DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The claims filed 07/03/2024 have been entered. Claims 1-5 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the operation" in 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of examination, the limitation will be in interpreted as “an operation”.
Claims 2-5 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Destefano (US 2018/0021508).
Regarding Claim 1, Destefano discloses a drug injection device (10, Fig 1A) comprising: a base (2252, Fig 14A) having an opening (2252E, Fig 14A); a housing (12, Fig 1A) disposed above the base (See Figs 1A-1C); a patch (2270, Fig 14A) mounted on the base to cover the opening (Para 0125); and a needle assembly mounted on the housing and including a needle (2214, Fig 14A) and a cannula (2260, Fig 14A); wherein an end of the cannula is inserted into the patch to position the cannula and is supported on patch, before an operation of the needle assembly (See Fig 14B wherein the cannula is supported on the patch 2270 before the operation of withdrawing occurs. The claim language does not specify what operation of the needle assembly the cannula must be inserted into the patch before).
Regarding Claim 2, Destefano discloses a center portion of the patch is configured to cover the opening, and an edge portion of the patch is configured to be fixed on the base (Para 0125; See Fig 14A).
Regarding Claim 3, Destefano discloses an attachment portion (“adhesive patch”) disposed below the base (Para 0147), and wherein the end of the cannula is to be inside of the opening and above the attachment portion (See Fig 14A).
Regarding Claim 4, Destefano discloses the needle assembly further comprises: a first holder (2212, Fig 14A) supporting the needle; a second holder (flange portion comprising septum 2280, Fig 16B) disposed on one side of the first holder and supporting the cannula (See Fig 14A); and an elastic member (2218, Fig 14B) connected to the first holder, wherein, when the elastic member is expanded, the first holder and the second holder are moved to an extended position (See Fig 14B), and the cannula and the needle are moved through the attachment portion (Para 0125).
Regarding Claim 5, Destefano discloses the elastic member (2218, Fig 14C) is contracted, only the first holder and the needle are returned to an original position, and the second holder is supported by the patch (Para 0126, See Fig 14C).
Conclusion
/ANTARIUS S DANIEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783