CTNF 18/762,584 CTNF 88891 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/02/2024 and 07/09/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 8, 15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung, “Corrections on HARQ Feedback,” R1-1800453, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #AH 1801, Vancouver, Canada, January 22-26, 2018 (“Samsung”; cited in Applicant’s IDS submitted 07/02/2024) in view of Beale et al. (US 2020/0120606; cited in Applicant’s IDS submitted 07/02/2024; “Beale”) . Regarding claim 1 , Samsung teaches a codebook determination method, comprising: determining, by a user equipment (UE), a timing at which physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) data is receivable by the UE [Samsung p. 1, sec. 2.1: time domain resource of PDSCH is dynamically indicated by DCI from an RRC configured table pdsch-symbolAllocation , where each row of the table includes slot offset K0, start symbol S and duration L within a slot] ; and forming, by the UE, a corresponding Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest-Acknowledgement (HARQ- ACK) codebook based on the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable [Samsung p. 1, sec. 2.1: PDCCH occasions for HARQ-ACK codebook determination should be determined by both PDCCH to PDSCH slot offset K0 and HARQ-ACK timing K1 ( here, both K0 and K1 are relative to the timing at which PDSCH is receivable, therefore, the HARQ-ACK codebook is based the timing of PDSCH )] . However, Samsung does not explicitly disclose determining, a timing at which PDSCH data is receivable by the UE based on a timing of being awakened. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Beale teaches determining, a timing at which PDSCH data is receivable by the UE based on a timing of being awakened [Beale ¶ 0056: when the communications device 400 wakes up at the start of the DRX on period and starts to monitor the PDCCH channel ( i.e. at a time of being awakened ), it detects an indication that data is scheduled for it on a PDSCH, then the communications device 400 will decode the indicated PDSCH resources ( here, the UE detects PDCCH at a time of being awakened to determine PDSCH resources )] . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of determining PDSCH reception timing and forming a HARQ-ACK codebook based on said timing as taught by Samsung with the method of receiving PDCCH according to a DRX timing to determine scheduled PDSCH resources as taught by Beale. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce the power consumption of communication devices using shared network resources [Beale ¶¶ 0005-0007] . Regarding claim 8 , Samsung teaches a codebook determination method, comprising: confirming, by a base station, that a user equipment (UE) determines a timing at which physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) data is receivable by the UE [Samsung p. 1, sec. 2.1: time domain resource of PDSCH is dynamically indicated by DCI from an RRC configured table pdsch-symbolAllocation , where each row of the table includes slot offset K0, start symbol S and duration L within a slot; here, a base station would confirm the UE determining timing upon reception of the HARQ feedback ] ; and confirming, by the base station, that the UE forms a corresponding Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook based on the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable [Samsung p. 1, sec. 2.1: PDCCH occasions for HARQ-ACK codebook determination should be determined by both PDCCH to PDSCH slot offset K0 and HARQ-ACK timing K1 ( here, both K0 and K1 are relative to the timing at which PDSCH is receivable, therefore, the HARQ-ACK codebook is based the timing of PDSCH ); here, a base station would confirm the UE forming codebook upon reception of the HARQ feedback ] . However, Samsung does not explicitly disclose the UE determining, a timing at which PDSCH data is receivable by the UE based on a timing of being awakened. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Beale teaches the UE determining, a timing at which PDSCH data is receivable by the UE based on a timing of being awakened [Beale ¶ 0056: when the communications device 400 wakes up at the start of the DRX on period and starts to monitor the PDCCH channel ( i.e. at a time of being awakened ), it detects an indication that data is scheduled for it on a PDSCH, then the communications device 400 will decode the indicated PDSCH resources ( here, the UE detects PDCCH at a time of being awakened to determine PDSCH resources )] . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of determining PDSCH reception timing and forming a HARQ-ACK codebook based on said timing as taught by Samsung with the method of receiving PDCCH according to a DRX timing to determine scheduled PDSCH resources as taught by Beale. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce the power consumption of communication devices using shared network resources [Beale ¶¶ 0005-0007] . Regarding claim 15 , Samsung teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising at least one memory, at least one processor, and a computer program stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, when executing the computer program, performs: determining a timing at which physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) data is receivable by the UE [Samsung p. 1, sec. 2.1: time domain resource of PDSCH is dynamically indicated by DCI from an RRC configured table pdsch-symbolAllocation , where each row of the table includes slot offset K0, start symbol S and duration L within a slot] ; and forming, a corresponding Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest-Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook based on the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable [Samsung p. 1, sec. 2.1: PDCCH occasions for HARQ-ACK codebook determination should be determined by both PDCCH to PDSCH slot offset K0 and HARQ-ACK timing K1 ( here, both K0 and K1 are relative to the timing at which PDSCH is receivable, therefore, the HARQ-ACK codebook is based the timing of PDSCH )] . However, Samsung does not explicitly disclose the user equipment (UE), comprising at least one memory, at least one processor, and a computer program stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, when executing the computer program, performs: determining, a timing at which PDSCH data is receivable by the UE based on a timing of being awakened. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Beale teaches the user equipment (UE), comprising at least one memory, at least one processor, and a computer program stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, when executing the computer program [Beale ¶¶ 0226-0228: embodiments performed by processors/storage medium storing software] , performs: determining, a timing at which PDSCH data is receivable by the UE based on a timing of being awakened [Beale ¶ 0056: when the communications device 400 wakes up at the start of the DRX on period and starts to monitor the PDCCH channel ( i.e. at a time of being awakened ), it detects an indication that data is scheduled for it on a PDSCH, then the communications device 400 will decode the indicated PDSCH resources ( here, the UE detects PDCCH at a time of being awakened to determine PDSCH resources )] . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of determining PDSCH reception timing and forming a HARQ-ACK codebook based on said timing as taught by Samsung with the method of receiving PDCCH according to a DRX timing to determine scheduled PDSCH resources as taught by Beale. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce the power consumption of communication devices using shared network resources [Beale ¶¶ 0005-0007] . Regarding claim 17 , Samsung in view of Beale teaches a base station, performs the codebook determination method of claim 1, however, Samsung does not explicitly disclose the base station comprising at least one memory, at least one processor, and a computer program stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, when executing the computer program, performs the codebook determination method of claim 1. However, Beale teaches the base station comprising at least one memory, at least one processor, and a computer program stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, when executing the computer program, performs the codebook determination method of claim 1 [Beale ¶¶ 0226-0228: embodiments performed by processors/storage medium storing software] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding claim 18 , Samsung in view of Beale teaches a base station, performing the codebook determination method of claim 8, however, Samsung does not explicitly disclose comprising at least one memory, at least one processor, and a computer program stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, when executing the computer program, performs the codebook determination method of claim 8. However, Beale teaches the base station comprising at least one memory, at least one processor, and a computer program stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, when executing the computer program, performs the codebook determination method of claim 8 [Beale ¶¶ 0226-0228: embodiments performed by processors/storage medium storing software] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 8 above. Regarding claim 19 , Samsung in view of Beale teaches the codebook determination of claim 1, however, Samsung does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and the computer program, when executed by at least one processor, performs the codebook determination method of claim 1. However, Beale teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and the computer program, when executed by at least one processor, performs the codebook determination method of claim 1 [Beale ¶¶ 0226-0228: embodiments performed by processors/storage medium storing software] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding claim 20 , Samsung in view of Beale teaches the codebook determination method of claim 8, however, Samsung does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and the computer program, when executed by at least one processor, performs the codebook determination method of claim 8. However, Beale teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and the computer program, when executed by at least one processor, performs the codebook determination method of claim 8 [Beale ¶¶ 0226-0228: embodiments performed by processors/storage medium storing software] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 8 above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-7 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung in view of Beale in view of Yoshioka et al. (US 2021/0259005 A1; “Yoshioka”) . Regarding claim 5 , Samsung in view of Beale teaches the codebook determination method of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose further comprising: acquiring, by the UE, at least one of a position of working sub-bands or a number of working sub-bands for the UE after the UE is awakened; and determining, by the UE in each of the working sub-bands based on the timing of being awakened, the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable by the UE; or, acquiring, by the UE, at least one of a position of working component carriers (CCs) or a number of working CCs for the UE after the UE is awakened; and determining, by the UE in each of the working CCs based on the timing of being awakened, the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable by the UE. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Yoshioka teaches acquiring, by the UE, at least one of a position of working sub-bands or a number of working sub-bands for the UE after the UE is awakened; and determining, by the UE in each of the working sub-bands based on the timing of being awakened, the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable by the UE; or, acquiring, by the UE, at least one of a position of working component carriers (CCs) or a number of working CCs for the UE after the UE is awakened; and determining, by the UE in each of the working CCs based on the timing of being awakened, the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable by the UE [Yoshioka ¶¶ 0129-0130, Fig. 6: first DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #1 and second DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #2 ( i.e. UE acquires position/number of subbands/CCs for PDSCH reception ); see also ¶¶ 0072-0073, Fig. 3: UE detects a first and second DCI scheduling PDSCH at a timing ( here, Fig. 3 shows first and second PDSCH received at timing specific to the CC/BWP upon which the PDSCH is received ); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references ] . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of determining PDSCH reception timing and forming a HARQ-ACK codebook based on said timing as taught by Samsung with the method of scheduling PDSCH on a per CC/BWP basis as taught by Yoshioka. The motivation to combine these references would be to support PDSCH repetition thereby improving URLLC communications [Yoshioka ¶¶ 0006-0008] . Regarding claim 6 , Samsung in view of Beale in view of Yoshioka teaches the codebook determination method of claim 5, however, Samsung does not explicitly disclose wherein acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the position of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands for the UE after the UE is awakened comprises: receiving, by the UE, a wake-up signal, confirming, by the UE, that the UE is awakened by the wake-up signal, and acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the position of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands from the wake-up signal; or acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands required by the UE from downlink control information (DCI) after the UE is awakened; or using, by the UE, default sub-bands as the working sub-bands according to a rule agreed between the UE and a base station. However, Yoshioka teaches wherein acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the position of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands for the UE after the UE is awakened comprises: acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands required by the UE from downlink control information (DCI) after the UE is awakened [Yoshioka ¶¶ 0129-0130, Fig. 6: first DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #1 and second DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #2 ( i.e. UE acquires position/number of subbands/CCs for PDSCH reception, wherein the UE would inherently be awake to receive DCI ); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 5 above. Regarding claim 7 , Samsung in view of Beale in view of Yoshioka teaches the codebook determination method of claim 5, however, Samsung does not explicitly disclose wherein acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the position of the working CCs or the number of the working CCs for the UE after the UE is awakened comprises: receiving, by the UE, a wake-up signal, confirming, by the UE, that the UE is awakened by the wake-up signal, and acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the position of the working CCs or the number of the working CCs from the wake-up signal; or activating, by the UE, CCs through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) and using, by the UE, the activated CCs as the working CCs; or acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the position of the working CCs or the number of the working CCs required by the UE from DCI after the UE is awakened; or using, by the UE, default CCs as the working CCs according to a rule agreed between the UE and a base station. However, Yoshioka teaches wherein acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the position of the working CCs or the number of the working CCs for the UE after the UE is awakened comprises: acquiring, by the UE, at least one of the position of the working CCs or the number of the working CCs required by the UE from DCI after the UE is awakened [Yoshioka ¶¶ 0129-0130, Fig. 6: first DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #1 and second DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #2 ( i.e. UE acquires position/number of subbands/CCs for PDSCH reception, wherein the UE would inherently be awake to receive DCI ); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 5 above. Regarding claim 12 , Samsung in view of Beale teaches the codebook determination method of claim 8, however, does not explicitly disclose further comprising: confirming, by the base station, the following: the UE acquires at least one of a position of working sub-bands or a number of working sub-bands for the UE after the UE is awakened; and determines in each of the working sub-bands based on the timing of being awakened, the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable by the UE; or, the UE acquires at least one of a position of working component carriers (CCs) or a number of working CCs for the UE after the UE is awakened; and determines in each of the working CCs based on the timing of being awakened, the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable by the UE. