DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
As directed by the amendment received on December 15, 2025, claims 1-3, 6, 12-13, and 15 have been amended, and claims 9, 11, and 17 have been canceled. Accordingly, claims 1-8, 10, 12-16, and 18-20 are currently pending in this application with claims 5, 10, and 20 being previously withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on December 15, 2025, have been considered and an action on the merits follows. Any objections and rejections previously put forth in the Office Action dated July 14, 2025, are hereby withdrawn unless specifically noted below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “400” directed to indicia as recited at least at [0040]. Examiner notes that Applicant amended only one instance of reference character “400” in [0040]. It is suggested that Applicant change the remaining instances to reference character “406” similar to Applicant’s previous amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because at line 10 “a rubbing” should read “rubbing”.
Claim 15 is objected to because at line 2, “soap” should read “the soap”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 13-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “defining an interior space” at lines 5-6. As several different structures were previously recited in the claim, it is unclear which of said structures is meant to define the interior space. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. Based on Applicant’s disclosure, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “the body component defining an interior space”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claims 14-16 and 18-19 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the four finger sections and the thumb section include a closed end which covers the user’s fingers and thumb” at lines 1-3. In order to overcome this rejection, it is suggested that the limitation instead read “wherein the four finger sections and the thumb section include a closed end which is configured to cover the user’s fingers and thumb, respectively”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0020259 to Lightsey (hereinafter, “Lightsey”) in view of USPN 5,650,384 to Gordon et al. (hereinafter, “Gordon”).
Regarding claim 1, Lightsey teaches a soap glove device for use by a user in a shower or bath (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; glove device (10) capable of being used in a shower or bath while bathing), the soap glove device comprising: a body component (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; glove (12)); and a soap layer (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; composition (50) which is a soap); wherein the body component is configured in a glove shape with finger and thumb sections (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; glove (12) has finger and thumb sections; Examiner notes that the term "section" is very broad and merely means "one of several components; a piece" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)); wherein the soap layer is applied onto an outer surface of the body component (See Lightsey Figs. 4-5; composition (50) is applied to outer surface of glove (12)); and wherein the soap layer is configured to be activated by a rubbing of the body component thereby creating a lather which can be applied to a user’s body while showering (composition (50) is capable of being activated by rubbing the glove (12) and creating a lather which can be applied to a hypothetical user’s body while showering; [0044]).
That said, although Lightsey appears to teach a composition (50) that could be considered tacky, Lightsey is silent to wherein the soap layer is a tacky cream layer that is configured to foam, cream, or froth when water is applied.
However, Gordon, in a related personal cleaning device art, is directed to a system or kit for cleansing the skin comprising a diamond-mesh sponge and a cleansing and moisturizing composition (See Gordon, Fig. 1; abstract). More specifically, Gordon teaches wherein the soap layer is a tacky cream layer that is configured to foam, cream, or froth when water is applied (soap layer is a cleansing cream; See Gordon, Col. 6, lines 3-12; absent further disclosure or definition of “tacky” by Applicant, the cleansing cream of Gordon would be tacky to at least some extent and therefore be considered “tacky” inasmuch as Applicant’s soap cream layer; Examiner notes that the term "tacky" is very broad and merely means "slightly adhesive or gummy to the touch; sticky" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to use the cleansing cream disclosed by Gordon as the cleansing composition in Lightsey, as the modification amounts to no more than a simple substitution of one known cleansing composition for another with nothing more than the reasonable expectation of one cleansing composition performing just as well as the other to yield predictable results, i.e., providing a composition with which a user can clean oneself.
Regarding claim 12, the modified soap glove device of Lightsey (i.e., Lightsey in view of Gordon, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the body component is disposable (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; glove (12) is capable of being disposed of).
Claims 2-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lightsey in view of Gordon, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2012/0160257 to Jenkins (hereinafter, “Jenkins”).
Regarding claim 2, the modified soap glove device of Lightsey (i.e., Lightsey in view of Gordon, as applied to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the finger and thumb sections comprise a thumb section and four separate finger sections, the body component further comprising a palm front, a palm back, the body component defining an interior space (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; glove (12) includes palm (14), back (15), thumb (24), and fingers (22) which all form an interior space capable of receiving a user’s hand).
That said, although Lightsey has a wrist section, the modified soap glove device of Lightsey is silent to an elastic wrist section.
