DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wazumi, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0137554, in view of Nakano, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0300070.
Regarding independent claim 1, Wazumi teaches a post-processing apparatus (the apparatus between and including post processor 52 and the fixer 60) comprising:
a post processer (52) to perform post processing on a medium (processing to discharge the sheet out from the apparatus after image formation and fixing);
a conveyor (figs 11, 12, the conveyor formed by the rollers conveying the medium) to convey the medium along a conveyance path in a conveyance direction (figs 11, 12);
a surface detector (300 directly detecting temperature of the sheet, and ¶ 34, 39, the controller that indirectly detects the image data through forming it as a result of receiving the image data) to detect a presence of an image on a surface of the medium conveyed along the conveyance path (¶ 82, 93-103, 132, 137, utilizing temperature of the sheet as well as image data to control);
an air blower (200) to blow air toward the surface of the medium conveyed along the conveyance path, the air blower including:
an air blowing fan (the fans of the air blower 200) to generate airflow;
multiple air blower ports (the ports on the right blower and the ports of the left air blower) disposed downstream in the conveyance direction from the surface detector (figs 11, 12), facing the conveyance path to blow air to the medium conveyed along the conveyance path (fig 11); and
an air duct (the duct between the respective fans and the ports) coupling the air blowing fan and the multiple air blower ports to guide the air from the air blowing fan to each of the air blower ports; and
circuitry configured to control an amount of the air blown from each of the multiple air blower ports to the medium based on a detection of the surface of the medium by the surface detector (¶¶ 132-137) such that the amount of air blown by one of the air blower ports is different from an amount of air blown by another of the air blower ports based on the detection of the surface of the medium (¶ 130-136, describing setting different cooling amounts for each of the blowers based on the detected temperatures and image data).
Wazumi utilizes several blowers to achieve the separate cooling at each of the stages. As such, Wazumi fails to teach:
switches corresponding to the multiple air blower ports to block or pass air flowing to the multiple air blower ports; and,
circuitry configured to control an amount of the air blown from each of the multiple air blower ports to the medium using the switches.
Nakano also teaches and image forming apparatus utilizing several blowers (23) to obtain different blowing amount out of several air blower ports (the ports around each of 23) to achieve different blowing amounts from each port directed at a sheet (¶ 43, 50, 59-61). However, Nakano also teaches that rather than using several blowers, one can also use a single blower with individual shutters at the plurality of air blowing ports (¶ 75). The prior art thus recognizes the equivalence of several blowers individually controlled to a single blower with individually controlled shutters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to provide switches corresponding to the multiple air blower ports to block or pass air flowing to the multiple air blower ports; and, circuitry configured to control an amount of the air blown from each of the multiple air blower ports to the medium using the switches. Such would have been a mere substitution of equivalents known for the same purpose, MPEP 2144.06 (II), based on an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the switches each include a valve in the air duct, the valve openably closable to control the amount of the air blown from each of the air blower ports to the medium, and the circuitry controls the valves based on the detection of the surface of the medium by the surface detector.
Here, the switches can be construed as the electronics that actuate the various shutters as the claimed valves.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1, Wazumi further teaches wherein the surface detector detects a surface temperature of the medium to identify an area in the medium having the surface temperature exceeding a reference value (¶¶ 132-137), and
the circuitry controls the switches, as combined, to blow the air to the area from one or more of the multiple air blower ports facing the area (¶¶ 132-137).
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 3, Wazumi further teaches temperature acquisition circuitry (the electronics of the surface detector 300 that actually acquires the temperature as an electronic signal) to acquire a temperature of the medium heated before processed by the post-processing apparatus,
wherein the circuitry controls the air blower to change the amount of the air blown from the air blower to the medium based on the temperature acquired by the temperature acquisition circuitry (¶¶ 132-137, after having received the temperature or the acquired electronic signal).
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 3, Wazumi further teaches a temperature acquisition circuitry (the electronics of the surface detector 300 that actually acquires the temperature as an electronic signal, noting that the sheet is “in a vicinity of the post-processing apparatus”), to acquire an ambient temperature in a vicinity of the post-processing apparatus,
wherein the circuitry controls the air blower to change the amount of the air blown from the air blower to the medium based on the temperature acquired by the temperature acquisition circuitry (¶¶ 132-137, after having received the temperature or the acquired electronic signal).
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1, Wazumi further teaches wherein the surface detector detects an image on the surface of the medium (¶ 82, 93-103, 132, 137, utilizing temperature of the sheet as well as image data to control, having detected the image by receiving image data and causing the image to have formed),
the circuitry is further configured to:
identify an area having the image in the medium detected by the surface detector (¶ 137); and
control the switches, as combined, based on the image on the surface of the medium, to blow the air to the area from the multiple air blower ports facing the area (¶¶ 132-137).
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1, Wazumi further teaches an image forming system (fig 1) comprising:
an image forming apparatus (40) to form an image on a medium; and
the post-processing apparatus according to claim 1 (supra) disposed downstream from the image forming apparatus in the conveyance direction (fig 1),
wherein the post-processing apparatus performs the post processing on the medium on which the image is formed by the image forming apparatus (fig 1).
