DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s amendment filed 9/10/2026.
In the amendment, Applicant amended claim 1, 4-9, 13, 15, and 16 and cancelled claims 2 and 14.
Claims 1, 3-13, and 15-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 9/10/2026, with respect to the objection to the specification and they are persuasive. Examiner has withdrawn the objection to the specification.
Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 9/10/2026, with respect to the objections to claims 1, 5, 6, 13, and 16 and they are persuasive. Examiner has withdrawn the objections to claims 1, 5, 6, 13, and 16.
Although not specifically addressed in Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/10/2026, Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s amendments to claims 4, 6, and 16, which have addressed and overcome the previous rejection of claims 4, 6, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Examiner has withdrawn the rejection of claims 4, 6, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 9/10/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b/f) and 35 U.S.C. 112(a/f) and they are persuasive. Examiner has withdrawn the rejections of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b/f) and 35 U.S.C. 112(a/f).
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-21, filed 9/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 but they are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the newly-cited Chen reference for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the arguments related to claim 6 on page 20, Examiner notes that the new grounds of rejection reject claim 6 in view of the combination of Chen, Orcutt, and Kim. The arguments relate to Kim teaching this limitation alone. However, the new grounds of rejection use Kim to modify the teaching of Chen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 10,187,784) in view of Orcutt et al (US 2024/0349035).
Regarding claim 1: Chen discloses a system for temporary remote provisioning of an electronic Subscriber Identity Module (eSIM) profile on a secondary device, the system comprising:
a memory storing executable instructions (see memory 930 of Figure 9, for example); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to (see processor 920 of Figure 9 and 14:57-15:6, for example):
receive a request, initiated through the secondary device, from a user associated with the eSIM profile, to authenticate the user and temporarily provision the eSIM profile on the secondary device (disclosed throughout; see 2:17-21, which describes a request (1) that may be “initiated by…second UE 120”; this request is to provision the eSIM profile on the second UE (move the uUICC profile of the first UE to the second UE); as indicated in 2:50-52, this profile may be obtained from a subscription management device of the network; another example of this request is the pull request in 6:6-11, which also request an authentication procedure);
authenticate identity of the user by verifying user credentials, via an authentication server, based on one or more credentials of the user received from the secondary device (disclosed throughout; see 6:6-11, which discloses that the second UE may “perform an authentication procedure with network portal 305”; as indicated in 4:59-64, “[p]erforming the authentication procedure may include providing a username and password, or successfully performing some other identity authentication or verification procedure with network portal 305”);
suspend the eSIM profile usage, on a primary device associated with the eSIM, upon successful authentication of the user (disclosed throughout; see steps 355 and 360 of Figure 3, for example, which suspend (disable) the profile on the primary device (UE1); this step is performed after the authentication of the use discussed above and performed in step 340);
enable downloading of the eSIM profile, to the secondary device, from a subscription management server that is configured to manage eSIM profile provisioning, upon successful authentication of the user (disclosed throughout; see step 370 of Figure 3, for example, which discloses downloading the profile from the eUICC controller (subscription management server));
activate the eSIM profile on the secondary device (see step 375 of Figure 3, for example, which activates (enables) profile 1 on the secondary device (UE2));
enable the user to use, through the secondary device, telecommunication services including voice services and data services associated with the eSIM, wherein while using the voice services, a mobile number associated with the eSIM is used as an identity of the user (see 1:1:7-10 and 1:59-63, which disclose that the profile enables “voice and/or data services” to be used on the second UE (another UE); further, as indicated in 2:10-16, the profile may use a telephone number as the unique identifier for these telecommunications services);
allow user data associated with the eSIM to be accessed on the secondary device, wherein the user data includes at least one of: a contact list and recently dialed and received numbers (disclosed throughout; see 6:28-40, which discloses that the profiled may include at least “contact information”).