However, Jenkins, in a related bathing glove art, is directed to a glove for use in the bath or shower (See Jenkins, Figs. 1-7; abstract). More specifically, Jenkins teaches an elastic wrist section (See Jenkins, Figs, 1-7; elastic wrist section (20)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace the wrist section of the modified soap glove device of Lightsey with the elastic wrist section disclosed by Jenkins for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a comfortable fit which conforms to a user’s wrist and is capable of retaining the glove on the user’s wrist during use.
Regarding claim 3, the modified soap glove device of Lightsey (i.e., Lightsey in view of Gordon and Jenkins, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 above) further teaches wherein the body component is designed for receiving a hand of the user into the interior space (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; glove (12) forms interior space and is capable of receiving a hand of a user therein).
Regarding claim 4, the modified soap glove device of Lightsey (i.e., Lightsey in view of Gordon and Jenkins, as discussed with respect to claims 1-3 above) further teaches wherein each of the four separate finger sections is designed for receiving a user’s finger and the thumb section is designed for receiving a user’s thumb when the hand of the user is positioned in the interior space of the body component (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; fingers (22) and thumb (24) of glove (12) are capable of receiving corresponding fingers and thumb, respectively, of a hypothetical user’s hand therein when worn).
Regarding claim 6, the modified soap glove device of Lightsey (i.e., Lightsey in view of Gordon and Jenkins, as discussed with respect to claims 1-4 above) further teaches wherein the four separate finger sections and the thumb section include a closed end which covers the user’s fingers and thumb (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; fingers (22) and thumb (24) of glove (12) each include a closed end which are capable of covering a hypothetical user’s fingers and thumb, respectively, when worn).
Regarding claim 7, the modified soap glove device of Lightsey (i.e., Lightsey in view of Gordon and Jenkins, as discussed with respect to claims 1-4 above) further teaches wherein the body component is configured to fit on a left hand of the user (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; glove (12) is capable of fitting on a hypothetical left hand of a hypothetical user; [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified soap glove device of Lightsey (i.e., Lightsey in view of Gordon and Jenkins, as discussed with respect to claims 1-4 above) further teaches wherein the body component is configured to fit on a right hand of the user (See Lightsey, Figs. 4-5; glove (12) is capable of fitting on a hypothetical right hand of a hypothetical user; [0031]).
Claims 13-16 and 18-19, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0218174 to Alford (hereinafter, “Alford”) in view of Jenkins, and in view of Gordon.
Regarding claim 13, Alford teaches a soap glove device for use by a user in a shower or bath (See Alford, Figs. 1-6; glove assembly (10) capable of being used in a shower or bath while bathing), the soap glove device comprising: a body component comprising a palm front, a palm back, a thumb section, four separate finger sections, defining an interior space (See Alford, Figs. 1-6; glove assembly (10) includes glove (12) having palm (32), palm back opposite palm (32), thumb section (18), and four finger sections (14) which all form an interior space capable of receiving a user’s hand; Examiner notes that the term "section" is very broad and merely means "one of several components; a piece" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)); wherein the body component is designed for receiving a hand of the user into the interior space (See Alford, Figs. 1-6; glove (12) forms interior space and is capable of receiving a hand of a user therein); wherein each of the four separate finger sections is designed for receiving a user’s finger and the thumb section is designed for receiving a user’s thumb when the hand of the user is positioned in the interior space of the body component (See Alford, Figs. 1-6; fingers (14) and thumb (18) of glove (12) are capable of receiving corresponding fingers and thumb, respectively, of a hypothetical user’s hand therein when worn); and further wherein the body component is disposable (See Alford, Figs. 1-6; glove (12) is capable of being disposed of).
That said, although Alford has a wrist section, Alford is silent to an elastic wrist section.
However, Jenkins, in a related bathing glove art, is directed to a glove for use in the bath or shower (See Jenkins, Figs. 1-7; abstract). More specifically, Jenkins teaches an elastic wrist section (See Jenkins, Figs, 1-7; elastic wrist section (20)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace the wrist section of Alford with the elastic wrist section disclosed by Jenkins for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a comfortable fit which conforms to a user’s wrist and is capable of retaining the glove on the user’s wrist during use.
That said, although Alford discloses soap retainable within the glove, the modified soap glove device of Alford (i.e., Alford in view of Jenkins, as discussed above) is silent to a soap layer that is a tacky cream layer that is configured to foam, cream, or froth when water is applied; wherein the soap layer is applied onto an outer surface of the body component; and wherein the soap layer is configured to be activated by rubbing the body component thereby creating a lather which can be applied to a user’s body while showering.
