DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 21, 22, 24-26, & 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peterson (US 5086861 A).
Regarding claim 1 Peterson teaches a system for adjusting toe of a vehicle wheel (abstract), the system comprising: an outer tie rod configured to couple to a wheel assembly (FIG. 2: 20); an inner tie rod (FIG. 2: 24); an electromechanical actuator arranged in-line with the outer tie rod and the inner tie rod, and configured to adjust the toe of the vehicle wheel (abstract, “An apparatus for moving an object along a linear path, such as a tie rod end in a vehicle steering system”, steering is achieved by altering toe) by altering a distance between the outer tie rod and the inner tie rod (FIG. 2: depicted to enable this action; “An apparatus for moving an object along a linear path, such as a tie rod end in a vehicle steering system”), and comprising: an electric motor (FIG. 2: 34), a ball screw (FIG. 2: 59), a shaft coupler (FIG. 2: 50), a ball nut (FIG. 2: 53), and a bearing pack supporting the ball screw (FIG. 2: 62), wherein the outer tie rod connects to the ball nut (FIG. 2: depicted), and wherein the ball nut is configured to be driven back and forth along the ball screw with low friction (FIG. 2: depicted in this configuration), thereby translating the outer tie rod (FIG. 2: result of depicted structure), further wherein the ball screw is coupled to the electric motor by the shaft coupler; and one or more stay rods rigidly connected to the electromechanical actuator to prevent rotation of the electromechanical actuator relative to the outer tie rod during operation (FIG. 2: stay rods 43).
Regarding claim 25 Peterson teaches a system for adjusting toe of a vehicle wheel (abstract), the system comprising: an outer tie rod configured to couple to a wheel assembly (FIG. 2: 20); an inner tie rod (FIG. 2: 24); an electromechanical actuator arranged in-line with the outer tie rod and the inner tie rod, and configured to adjust the toe of the vehicle wheel (abstract, “An apparatus for moving an object along a linear path, such as a tie rod end in a vehicle steering system”, steering is achieved by altering toe) by altering a distance between the outer tie rod and the inner tie rod (FIG. 2: depicted to enable this action; “An apparatus for moving an object along a linear path, such as a tie rod end in a vehicle steering system”), and comprising: an electric motor (FIG. 2: 34), a ball screw (FIG. 2: 59), wherein the ball screw is configured to be driven to rotate about a central axis (FIG. 2: depicted), a shaft coupler (FIG. 2: 50), coupling the ball screw to the electric motor (FIG. 2: depicted), a ball nut connected to the outer tie rod and configured to be driven back and forth along the ball screw with low friction to translate the outer tie rod (FIG. 2: 53), and a bearing pack supporting the ball screw (FIG. 2: 62); and one or more stay rods rigidly connected to the electromechanical actuator to prevent rotation of the electromechanical actuator relative to the outer tie rod during operation (FIG. 2: 43).
Regarding claims 2 & 26 Peterson teaches an electronic controller configured to control actuation of the electromechanical actuator (FIG. 2: 13).
Regarding claims 5 & 28 Peterson teaches that the electric motor is coupled in-line with the outer tie rod and the inner tie rod (FIG. 2: depicted).
Regarding claims 7 & 29 Peterson teaches an encoder configured to monitor the position of the electromechanical actuator (FIG. 2: 15)
Regarding claims 21 & 30 Peterson teaches that the bearing pack is configured to support radial and thrust loads (FIG. 2: 62 depicted protecting both 63 from thrust loads and 57 from radial loads).
Regarding claim 22 Peterson teaches that the ball screw is configured to be driven to rotate about its central axis by the electric motor (FIG. 2: depicted in this configuration).
Regarding claims 24 & 31 Peterson teaches that the one or more stay rods couple the electric motor to the outer rod (FIG. 2: depicted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 & 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US 5086861 A) in view of Ramirez (US 9216625 B2).
Regarding claims 23 & 27 Peterson does not explicitly teach that the electronic controller is configured to adjust toe when the electronic controller also adjusts camber or caster by controlling a camber or caster adjusting unit. However, Ramirez does teach adjusting a camber angle along with a toe angle (column 3, lines 11-31). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the camber adjustment of Ramirez with the suspension system of Peterson in order to optimize the forces acting on the wheel (Ramirez, column 2, lines 13-30).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument that Peterson is not “configured to adjust the toe of the vehicle wheel by altering a distance between the outer tie rod and the inner tie rod” is not persuasive because it is configured to adjust the toe of the vehicle (in the same way that it is able to adjust the steering) by altering a distance between the outer and inner tie rods (this is what the actuator and ball screw assembly does by extending the length of the ball screw which is positioned between the two tie rods).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAXWELL L MESHAKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/PAUL N DICKSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614