Chen is silent regarding a time limit on the profile transfer and thus does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the profile is activated for a specific interval based on a predefined condition or the limitation of deactivate and delete the eSIM profile from the secondary device and reactivate the eSIM profile on the primary device, upon expiration of the specific interval. However, Orcutt discloses a similar system for transferring an eSIM profile from a first mobile device to a second mobile device (see [0024]). Further, in Orcutt, the eSIM profile transfer is “temporary” and limited to a “particular period of time” (see [0027]). Further, in [0106], Orcutt discloses that when a limit on the unused time has expired, the eSIM profile may be “reclaimed by deleting or removing the temporary eSIM profile from the eUICC” for the second mobile device. Applying this to Chen, reclaiming the profile can reverse the swap described in Figure 2, for example, thus reactivating the profiles on their respective home devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen to make the profile transfer temporary by limiting the amount of time of the transfer and deleting the profile on the second device to reclaim the profile after the time has expired as suggested by Orcutt. The rationale for doing so would have been to prevent the second mobile device from permanently taking the profile of the first mobile device and allowing the primary user to use the first device.
Regarding claim 13: Chen discloses a method for temporary remote provisioning of an electronic Subscriber Identity Module ( eSIM) profile on a secondary device, the method comprising:
receiving, on the secondary device, a request, initiated through the secondary device, from a user, associated with the eSIM profile, to authenticate the user and temporarily provision the eSIM profile on the secondary device (disclosed throughout; see 2:17-21, which describes a request (1) that may be “initiated by…second UE 120”; this request is to provision the eSIM profile on the second UE (move the uUICC profile of the first UE to the second UE); as indicated in 2:50-52, this profile may be obtained from a subscription management device of the network; another example of this request is the pull request in 6:6-11, which also request an authentication procedure);
authenticating identity of the user by verifying user credentials via an authentication server, based on one or more credentials of the user received from the secondary device (disclosed throughout; see 6:6-11, which discloses that the second UE may “perform an authentication procedure with network portal 305”; as indicated in 4:59-64, “[p]erforming the authentication procedure may include providing a username and password, or successfully performing some other identity authentication or verification procedure with network portal 305”);
suspending the eSIM profile usage on a primary device associated with the eSIM upon successful authentication of the user (disclosed throughout; see steps 355 and 360 of Figure 3, for example, which suspend (disable) the profile on the primary device (UE1); this step is performed after the authentication of the use discussed above and performed in step 340);
enabling downloading the eSIM profile, to the secondary device, from a subscription management server that is configured to manage eSIM profile provisioning, upon successful authentication of the user (disclosed throughout; see step 370 of Figure 3, for example, which discloses downloading the profile from the eUICC controller (subscription management server));
activate the eSIM profile on the secondary device (see step 375 of Figure 3, for example, which activates (enables) profile 1 on the secondary device (UE2));
activating the eSIM profile on the secondary device (see step 375 of Figure 3, for example, which activates (enables) profile 1 on the secondary device (UE2));
enabling the user to use, through the secondary device, telecommunication services including voice services and data services associated with the eSIM, wherein while using the voice services, a mobile number associated with the eSIM is used as an identity of the user (see 1:1:7-10 and 1:59-63, which disclose that the profile enables “voice and/or data services” to be used on the second UE (another UE); further, as indicated in 2:10-16, the profile may use a telephone number as the unique identifier for these telecommunications services);
allowing user data associated with the eSIM to be accessed on the secondary device, wherein the user data includes at least one of: a contact list and recently dialed and received numbers (disclosed throughout; see 6:28-40, which discloses that the profiled may include at least “contact information”).