However, Gordon, in a related personal cleaning device art, is directed to a system or kit for cleansing the skin comprising a diamond-mesh sponge and a cleansing and moisturizing composition (See Gordon, Fig. 1; abstract). More specifically, Gordon teaches a tacky cream layer that is configured to foam, cream, or froth when water is applied (soap layer is a cleansing cream capable of foaming, creaming, and/or frothing when water is applied; See Gordon, Col. 6, lines 3-12; absent further disclosure or definition of “tacky” by Applicant, the cleansing cream of Gordon would be tacky to at least some extent and therefore be considered “tacky” inasmuch as Applicant’s soap cream layer; Examiner notes that the term "tacky" is very broad and merely means "slightly adhesive or gummy to the touch; sticky" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)); wherein the soap layer is applied onto an outer surface of the body component (See Gordon, Fig. 1; cleansing composition, i.e., the soap layer, is applied onto an outer surface of sponge cleaning implement of Gordon); and wherein the soap layer is configured to be activated by rubbing the body component thereby creating a lather which can be applied to a user’s body while showering (cleansing composition is capable of being activated by rubbing the sponge cleaning implement of Gordon and creating a lather which can be applied to a hypothetical user’s body while showering; See Gordon, abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to apply the cleansing cream composition disclosed by Gordon to the outer layer of the modified soap glove device of Alford for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a base or initial amount of cleansing composition to the modified soap glove device or providing an additional cleansing composition of another type (e.g., a moisturizing composition) on the outer surface of the modified glove device to supplement the internal dispensable soap of Alford (See Gordon, abstract).
Regarding claim 14, the modified soap glove device of Alford (i.e., Alford in view of Jenkins and Gordon, as applied to claim 13 above) further teaches wherein the body component comprises a middle pocket that retains soap within the body component (See Alford, Figs. 1-6; glove (12) includes soap reservoir (22) which retains soap (24) in a middle of glove (12); [0019]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified soap glove device of Alford (i.e., Alford in view of Jenkins and Gordon, as applied to claims 13-14 above) further teaches wherein the palm front comprises a release button that is configured to be depressed for releasing soap from the middle pocket (See Alford, Fig. 6; inasmuch as Applicant has disclosed a release button, layers of glove (12) forming soap reservoir (22) form depressible release button that is capable of releasing soap (24) when pressed by a user’s hand; [0022]).
Regarding claim 16, the modified soap glove device of Alford (i.e., Alford in view of Jenkins and Gordon, as applied to claims 13-15 above) further teaches wherein the palm front comprises a plurality of holes which act to release the soap when the release button is depressed (See Alford, Figs. 1-6; soap openings (26) on palm (32) are capable of releasing soap when release button is pressed; [0019]-[0020], [0022]).
Regarding claim 18, the modified soap glove device of Alford (i.e., Alford in view of Jenkins and Gordon, as applied to claim 13 above) is silent to a rope, a strap, or a lanyard is attached to the wrist section of the body component so that the soap glove device can be hung from a shower head or similar object when not in use.
However, Jenkins further teaches a rope, a strap, or a lanyard is attached to the wrist section of the body component so that the soap glove device can be hung from a shower head or similar object when not in use (See Jenkins, Fig. 7; rope (40) attached to elastic wrist section (20) capable of being hung from a shower head or similar object; [0044]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the rope disclosed by Jenkins on the wrist of the modified soap glove device of Alford so that the glove can be hung from a shower head or similarly object (See Jenkins, [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, the modified soap glove device of Alford (i.e., Alford in view of Jenkins and Gordon, as applied to claim 13 above) further teaches a plurality of indicia (the soap glove device as claimed merely serves as a support for the plurality of indicia (i.e., printed matter); there is no functional and/or structural relationship between the plurality of indicia and the soap glove device as claimed, and the plurality of indicia is not given patentable weight; therefore, the modified soap glove device of Alford meets all the patentable limitations of the claim; See MPEP 2111.05(I)(B)).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant’s amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant’s arguments, filed December 15, 2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as Applicant’s arguments appear to be drawn only to the newly amended limitations and previously presented rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. USPN 2,932,839 to Flanigan et al. is directed to a cleaning pad having a soap applied thereon.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MARCHEWKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3732