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Yoshioka teaches confirming, by the base station, the following: the UE acquires at least one of a position of working sub-bands or a number of working sub-bands for the UE after the UE is awakened; and determines in each of the working sub-bands based on the timing of being awakened, the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable by the UE; or, the UE acquires at least one of a position of working component carriers (CCs) or a number of working CCs for the UE after the UE is awakened; and determines in each of the working CCs based on the timing of being awakened, the timing at which the PDSCH data is receivable by the UE [Yoshioka ¶¶ 0129-0130, Fig. 6: first DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #1 and second DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #2 ( i.e. UE acquires position/number of subbands/CCs for PDSCH reception ); see also ¶¶ 0072-0073, Fig. 3: UE detects a first and second DCI scheduling PDSCH at a timing ( here, Fig. 3 shows first and second PDSCH received at timing specific to the CC/BWP upon which the PDSCH is received ); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references ] . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of determining PDSCH reception timing and forming a HARQ-ACK codebook based on said timing as taught by Samsung with the method of scheduling PDSCH on a per CC/BWP basis as taught by Yoshioka. The motivation to combine these references would be to support PDSCH repetition thereby improving URLLC communications [Yoshioka ¶¶ 0006-0008] . Regarding claim 13 , Samsung in view of Beale in view of Yoshioka teaches the codebook determination method of claim 12, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein confirming, by the base station, that the UE acquires at least one of the position of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands for the UE after the UE is awakened comprises: confirming, by the base station, the following: the UE receives a wake-up signal, the UE confirms that the UE is awakened by the wake-up signal, and acquires at least one of the position of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands from the wake-up signal; or the UE acquires at least one of the position of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands required by the UE from downlink control information (DCI) after the UE is awakened; or the UE uses default sub-bands as the working sub-bands according to a rule agreed between the UE and a base station. However, Yoshioka teaches wherein confirming, by the base station, that the UE acquires at least one of the position of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands for the UE after the UE is awakened comprises: confirming, by the base station, the following: the UE acquires at least one of the position of the working sub-bands or the number of the working sub-bands required by the UE from downlink control information (DCI) after the UE is awakened [Yoshioka ¶¶ 0129-0130, Fig. 6: first DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #1 and second DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #2 ( i.e. UE acquires position/number of subbands/CCs for PDSCH reception, wherein the UE would inherently be awake to receive DCI ); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 12 above. Regarding claim 14 , Samsung in view of Beale in view of Yoshioka teaches the codebook determination method of claim 12, however, Samsung does not explicitly disclose wherein confirming, by the base station, that the UE acquires at least one of a position of working CCs or a number of working CCs for the UE after the UE is awakened comprises: confirming, by the base station, the following: the UE receives a wake-up signal, confirming that the UE is awakened by the wake-up signal, and acquires at least one of the position the working CCs or the number of the working CCs from the wake-up signal; or the UE activates CCs through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) and using the activated CCs as the working CCs; or the UE acquires, at least one of the position of the working CCs or the number of the working CCs required by the UE from DCI after the UE is awakened; or the UE uses default CCs as the working CCs according to a rule agreed between the UE and a base station. However, Yoshioka teaches wherein confirming, by the base station, that the UE acquires at least one of a position of working CCs or a number of working CCs for the UE after the UE is awakened comprises: confirming, by the base station, the following: the UE acquires, at least one of the position of the working CCs or the number of the working CCs required by the UE from DCI after the UE is awakened [Yoshioka ¶¶ 0129-0130, Fig. 6: first DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #1 and second DCI schedules PDSCH in CC/BWP #2 ( i.e. UE acquires position/number of subbands/CCs for PDSCH reception, wherein the UE would inherently be awake to receive DCI ); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references ] . The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 12 above . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-4, 9-11, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN P COX whose telephone number is (571)272-2728. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:00AM-4PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Thier can be reached at 5712722832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN P COX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 2 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 3 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 4 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 5 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 6 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 7 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 8 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 9 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 10 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 11 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 18/762,584 Page 12 Art Unit: 2474