Chen is silent regarding a time limit on the profile transfer and thus does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the profile is activated for a specific interval based on a predefined condition or the limitation of deactivate and delete the eSIM profile from the secondary device and reactivate the eSIM profile on the primary device, upon expiration of the specific interval. However, Orcutt discloses a similar system for transferring an eSIM profile from a first mobile device to a second mobile device (see [0024]). Further, in Orcutt, the eSIM profile transfer is “temporary” and limited to a “particular period of time” (see [0027]). Further, in [0106], Orcutt discloses that when a limit on the unused time has expired, the eSIM profile may be “reclaimed by deleting or removing the temporary eSIM profile from the eUICC” for the second mobile device. Applying this to Chen, reclaiming the profile can reverse the swap described in Figure 2, for example, thus reactivating the profiles on their respective home devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen to make the profile transfer temporary by limiting the amount of time of the transfer and deleting the profile on the second device to reclaim the profile after the time has expired as suggested by Orcutt. The rationale for doing so would have been to prevent the second mobile device from permanently taking the profile of the first mobile device and allowing the primary user to use the first device.
Regarding claim 3: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitation that the predefined condition includes at least one of: a data consumption limit, a number of incoming/outgoing calls, and a user-specified time limit. However, Orcutt discloses that the use of the profile may be limited (in addition to the “particular period of time”) by “a time usage threshold or a data usage threshold” [0027] and similarly suggests that the limit may also include “the number of calls than may be made” [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen such that the predefined condition includes at least the data usage/consumption threshold/limit or a number of calls. The rationale for doing so would have been to prevent a user of the second device from utilizing more service than the primary user intended to allow.
Regarding claim 9: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chen further discloses the limitations that the subscription management server and the secondary device communicate via a secure channel to ensure data integrity during the eSIM profile transfer (see 6:28-59, for example, which discloses that the profile synchronization may be performed using a “secure channel” and “secure OTA communications”).
Regarding claim 10: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chen further discloses the limitations that the eSIM profile includes at least one of: operator credentials, subscriber data, and SIM-based applications (disclosed throughout; see at least 2:3-16, for example, which disclose that the profile includes subscriber data such as the unique identifier associated with the subscriber).
Regarding claim 12: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chen further discloses the limitations that the secondary device is selected from a group consisting of a mobile phone, tablet, car infotainment system, and any connected device with an eSIM slot (disclosed throughout; see 3:47-49, for example, which discloses that the secondary device may be a smart phone, tablet computer, or other type of device).
Regarding claim 15: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above. Chen further discloses the limitations that the subscription management server and the secondary device communicate via a secure channel to ensure data integrity during the eSIM profile transfer (see 6:28-59, for example, which discloses that the profile synchronization may be performed using a “secure channel” and “secure OTA communications”) and the limitations that the eSIM profile includes at least one of: operator credentials, subscriber data, and SIM-based applications (disclosed throughout; see at least 2:3-16, for example, which disclose that the profile includes subscriber data such as the unique identifier associated with the subscriber).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitation that the predefined condition includes at least one of: a data consumption limit, a number of incoming/outgoing calls, and a user-specified time limit. However, Orcutt discloses that the use of the profile may be limited (in addition to the “particular period of time”) by “a time usage threshold or a data usage threshold” [0027] and similarly suggests that the limit may also include “the number of calls than may be made” [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen such that the predefined condition includes at least the data usage/consumption threshold/limit or a number of calls. The rationale for doing so would have been to prevent a user of the second device from utilizing more service than the primary user intended to allow.
Regarding claim 20: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above. Chen further discloses the limitations that the secondary device is selected from a group consisting of a mobile phone, tablet, car infotainment system, and any connected device with an eSIM slot (disclosed throughout; see 3:47-49, for example, which discloses that the secondary device may be a smart phone, tablet computer, or other type of device).
Claims 4-7, 11, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 10,187,784) in view of Orcutt et al (US 2024/0349035) in view of Kim et al (US 2018/0191728).
