face, and a heat dissipation layer above the thermoelectric module [Goo, Abstract].
More particularly, and with reference to FIG. 24 of Goo, Goo teaches an embodiment wherein the mask comprises one or more thermoelectric modules (30) mounted on contact layer (20), and a heat transfer structure [fluid chamber (83) of fluid circulation unit (80)] mounted on TEC module (30). Goo teaches that fluid circulation unit (80) removes heat generated from the TEC module (30), and comprises an inlet region [interface to fluid inlet passage (82)], an outlet region [interface to fluid outlet passage (84)], and microfeatures spaced apart from each other to at least partially define channels configured to receive a working fluid [see ¶’s [0441]-[0443]], wherein, in operation, the working fluid flows from the inlet region to the outlet region and absorbs heat from the microfeatures [see ¶[0428]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi to implement the known, art-recognized configuration of Goo, wherein one of or both the first and second heat transfer structures have an inlet region, an outlet region, and microfeatures each spaced apart from one other to at least partially define channels configured to receive the working fluid, wherein, in operation, the working fluid flows from the inlet region to the outlet region and absorbs heat from the microfeatures, since such a modification amounts merely to the substitution of one known heat transfer configuration for another, yielding predictable results (removing heat generated by the TEC modules) to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
33. Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi, as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of U.S. 2023/0063088 to Akerele (“Akerele”) [the relied-upon portions of Akerele are fully supported by the Foreign Priority Application (FR 2112796, filed 12/01/2021)].
34. Regarding claim 51, the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi teaches all of the limitations of claim 31 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Claim 51 further requires the limitation “wherein the contact member is crescent-shaped.”
Lee was modified above (in the rejection of claim 31) such that the portion configured to contact the user (e.g., the thermoelectric component (TEC), thermally conductive contact member, and first heat transfer structure of the heat transfer system) be provided in a known, art-recognized form factor, such as, e.g., the cooling element of Dhayan. Again, Dhayan was relied-upon for the size/shape of the cooling element (housing), and the teaching that such an element is sized to conform to an under-eye region of the user so that thermal therapy can be administered to the under-eye region.
While the contact member [the cooling element] of Dhayan is sized to conform to an under-eye region of the user, the shape of the cooling element in Dhayan does not comprise an exact crescent shape [see the excerpt of FIG. 5 of Dhayan (provided below)].
Excerpt of FIG. 5 of Dhayan
Akerele, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches that it was known for substrates applied under the eye region to have be crescent-shaped [see, e.g., the excerpts of FIGS. 1 & 8 of Akerele (below), and ¶[0021] (“substrates 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, and 120 can further have area-specific geometries that are intended to conform to specific areas of the skin or face and can accommodate certain contoured areas. For example, the square and circle substrates 102, 112 may be for the forehead and cheeks, the triangle shaped substrates 104, 114 may be for the glabella, the chevron shape substrates 106, 116 may be for the corners of the eyes and mouth, the crescent shape substrates 108, 118 may be for under the eyes, cheekbone, or chin, and the parallelogram shape substrates may be for the cheek or jawline”)].
Excerpt of FIG. 1 of Akerele
Excerpt of FIG. 8 of Akerele
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Lee, Dhayan, & Nabilsi such that the contact member, which is already sized/configured to be placed at an under-eye region of a user, have a known, art-recognized shape for conforming to the contoured area under the eye, including, e.g., a crescent-shape, since such a modification amounts merely to the substitution of one known contact member shape for another, yielding predictable results [providing a shape known to be effective in matching (conforming to) the contour of the under-eye region] to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
35. As noted above, the 07/17/26 Amendment has overcome the objections to the Specification and claims, as well as the claim rejections under §§ 112(b) & 103 previously set forth in the 02/25/26 Action. The prior non-statutory double-patenting rejection has also been withdrawn.
36. Applicant's arguments concerning the prior rejections under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive (in view of the current Amendment). Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection under § 103 are set forth in detail above, necessitated by Applicant’s Amendment.
CITATION OF PERTINENT PRIOR ART
37. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. 2020/0206023 to Pathak et al. (“Pathak”) teaches an ophthalmic device comprising, inter alia, a housing (302) configured to be mounted under an eyelid of a subject [¶[0042]], and a thermal regulator (324) placed remotely (e.g., on a surface, such as a table) [¶’s [0042], [0044]]. With reference to FIG. 3A (reproduced below), housing (302) includes a microchannel (348) for effecting heat transfer between thermal regulation fluid (346) and the portion of the eye contacted by the ophthalmic device, while thermal regulator (324) includes, e.g., a fluid reservoir (344) and heat exchanger (352) [¶[0043]].
U.S. 2012/0095537 to Hall et al. (“Hall”) teaches that it was known to mount a control unit comprising, e.g., one or more reservoirs, pumps, & heat exchanger assembly on a portable IV pole [see, e.g., ¶[0156] (“In many embodiments, unit 40 can be integral or otherwise include one or more of reservoir(s) 70, waste container 80, pumps 90a and 90b, and heat exchanger assembly 110 so as to comprise main unit 40. In some embodiments, the main unit is a portable unit and will typically include a handle and is sized to be readily carried and transportable in an ambulance, EMT vehicle, crash cart and the like. The main unit can also include brackets or other mounting means to be quickly mounted to an IV pole, patient's bed, gurney, or like structure, or may also include an integral IV pole. The pole may be telescoping or otherwise self-expanding. The pole may allow specific components of unit 40, such as fluid reservoirs 70 and/or waste container 80, to be placed at various locations around the patient and also provides a gravitation head pressure for delivery of fluid 20 into or out of the patient”)].
CONCLUSION
38. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this
Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is
reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Joanne M. Rodden, can be reached at telephone number 303-297-4276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BRADFORD C. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794