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1, Wazumi further teaches at least one additional surface detector (fig 12) to detect the surface of the medium conveyed along the conveyance path, the at least one additional surface detector to detect the temperature of the medium or the image on the surface of the medium (¶ 131-135),
wherein the circuitry is configured to individually perform the control based on a detection of the surface of the medium by the surface detector and the at least one additional surface detector (¶ 131-135).
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 8, Wazumi further teaches the at least one additional surface detector consists of two additional surface detectors (fig 12), each to detect the temperature of the medium or the image on the surface of the medium (¶ 131-135).
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 1, wherein:
each of the multiple air blower ports is to blow air in a direction perpendicular to the conveyance path of the medium (fig 11, showing some component of the arrows in a direction perpendicular to the conveyance path of the medium).
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 1, Wazumi further teaches the circuitry is configured to increase the amount of air blown from one or more of the multiple air blower ports when the detected surface temperature of the medium exceeds a predetermined reference value (¶ 131-135, in that the amount of air blown is related to the detected temperatures, where each detected temperature acts as a separate predetermined reference value indicating that the amount of air to blow needs to be increased).
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 1, the combination further teaches
the circuitry is configured to selectively stop air from being blown from one or more of the multiple air blower ports (the several switches are controller to reach a proper temperature) to prevent disturbance of media alignment during the post- processing (an improper temperature is a “disturbance of media alignment” from the proper temperature with which it ought to be aligned).
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 1, the combination further teaches the control of the amount of air blown includes changing the amount of airflow generated by the air blowing fan (as combined, Wazumi teaches individually controlling several fans, while Nakano teaches using a single fan with separate shutters, with Nakano teaching the equivalence. This limitation is a mere combination of equivalents known for the same purpose. MPEP 2144.06 (I)).
Regarding claim 17, which depends from claim 1, wherein: the circuitry further controls the amount of air blown based on an ambient temperature in a vicinity of the post-processing apparatus (¶ 65) and history data records of the media heated in an image forming apparatus (fig 12, in that there are a plurality of temperature detectors in succession along the conveyance path together forming history data records regarding temperature of the media heated in an image forming apparatus).
Claims 1-10, 12, 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wazumi, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0137554, in view of Nakano, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0300070, in view of well known prior art.
The reasoning of the rejections above repeated herein with the following modifications:
Examiner assumes arguendo, without conceding, that “a surface detector to detect a presence of an image on a surface of the medium conveyed along the conveyance path” requires actually looking at the image formed, rather than merely utilizing print data.
Wazumi utilizes image data, as cited above, to detect the presence of an image to control the blowing amount to an appropriate level for the image present.
Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art of electrophotography to utilize a surface detector as an equivalent to image data when controlling based on the presence of an image. See, e.g.: Iwadate, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0082974, ¶ 32; Matsuzaki, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2018/0284674, ¶ 136; and, Kajikawa, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2006/0034625, ¶ 172. See MPEP 2144.03(C) for guidance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to provide a surface detector to detect a presence of an image on a surface of the medium that actually looks at the surface rather than merely relying on image data. Such would have been a mere substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. MPEP 2144.06 (II).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wazumi, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0137554, in view of Nakano, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0300070, and further in view of well known prior art.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wazumi, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0137554, in view of Nakano, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0300070, in view of well known prior art, and further in view of well known prior art.
The above combinations are silent with respect to a stapler.
Examiner takes official notice that staplers are well known in the art of electrophotography for the purpose of binding sheets together. See, e.g.: Terao et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0087013, ¶ 31. See MPEP 2144.03(C) for guidance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to provide a stapler. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing would have done so to bind sheets together.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wazumi, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0137554, in view of Nakano, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0300070, and further in view of well known prior art.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wazumi, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0137554, in view of Nakano, U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0300070, in view of well known prior art, and further in view of well known prior art.
The above combinations are silent as to the particular type of shutters used. As such, the above combinations are silent with respect to which of the following two alternatives the combinations teach:
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 1, wherein:
the amount of air blown from each of the multiple air blower ports is controlled by pivotally rotating the switches which are within a corresponding air duct.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 1, wherein: the amount of air blown from each of the multiple air blower ports is controlled by sliding the switches which are within a corresponding air duct in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the air flows.
Examiner takes official notice that sliding shutters are known equivalents to pivotally rotating shutters in the art of electrophotography for controlling flow with shutters. See, e.g.: Sato et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0405552, ¶ 98; Oguri et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2016/0291519, ¶ 87; Shoji et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2007/0134023, ¶ 52; and, Takagaki et al., U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2007/0065188, ¶ 81. See MPEP 2144.03(C) for guidance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to provide one of two known equivalent shutters, either pivotally rotating or sliding. Such would have been a mere substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. MPEP 2144.06 (II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments have overcome the rejections under 112.
Applicant's remaining arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEVAN A AYDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852