Regarding claim 4: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chen also discloses that a profile transfer request may be initiated by the first UE (primary device) as indicated in 2:19-21, for example. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the one or more processors are further configured to facilitate the user, on the primary device, to specify conditions for temporary provisioning of the eSIM profile profiling eSIM on the secondary device. However, Kim similarly discloses a system for sharing wireless services of a first device with another device. Further, Kim discloses a user interface (such as that in Figure 5) that allows the user of the primary device to control conditions for this sharing. For example, as indicated in 507 of Figure 5, the user interface facilitates the user to set a limit on the “data sharing amount”, which is a condition for sharing of the data service with another device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen, modified, to utilize a similar user interface that enable the first device to specify conditions for sharing the eSIM profile as suggested by Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the primary user to configure a sharing device without visiting an offline agent as suggested by [0010], for example.
Regarding claim 5: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the one or more processors are further configured to notify the user, on the primary device, when the predefined condition for the temporary eSIM profile provisioning on the secondary device is set to expire. However, Kim further discloses notifying a primary user that the when the data is set to exceed the limit (see message 801 in Figure 8, for example). This is the predefined condition in Kim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen to send the primary user messages when any of the conditions for sharing the profile are set to be exceeded or expire. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the primary user to monitor the sharing of the service and to respond by either stopping the sharing or alternatively extending the sharing as necessary (in an emergency) as suggested in [0011] and [0139]-[0147], for example.
Regarding claim 6: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above. Chen also discloses that a profile transfer request may be initiated by the first UE (primary device) as indicated in 2:19-21, for example. To the extent that Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the one or more processors are further configured to facilitate the user, on the primary device, to control actions associated with the temporary provisioning of the eSIM profile on the secondary device, wherein the actions include at least one of: enabling SMS, enabling calls, enabling data services, receiving one-time passwords for financial transactions, accessing office resources, this is disclosed by Kim. That is, Kim discloses in Figure 5, a user interface for controlling the sharing of services with the second device. Through the combination of buttons 505, 507, and 509, Kim demonstrates a way for a user of the device to enable at least data services by selecting a device, selecting a data sharing amount, and selecting ok. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a similar user interface to Chen to enable a user to control the services shared by Chen with the second device. This includes at least enabling data services, but it would also be obvious to use such a user interface to enable the voice services shared by Chen. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the primary user to configure a sharing device without visiting an offline agent as suggested by [0010], for example.
Regarding claim 7: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the one or more processors are further configured to prompt the user, on the secondary device, for at least one of: additional credentials and biometric verification before provisioning the eSIM profile. However, Kim further discloses the limitations of claim 7 in Figure 5, for example, which indicates that the user interface (which may run on the primary device and/or the secondary device) prompts the user for additional credentials (such as a user ID and password). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen, modified, to prompt the user for additional credentials before provisioning the profile as suggested by Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure the profile sharing is authorized by the primary user to ensure the security of the user’s services.
Regarding claim 11: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the authentication server verifies user credentials through one or more verification techniques including at least one of: password, PIN, biometric identification, and security questions. However, Kim discloses using a user ID and password (see 501 and 503 of Figure 5, for example) to verify user credentials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen, modified, to use credentials such as a password before provisioning the profile as suggested by Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure the profile sharing is authorized by the primary user to ensure the security of the user’s services.
Regarding claim 16: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above. Chen also discloses that a profile transfer request may be initiated by the first UE (primary device) as indicated in 2:19-21, for example. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations of facilitate the user, on the primary device, to specify conditions for temporary provisioning of the eSIM profile profiling eSIM on the secondary device. However, Kim similarly discloses a system for sharing wireless services of a first device with another device. Further, Kim discloses a user interface (such as that in Figure 5) that allows the user of the primary device to control conditions for this sharing. For example, as indicated in 507 of Figure 5, the user interface facilitates the user to set a limit on the “data sharing amount”, which is a condition for sharing of the data service with another device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen, modified, to utilize a similar user interface that enable the first device to specify conditions for sharing the eSIM profile as suggested by Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the primary user to configure a sharing device without visiting an offline agent as suggested by [0010], for example.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations of notifying the user, on the primary device, when the predefined condition for the temporary eSIM profile provisioning on the secondary device is set to expire. However, Kim further discloses notifying a primary user that the when the data is set to exceed the limit (see message 801 in Figure 8, for example). This is the predefined condition in Kim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen to send the primary user messages when any of the conditions for sharing the profile are set to be exceeded or expire. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the primary user to monitor the sharing of the service and to respond by either stopping the sharing or alternatively extending the sharing as necessary (in an emergency) as suggested in [0011] and [0139]-[0147], for example.
To the extent that Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations of facilitating the user, on the primary device, to control actions associated with the temporary provisioning of the eSIM profile on the secondary device, wherein the actions include at least one of: enabling SMS, enabling calls, enabling data services, receiving one-time passwords for financial transactions, accessing office resources, this is disclosed by Kim. That is, Kim discloses in Figure 5, a user interface for controlling the sharing of services with the second device. Through the combination of buttons 505, 507, and 509, Kim demonstrates a way for a user of the device to enable at least data services by selecting a device, selecting a data sharing amount, and selecting ok. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a similar user interface to Chen to enable a user to control the services shared by Chen with the second device. This includes at least enabling data services, but it would also be obvious to use such a user interface to enable the voice services shared by Chen. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the primary user to configure a sharing device without visiting an offline agent as suggested by [0010], for example.
Regarding claim 17: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations of prompting the user, on the secondary device, for at least one of: additional credentials and biometric verification before provisioning the eSIM profile. However, Kim further discloses the limitations of claim 17 in Figure 5, for example, which indicates that the user interface (which may run on the primary device and/or the secondary device) prompts the user for additional credentials (such as a user ID and password). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen, modified, to prompt the user for additional credentials before provisioning the profile as suggested by Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure the profile sharing is authorized by the primary user to ensure the security of the user’s services.
Regarding claim 19: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the authentication server verifies user credentials through one or more verification techniques including at least one of: password, PIN, biometric identification, and security questions. However, Kim discloses using a user ID and password (see 501 and 503 of Figure 5, for example) to verify user credentials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen, modified, to use credentials such as a password before provisioning the profile as suggested by Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure the profile sharing is authorized by the primary user to ensure the security of the user’s services.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 10,187,784) in view of Orcutt et al (US 2024/0349035) in view of Mueller et al (US 2023/0084955).
Regarding claim 8: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 8 that the profile activation module suspends the eSIM profile of a second user on the secondary device if the secondary device has limited eSIM profile slots available. However, Mueller discloses a similar system that utilizes a plurality of eSIM profiles to be shared with multiple devices. Further, as indicated in [0057], the number of profiles is limited (by a maximum number of communication profiles), and when the number of profiles equals this maximum, one of the profiles is disabled or deactivated (suspended) to enable the new profile to be used. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen, modified, to limit the number of available eSIM profile slots and to further suspend/disable/deactivate one of the profiles when the limit has been reached and a new profile is to be used, as disclosed by Mueller. The rationale for doing so would have been to maximize the usage of the available profile slots as suggested by Mueller.
Regarding claim 18: Chen, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above. Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 18 of suspending the eSIM profile of a second user on the secondary device if the secondary device has limited eSIM profile slots available. However, Mueller discloses a similar system that utilizes a plurality of eSIM profiles to be shared with multiple devices. Further, as indicated in [0057], the number of profiles is limited (by a maximum number of communication profiles), and when the number of profiles equals this maximum, one of the profiles is disabled or deactivated (suspended) to enable the new profile to be used. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chen, modified, to limit the number of available eSIM profile slots and to further suspend/disable/deactivate one of the profiles when the limit has been reached and a new profile is to be used, as disclosed by Mueller. The rationale for doing so would have been to maximize the usage of the available profile slots as suggested by Mueller.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 October 19, 2026